Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Evil For Blogger To Fly Jalur Gemilang Upside Down, Says PM

Evil For Blogger To Fly Jalur Gemilang Upside Down, Says PM PDF Print
Thursday, 21 August 2008 11:15

(Bernama) -- Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has described the action of a blogger in calling on his blogsite followers to fly the national flag upside down as a sign of protest, as evil.

He said flying the Jalur Gemilang upside down could not be regarded as an act of mischief alone but a despicable one, what more with Malaysia about to celebrate its 51st independence anniversary.

"This is uncouth behaviour, showing no respect at all for the national flag. What is there to be angry with the Malaysian flag?" he said after officiating at the Third Scouts International Peace Jamboree, here Wednesday.

"If there are Malaysians who want to take up the idea that came from the pro-opposition blogger, they are insulting this important national symbol (flag)," he said.

Abdullah said the blogger came up with the idea to fly the national flag upside down hoping that others would follow suit, without thinking of the implications.

"It's all in the blog...only he can do a good job. He's simply creating trouble by coming up with dubious stories," he said.

It was reported in cyberspace that Kelantanese blogger Sheih (Kickdefella) had on Aug 3 launched a campaign to fly the Jalur Gemilang upside down as a symbol of the people's frustrations and as a signal of a nation in distress.

He also wrote in his blog that "it is internationally accepted that raising the flag upside down is a mark of a state in distress. It is never a mark of disrespect."

Some bloggers and commentators quickly declared their support for the idea but many, including from the opposition, were against it as they felt the national flag deserved the utmost respect.

A blog visitor wrote that in India, flying the national flag upside down as an international symbol of distress was unacceptable, and in fact an insult to the nation.

Abdullah, meanwhile, hoped the police would act on the matter.

Comments (54)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, August 21, 2008 11:22:50
All the five states will be doing just that and other states will follow suit.
written by ahmadneil, August 21, 2008 11:28:18
Dear pete,Can I fly 8 flags upside down to protest against saiful for telling lies to the nation?
written by Wisdom above, August 21, 2008 11:33:55
This year,I will not be fly the Malaysian Flag at all .

I will switch off all TV programs showing the Malaysian Flag.

No mood to celebrate Merdeka day this year.

I will only fly the Malaysian Flag after Pakatan Rakyat form the new Federal Government.

Syabas Barisan Rakyat.
written by MalaysianIAm, August 21, 2008 11:34:16
the ACTION itself is not important. what's important is what the MEANING is.

i don't think people who raise the flag properly necessarily have respect for the country anyway, so if you want to agree with the PM then maybe you should learn to think outside the box a bit and look at the BIG picture.
written by Umar Rentaka, August 21, 2008 11:36:08
Hoi Badawa [rascal in Tamil], after all the evil things you have done against us and the country, you should be the last person to comment on the Jalur Gemilang. It is you Badawa has no respect for our flag.
written by Daryl, August 21, 2008 11:36:47
Dear PM
I do not agree with these people fying the flag upside down. However, for you to call them evil is overdoing it. The evil is the one that try to use all sort of tactics tostay in power. This include using ACA and judiciary to frame others. Please stop being evil by quiting now and migrate to some other place.
written by Counterpointer, August 21, 2008 11:40:37
Abdullah, meanwhile, hoped the police would act on the matter

There it goes again, intimidating 'easy meat' bloggers and wasting resources which should be better used elsewhere, like catching real criminals, solving the Nurul and Shalini cases, etc. etc. etc. etc. etc.

Have we had enough?
written by SCM, August 21, 2008 11:41:55
Mr PM, you are not in any position to comment on whether or not it is right or wrong to fly the flag upside down. If only you did your job for what you are being paid and not just rape the country with your son-in-law and his geng of bandits, then nothing like this would have come about in the first place. You use words like "evil", "despicable", "uncouth" and "dubious". Your entire reign as our dictator/PM has been evil, despicable, uncouth and dubious.

