CCTV is no deterrent PDF Print
Tuesday, 15 January 2008 00:24
By Dr CHRIS ANTHONY, 

Butterworth

We share the concerns of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi over the crime situation in the country and commend his personal involvement in fighting this menace that is threatening the peace of Malaysians. The increase in crime rate by 7.12% last year is frightening and a cause of worry for all.  

Not a day passes without some gruesome crime being committed 

We can hardly go anywhere without fear of assault, robbery, rape and even murder. Even being caged in the home behind locked doors, grilles, expensive alarms and security guards does not seem to protect us from these criminals. 

The police and other law enforcement agencies appear to be ineffective in bringing the situation under control.  

The Prime Minister’s personal involvement and his four fast-track steps to fight crime is an admission of the gravity of the situation that has become very critical. 

These steps include the installation of CCTVs in high-risk areas, re-employment of retired police officers, hiring more civilians to handle police administrative duties and setting up more police stations in crime prone areas.  

With CCTVs installed in strategic locations, we may reduce crime to a certain degree but we must not be carried away that it is a foolproof way of combating crime. 

Apart from being costly, there is also the question of maintenance, which is always a problem in our country. Then there is also the problem of vandalism that is a common cause of damage to public amenities.  

Will CCTVs escape the wrath of vandals? What is the use if after investing thousands of ringgit to install CCTVs if they are not functioning when we need them?  

Even if the CCTV are in good working condition and we have recorded a crime, we need to further interpret, identify and trace the person who has committed the crime.  

Following that, he/she has to be charged in court and proper punishment meted out in accordance with the law. The most frustrating thing is that many criminals may go scot-free after the long and arduous process of bringing them to justice.  

The most important factor that is needed to effectively fight crime is not technological sophistication but the human factor – genuine commitment of the people and the police force.  

CCTVs and all the technological advancements are only tools in the fight against crime. The most vital component is the commitment of the police force. What we need is a police force that is adequately manned, dedicated, disciplined, independent, and free from corruption and people-friendly. 

We may acquire all the latest high-tech methods and equipment but without the whole-hearted commitment of the police, they will only go to waste.  

written by LKO, January 15, 2008 01:13:17
In Nurin's case the CCTV did not do much good in identifying the person/s on record. In CSL's case, we can only guess. In Lingam's case its because it is a high end camera phone, korrek?

How many jewelry shops that have been robbed have CCTV? Probably close to 100%, but they are still robbed and many unsolved..

Having CCTV everywhere may just give a false sense of security.
written by Vineeth Menon, January 15, 2008 01:14:25
Its another way to make money.

Once CCTV are fixed,the details will be distributed to all the criminals with details.
Even normal citizens wont have that much detail of it.

Typical example is,the confidential informations leaked out to third party by EPF.

With CCTV one can only get holy of petty criminals not the hardcore ones like the kidnappers,murderers,money launderers,UMNO gangsters etc..
written by The dragonheart, January 15, 2008 01:21:36
Sometimes in the late 60s and early 70, the former IGP Tun Salleh introduced the police beat base systems i.e. pondok polis all over the towns in the country. When Tun Haniff took over, being a young blood, he abolished the system (maybe because the idea was not his..I guess).

I think the PDRM should introduce this system back. Every housing estate should have one pondok police. However having a beat base but not manned , it no use. The police should be thinking that their job is to served the public and to deter the criminals. If the police are trying to be politiciam more than a peace enforcer, then this is the problem.

Today at 4 pm I was traveling along jalan Kuching/Jalan Selayang towards Batu Caves. I was stuck crawling from bulatan Segambut until bulatan batu caves. I notice there are a few CCTV cameras along the road. It took me an hour to reach Batu caves junction and i was late for my appointment at Gombak. Well, it my fault anyway for not pushing off earlier. But the issue is not my lateness of my appointment, the issue is does the CCTV gave a positive feedback to ease the taxpayers using the road? If an ambulance is transporting a dying man to selayang hospital, he would have be dead! What is the point of having CCTV when the authorities cannot give an immediate response to a situation.

However if the prime minister happens to use that road.. the whole city will be jammed because the police will block all roads just for the PM to move. I think its high time that PM should have the taste of the jams in KL.

Similarly if there are CCTV for crime control, and the othe end of the monitor is sleeping.. still its a waste of time and money.

I wonder where are the police personnels located. If the excuse was lack of personnel, I cannot accept this. The police will show force if the opposition wants to do a rally, the Police will show a fantastic force if UMNO having a function, the police will show fantastic force for any national events. If the police having lack of people in the force, stop sending them to the UN missions.

Having civilians doing office jobs is fine but I think most of the office jobs now are run by the civilians. I don not agree if civilians without police power to work in police stations. This is bad.

