Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Local Chinese: We’ll give Anwar his chance

Local Chinese: We’ll give Anwar his chance PDF Print
Saturday, 23 August 2008 08:28
By Debra Chong

SEBERANG JAYA, Aug 23 — The tent set up at the open air carpark next to the Ku Cheng Tse temple here last night was packed to overflowing with the local Chinese community eager to see and hear Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Underneath the marquee, the tables were abuzz with talk of the federal government’s latest announcement of a reduction of petrol prices at the pumps by 15 sen per litre, effective today.

Closer to the back of the tent, a group of older gentlemen were discussing the issue with great fervour. Having just finished the lotus leaf fried rice course, they were very willing to share their opinions on the matter.

Did the Barisan Nasional government think they were naive not to suspect that the announcement had something to do with the upcoming Permatang Pauh by-election next week, they asked.

The question was rhetorical, as they each had already formed their own opinion. Anwar was contesting, and the federal government was scared. They feared that he would win and would become the next prime minister, just as he promised he would do.

And judging from the many nods round the dinner table, it was also what they all wanted.

“Everyone says An Hwa will win. No doubt about it,” said one of the gents in Hokkkien, a 52-year-old businessman who wished to be known only as Ah Lim. He added that the dinner was his second time attending an Anwar ceramah.

He’d first heard the opposition icon speak at the Ruby coffeeshop, which seems to be a popular jawing joint among the local Chinese, last week. And he firmly believes that Anwar will be a good leader and will be able to effect change for the betterment of the rakyat when he re-enters Parliament.

Ah Lim further said that Anwar’s wife was a good MP; that’s how she was able to stay the Permatang Pauh MP for three terms before vacating the seat last month to make way for her husband, whom he believed would make an even better MP.

He’s got the DAP and Pas to fight for one common goal with him, Lim said, noting that it was not an easy thing.

“He will be sure to take care of the interests of the Chinese, because he will want to keep the support of his allies,” Lim added.

A younger man two seats away jumped into the conversation. He appeared more enthusiastic about Anwar’s chances in the by-election.

“Anwar will win but with a bigger majority than Azizah,” he said most emphatically. As a voter, he was going to do his best to make sure of that.

“We want the BN to forfeit their deposit. Why? Because we want to shame the government. It’s a useless government,” he criticised harshly. He got rather carried away and said that “Pak Lah and Najib can go to hell! You can quote me on that,” he said. However, he would only give his name as Ooi from Kuala Lumpur but originally from Seberang Jaya.

His table-mate, 64-year-old Wong Ah Foo, who has worked 40 years in the construction line held a more moderate stance.

“BN okaylah. The wakil rakyat got jaga our people,” he said, referring to the BN-Umno state assemblyman who is also a candidate in the by-election, Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah, who is fondly known to the local Chinese as “Pek-moh” or “White hair”.

“Pek-moh is a good man. If we need anything, got no money, we can always go to him and he will help us. That’s why he cannot go to Parliament. He has to stay here and take care of local matters,” Wong elaborated, stressing that Arif Shah was more concerned for the Chinese’s welfare than the so-called Chinese political parties, MCA or Gerakan, who are supposed to represent their community.

Wong’s son, Jin Aan, 41, who sat across the table from him, continued his father’s point, saying that even though their local assemblyman was a “good guy”, it was time to bring about a change in government.

“BN got too much corruption. They spend so much money but got nothing to show for it. Anwar has got the right spirit to bring about change,” said Jin Aan.

A round-faced 52-year-old who only wanted to be referred to as Ah Keat started the volley going when he criticised the 15-sen drop in petrol price.The schoolbus driver said: “As the saying goes: ‘It takes a crook to catch a crook’.”

The whole table burst into uproarious laughter. Whether Anwar was innocent of the sodomy allegations or the corruption charges, for which he was imprisoned six years for despite continuously denying them, did not seem important to this group.

As Jin Aan concluded: “This year’s March 8 elections proved something. That the people do have power. It’s given us all the confidence that we can effect change.

“The BN has been in power for 50 years. That’s enough. So we’ll give Anwar his chance. If Anwar doesn’t perform, well, we’ll kick him out at the general elections in five years’ time.”

