Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Arif Shah wants Pas rep to endorse his campaign

Arif Shah wants Pas rep to endorse his campaign PDF Print
Friday, 22 August 2008 11:14

SEBERANG JAYA, Aug 21 — Barisan Nasional's Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah is attempting the unthinkable - he wants Permatang Pasir's Pas assemblyman Hamdan Abdul Rahman to endorse his campaign.

"My people are trying to arrange a meeting with him. I am going to tell him, if I win the Parliament seat, I can help develop his constituency, so both of us can share the credit," he said when met here today.

The BN candidate for the Permatang Pauh by-election is hoping that Pas will abandon its ally Parti Keadilan Rakyat, enabling a fighting chance for him against PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Hamdan however is not interested. "His offer is as a sign of desperation. Maybe he realises that BN is going to lose the election.

The three-term Pas assemblyman politely said that was inappropriate to negotiate with Arif Shah during the campaign period.

"We are at war, how can we negotiate with the enemy. Pas cannot afford to destroy Pakatan Rakyat, I will always defend the coalition.

"I was an opposition assemblyman for two terms. Why would I need his help now to bring development to my constituency? Pas machinery is working as usual and I personally attend 10 to 12 programmes a day for the campaign," Hamdan added.

A check at the Pas operation centre in Permatang Pasir showed that the Islamist party was still in high spirits to ensure Anwar's return to Parliament as party workers crowded after a day of campaigning. Several Pas female members were at the centre after returning from canvassing for votes.

"We visited about 200 homes this morning, and we are sure to get 80 percent of the votes in those areas," one of them told The Malaysian Insider.

PKR national strategy director Saifuddin Nasution said Arif Shah was being over ambitious.

"I would like to thank him for his good intention to help develop Permatang Pasir. But don't forget the mega projects in Penang such as the monorail was scrapped by the federal government and there's nothing for someone like Arif Shah can do," he said.

Anwar's campaign has intensified with ceramahs, walkabouts and house to house visit while BN is focusing more visiting voters in their houses.

- The Malaysian Insider

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by alberttan, August 22, 2008 11:20:47
That is the way to go YB Hamdan, may you and PAS continue to be infused with the spirit of Tok Guru Nik Aziz's struggle and reject the stooges who have khalwat with UMNO.
written by salmanthegreat, August 22, 2008 11:30:00
another desperate attempt by umno..arif shah is definitely not 'ARIF' enough in this matter..trying to get help from his own enemy during war..what a dumb ass!
written by CitizenBodohland, August 22, 2008 11:35:41
Arif and Barisan Neraka,

Who give you the right to use development programs to threaten the Rakyat?
written by Heikal, August 22, 2008 11:45:41
What is the point of joining his side? He is an opposition, he doesn't have money, even he does, it probably eaten up for his lavishness. Besides, if Hamdan wants development in his constituency the one he should be looking for is Guan Eng
written by Chavin, August 22, 2008 11:59:00
"We are at war, how can we negotiate with the enemy. Pas cannot afford to destroy Pakatan Rakyat, I will always defend the coalition.

im having goose-bump after reading above sentences, tears flow down my cheek right now. well said YB Hamdan Abdul Rahman ur truly Malaysian Malaysia. Bravo Pas.
written by Malaysiaku, August 22, 2008 12:37:09
Just bought a dog, named it Arif.
written by aykf9439, August 22, 2008 12:37:45
Cut the Crap la Dato Arif . . I quite respect u as a good man indeed Dato but pls do not give any stupid reason like development to the constituency , it;ll be just like a smacked to yr face .... Bcoz to the big UMNO goons above , ur just a small peanut to them , yr words means nothing at all k !!!!!!!! So tell us how on earth u can ensure and GUARANTEE us that development will be done in the future when the present Ruling Goverment now breaks their promises after the GE12 ????

Just do yr part , Dato , and try yr best only Bcoz after all my vote of Confidence still go to DSAI at this moment .................

To the Voters of Permatang Pauh , our brothers & sisters pls do the rest of us the 26 millions people of Malaysia a big favor , let us SINKED AND TENGGELAMKAN the ship of BN once and for all with the biggest majority ever obtained in Permatang Pauh all the years .

The fate of this NATION lies in yr hand , my dear brothers and sisters of Permatang Pauh ..................
written by Raizzen, August 22, 2008 12:38:25
"My people are trying to arrange a meeting with him. I am going to tell him, if I win the Parliament seat, I can help develop his constituency, so both of us can share the credit,"

Oh well said Yg. Ariff, but we've got news for you, we are not out to earn credits. PR is all about serving the rakyats. Btw, credits given when credits are due, so why the effort when it WILL come anyhow.

And yes, we are at war seconded !
written by sukinong, August 22, 2008 12:43:51
Just endorse BN campaign as a failure! smilies/angry.gif
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 22, 2008 12:51:50
I feel sorry for him. He looks so sad and so desperate. Lost face?
written by born2reign, August 22, 2008 12:51:52
Anwar's campaign has intensified with ceramahs, walkabouts and house to house visit while BN is focusing more visiting voters in their houses.

Anwar has ceramah because he has issues to talk about. Arif has no issues other than NEPotism for UMNOputeras, so have to go house calls to buy votes.
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 22, 2008 12:56:15
Endorse his campaign??? I think he meant "finance his campaign" so that he does not 'rugi besar' from his "investment". Arif joined in the election fray hoping some political party will 'buy' him out so as not to 'cacau' vots lah! He is just an opportunist and nothing else. If my words don't convince you...well..just take a look at him.
written by lonewolf, August 22, 2008 13:30:43
Asking your enemy to endorse your campaign eehh !!
Sound like you are really desperate to win. U promise to bring development in his area.. Why only during elections ?? what a cheap way to bribe. UMNOrons has always been dirty and greedy goons.
written by indianputra, August 22, 2008 13:35:23
Arif, this must the best joke of this campaign. You are getting senile Dato!
written by tuankujuki, August 22, 2008 13:38:14
WHY now? Why not two terms ago? Desperations will make a man does the unthinkable even sinking his own ship.