God has already sent a warning to your no. 1 gangster Musa the IGP. His heart problem is only a small penalty for all the despicable acts he has comitted not just to Mr. Anwar Ibrahim but also to many Indians who have been killed by his police force. May he suffer the same fate as many have at his command.
written by jjireh99, August 21, 2008 11:42:18
pm, it is You have smeared "shit" all over the flag and embarassed it and you dare to say we are the cause of it. Wake up, pee-m! I've never been so pissed off with this pee-m, not even TDM gets my wrath! Look in the mirror, ask your SIL to look in the mirror!
written by Tom Cruise, August 21, 2008 11:44:55
The Malaysian Flag should be respected by all as it's the Nation's pride and Integrity.

It's Badawi and gang who should be hung upside down and castrated!!!
written by rayden chan, August 21, 2008 11:51:05
No flag this year.
written by takbolehtahan, August 21, 2008 11:59:26
Mr PM, please shaddup la. YOu and your Umno are suffering from a chronic case of diarrhoea, everytime you all open your mouths, shit comes out. And now, you're shitting more than you can handle!
written by beijing, August 21, 2008 12:04:29
today we fly the national flag upside down and tomorrow we will upside down your "DAM" entire Barisan Nasional. "nahh"
written by KARMANNGHIA, August 21, 2008 12:12:58
"This is uncouth behaviour, showing no respect at all for the national flag

this is the words of a weakling.

Whhe foreign workers in Nilai burned the nation's flag, you and your gangs were so quiet.

WHY?

written by Gargamel, August 21, 2008 12:13:31
What a great idea! I am going to do the same.
written by megatron, August 21, 2008 12:28:30
you guys silap laa
the PM is known as flip flop PM
so the blogger is doing him a favour
the flag is not up side down
BN is...
so, tunggang terbalik laa.....
written by Tosh, August 21, 2008 12:30:58
I notice this year,very few cars are flying the flag. I think this says it all!!
I for one will not fly it this year.
written by panca, August 21, 2008 12:34:50
Bododwi if you are tied upside down then you can say it is evil.

But when the flag is tied upside down it is a sign that the Rakyat livelihood is actually upside down, understand bodoh, really bodoh. Use your head, Oops, empty and lots of empty talking from you. You nothing better to say, you have nothing at all to prove your worth!

So said the Nation....we are badawised...janji kosong. Mana Duit Rakyat? Kosong!
The Rakyat are Upside Down....you are evil!
written by SocratesI, August 21, 2008 12:37:22
We should not confuse the present Govt. with our beloved Malaysia. We can burn the flag but we should treat our Jalur Gemilang with the utmost respect and not cut off our nose to spite our face !!

written by devious17, August 21, 2008 12:38:50
The epitome of evil is sleeping in office as PM and delegate your responsibility to your irresponsible subordinate and son in law.

Why do you think the jalur gemilang was flown upside down? Everyone is fed up with you and your kind in umno, thick skin imbeciles who dont know they have over stayed your welcome.

written by Jivathma, August 21, 2008 12:38:55
It is the picture of you Mr. Flip Flop and not the flag that should be placed upside down on every household, buildings and toilets.
written by miwaki, August 21, 2008 12:45:04
Don't worry Abdullah,we will fly our national flags upright and not upside down.Any other advice ? Hey, not coming to Permatang pauh ? Hotel fully booked ?Saya punya scrap licence jangan lupa ya ?
written by tokioRain, August 21, 2008 12:56:51
kickdefella out of putrajaya...
written by InEffective, August 21, 2008 13:06:40

Well me and my family will be boycotting merdeka day from now on. We will not celebrate a flag or a nation that does not honor equal rights and equal freedoms.

Until the day that this nation has earned her rightful place in the history of nations that honors her peoples, we will reject her laws, her governance, her rulers, her national anthem, and above all, her flag.

