Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow BN loss could hasten Pak Lah's exit

BN loss could hasten Pak Lah's exit PDF Print
Monday, 25 August 2008 18:34

Several Gerakan politicians have floated the idea of leaving the coalition while MCA"s Datuk Ong Tee Keat also told Nanyang Siang Pau that the party may need to reassess its position in BN if Umno continues to champion the Ketuanan Melayu concept.

The Malaysian Insider Commentary

A big victory for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in Permatang Pauh tomorrow could spoil Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi"s two-year succession plan, and force an earlier handover of power.

Even his loyalists in Umno concede that the mutterings about the sense of drift in the country and the lack of strong leadership in Barisan Nasional have grown louder in the last few weeks, and they expect party officials to call for a quicker transfer of power to Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak if Anwar wins the by-election by a larger majority than the 13,000 margin his wife managed on March 8.

A party official, who requested anonymity because of the sensitive nature of the topic, told The Malaysian Insider: "The BN machinery has not been at its best.

There is no cohesion among the parties and little fighting spirit. If Anwar wins big, questions will be raised about the preparations and leadership. Ultimately, it will fall on Pak Lah."

He noted that though Najib was in charge of the BN machinery the whispers on the ground was about the need for a strong leader to galvanise a coalition which has been rocked to its foundations by the results of Election 2008.

The view among some BN leaders is that Abdullah has not drawn up any plan of recovery for the ruling coalition and seems content to indulge in a festival of rhetoric. In the meantime, the main coalition partners are being tested severely.

Several Gerakan politicians have floated the idea of leaving the coalition while MCA"s Datuk Ong Tee Keat also told Nanyang Siang Pau that the party may need to reassess its position in BN if Umno continues to champion the Ketuanan Melayu concept.

MIC can no longer say that it represents the voice of Indians and the PPP has all but disappeared from the political landscape.

So what you have is a much weakened coalition. Every setback adds more pressure on political parties whose immune system has been affected greatly by the rejection on March 8.

A heavy defeat at the hands of Anwar tomorrow will only serve to deepen the gloom and force coalition partners to consider their future in BN and cast major doubts on whether Abdullah can help them regain their lustre.

The situation is less grim in Umno but Cabinet ministers and senior politicians are wondering whether Abdullah will be able to stay on till mid 2010, saying that they are concerned that the PM may not be up to the task of steering the country through this more challenging economic times.

There have not been any calls for him to step down recently but this silence masks a sense of despair among ministers and senior politicians.

Some of them are nostalgic for the strong leadership of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. They argue that too many decisions being made by the government seem to be reactive and ad hoc, as opposed to being part of a comprehensive economic plan.

The consensus in the party is that Abdullah is a decent man but he does not have the tools including a strong spine to galvanise Umno or Barisan Nasional.

A big victory for Anwar tomorrow will only lead more Umno officials and BN leaders to come to the conclusion that they need someone else to lead them during this crisis period.

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah put it succinctly when he noted recently that the Permatang Pauh by-election was Abdullah"s first test after the general elections.

"As chairman of BN, Abdullah holds primary responsibility for the result.

This is therefore a test of his legitimacy that he can and must pass," said the Kelantan prince.

