By-election campaign turns ugly PDF Print
Saturday, 23 August 2008 13:53
PERMATANG PAUH, Aug 23 — Fliers warning of a Cabinet of pigs, posters of a dead woman and caricatures of a duplicitous, many-faced Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim are showing up in Penang as campaigning in the by-election takes an increasingly personal and vicious turn.

Supporters of Anwar, who heads a multiracial opposition alliance, accuse their Barisan Nasional rivals of resorting to crude, racial politics by playing up images of pigs, an animal considered by Muslims as unclean.

They point to fliers being distributed in Malay villages that show a list of opposition leaders who would form a “BABI” Cabinet with Anwar as their chief should he come to power.

“BABI” is short for Barisan Anwar bin Ibrahim, but the word is also an apparent dig at the many Chinese leaders on the list.

“This is coarse language being used by the Barisan Nasional. The conclusion is they are using racial politics in campaigning,” Parti Keadilan Rakyat strategist Saifuddin Nasution told a news conference yesterday.

Pas Youth chief Salahuddin Ayub said he regretted the action and considered it cheap propaganda that should not have happened.

“There are many ways we can convince the people... but not like this. What more when we are having such exciting political fights in the country now,” he added.

The Kubang Kerian MP said it was done by certain quarters who were worried about Anwar winning Tuesday’s by-election.

Pas information chief Mahfuz Omar said it was a move to frighten Malays that a new Cabinet would be controlled by non-Malays.

“So maybe it means they are still trying to play with racial matters,” he added.

Not so fast, say BN campaigners.

They deny being behind the fliers and accuse the PKR of playing rough and dirty.

The evidence, they say, is to be found in the huge posters of dead Mongolian beauty Altantuya Shaariibuu plastered at road corners. Stamped above her head is a single word in red: Justice.

That is a clear reference to her murder and accusations by Anwar that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, chief of the BN by-election campaign, was somehow connected with her death.

Najib has repeatedly said he does not know the woman and was not involved in her murder.

Meanwhile, BN campaign workers claim that the PKR will create tensions to scare voters from coming out on polling day. “They will use their gangster ways to frighten people so that few people will vote, as they are afraid Anwar will lose,” said an Umno Youth leader who did not want to be identified.

Indeed, on nomination day last Saturday, two press photographers were beaten up by a group of men, many wearing the colours of PKR and Pas.

The opposition parties said the incident was not the work of their supporters.

Yesterday, police said they had nabbed two men believed to be part of a group planning to disrupt the by-election.

Police did not say whether the men belonged to any political party.

The accusations and counter-accusations of playing dirty are nothing new in Malaysian politics.

But the decibel levels have been way higher in Permatang Pauh as the by-election could well decide whether Malaysia will remain under the 14-party BN led by Umno, or fall to the four-month-old Pakatan Rakyat coalition.

Anwar, 61, who is facing off with genial local politician Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah, 52, has said his target is more than the constituency. If he is elected to Parliament, his next goal will be to topple the BN government, he said.

Pakatan Rakyat was formed one month after the March general election and consists of the multiracial PKR, Chinese-led DAP and Pas.

The dirty campaign tactics have now become more personal.

A few days ago, an old story surfaced on the BN campaign trail that Anwar had “flirted” with the wife of a deputy minister. The opposition leader retaliated by saying he might reveal a “dark secret” about Najib at the seaside town of Port Dickson.

Neither side went into detail.

Anwar accused Najib of personally benefiting from the government’s submarine deals. The BN retaliated by saying Anwar had dished out contracts worth RM15 billion to cronies when he was deputy prime minister.

Expect more personal issues to be revealed as the campaign enters its final leg. Police expect about 30,000 people from outside the constituency to join the 58,000 voters of Permatang Pauh.

- The Malaysian Insider

written by sjs, August 23, 2008 14:22:51
The people of Permatang Pauh and Malaysia are not stupid! We will vote for Anwar and the opposition in all elections so that we can continuously get goodies from BN. The more votes we give the opposition the more goodies we will get every by-election and election!
written by panca, August 23, 2008 14:23:00
BN especially UMNO, refrain from using the word babi, you are fcuking StewedPig to resort to Babi calling. UMNO You are insulting your own mentality. Rethink a better strategy to better yourself, not batter yourself.