I don't reward bad racial and discriminatory behavior.

And i'm not into symbolic mindless worship or allegiance ...
written by ahmadneil, August 21, 2008 13:19:09
indianputra get yourself sodomise if you agree with PM.
written by YSL, August 21, 2008 13:20:55
Ok you may be right!

But how would you address those who makan duit Bangsa Malaysia in all those Minisry of Defence past 4 years deals may be it could have cost Tax payers up to RM50.00 billion?

Should they be called jahanam, Kurang Ajar, keturunan Binatang, keturunan Saitan or pukeemak?
written by KARMANNGHIA, August 21, 2008 13:32:58
Oil for food is swindling millions of Iraqis of the right to a decent living. Many Children died as a result of malnutrition. and may your GOD never forgive you, and let you burn in hell for all eternity.
written by ahmadneil, August 21, 2008 13:33:58
There is a mad rush to buy flags at my auntie shop in penang and when ask why all of a sudden the rush to buy,all said thank you to MT for publishing the flying of our flag upside down.Good idea, they said.
written by zhugeliang, August 21, 2008 13:34:27
The group of devils UMNO who are calling others evil, are the MOST evil of them all. As if we don't know who is respecting the Malaysians and who is not.
written by Msian 2, August 21, 2008 13:42:23
Evil to lie, tell more lies, stealing from the nation's coffers, inhibiting growth, manipulating justice, perpetuating racial disharmony ---- These are some examples of UMNO daily doings and in comparision, such UMNO tactics are a thousand time more evil as these actions impact lives & livelihood. Totally dumb PM.
written by joeawk, August 21, 2008 13:51:42
You can blame blogger for flying the flag upside down but u must also refect upon why it is so.

Bloggers are tell the govt that we are going down, down, down, with the way the country is governed by UMNO.

Bloggers are not evil, we love our country but in this month of merdeka, the bloggers are asking ' What Merdeka" where is merdeka?

written by NSTPravda, August 21, 2008 13:56:45
It is evil to fly the Jalur Germilang upsider down!
The blogger who suggested this must be a clown
We should always fly our Jatuh Germilang downside up
Especially when celebrating expensive events like the Monsoon Cup

Downside up flag flying is the patriotic thing to do
This demonstrate that our PM and cronies are paragons of virtue
“Flag upside down is a mark of a state in distress”
Flying downside up shows that our nation is a mess

It is uncouth to show no respect for our nations flag
We may however Jatoh Germilang as a national dish-rag
To wash the sins, committed in its name, away
Meanwhile, downside up flagging may be semua-nya OK!
written by SCM, August 21, 2008 13:59:31
Pssst, wake up.

Oi Bodohwi, people are making comments on your statements la. Wake up. Alamak, this guy can rally sleep la. Okay la, let Khairy and geng brief you on how stupid you look to the rakyat for once again talking nonsense. Oi PM, c'mon la, wake up. Khairy and geng will probably lie and tell you that everyone has praised you for such fabulous comments and that no one will raise the flag upside down. And when they take you around to show you proof, they will lift you upside down so that you will see the flag flying "correctly". Then you will show that fake smile and ask the media to take photos of how happy you are. Jeanne has also learnt how to smile like that, I see.
written by Fuminari, August 21, 2008 15:24:54
the rakyat want to fly the flag upside down is not a show of disrespect to the country n nation that we love,it is meant to voice n show to the world that we are sick of u n ur racist umnogoons who are making malaysia upside down jus for ur selfish agenda in preservative of power n subsequently jus for the intents on self gains!!umno/Bn is ruining the non malay as their economic slave n the malay as their political slave;by hiding behind the curtain of racial profiling policy...n u can jus see it at permatang pauh at the moment!!!
written by gorshan, August 21, 2008 16:01:10
no no no dont disrespect the flags. you paste PM foto on your car upside down, better idea,no?
written by my oumrie, August 21, 2008 16:33:51
I will not fly the flag this year unless there's a change of gomen and DSAI is leading it......!
written by menggatal, August 21, 2008 17:51:44
More evil to get the country going upside down
written by ASK4u, August 21, 2008 18:26:47
... "This is uncouth behaviour, showing no respect at all for the national flag. What is there to be angry with the Malaysian flag?" he said after officiating at the Third Scouts International Peace Jamboree, here Wednesday.

