Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Water leak at Parliament again (updated)

Water leak at Parliament again (updated) PDF Print
Thursday, 21 August 2008 16:01
KUALA LUMPUR: The ceiling in the media centre leaked again Thursday morning after a heavy downpour.

As a result of the leak, three television sets in the centre failed to work in the morning but they were up and running again later after the technicians fixed the wiring.

Rain water trickled down just next to the electric switch board and created a puddle of water at the entrance of the centre.

This is not the first time the ceiling in Parliament is leaking after its major renovation which cost about RM90mil a few years ago.

Parliament's director-general Datuk Kamaruddin Baharum said he had contacted the Works Department about the leak.

Asked if the renovation was still under warranty, he said he was not sure and he would have to check with the department.

"But I'm worried too each time there's heavy rain.

"Whenever it rains, I have to walk around the whole building to check if there are any leaks," he said.

Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur), who went to check out the leak with Chong Eng (DAP-Bukit Mertajam) and Fong Kui Loon (DAP-Bukit Bintang), said he hoped the Parliament building would not be another Middle Ring Road Two scandal, which had cracks and fallen pieces of concrete slabs after construction.

- The Star

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, August 21, 2008 16:05:35
Low quality job with high tender.Corrupted to the core.
written by MsiaCTzen, August 21, 2008 16:10:38
Parliament leaking sign of UMNO sinking

written by cllim123, August 21, 2008 16:12:34
Better haul Samy's ass to jail!!
written by orangmsia, August 21, 2008 16:35:32
RM90 million to renovate the parliament??
RM70 million to repair MRR2??
Samy Vellu is not around, so who is going to be responsible?

Watch this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_dcV9ZjmTc
written by megatron, August 21, 2008 16:42:35
Water leak at Parliament again .. sigh
eeerrrr... so.... whats new?
need more money to repair?
byk sampah?
ranting-ranting kayu? smilies/smiley.gif
written by nattolady, August 21, 2008 16:52:40
no eye see, really
written by chebella, August 21, 2008 16:55:05
the malaysian parliament under the leadership of BN is leaking in more ways than one

i think god is telling us something
written by Chialat, August 21, 2008 17:01:12
Bocor lagi?? hahahahha... normal lah. Like what buang moktar said, tiap-tiap bulan pun ada ma.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 21, 2008 17:01:16
This is a classic example of a "semi-value" job. BN will surely sink.
written by Steven Tan, August 21, 2008 17:05:26
Aiyaaa what's the big deal, leaking only what not collapse With another RM100 million they will patch the hole (not *******)
written by Steven Tan, August 21, 2008 17:09:20
RM100 to buy the chemical to patch the hole RM99,999,900 masuk poketlah
written by CJ7, August 21, 2008 17:15:26
funny la u guys....kutuk maksima.....i like it, funny but true
written by menggatal, August 21, 2008 17:15:35
thats why some of them wear diapers
written by DanDan, August 21, 2008 17:22:07
Kesian-nya JKR kena take the blame again and the ex-minister walking around slowly (bacause pocket too heavy) smiling happily. I hope when DSAI form the new government, immediately freeze travel ban on semivalue, mamaktil, sleepyhead, najis, 4th floor monkeys. Korek, korek, korek them and get back the rakyats money.

Now, you all know why mamaktil said he'll leave Malaysia if DSAI win the by-election? Just like the Marcos.
written by Lostsoul12, August 21, 2008 17:34:23
Aiyoo...yoo, carilah bomoh hujan dan halau hujan dari parlimen tiap-tiap hari. kalau hujan dan bocor lagi, Salahkan bomoh hujan lah.....
written by DanielYKL, August 21, 2008 17:38:54
BN/UMNO is leaking too. Many will leak out to PR and soon BN/UMNO will sink, along with it's captain. Genghis Khan once said, "The wall is only as great as the man who guards it" So who is guarding BN? smilies/grin.gif
written by KARMANNGHIA, August 21, 2008 17:39:58
Mr Phaklah, please, have the decency and resign, spare us further from your imcompetency.

Whilst under your administration, we have witness....

1. Paliament constant leaking, verbally and literally.
2. Foreign Direct Investment leaked to neighbouring countries
3. Judiciary leaked
4. Big fish Leaked
5. court house leaked
6. our maney leaked, not ehough to get by leh. submarine comission too damn high leh
7. PKFZ leaked.
8. Safety leaked, we don't even feel safe on the street nowadays.

with results like these, you could blame it on the inheriting from the previous corrupt administration, the fact remains, after 5 years, little is done and your corrective actions is either too late or still you have not comprehend.

please resign. spare us your incompetence.

written by samesamemam, August 21, 2008 17:44:25
I remember the last time the Batu Gajah MP Fong Poh Kuan complained about the leaks in the Parliament lobby, 2 BN MPS made this reply:

"Mana ada bocor, Batu Gajah pun tiap-tiap bulan bocor juga (Where is the leak? Batu Gajah leaks every month too)...

Its ultimately a brain leak at the highest levels of government.....but there is hope...

