Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow M'sia opposition cries foul

M'sia opposition cries foul PDF Print
Tuesday, 26 August 2008 08:58
As tensions mounted in Permatang Pauh, ahead what is being labelled as the 'most tense' by-election ever in the country on Tuesday, police sent in reinforcements to prevent clashes between rival groups. -- PHOTO: AP

MALAYSIA'S opposition alliance, which backs Anwar Ibrahim in his bid to return to parliament, charged on Monday that its supporters had been culled from voter lists ahead of a crucial by-election.

As tensions mounted in the usually sleepy northern Malaysian enclave of Permatang Pauh, ahead what is being labelled as the 'most tense' by-election ever in the country on Tuesday, police sent in reinforcements to prevent clashes between rival groups.

Tuesday's vote pits Anwar, a former deputy prime minister who is now de facto leader of the opposition against the United Malays National Organisation (Umno), the main government party which nurtured him until he was convicted of corruption and sodomy in the 1990s.

Tensions have mounted with the nightly airing on television of testimony by a 23-year old former male aide who says he was sodomised by Anwar, who is due to appear in court over the issue on Sept 10.

'The voter list is questionable. There are a lot unaccounted for,' Ms Fuziah Salleh, a leader of Anwar's Parti Keadilan Rakyat, told reporters on Monday.

She was earlier quoted in the Star newspaper as saying that 949 names were missing from the voters list from the one that was used in the March 8 general elections.

Turnout will be key in establishing Anwar's credentials to lead a three-party opposition coalition in parliament and for him to be able to deliver a promise to beat the government in a confidence vote he has said he will call on Sept 16.

Political analysts say Anwar has to at least match the 13,388 majority his wife won when she contested the seats in March's general election.

To be a credible leader, he needs a majority of at least 15,000-20,000.

Malaysia's election commission hotly denied the charges that it had rigged the voter list.

'This is impossible. This is a lie. We don't have powers to remove (the names), under the constitution we don't have such powers. It is impossible to have phantom voters,' said Election Commission secretary Kamarulzaman Mohamad Noor. -- REUTERS

written by Daryl, August 26, 2008 09:06:17
To be a credible leader, he needs a majority of at least 15,000-20,000

What make you say that Reuters? Even if DSAI win by 1 we know why is that. We are against the evil empire that have everything in their pocket except the voters. So, yes even 1 vote majority will be a Merdeka for the rakyat of Malaysia.
written by ahmadneil, August 26, 2008 09:06:32
The gov't and the election commission must be held responsible in the event there is any rigging.
written by PASOK, August 26, 2008 09:07:18

All he needs is to win. Never mind the size of the majority. We need DSAI in parliament and after that the government will crumble.
written by uxzee, August 26, 2008 09:08:01
'This is impossible. This is a lie. We don't have powers to remove (the names), under the constitution we don't have such powers. It is impossible to have phantom voters,' said Election Commission secretary Kamarulzaman Mohamad Noor. - ======================================================= ============

Yes you do not have powers to conduct a free and fair election. You have powers only to listen and follow the instructions of BN.
written by indianputra, August 26, 2008 09:09:22
Anwar, we the Rakyat know how much you suffered and how much pain you have undergone during this Bye-election campaign period by the BN LIARS! They have lied, tormented, behaved like gangsters and did everything to discredit you.

But, Anwar, you will WIN and will win handsomely. Concentrate on the PAYBACK. As soon as you win the PP seat, concentrate on your PM seat. When you are the PM, let loose all your emotions. Get rid of all those who gave you hell the last 10 years. We the Rakyat are with you all the way!
written by krising1, August 26, 2008 09:13:11
The hairless and brainless Home Minister has to explain how reports from the police files found its way to Permatang Pauh. Will anyone be investigated for this breach of the Official Secrets. Start with the Investigating Officer. Arrest him and have him in remand for 7 days and the truth will be out.

Sometimes this Arab looks like a camel. A thought just crossed my mind. Somewhere along his lineage, did some camel's blood get into the blood stream?
written by ibabonma, August 26, 2008 09:18:46
To be a credible leader, he needs a majority of at least 15,000-20,000.

So, even if Anwar wins by ONE single vote, he still is the winner against professional crooks.

written by Liberace, August 26, 2008 09:19:38
When an athlete runs a wind-assisted race at the Olympics, everyone expects to see records fall. When he has to go against the wind, any victory will do. So too in this election. 15,000 vote majority in a fair election would certainly be seen as necessary to stamp Anwar's authority, but this is not a fair election. With the full gust of the BN government machinery blowing strong and unceasingly and the UN (the Election Commission) in the enemy's camp, a victory is a victory. Let's not try to take that away from Anwar. It's as good as any record-breaking performance.
written by KARMANNGHIA, August 26, 2008 09:26:48
A win is a win, even one vote is a win, we don't need a perfect score, we just need change.

Today ppl of PP will make history, ppl of PP will create hopes and dreams for all Malaysians. PPL of PP will do the right thing by voting for DSAI.

PPL of PP, make us all proud.

written by Tom n Jerry, August 26, 2008 09:32:58
Gazing into my crystal ball I foresee that there will be a few cases of heart attacks in UMNO heirachy this evening;the Emergency in public hospitals better be equipped;some famous politicians sure suffer heart failure! smilies/grin.gif
written by sjs, August 26, 2008 09:47:07
The police force in Malaysia is the custodian of all wrong-doings! Perhaps the only word which too distant from them is peace keeping!
written by krepot, August 26, 2008 10:06:11
If it was a fair election, yes I agree.

However taking into account:

1. Fabrication of a charge against Anwar
2. Swearing and use of religion against Anwar
3. Offer of MONEY in exchange of vote
4. Offer of development and other government related activities to buy votes
5. High police presence as an act of intimidation
6. Roadblock leading to PP - yet another act of intimidation
7. Arrest of fellow PKR leaders in run up to election day - doubtful charges
8. Change of electrol roll and manipulation of postal votes.
9. Use of mass media for negative projection of Anwar
10.And many more..........too long a list.

If you consider all these, even winning by 1 vote, is GREAT. REUTERS please take note.
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 26, 2008 10:16:35
"'This is impossible. This is a lie. We don't have powers to remove (the names), under the constitution we don't have such powers. It is impossible to have phantom voters,' said Election Commission secretary Kamarulzaman Mohamad Noor. --"

Hmmmmm, I guess the next step will be another "swearing" ceremony to say he was telling the truth.
written by rayden chan, August 26, 2008 10:24:04
This is impossible. This is a lie. We don't have powers to remove (the names), under the constitution we don't have such powers. It is impossible to have phantom voters,' said Election Commission secretary Kamarulzaman Mohamad Noor. --

Which means, one of you have commited a crime and goes against the constitution lor..
written by Msian 2, August 26, 2008 11:35:45
Hold on Kamarulzaman, my crystal ball tells me we are in Boleh-land. Either U have no understanding thats it happened right under your nose or that you were involved & a fake. We are not naive with kampung mentality.