It is even insulting to the animal that god created.
written by steviewonger, August 23, 2008 14:32:26
the rakyat of PP is too smart to be scared by those posters war. posters also tell a difference stories. does the rakyat prefers a cabinet of "pigs" that can make a country prosper or a cabinet of beast that sucks the country dry?

the picture of a dead woman with the word justice above indicate that our judicial system is dead and buried. we want justice to be revived but the present gomen has done nothing at all.

therefore my conclusion is BN is already dead meat. simply hanging posters similar to stabbing their own back with a keris and stuffing a juicy cucumber into the arsehole.
written by activepro, August 23, 2008 14:59:10
Since these BN posters and caricatures depicting or associating non muslims as delicious and succulent pigs,and their leaders seem to approve of it,then it confirmed that our shithead BN leaders are a bunch of RACISTs.So WAKE UP all of you non bumi bros and sis,if you DON'T want to be a second or third class citizen in your own country,this is the time now to step out of your doomed party and make your new stand with PKR-DAP-PAS.Make your day!
written by kksam, August 23, 2008 15:03:08
Good, BN very Good, come on give us more of this shit and we will give you back ours!!!!! ****ing BN haven't learn anything since 8 March, exactly the same tactic, so dear Pematang Pauh voters, please send the BN to hell, let them loss the deposit!!!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 23, 2008 15:15:56
This is exactly why Malaysians need elections with strong opposition. It is only during such times that we get to know intimate details of our Ministers’ activities. But the problem is that all of them are equally guilty and cannot point fingers without three fingers pointing back at them.
Still, I am waiting in great anticipation to see what other dirty laundry the politicians are going to hang out to dry in Permatang Pauh.
written by Mangan, August 23, 2008 15:19:33
Pigs are cute animals created by God. Those who insult the pigs are indeed the pigs themselves, as they have insulted God’s creation!

Other non-Muslims and I really enjoy eating stewed & smoked pork meat – once serve on the dinner table… Ooops, I did it again!
written by laksa maner, August 23, 2008 15:22:09
SIMPLE: UMNO KEHABSIAN MODAL UTK BERKEMPEN. Sebab itu mereka guna taktik kotor dan dajjal sesama orang Islam dalam kempen pilihanraya Permatang Pauh kali ini. Mereka tak ada agenda untuk memajukan rakyat sepertimana PKR.
written by ahmadneil, August 23, 2008 15:38:01
The uglyness and the dirtyness of this election only shows that umno is resorting to dirty tactics,but it only add advantage to Anwar.
written by omarkhayyam, August 23, 2008 16:02:08
i love to see BABI win and savour the babi-minded losers defeat in the hands of Permatang Pauh voters

written by agadam magadam, August 23, 2008 16:32:34
Oh..Oh..!!! Port Dickson..Najib...It's very very true... The Avillion... Ask the staff of Avillion Resort.. It's true...!!!
DSAI.. Bring it out..TRUTH... !!! He deserves to be stoned..That Scum...!!
They've got nothing against you, so they are creating fictious lies.lies...LIES.. about you...
Barisan is cornered, Desperate..They'll do anything to frighten the voters.. UTK..FRU.. Even some of the cops are fed up with Barisan..
PLEASE..PLEASE all PKR supporters-tread carefully..Do not give them reason to point fingers at us.. Till the 26th Aug..
DSAI- YOU ARE ALREADY THE WINNER...GOD IS WIT YOU....KARMA..KARMA...!!! smilies/cheesy.gif We'll be there tomorrow..Just to look see ...REFORMASI..REFORMASI...!!!
written by ChrisLim, August 23, 2008 16:43:58
The more I see BN behave, the more I worry about rakyat's future. No way I will vote for BN!!! To all he rakyat, think of your own future and welfare. Think of your next generation's future and welfar. Kick BN out!!!
written by cruzeiro, August 23, 2008 16:50:37
Can someone supply them with some graphics for their Pig mascot?