- The Malaysian Insider

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, August 23, 2008 08:36:22
Our chinese towkays,hawkers,fishermen etc last night all pledge to vote for Anwar. Yes, change is all they are asking for becos they all had enough of lies.
agree 193
written by Tom n Jerry, August 23, 2008 08:45:44
Many thanks in anticipation for your votes;I am sure DSAI will be pleasantly surprised when he knows the majority are already planning to vote him into parliament;Malaysians are beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel! smilies/smiley.gif
written by ibabonma, August 23, 2008 08:49:02
Pek-moh or Tok Uban ....keluarga penyamun. Mula-mula jual bawang di Chow Kit (tipu timbang), kemudian tipu rakyat untuk beli kapal terbang jet peribadi!
written by salmanthegreat, August 23, 2008 08:49:35
calling all malaysians!!the power is in your hands!!!lets unite and bring down Barisan Najis once and for all!!!im a malay who loves our PR leaders such as anwar ibrahim,lim guan eng and all others..i dont care if he/she's a malay or chinese or indian..as long as they're a good leader,then we should support them!!!i also love the way lim guan eng speaks!!
written by cwy, August 23, 2008 09:15:45
It is not just Chinese, but all Malaysians who would like Malaysia to be saved!
All the leaders in PR, of course including Anwar, will ensure that each and every Malaysian shall be proud to be Malaysian!
written by Bigjoe99, August 23, 2008 09:35:13
This is going to be a bigger bloodbath then earlier thought. 20,000 vote margin I predict.
written by benny loh, August 23, 2008 09:40:09
The man is a fake!
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...ke-ph.html
written by ganbing, August 23, 2008 09:57:37
Voters of Permatang Pauh! You have the opportunity to create history by being the catalyst of change by voting Anwar into parliament with a huge majority. This will give a big slap to the BN government that the people are fed up of their corrupt ways and racial politics. Permatang Pauh will be the focal point of change and the winds of change will blow all the way to Parliament and Putrajaya.

Vote for Anwar! Vote for Change!
written by ladasiber, August 23, 2008 10:15:10
A few days ago local tv stations showed Ariff speaking chinese in front of chinese audience. But I bet most of then just wanted to hear, but not to listen. Most of then also looked like the party helper rather than local residence. What a way to cheat the nation.
written by capcomangel, August 23, 2008 10:30:53
DSAI should face more attention to malay voter since chinese people is the much change in GE12, alot racist happen until pulling down malay feelling as example someone play fire say non bumiputra questioning malay right.
written by Hello Keithy, August 23, 2008 10:35:32
The lotus leaf fried rice was delicious. Voting for Change is even more delicious. When PR is in govt., abalone will be served.
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 23, 2008 10:39:47
What the people of Permatang Puah are saying is: "You cannot get the family dog to look after the whole village".

I hope my Peninsular Malaysians will keep on using People's Power like we Sabahans did (when we still got that before the new millennium) and change corrupted State government as and when needed.. like dirty diapers!
written by ctchoolaw, August 23, 2008 10:51:49
This is the correct attitude for ALL voters to take. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Xerxes, August 23, 2008 11:33:32
What is most gratifying about this motley collection of Chinamen voters is their maturity of thoughts regarding the exercising of their votes. They were only talking of issues, nothing about race or religion as BN/UMNO was trying so hard to instigate. Truly we are witnessing the birth of a new era in Malaysian nationhood. And lets make sure this birth is not stillborn by making sure the byelection be a fair fight on issues rather than on race, religion and smut.
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 23, 2008 11:34:04
Everyone says An Hwa will win

WAH. DSAI YOU SHOULD BE PROUD THE CHINESE FOLKS ACCEPTED U
AND WE ARE ALSO PROULD OF IT. FOR NOW CONCENTRATE MORE ON THE
RURAL MALAY FOLKS, AS THEY ARE SIMPLE, PURE AND HONEST AND CAN
BE EASILY MANIPULATED BY THE BN BUAYAS WHO WILL RESORT TO ALL MEANS
JUST TO WIN.
written by MalaysianIAm, August 23, 2008 11:36:39
“Pek-moh is a good man. If we need anything, got no money, we can always go to him and he will help us. That’s why he cannot go to Parliament. He has to stay here and take care of local matters,” Wong elaborated, stressing that Arif Shah was more concerned for the Chinese’s welfare than the so-called Chinese political parties, MCA or Gerakan, who are supposed to represent their community.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

At first I thought he's a stupid stubborn Chinese scared of shit, manatau he so funny! Well, maybe he's not trying to be funny, but he's so smart, still!
written by teohpg, August 23, 2008 11:58:46
KEEP THIS KIND OF SPIRIT GOING MALAYSIAN!!!!!! MERDEKA!!!!