written by sjs, August 25, 2008 18:45:19
The ruling BN government will engage in massive electoral fraud beginning today. All volunteers of PR should take note! Dont trust the police force! They are not there just for peace keeping purpose, but to aid this electoral fraud! The gathering of the ICs come as no surprise. It has begun!
agree 135
written by inoi, August 25, 2008 18:48:12
Semoga kita bebas dan merdeka,hidup aman damai sesama kita rakyat Malaysia tanpa mengira warna dan kulit.Hidup Pakatan Rakyat Hidup DSAI.
written by justice, August 25, 2008 18:54:21
Another Official BN Campaign Poster for Permatang Pauh By-Election:
agree 252
written by ahmadneil, August 25, 2008 19:08:04
Once again we must show umno that PR have the huge support,so tomorrow we must let Anwar have the biggest majority in the history of our elections.All of them will be dumbfounded tomorrow nite.
written by OMARZ, August 25, 2008 19:22:59
Kemenangan PKR kemenangan bangsa MALAYSIA....tidak ada lagi kemenangan bangsa MELAYU sahaja......
written by ASK4u, August 25, 2008 19:29:05
I'm just concerned about the news of 20,000 phantom voters in BN line-up. Is this true? How to overcome this problem? Anyone? Just be extra prudent and don't take anything for granted. Please exercise self restraint. Don't resort to violence. Collect video evidences of cheatings wherever posible. Take care.
written by flls, August 25, 2008 19:29:38
i really hope, that Anwar will win this election, BN get out of the government and things will get better for Malaysia. i want to come home to a new and improved Malaysia. i have been abroad for 3 years and i have to admit i love this country and its people, but despises BN. i want a Malaysia where everyone lives together happily, despite having different religions and from different races. that is the real Malaysia, the Malaysia that we all had once been so proud of and must be returned to us once again.
written by OMARZ, August 25, 2008 19:43:52
yeah....get out the way bitch...get out the way....
written by Navigator, August 25, 2008 19:52:26
If Badawi is out, what happens to his SIL? For a man of his intelligence, it is a shame he behaves as a racist.
written by Uncorruptible, August 25, 2008 19:57:13
Yessss ... hand over to najis-the scandal-full adulterer. Just what the Pakatan Rakyat needs! Yesssss please hand over to najis now!
written by Kathy, August 25, 2008 20:08:04
I think the BN jar has been broken beyond repair. Some parts have been so splintered that they cannot be glued together again. There are already components within MCA and Gerakan calling for a breakaway. Unfortunately, in Sarawak the same is not happening. Why are my fellow Sarawakians so, so submissive? smilies/angry.gif
written by educationist, August 25, 2008 20:46:19
Well, I hope Anwar's win will hasten Badawi's exit as PM.
But definitely not for that tainted Najib to take over.
I'll hope that it will mean Anwar will be able to gain the extra MPs required to form the next federal government.
written by delCapo, August 25, 2008 20:48:30
Navigator,
SIL - intelligence?? slimy wannabe, maybe....kekeke

Time to clean d whole damn place out... tomorrow will be the big booster for the momentum!
written by Kathy, August 25, 2008 20:49:41
Conspiracy theory: Abdullah (or his s-in-law and others) manipulated events that led to the by-election knowing that BN will lose. Consequently, Abdullah will fall on his sword and make an exit allowing Najib to step into his shoes (or flip flops). Abdullah welcomes this as he is tired and wants to enjoy his new life with his new wife. What's the point of wealth if you can't enjoy it, he thinks? But the heat is on Najib with all the accusations flying about. In addition to this, Anwar may get his majority in Parliament. Najib is shot down; who can step
written by PAKRAK, August 25, 2008 21:17:00
I am not trying to be a Batu Api but I strongly advise that all component parties should not contemplate or reaccess their position in BN. It goes without saying UMNO will perpetually continue to champion the concept of Ketuanan Melayu. They will tell you 'no don't worry we are not like that' today and tomorrow they continue to treat you like servants. unless of course there's nothing you can do if you have been paid off or you may have some skeletons in the closet that you are scared they may expose.
written by crazygweilo, August 25, 2008 21:22:18
It would be no loss for Malaysia or Malaysians for him to leave, except for one small problem, the choosen replacement model....is not quite up to standard. I have yet to have the displeasure of commenting on a country that I live in having a bunch of bigoted backward goons pretending to be the Government.

The only loss is the ba$tard he has chosen to be his successor. The other problem is his cabinet. Dr Rais Yatim had all the power to convince of Comical Ali on the day Baghdad fell to Americans. Syed Hamid Albar continues with his verbal diarrhoea. You also have cavemen in Parliament such as Bung Mokhtar Radin. How can they compare in brains to the formidable powers of Anwar Ibrahim, Lim Kit Siang and Karpal Singh.

I suggest that Malaysians who care for the future of the country to hang his picture upside down until September 16th. I'm going to do that in my office, even if it incurs the wrath of the Human Resources Dept. Then again, I can get away with it, as I am regarded as somewhat eccentric, but effective.