Testicle to brain transplants may sound like an improbable concept but the latest experiments on laboratory rats suggest they may offer a new way to treat several serious brain leak conditions.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/specials/anaheim_99/262938.stm

written by densemy, August 21, 2008 17:51:05
... are you sure its not Badawi's incontinent bladder??
written by SocratesI, August 21, 2008 17:54:57
Sami-No-Value and Nasty (Nazri) must answer for this DEBACLE !! Our Legislature can't even have a proper shelter against the elements of Nature, what chance does the RAKYAT have in getting decent shelter and civil rights ??

Very reflective of the state Malaysia is in !! Throw out the Govt.!! Vote in DSAI & PAKATAN RAKYAT !!

written by binarytan, August 21, 2008 18:27:28
"Satu Lagi Projek BN" or "Satu lagi Projek Kebanggaan UMNO"

Projek Bocor Negara!!!!

Use to it already and the cabinet will yet again spend multi-million to repair the shit. Perhaps Md Zain will start to laugh now for another project in making, into his own pocket with Bangladeshi connection.
written by fireduck, August 21, 2008 18:29:29
Told you guys to get rid of all those 'Bocor' buggers? Never listen. Now we are still left with one from Kinabatangan. That's why leaking again! smilies/tongue.gif
written by shamadz72, August 21, 2008 20:31:07
This is not the first time and this is not going to be the last time as long as we have BN in power. Try to have Pakatan in power and we won't see this problem anymore!
written by jjireh99, August 21, 2008 20:45:54
i agree with you fireduck 250%. Get rid of that bung mokhtar idiot!
written by Malaysia Digest, August 21, 2008 20:48:30
Maybe the Parliament building engineers came from UITM
written by Sidq, August 21, 2008 21:14:01
Yb Menterui Kerjaraya Ir. Mohd Zin graduated from UiTM. Mana ada standard lah. Gi celup degree kat USA diUniversity ranking entah no berapa?
written by omarkhayyam, August 21, 2008 21:23:57
anything that is made by BN must leak .... if not it is not made by BN

written by myvoice, August 21, 2008 22:11:05
Mr Sam Velo commented .."can't blame the work minister, the rain was due to act of God"!
written by myvoice, August 21, 2008 22:13:14
Yeah, should ask the Kinabatangan guy, cause he is expert in leak issue!
written by Jimbo, August 21, 2008 22:41:40
Where the F is Samy boy, sucking up to UMNO and no time to investigate. As usual they all deny responsibility. What to do? Get a consultant, appoint a crony company to repair at exhorbitant cost, then leak again and repeat the process. That is that bloody Samy is good at.
And of course Bodohwi will voice his f--king disappointment and go to sleep after that and will not know about what is going on in the country.
written by miwaki, August 22, 2008 01:07:44
When you ask a mee goreng guys to do plumbling works,that's what you get.
written by wood, August 22, 2008 01:11:34
This kind of news is no longer headline news in Malaysia Bolehland !
written by gotsms, August 22, 2008 01:34:04
Now i start to believe.

All these construction and development projects got a shelf life. The shelf life is all timed for future maintenance works.

And this recent bocor is timed to happen - just good enough timing that when it happens, Samy Vellu no longer is around.

He is still alive no doubt. But no longer the minister in charge.

So, over to you, new minister - siapa nama tu?

(Till now most Malaysians do not know who is who new cabinet minister. All just look like they are there in transition period only).

Over to you, PAKATAN RAKYAT!
written by lobster, August 22, 2008 08:41:16

written by gotsms, August 22, 2008 | 01:34:04

(Till now most Malaysians do not know who is who new cabinet minister. All just look like they are there in transition period only).

I couldn't agree with you more.
written by atsanee, August 22, 2008 10:38:10
Wont be surprised when some bright spark will stand up in Parliament and say, too old, cant repair, need to build a new Parliament building in PutraJaya.
written by malaysia devil, August 22, 2008 10:39:27
Who is Tok guru Nik Aziz?
Nik Abdul Aziz B. Nik Mat was born in 1931 at Pulau Melaka, a village located about 7 km from Kota Bharu town. His father, the late Tok Guru Haji Nik Mat B. Raja Banjar is a famous Islamic Scholar at that time.
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...-aziz.html
send this article to all our friends
written by atsanee, August 22, 2008 10:46:58
Parliament built sometime in the 60s right?

Better ask the Brits how they made their Houses of parliament withstand the winds,rains sleet and snow (not to mention Guy Faulkes and Germen bombs)for hundreds of years without any such problems.
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 22, 2008 14:38:37
This is not the first time the ceiling in Parliament is leaking after its major renovation which cost about RM90mil a few years ago.

BY NOW THE COST MUST HV DOUBLED TO DO ANOTHER ROUND OF REPAIRS???
BETTER STILL, KNOCK DOWN AND BUILD A NEW ONE. CARE TO REVEAL WHO IS THE
CONTRACTOR? OR IS IT UNDER OSA?
written by Fart Fart Wah, August 22, 2008 21:44:02
SAMY VALU???HE IS OK!!!(MIC) Makan India Cukup..dah kenyanglah..apanak lagi..
bocor bocor lah..repair lagi..gasak wang lagi..
lepas panggil BUNG MOKTAR..BUSUK MULUT..TERIAK BOCOR BOCOR SAYA BOCOR.!!