“The BN has been in power for 50 years. That’s enough. So we’ll give Anwar his chance. If Anwar doesn’t perform, well, we’ll kick him out at the general elections in five years’ time.”
written by Anak_Asia, August 23, 2008 12:23:15
Good news from Penang ...

I attended a ceramah by Anwar in Seberang Jaya last nite. The voters are in buoyant mood to vote in Anwar into the Parliament, they said rain or shine, Anwar never walk alone !!!
written by angkasawan bocor, August 23, 2008 12:32:26
Long live DSAI! Long live Pakatan Rakyat!
written by PAKRAK, August 23, 2008 12:35:19
What DSAI is concerned is to make Malaysia a multi-racial country - not racial like what UMNO/BN has been doing by treating us as slaves just like they treat the component parties like servants. Ashamed to say the state of affairs is beyond redemption and the allies are still not conscious or they are still waiting for more "durians" to fall. When Pakatan Rakyat comes into power we will all be known as one muti-racial rakyat - and we can proudly call ourselves Brothers and Sisters.
written by gctham, August 23, 2008 13:27:29
For one reason or other BN refuse to analysis the 308 ge RESULTS, OR THEY DID BUT REFUSED TO accept its findings. Should those on the top GO ON THE GROUND they should know the general feeling of the public. there are many many more issues that affecting life of all races but not only for a particular race. the political , social economic environment are just not the same to have a repeat of another sodomy charge, be it true or other wise. the manner the police handle the issue have so much similarity as compare with the first sodomy charge make the public just could not accept there is any true on it. this was again compound with the public perceived non independent on the judiciary front make the public highly sceptical about this turn of event.

the public has perceived that BN has failure in many ways to solve many many issues that have affecting the people and has since totally lost they trust in BN. this was much more the case for the chinese group who feel they is no harm to let the pakatan have a chance at least there is chance for them to make changes that the people want. compare with the chances that BN have been given and yet fail to make amend of their mistake.

BN has general perceived by the people an political opportunist why ?
Let look at these issues:-

Petrol price was reduced few days earlier just to try to win over the people because of PP by election. People will ask why it come so soon after all this while BN has not be sincere on its promise and the promise of reducing petrol price have beem the talking issue for many months, why there is a sudden urge of urgency to do it just few days alway from PP by election? If not because of getting goodwill from the people to vote BN what else you can think? Again BN can win over the simple minded kampong folks but not the well inform voters at this IT age. This again proof that BN is not sincere and they are only OPPORTUNIST in what ever they want to do and implement. This kind of tactic may work once but not twice or thrice as you can always think the people are all fool. This will make the people more angry and enhanced their belief on the BN insincerity in policy that will benefit the people.

Next on the issues on many cased that happen in the PAKATAN states. ACA has done their jobs so to speak in PERAK. But again this may be so but why it has suddenly become such an efficient and effective enforcement? Should ACA has been all the while work and carry out their duties like those in HONG KONG or Singapore, that will not be issues, but we all known very well there have been so much complaints from the general public much so people like CITIZEN Nades of the Sun have openly challenge the ACA to take action ON many issues and complaint but in vain, so this kind of things can only give rise to the people perception of interrupting the PAKATAN government in PERAK. What else you ca think of other wise.

Rightly BN should just concentrate to amend of their mistakes now rather than spent all thier time and energy to sabotage the PAKATAN government. By doing so they may still have the chance, but it seem they are running like no head chicken now? Time will tell people will get their wishes by 26.08.08 evening.
written by Good News, August 23, 2008 13:45:46
Calling voters in Permatang Pauh. Your votes come Aug 26 will create history in Malaysia for throwing out a corrupted BN government.
written by captmarco ramius, August 23, 2008 14:28:28
As Jin Aan concluded: “This year’s March 8 elections proved something. That the people do have power. It’s given us all the confidence that we can effect change.

VERY WELL SAID.