My suggestion to Paklah is to make sure every community have a manned police beat base. Get the Salleh system back in order!
written by HJ Angus, January 15, 2008 01:39:20
I agree with the comments that in Malaysia, most solutions to the problems are not really the best ideas to solve the issue but merely conduits for some cronies to enrich themselves and this is the MO that has been in place for the past 15 odd years when the authorities learned the concept of "negotiated projects" that became the road to untold wealth for hundreds of people.

So don't hold your breath with this CCTVs when the IPCMC is still kept at bay. We will not solve the high crime issue until the police force is rejuvenated.

http://malaysiawatch3.********.com/2008/01/malaysia-country-of-tragedy-comedy-and.html
written by ben932, January 15, 2008 01:39:39
Whenever there is an increase in rate of unemployment then crime rate increases.

When that happens, the police and other law enforcement agencies will definately have hard time preventing crimes, no matter how effective they are.

b]But, CCTV cameras (fake or real) can be an effective deterent to crime.[
written by carlitos, January 15, 2008 07:29:05
Another project to enrich themselves!!! My god we are all in perils and these bastards in their castle in the sky think about enriching themselves by proposing ineffective cctv system??!!!

They all just using this excuse to give themselves a fat bonus at the expense of all ordinary people

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Bigjoe99, January 15, 2008 07:51:00
CCTV is a lot like other publicity stunt of the police - its meant to look good and make their job easier but in the long run makes little difference. When they discovered finger printing, lots of crooks got caught. Today, its useful maybe for a single digit of the cases.

All it does is move the crime to other locations and other means - hiding their faces, disguise etc.

The whole thing with CCTV is to drive the crooks out of hidden places where the cops are working. Our cops are NOT working in too many places.
written by indianputra, January 15, 2008 08:18:38
The Malaysian Police Force is just 'fire fighting'. Their actions have been reactive and not proactive. Installing the CCTV helps only WHEN THE CRIME TAKES PLACE. The job of an efficient police force is HOW NOT TO HAVE THAT CRIME COMMITTED IN THE FIRST PLACE.

The Malaysian Police Force plays a critical role in a well-functioning law and justice environment. An effective police force needs consistent and clear government policy direction, strong leadership, appropriate training and adequate equipment and resources.

It is the fault of the leadership and unless the police force becomes proactive nothing changes. The CCTV peddler makes all his money and is laughing all the way to the bank!!
written by Ken Liew, January 15, 2008 09:50:28
AAb is worried about the bajet 2009, what lies will they written down that poor paper. He wont worry of crime, they are small case, his nap time is more important. Being a good abang at nite is more important. But not crime.

BTW, what model of CCTV will they buy?? worst then those in the bank?? OH i know, lets put it this way. when other country have reject the old engines, Proton treat those OLD engines as a Treasure / baby (SHH!!the car is sleeping. when ever i looked at the addvertisment. i laught).

So those OLD CCTV that were rejected will be used to our street, where who knows how will they work. AND even thou we import GOOD CCTV(when they will double/tripple up the price in account book,just like the car jack) And as Good technology, BAD maintanance in Malaysia government. those thing will ROSAK always. Just like the timer in the traffic light, how many are still functional??
written by Mr Smith, January 15, 2008 10:15:24
Each time an alarm bell is raised, this government will come out with instant remedies like making instant noodles. There is no need to conduct professional surveys or studies. It's off the cuff solutions and promises.
For instance to solve flooding the PM proposed straightening rivers!!! Now to fight crimes he proposed CCTV.
How to take this government seriously?
written by Saint, January 15, 2008 18:04:23
Professional investigation and quick action can reduces crime.
Nothing else will; but better employment opportunities and reduction of foreign common labour will have some impact to reduce crime.
written by Kuku Burung, January 15, 2008 19:25:19
The issues we faced today, including crimes, are mainly human created. The use of CCTV, will only address the symptom, but not the root. I could almost see the use and abuse of the equipment like CCTVs after a short span of times. Remember in the 90's we have the traffic cameras to nab the offenders? What happen to them now? The camera posts are still standing, but no cameras. The Jalan Universiti "Numbering" traffic light is no longer working and the other day it was taken off it's miserable bracket.

What we need to realize is that law enforcement personnels are just not doing their jobs. You have the cars parked haphazardly in busy roads, but enforcement officers are no where to be seen. Are they terima gaji buta kah? Another thing is, we human beings in Malaysia are no longer having compassionate hearts. People just couldn't be bother to help even a crime is committed in front of their noses.

No use having the latest technology without responsible people.
written by Anak Desa, January 16, 2008 02:35:57
CCTV installation in public places is good one but the quality of the pictures is very much poor in quality. Secondly I am not sure of the quality of work in maintaining them as Malaysians are known for 1st class technology with 3rd class mentality in poor maintennance.Jangan jangan jadi macam the speed cameras along KL-Karak Highways before and the famous black boxes for lorries and buses.