I suspect that there are sighs of relief amongst the political establishment that Premiership Football season has resumed. Its a welcome distraction for the Rakyat. They won't notice as much.

I also suggest to certain key members of the cabinet to choose their Premiership football team carefully, and also, learn some Thai. You might be joining Thaksin Sinawatra sooner than you think.

Khorp khun khrap......hehehe
written by JohnQ, August 25, 2008 21:28:32
Lokks like the najis is doing the reverse, more crab news and comment to make sure BN lose BIG, then his plan B cum alais dr M will surface...., Be very afraid Biadapwi and Kera Jantan !
written by JohnQ, August 25, 2008 21:35:14
The biggest mistake PR gov made is to pronounce 916 take over ! That gives the crabs amber time since 308 to destroy fishy doc and wash their hands...

DAMN SHIT MOVES, PR . YOU SHOULD DO IT SECRETLY AND SILENTLY, TOOK THEM BY SURPRISE......

NOW HOW ARE WE GOING TO RECOVER those billions tax payer monies for future development and expenses ? LET ALONE SENT THEM TO JAIL ?
written by Malaysiaku, August 25, 2008 22:07:24
There is none in UMNO that will be suitable and acceptable by Malaysians to lead the country. Abdullah to Najib is like out of the frying pan into the fire. What's the difference. It may be even worst! Mamak Mathahir is nothing but a racist with cronies all around---until he stepped down that is. All in UMNO are absolutely useless. I cannot wonder why some stupid retards still want to save the racist, corrupted and lying UMNO. Let it die. Good riddance to bad rubbish!

Those who truly love Malaysia should vote for PR to save the country and all Malaysians.
written by Malaysiaku, August 25, 2008 22:10:11
It is about time the running dogs of MCA and Gerakan leaves the racist big master of UMNO. Do it now and save whats left of your dignity. Correct what the unscrouplous leaders of past MCA, Gerakan and MIC have down in selling out their members and those that placed their trust in them.
written by mob1900, August 25, 2008 22:10:49
written by Malaysiaku, August 25, 2008 22:23:54
On second thought guys, don't beleive what the Gerakan and MCA guys are implying. It is made to look like the non-malays are leaving UMNO which is a Malay party. They have hope that by doing this, UMNO/BN will gain some sympathy from some Malays that their party is going down - hopefully they may get some support away from Pakatan Rakyat. I just heard it from a few loyalists within Gerakan and MCA. The Ketuanan Melayu screams of racist UMNO is nothing new and UMNO has been screeming incessantly for the last 50 years - more so during Mamak Mahathir's era - so it is nothing unexpected something MCA and Gerakan has condone and even perhaps was a party of to gain personal wealth and positions. Why MCA and Gerakan are making noise now? Stop your bloody talking MCA and Gerakan and just do it - leave BN and proof that you are not just hypocrites by only talking about leaving. UMNO will NEVER change. Even if they do, it will revert back to their old ways once they have erased all opposition threats. What then? The Opposition has onle one chance. It is now or another 100 years of suffering under the racist and corrupted regime. There will not be another like Anwar in the next 100 years. A good UMNO is a dead UMNO. Bring it down NOW!
written by raybeam, August 25, 2008 22:52:01
Letter to Anwar Ibrahim - 25th August 2008

Dear Datuk Seri Anwar,

I strongly urge you to continue fighting the good fight in spite of the dirty tactics of the barisan government to thwart your chances of winning the forthcoming elections. Just like all right thinking Malaysians, we are all desperate for change and you are our saviour to prevent our country from total destruction. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, I am quite certain that you
will be victorious in the elections and it is hoped that you will lead the next government where all Malaysians will be given equal treatment regardless of race or religion. Allow me to wish you all the very best in your quest to be the next prime minister of Malaysia.

For your information, I was the blind individual whom you met when Kim Quek was inducted into your party. As a singer musician by profession, I offered to perform at one of your functions as I am very much aware that you enjoy listening and singing the songs of Elvis, Cliff Richard, Paul Anka and Johnny
Tillotson, to name just a few.