VALGHE MAKKAL SAKTHI !!!
written by ASK4u, August 23, 2008 14:43:09
Good, but if we want BN to loose its deposit, I will be more concerned with the Malay votes. They are the big majority in PP. BN is dangerous. They are capable of pulling something out of their sleeves at the very last minute. Just lobby the Malays a little harder.
written by apa jadi, August 23, 2008 14:46:06
Arif Shah is a nice guy as far as personality and religious tolerance is concerned. But this is a vote for the nation's future. We cannot just let BN put a nice guy up the stage while they continue doing damage to the nation.
written by ASK4u, August 23, 2008 14:56:44
..and don't discount the Indians to. Even though they are the minority, their votes can deliver a severe blow to BN. Remember what happend to BN's arrogance in this March GE. They thought the Indians were divided and that their votes were scattered. But Hindraf manage to pull them together and became a signifcant factor in BN loosing its 2/3 majority.I believe, the Indians are more united now and cannot be easily fooled too. MIC severe lost is enough proof of this phenomena. Najib has realised this and that's the reason he is offering Indians scrap metal licenses to woo them. But they won't be fooled this time around. smilies/wink.gif
written by miwaki, August 23, 2008 15:53:00
"Pek Moh" don't be disappointed,you still have chance if you were to chant "Namo Amituofo"infront of chinese.Chant "Om Sai baba" infront of follower of Sai Baba and infront of Hindus,try to ask Najeep to help.he know Mr Ji as informed by Pete.
written by Malaysiaku, August 23, 2008 16:03:24
Everyone should look at the bigger picture, vote for the party, vote for someone who can change the Govt. Make the BN candidate loses his deposit. Everone must come out to vote and not let others do the job for you. We need to see Anwar win by a bigger majority.
written by asguard, August 23, 2008 20:16:15
Dear those whom are going out for election at Permatang Pauh.. please throw your support for Anwar ...BN has got 50 years ..it time for them to pack their bags... coz.. they can't be trusted in everything that they do for the past 50 years... only knows to enrich themselves with taxpayers money...and greedy for power..
written by Eskay Lim, August 23, 2008 20:40:04
The feelings of the Chinese community at ground-level has finally awaken to the notion that every voter has the power to seek change. Gone are the days where Chinese must support and vote Chinese-party candidates, (the same applies to Malays and Indians)etc.
Malaysians want change, a change for the better for all citizens regardless of skin-colour and religion.
Malaysians have finally matured.
And they are showing their maturity this Aug.-26 in Permatang Pauh, Penang.
written by Lim Lim, August 23, 2008 23:42:23
"peh mor" definitely not going to Putrajaya,permatang pauhs!since 'peh mor' hav been talking n bragging about his good services n strong passion to look after the permatang pauhs' dailyhood well beings:lets then fulfill his request,make it a win-win situation.....keep him at his adun status quo n concentrate to carry out his duty on behalf of the boss....the rakyat in proper,fulfilling his so called 'dream by voices',N u guys send anwar into the parliment as the prime mover to 'change'! which most malaysia hav been opting for due to umno/BN's fambles ,without showing good efforts for any recovering raising for a proper come back,instead...they are trying to take the easiest way out,on racist dotrine...which would benefit umno own preservative of power ,for themselves only but obviously destructive or even detrimental to the nation building ,the future of the country n rakyat!ask yourself,do u see ahything now,before or even after?????
written by IndnChinsMaly, August 24, 2008 01:35:22
Do you Chinese see how STUPID you were for voting BN all these years? Wake up lah Chinese. Enough with your STUPIDITY! Join other Malaysians for a better future! Vote for PR!
written by jting, August 24, 2008 08:09:35
Readers,
I am sure 90% of the ppl will vote for DSAI, including those in UMNO, MCA & Gerakan. Whether or not Anwar win with a bigger majority than Azizah is not important factor to politicised, his key task is to be an MP, sit in the budget FY09, unite PR once again & form the next govt by 16th Sept 08. Believe we are all quite sceptical as the timeline is drawing near with too many more hurdles to go for DSAI, Perhaps, any date will be a celebration for the rakyat as long as DSAI promise that he'll topple the government diplomatically & heir the next PM by end of this yr.

For the future PM, you can have the peoples mandate to rule the country. Best of luck.

Rgds,

from all ex-High School Bkt Mertajam Students
written by Kaboosh, August 24, 2008 15:32:00
Peh Moh is dispenseble thats why UMNO had fielded him in Permatang Pauh, fully
aware that DSAI would get a land-slide win