Poor guys they love pigs so much, it comes up all the time with these pirates ...
written by YMA_kuantan, August 23, 2008 17:46:34
Kami penuh percaya warga pengundi Permatang Pauh akan menunaikan amanah seluruh rakyat Malaysia yang cintakan negara akan menyokong Pakatan Rakyat. Semakin hari taktik BN semakin memualkan.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, August 23, 2008 18:52:26

people in Permatang Pauh,

Give NO vote to BN (coz they are the bastard)

VOTE Vote vote for Parti Keadilan Rakyat.
VOTE Vote vote for Anwar Bin Ibrahim.

Pakatan Rakyat will give us a better MALAYSIA.

http://www.kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by Vasily, August 23, 2008 19:17:10
I don't mind if those BABI to form a new government...rather than let those stupid, greedy,racists,liars,sex maniac sons of so call alim ulamak (seluruh keturuna Bodohwi), keramat hidup (seluruh keturunan Najis)et al to continue abuse M'sian....Go PIGs...
written by jchew, August 23, 2008 19:30:05
zym zym,

We will buy you for Ba Kut Teh and char siew rice.
written by lamakawan, August 23, 2008 20:24:15
I would say bring out the true pics of najis having dinner with Altantuya and Baginda and company. That will seal their lips. No point arguing with these uncivilised bastards from BN. They are dying to win. But believe me, Wishful thinking they are. Will the real owner of the pics please post them on the internet and that will be the last nail on BN's coffin.
written by Sylvia, August 23, 2008 22:12:49
An Umno Youth Leader said of PKR "they will use their gangster ways to frigten people so that few people will vote as they are afraid Anwar will lose" Why would anyone who is afraid of losing, stop voters from coming out to vote? You think got sense in that comment ah? Anwar will wish for as many voters as possible come out and vote to give him the votes...its only BN that will resort to such dirty tactics like what happened in Nomination Day where it was alleged that PKR men wearing PKR's T-shirts used PKR's flag poles to attack people.....do u think PKR's men are that stupid ah when they know very well BN is all out to accuse them of anything they can think off? Use your brains lah, please...BN, please be more gentleman lah! Dont be sour knowing you are going to be losers!
written by PAKRAK, August 23, 2008 22:24:52
TOMORROW (MONDAY, 25 AUGUST) IS THE LAST DAY FOR CAMPAIGNING. MAY I SUGGEST PKR/PAKATAN RAKYAT BE PREPARED AND ORGANISE YOURSELVES TO HAVE ENOUGH SUPPORTERS TO OBSERVE ALL THE BALLOT BOXES AND THE COUNTING OF VOTES. FOCUS ON THE BALLOT BOXES AND ENSURE NO ADDITIONAL BOXES ARE SLIPPED IN WHILE COUNTING OR DURING A RECOUNT SHOULD THERE BE (LIKE WHAT HAPPENED IN REMBAU) AT THE COUNTING CENTRE. SUGGEST KEY PEOPLE LIKE AZMIN ALI AND TIAN CHUA AND OTHERS WATCH LIKE HAWKS.
GOOD LUCK!
written by flls, August 23, 2008 22:57:36
BN really makes me sick. i hope, the fellow voters will open their eyes, see how shallow and immoral this BN retards are. vote wisely!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 23, 2008 23:01:37
I hope the Agong will send his army to be on standby at PP, with a warning to all the trouble-makers, especially KJ the monkey and his mat-rempits.
written by Catharsis, August 23, 2008 23:05:26
MAY THAT PARTY THAT STAND ON STRONG MORAL PILLARS WIN-

BN, SAD TO NOTE THAT YOUR PILLARS HAVE ALREADY ERODED OVER THE YEARS BY GROTESQUE ACTS OF CORRUPTION, ABUSE OF POWER, CRONYISM AND NEPOTISM

I SUGGEST YOU TAKE THOSE BITTER REFORM PILLS IF YOU DESIRE TO WIN IN THE NEXT GE
written by SiHangChai, August 24, 2008 00:29:50
the whole TV3 News today about najib swearing, tajol rosli , that sissy saiful, double stabber and "mat jenin" ezam as well as beruk-master KJ appearing in the prime news 8pm and trying to act and talk like jerks really make me sick. There is no nature when they talked. Clearly bull-shitting. I hope GOD will punish them heavily.
written by Daryl, August 24, 2008 02:29:56
Cabinet BABI is better than a BODOH cabinet....