Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Guan Eng: Give aid to all faiths

Guan Eng: Give aid to all faiths PDF Print
Saturday, 23 August 2008 08:25
GEORGE TOWN: Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng is disappointed that the Federal Government is only giving financial aid to mosques and suraus in Permatang Pauh.

“They should give the aid to all mosques and suraus in the state. In fact, they should be fair by giving the aid to all places of worship,” he told newsmen after giving RM100 in Social Welfare Department aid to 100 recipients at the Caring Society Complex here yesterday.

Lim was commenting on an announcement by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak that RM100,000 would be given to each mosque and RM30,000 to each surau in the constituency.

The 100 aid recipients are among 8,231 people selected to receive the RM100 aid. Five hundred more recipients will receive the aid today in all five districts in the state while the rest of them will receive the money through their bank accounts.

Lim said the poor would actually be receiving RM200 as the state will give another RM100 worth of water subsidy to those earning RM1,500 per month and below.

“The money will be given by the end of the year,” he said.

Lim also said that the state would give water rebates of between RM5 and RM10 to 1,401 places of worships in Penang including mosques and suraus from Sept 6.

On his debate with former chief minister Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon on the land controversy in Penang, Lim said it was up to the people to decide who was telling the truth.

- The Star

written by ahmadneil, August 23, 2008 08:31:33
This will only happens when Anwar takes over and then FAIRNESS will be a reality.
written by talk2stop, August 23, 2008 08:55:28
I hope the Muslims are happy now. The religion flourish in Malaysia not because of its own faith and accord of GOD intervention but by GOVERMENT. ALLAH U'AKBAR!!!
written by cwy, August 23, 2008 09:18:45
Man proposes, God dispose(s)!
Be fair to all religions!
written by krising1, August 23, 2008 09:22:26
Guan Eng, think before you speak. You are now going to see a demonstration that you have touched on Malay rights. This is the UMNOputra way of stirring trouble and you are playing into their hands.

They are a desperate bunch of folks who have run out of ideas to prevent the slide of support. No thinkers amongst them. Only trouble makers who cna resort to dirty tricks.

I am no intellectual. However, I can easily see who has been orchestrating the attacks on the press photographers. And the UMNO police makes an arrests of PKR leaders because they are seen in the pictures. Luckily you have an independent french photographer who identifies the PKR man as one who was trying to prevent the assault. I am still waiting for the UMNO police apologise. No, they will only swear on the Quran that it is not political.

The UMNOputras and BN are resorting to open corruption in this by-election and we are helpless because the instruments of state which are supposed to stop this are not taking action. Keep all these well documented and we will make all of them answer for it as I am confident we are going to have a new government.... if not be Sep 16 at least within the next 4 years.
written by Mangan, August 23, 2008 09:24:32
Ini boleh dikira sebagai "rasuah wang" (sup sidi) di masa nak buat pilihanraya!

Kesian gak apabila disogok dengan (janji) wang sebegitu rupa... Lepas pilihanraya nanti, janji tetap tinggal janji kosong!

Kesian... chuk, chuk, chuk!
written by lamakawan, August 23, 2008 09:44:59
Whose money is this ****ing Najis using to give to mosques, etc? It is our money, we, the taxpayers. Is this not bribery in its simplest form? Worse still, he is using our money to bribe the muslim voters. think again, he is giving to the mosques, suraus. There never was a thought in his mind that we are a multi religious country. Did he say churches, temples, etc? This UMNO extremist is out to split our multi religious society by omitting other religions. How can we vote for these people that only think of their own kind? We had enough of these blood suckers for the past 50 years. ENOUGH IS ENPUGH. WE WANT CHANGE. CHANGE FOR THE BETTER.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 23, 2008 11:37:43
A fair & transparent government will hand out donations,grants or loans to any religion which it deems fit,without fear or favour;hopefully our PR government -in -waiting will fulfil our cherished dream!There should be a ratio of number of place of worship versus the number of disciples of that particular religion!
written by ladasiber, August 23, 2008 11:59:16
You add politics into religion, you'll kill every soul on earth. You add religion into politics, earth will become heaven.
written by The dragonheart, August 23, 2008 12:11:00
As far as I know, money donated to mosques must be clean from corruptions, gambling, usury,illegal money etc2.. Look at Masjid wilayah.. a new grand mosque but the money comes from an uncertain source... the mosque is craking every where and used for arties to get married with barebacks dressed women...

these money should be given to some other places and not for the mosques...Mosques money should come from the Muslims' fund and not from government pool...
written by omarkhayyam, August 23, 2008 12:27:42
thats the rakyat elected CM of penang ....

written by PAKRAK, August 23, 2008 12:44:16
This is very obvious and it shows that UMNO/BN is very racialistic and anti- supportive of non-Malays. Who can tolerate this? Islam believes that if a man (UMNO/BN) marries four wives (Malays, Chines, Indians and others) all must get equal share. They are not muslims at all! Instead DSAI has been saying that all Malaysians must be equal and true Malaysians like brothers and sisters.
written by kavidibaku, August 23, 2008 14:48:29
talk2stop,i don't understand what you meant by this
"I hope the Muslims are happy now".
The dragonheart,"Mosques money should come from the Muslims' fund and not from government pool... "100% I agree with you.
written by onnetline, August 23, 2008 15:23:50
Eng Guan,

Show the BN shitheads what you can do to marginally improve.

And not to marginalised !!!

We support Pakatan Rakyat !