BN election workers missing in action: A tell-tale sign PDF Print
Sunday, 24 August 2008 09:09

Last night, while I was in Seberang Jaya, I couldn’t help noticing a number of BN road-side ‘operations centres’ that were deserted.

No one home. Mind you this was in BN candidate Ariff Shah’s stronghold, his Penang state assembly seat area.

Of course, there were a few BN booths that did have volunteers staffing them. But the number of BN stalls that lay empty suggests that the ruling coalition clearly over-estimated the response it would receive from volunteers.

The first three of these photos were taken near the site of an Anwar ceramah in a residential area (near Jalan Siakap 12), which saw a crowd of around a thousand turning up to listen. It was between 10.30pm and 11.00pm, when many people were on the streets checking out what was going on.

written by alberttan, August 24, 2008 09:16:36
PP voters:
Buang Undi, Buang Badawi!
written by Tompios, August 24, 2008 09:17:56
Good!! We need fresh air in Malaysia.
written by LILIN, August 24, 2008 09:36:44
I swear my rights are violated!
http://www.worldfutures.info/Editor/Editor-Notes/I-swear-they-robbed-me-of-my-rights.html
written by avj, August 24, 2008 09:37:21
Answer very clear. When Dato Onn Jaffar started UMNO it was United Malay National Organization. When it was declared illegal TDM turned it into United Mamak National Organisation.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, August 24, 2008 09:40:19
Budak budak UMNO pun sudah muak dengan UMNO.
Apa yang aku tau budak-budak ambil duit UMNO
dan pergi dengar ceramah Datuk Seri Anwar.

Congrat!! Congrat!!.

Give NO vote to BN (coz they are the bast_rd)

http://www.kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by ahmadneil, August 24, 2008 09:42:37
These BN workers felt they have to return to PR to campaign for Anwar.They have repent for making the mistake of been on the wrong side.
written by Kuku Burung, August 24, 2008 09:55:02
Let's not focus on the numbers. A win for DSAI is a win for the people. We need him in parliament to make drastic changes, including toppling the BN. So what if the majority is reduced? It will be, as the polling day is indiscriminately set on Tuesday, and the turn out would be less than 83% (as of last March 8 election). So how do you get more majority? But a win is a win. Cheers.
written by MalaysianIAm, August 24, 2008 09:59:36
if want ppl to vote for BN, don't put Badawi and Najib punya photo la. They're the biggest liability of BN. Tau kempen ke? Takkan semua orang BN pun bodoh?
written by Ulan Benson, August 24, 2008 10:08:43
UM=No hutang (Pilihan Raya 2004) RM216 juta belum bayar, sekarang gaji pun belum bayar...lari kuat kuat lah! smilies/grin.gif
written by krising1, August 24, 2008 10:12:31
We all know that RATS always desert a sinking ship. I never thought I will live to see this day with the UMNOputras playing second fiddle or not wanting a to be an MP. Just imagine how they used to fight to get a ticket and here was one position which ended going to a Ma-mak who seems to be battling it alone. They all know it is a lost cause.

I hope those who made the banners and posters for BN got their money upfront. Now they do not even pay their bills. See what happens when you just lose 5 states!
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 24, 2008 10:20:56
BN election workers missing in action: A tell-tale sign

ANIL, THEY WILL NOW CLAIM YOU "DOCTORED" THE PHOTOS OR SAY U TOOK THEM
WHEN EVERYONE HAD GONE HOME TO SLEEP LAH.

TO ALL BN ELECTION WORKERS, SPIES AND THOSE WHO ARE ON BN PAYROLL: ITS OK
TO EARN EXTRA POCKET MONEY, BUT TELL ALL YR FRIENDS TO SUPPORT DSAI.
NOBODY KNOWS HOW U FEEL IN YR HEART IF YOU REALLY WANT JUSTICE FOR THIS
COUNTRY.
written by arazak, August 24, 2008 10:22:47
For each UMNO "kuli" who puts up posters and banners they are promised to be paid RM100 per day. But than they only received a paltry RM30/day for risking their lives climbing up the lamp post to hang banners and posters. Bahh...., it is not worth the money!

The siphoning of allocated funds is an engrained culture of UMNO right from the Cawangan level, to the Bahagian level right up to the Majlis Tertinggi level. That is why those UMNO leaders when they hold ministrial posts or any government offices, they have a knack to siphoned money out of the funds allocated for the rakyaat!