The SCOUT BOY was wrong
. It's symbolic. Upside down flags was used as distress signals in the past.It's not meant as being disrespectful of the national flag, as wrongfully echoed by the PM. Now, you be the jury. Is Malaysia in trouble and distress? If, yes, than is it wrong to send an S.O.S signal via "Jalur Gemilang".

International community will immediately know it's a sign of distress from our citizen.They will open their eyes and start zooming in closely. Having said this, I'm not even suggesting that anyone should hoist our "Jalur Gemilang" inverted. My point is that you should understand the real significance behind hoisting the flag upside down.

So, please give our Kelantanese blogger bro Kickdefella a break. Find out his intention first. I'm sure he didn't mean to insult our country or the national emblem. It was the sign of a state in distress.

smilies/wink.gif
written by Sabahfan, August 21, 2008 22:27:06
I will not fly any flag at all anywhere.

Last year i did fly two jalurs in front of my car... NOT THIS YEAR, so long as UMNO rules this nation, never will i fly a flag, well..

except I encourage all netizens to fly both BN and UMNO flag ..UPSIDE DOWN....

but please, not our national flag....!!!
written by jonath66my, August 21, 2008 22:57:59
If i hold the flag and am upside down i will get distressed from too much blood going to my head and my flag will be wrong side up in sync with my distress I suppose. Does that make me evil. I love my screwed up (pun intended too) BolehLand and i fly a flag in my home. but this year i noticed five of the strips seemed to turn blue on its own after march 8 and the rest is geeting blueish... my flag seems to have a life of its own. it must be telling me something...does it make me evil? Oh for a list of evil men in BolehLand including 'pariahs' see www.jonathan66my.********.com
written by mikewang, August 21, 2008 23:19:41
I want to fly the flag at half mass.... to mourn about the "death" of the judiciary in this country.
written by The Hammer, August 22, 2008 00:05:26
Please show respect to the National flag. If anyone wants to show his or displeasure against the government of the day; get hold of some BN, UMmo, Mic, Mca and other components parties flags and turn them upside down or do whatever that comes to your mind. Let the National Flag be respected and revered. In some counties it is an offence for not showing respect or the way it is handle. But here, even a torn and dirty flag can be seen hoisted up.
written by BennyG, August 22, 2008 00:21:20
If BODOWI says that anyone who is corrupt in the gov't is evil and need to be taken to the streets and publicly shot, then I will agree with him!!!!!

Immediately the opposition will have more MPs than BN!!!!
written by wood, August 22, 2008 01:06:15
I flew my flag since the Merdeka last year until two weeks ago when I decided that it is enough I fly the pole only for this year's celebration !
written by Sagaladoola, August 22, 2008 02:01:56
Corruption, money politics and inefficient governance with Sleepyhead are more evil than flying Jalur Gemilang upside down.

What say you , Abdullah ?
written by Tom n Jerry, August 22, 2008 09:03:30
I will only flag if PR comes to power;otherwise its a no-no;better to forget our identity of Malaysian,rather be stateless in our hearts & soul than be a Malaysian under BN torture!
written by malaysia devil, August 22, 2008 10:49:02
Who is Tok guru Nik Aziz?
Nik Abdul Aziz B. Nik Mat was born in 1931 at Pulau Melaka, a village located about 7 km from Kota Bharu town. His father, the late Tok Guru Haji Nik Mat B. Raja Banjar is a famous Islamic Scholar at that time.
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...-aziz.html
send this article to all our friends