Finally, it will be my pride and joy to be able to perform at any one of your functions in the very near future.

To find out how I've been discriminated against, please visit my blog at

http://alfredhomusic.********.com/

Yours Sincerely,
Alfred Ho
written by latihanQ, August 25, 2008 23:26:09
With the declaration of an emergency, Tun Razak was appointed the Director of the National Operations Council (N.O.C) after the riots of May 13th 1969. Tengku Abdul Rahman, the Prime Minister then, weakened by losses in the 1969 General Elections, was unceremoniously pushed aside.

Najib, who is his father’s son, is watching. Now do you wonder what they are pushing at? But let Najib be warned. Badawi may look stupid, talk stupid and act stupid, but he is not as naïve as the Tengku was then. Badawi was also the secretary of the N.O.C. in 1969. Do not underestimate him.
written by Sudahlah tu, August 25, 2008 23:27:45
Kita kena tengok apa yang Ezam serta Nalla boleh buat selepas ini ...
ACA akan menangkap mereka berdua sebab DSAI menang ...dan UMNO tidak perlukan khidmat mereka berdua dalam rancangan seterusnya ...
written by fireduck, August 25, 2008 23:59:00
While in a way, the top guy will have to be held responsible, I also think the guy who is spearheading the whole campaign up in Permatang Pauh, should accept FULL responsibility too. And that is Najib. So, he too, should be shown the exit. It is he, who keeps humming rather racist tunes. AAB on the other hand condones all these by keeping his elegant silence. He even rope in Ezam to try and 'kill' off Anwar, and got his SIL to go to P. Pauh to bury Anwar.
written by AntiBN, August 26, 2008 01:43:47
The earlier he disappears the better we Malaysians are. Every time I see his face, it makes me want to puke.

Dear PP voters,
Let's vote DSAI in and let's give him a big mandate this time. Our future is in your hands, PP voters.
written by bexe, August 26, 2008 08:48:46
Isn't it remarkable that the PM has been AWOL during this election? Doesn't he realize the implication of a loss to himself, his party, the radical Malays? Anyone in his position would be fighting tooth and nail to ensure they don't lose. But yet he choses to abdicate. He assigns responsibility to a wounded deputy. Isn't that suicidal?
Is it arrogance or stupidity or laziness, or all the above?
Anyways why should we complain, we want him out anyway and he is actually helping it to happen. lol.
written by joeawk, August 26, 2008 11:08:47
I AM NOT SO MUCH FOR ANWAR TO BECOME THE NEXT PM. I AM AGAINST NAJIB BECOMING THE NEXT PM AND MANY, MANY MALAYSIANS SHARE MY CONCERN.

IT IS NOT PAK LAH, WHOM I WANT OUT AND IT IS NOT PAK LAH WHO IS BLACK BUT IT IS THE OTHER OLD GUARDS IN UMNO WHO REFUSES TO CHANGE, FEARFUL OF LOSING THEIR LEGITIMACY COMES THE CHANGES.

IT IS NOT UNFAIR TO POINT FINGERS AT PAK LAH SHOULD THE UMNO CONDIDATE GET THRSHED BECAUSE HE IS THE LEADER BUT STILL THE MAIN PROBLEM IS THE OLD GUARDS AND A BIGGER PROBLEM IS NAJIB HIMSELF.

NAJIB CAN SWEAR A HUNDRED TIMES THAT HE DOES NOT KNOW THE MONGOLIAN BUT PLEASE TELL US ABOUT ANY INVESTIGATION INTO THE IMMIGRATION RECORD OF THE MOINGOLIAN THAT WAS ERASED AND MORE DAMAGINGLY, THE C4 WHICH WE DID NOT EVEN HEAR OF ANY MENTION IN THE COURT, EITHR FROM THE PROSECUTION OR THE DEFENCE COUSEL.

DOESN'T THAT STINK BIGTIME? NAJIB SURE CAN SWEAR A HUNDRED TIMES AND WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES IT MAKE WHEN HIS NAME IS ALREADY WRITTEN IN THE B0OK OF HELL.