Now getting back to the earlier argument, where is the rest RM70 went?. . ., to the pocket of their Cawangan leaders of course, and that is RM70 per worker per day. If a Cawangan reported they have 100 workers, and for 10 days of campaigning. . ., how much would the cawangan leaders get? . . ., you do the maths!!!

written by Tom n Jerry, August 24, 2008 10:44:44
Umno*s culture of corruption will be wiped out soon;inshah Allah PR will lead the nation by 16 September 2008;a new vision of hope! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Nyghtsky, August 24, 2008 11:00:54
Everyone's staying at home to watch olympics!
written by Dominic, August 24, 2008 11:32:57
Bro,last nite was a Saturday nite bah. Guessed those guys who were supposed to be around must have spend their `take` in one of those nite joints . How could they not feel the urge with the FREE dollars dangling in the pockets!
written by LabRat, August 24, 2008 11:44:51
LGE,

If you are listening, please declare 26 August a public holiday. It will do a lot of good for your people to exercise their rights......
written by The bags, August 24, 2008 11:57:58
RPK.....tell voters there to see what happen to our BN leader....everyone is now like to use and abuse islam . najib sumpah ,tajol rosli also want to sumpuh.....whatlah....
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 24, 2008 14:00:13
BN/UMNO malu to come out?
written by tuankujuki, August 24, 2008 14:04:45
Sumpah dah nak makan tuan. BN got no money anymore. Minyak going down 15 sen per litre so all the money for this campaingn had to go to fuel subsidy. Sumpah I am telling you the truth. Wait arr, I want to sumpah some more. Sumpah!!!!!
written by PAKRAK, August 24, 2008 14:59:30
I have been reliably informed most of the BN supporters, volunteers, workers have abandoned ship. Either they were underpaid (suckered by the middlemen) or embarassed to be associated with a losing party.
written by banzai, August 24, 2008 16:50:13
Tak ala bayar GAJI, siapa mau kerja.
Soon all BN people M.I.A.
written by banzai, August 24, 2008 16:52:43
Maybe all of them followed Najib to temple.
Mr.Ji advised.
written by Anak Desa, August 24, 2008 19:11:24
The UMNO politicians hammering DSAI on Saiful's swearing and sodomi case hasn't gone well with the locals. Even with UMNO 's sponsored splinter HINDRAF group,hasnt taken up well even with the prayers conducted in a Chinese Temple.
written by The bags, August 24, 2008 20:48:57
I was at Tesco just now , I saw one Malay couple holding their daughter crying for a bicycle valued at RM 59.99 , the wife said to the husband " Bang tengok le " the husband said " Sabarlah nak , tengoklah akhir bulan depan " . I was so2 sad , Is this the benifit of DEB? Malays are asked to be greatfull " bersyukur , when our leader living LAMPAU KAYA.......DEB is not helping the malays but more on as a logo helping a few top malay leader enjoying corruption......pls VOTE FOR ANWAR...
written by joeyhuang, August 25, 2008 00:34:45
Latest Ground Zero Observations ;
Just back from 4 hours of visiting all the BN & PKR stations;
Its true that almost 95% of BN stations seems adandoned except the Trengganu UMNO center with their workers sitting, looking lost and exhausted.

PKR stations had definitely captured huge crowds especially the locals were grouping there, with video speeches playing. Very motivated PKR workers busy working under the rain and high spirited, morale is definitely boosted.

The Melaka PKR group of ladies and children were really enjoying themselves under the bus stand, waving and shouting along the roadside, a jovial group. I smiled and wave back at them.

The Traffic crawl along Tanah Liat to BM town was worse than the peak Bukit Bintang jam. My car can only move at 3 km per hr. Most surprising was that I keep seeing cars, trucks and vans with PKR, PAS & DAP flags but NOT any single BN vehicle.

I sensed something must be DEFINITELY WRONG here in Permatang Pauh, just can't figure out what happened to the BN workers. Is it about Najib's Hindu rituals?

My estimate is that a significant portion of Malay voters were strongly influenced by PAS onslaught last few nites.

There is a free dinner by the MCA BM group at about 7pm in a chinese association but there isn't any crowd.

MCA LIFE MEMBER - BAGAN DIVISION
written by jchew, August 25, 2008 02:20:35
Thanks for updates joeyhuang, leave MCA, our children deserves good government.
written by Susanna, August 25, 2008 13:46:15
Normal la... when boss not around, no one is working. This culture of sucking up to the boss is so UMNO what is there to expect? Others are working their hearts out for their future because this is historic moment of making a new nation with renewed vigour and hope in a country for the people by the people. NOT for themselves!! and people who cares? If they had cared, nothing like this can even happen from the start
written by Susanna, August 25, 2008 13:49:11
When are MCA, MIC, Gerakan and all the other components waking up one day not having to suck up to their own bosses ala UMNO style?
written by bluesky, August 26, 2008 00:45:01
fight till the end..i am so sad i cant go back to penang and help PR...got to attend some stupid work here