Perplexing indeed for such a man to stoop so low but then he is an UMNO member. A party known to stoop lower.
written by songsar, August 22, 2008 13:43:00
Arif has been scorned by Pak Hamdan who is a man of integrity.

In your dreams, you will call yourself Dr. Arif PhD, a degree from a dubious source whose certificate is not even fit to wipe your backside. Arif, if you are not up to standard, don't go out and insult the honorable degree.

Or is it that your dissertation is titled "How my brother screwed the Malaysian Government of 24 billion Ringgits and was declared a bankrupt but live happily in Dubai"
written by Democrats, August 22, 2008 14:19:09
Why you need PAS to endorse? Don't tell me MCA, MIC, and GERAKAN, and other components parties in Sarawak and Sabah are not endorsing your campaign.

Why not get NIKE or REEBOK to endorse you as well? It will be good showing how fast you can run in shame after the election. Maybe SPEEDO can help to if you choose to swim towards Indonesia.
written by Hakim Joe, August 22, 2008 14:20:57
When has BN and especially UMNO ever required another party to endorse their candidate? Just shows how desperate they are getting to be. Wonder how much in "endorsement fee" is implied this time around. If RM1,000 is for the electors, then the sum to buy over another party must be in the tens of millions...

Shouldn't see any problems for UMNO to deliver on this promise...after all it is the Rakyat's money. Maybe I should start a political party and go against UMNO just to collect those huge endorsement fees. Better than working my butt off.....
written by Rundukon, August 22, 2008 14:38:08
If Arif Shah is sincere he should ditch UMNO and join Pakatan.
written by takbolehtahan, August 22, 2008 14:50:17
Find out a little bit more about the'enemy' at Malaysiakini: Arif drops out of 'bogus' PhD study.

What more can we say of our politicians.
written by songsar, August 22, 2008 14:58:41
Datuk Arif

Since Pas' Hamdan has rejected your proposal, you should as they say 'go and break your back bone so you can bend down and suck your own balls' as PAS will not commit khalwat or so do mi with you.

What happen to the dpm's accusations?? Suddenly, a sound of silence after just a mention of the word "PORT DICKSON"
written by bunian, August 22, 2008 15:01:15
How about getting endorsement of the PhD program from Edision while you're at it, brother of a "swindler"?
smilies/tongue.gif
written by lobster, August 22, 2008 15:52:56
Alas, that's the true color of a person with fake PhD.
written by qitaro, August 22, 2008 16:05:28
oh please lah ... this white hair idiot thought hamdan is just another kampung bum whom he can easily con with this stupid tactic!
written by The Voter, August 22, 2008 16:42:08
YES, PAS WILL FIGHT PKR TILL DEATH.
I will give a full support to PKR.

But sorrylay Arif Shah, this is only on the football field.
Malaysia Cup Final on tomorrow 23.08.08 at Bukit Jalil, PAS lead KEDAH will fight PKR lead SELANGOR. PAS/KEDAH will fight till the final wishtle to grab the third crown for the terrible this year. And PKR/SELANGOR wil fight to extend their supremacy in Malaysia Cup..

So, Arif you are only dreaming. PAS members from Selangor have been at PP on rotating basis till the end. They also skip the match for the important match.
Sorry for your day dream. Plese watch the telecast Malaysia Cup Final. I cannot wait to see the sea of PAS/PKR flags. Do not forget DAP/KL. They are the homesite.
Anyway hope Selangor will tame Kedah this time
written by amoker, August 22, 2008 17:14:25
YB Hamdan better than ZUlkifli Noordin. He knows what he is fighting for.
written by mrta, August 22, 2008 17:52:16
YB Hamdan said, "We are at war, how can we negotiate with the enemy. Pas cannot afford to destroy Pakatan Rakyat, I will always defend the coalition.

Well said YB Hamdan! Thank you! Now let us all give our votes to DSAI!

written by benny loh, August 22, 2008 17:56:28
BANYAK KUAT TIPU..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...ke-ph.html
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 22, 2008 18:01:48
Barisan Nasional's Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah is attempting the unthinkable - he wants Permatang Pasir's Pas assemblyman Hamdan Abdul Rahman to endorse his campaign.

THAT'S THE PROBLEM WITH THIS CONTAGIOUS DISEASE SLEEPING AND DREAMING. NEXT YOU WILL FIND YR PANTS ARE WET. THAT'S WHAT WE WANT TO SEE AND HEAR MORE FROM DAP/PAS/PKR. FOCUS ON THE COMMON ENEMY AND WHACK THEM OUT. WHEN U ARE SO UNITED, YOU CAN NOT FAIL TO BREAK THROUGH THEIR ARROGANCE.
written by No nonsense, August 22, 2008 18:30:50
Why dont Hamdan tell Ariff to hope over to PR instead? He has plenty to gain and nothing to lose. I think this is a better idea. If he hops over his constituency will be more develope then at present. So Why think so much just hop over man. You will be a hero to Permatang Pauh people. Dont you(Ariff) think it is great.?
written by CikChani, August 22, 2008 19:07:59
a quote from one magazine: a politician is a person who borrows rm 100 from you and pay back rm 50 and declare even as both loss 50 bucks each... smilies/angry.gif
written by shissun, August 22, 2008 19:50:01
Another example of BN's cheap trick.
written by AsamLaksa, August 22, 2008 23:05:23
There's one good reply for Arif in this case, a fine quote from an Indian leader, "Ini kerja orang gila". smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif