Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Fears of a crackdown in tolerance in Malaysia

Fears of a crackdown in tolerance in Malaysia PDF Print
Wednesday, 20 August 2008 10:30
KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 20 - An influential Catholic newsletter faces closure, an inter-ethnic forum on religious freedom gets forcibly disrupted, a popular book on Islam by a respected Malaysian academic is banned and a senior judge has ordered a prominent blogger to reveal his sources as well as the identities of hundreds of thousands of net users who wrote comments to his postings.

"Taken together there is a growing climate of fear and intolerance,'' said Yap Swee Seng, executive director of Suaram, a leading human rights organisation.

"Tolerance for dissent and freedom of media is narrowing," he told IPS. 'What little media freedom existed is now under severe threat."

A Catholic journal 'The Herald' faces closure because it plans to publish political commentaries and other current affairs issues that the authorities say are outside its scope  -  religion.

Church leaders, who are already facing the authorities in court over various issues -- including the right to import bibles in the Malay language and the right to use Allah, the Arabic word for God, in their prayers -- have appealed to be allowed to publish 'The Herald' freely.

The same week authorities banned a book on Islam titled 'Muslim Women and Challenge of Islamic Extremism' written by respected Malaysian academic Prof. Norani Othman, sparking outrage among Muslim feminists and civil rights activists.

Early August an inter-faith forum on the plight of families converting to Islam, that was organised by the Malaysian Bar Council, was forcibly disrupted by Muslim fundamentalists while the authorities did nothing to protect the forum's right to free assembly and speech.

The same month a senior judge ordered a prominent blogger to reveal not only his sources for three postings on his website but also the identities of hundreds of individuals who left behind comments.

Lawyers and civil rights activists say these events all point to a serious assault on freedom of media and expression on the Internet, in forums and in the mainstream media.

They said the oppression signals the beginning of the end of a liberal atmosphere that came in the wake of the 2004 general election which saw Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi winning with a huge mandate.

But the Mar. 8 general election saw the government losing five state governments to the opposition and facing the possible defection of its lawmakers to opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim's camp.

Anwar - who is fighting an Aug 26 by-election battle to return to parliament after an absence of 10 years - has vowed to topple the government by Malaysia Day on Sep.16 and initiate real reforms.

The hardening of attitudes and the move to curb dissent are seen as early moves to strengthen the ruling political establishment dominated by the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO), which has ruled without interruption since independence in 1957.

"They (UMNO) are weak while the opposition is gaining ground. The series of repressive measures must be seen in that light as an attempt to curb freedom and defend the political status quo," said a prominent lawyer who declined to be identified for fear of repercussion.

He said the court order against the website is having a negative impact on the vibrant blogging community that is said to have given readers a refreshing alternative view of politics and society and enriched the intellectual climate.

"The court order to reveal sources and identity of commentators is having a chilling effect on bloggers," the lawyer said. 'They are worried that multi-million dollar sedition or defamation suits may follow.''

The Writer Alliance for Media Independence and the Centre for Independent Journalism has expressed alarm at the series of hard-line measures including the banning of the book.

"If the authorities find the book to be false or misleading then they should put up a case through rebutting it,'' the organisations said in a joint statement."The government must have the courage to engage in public debate and win the battle for public opinion.'

"Banning books is an act of cowardice," they said urging the repeal of the Printing Presses and Publications Act which provides for the banning of books and publication at the discretion of the authorities.

They urged Muslim NGOs to step forward and defend freedom and campaign to stop the banning of books and push the government to show accountability and transparency and openness when reviewing books on Islam.

Church leaders have come forward to condemn the repression and defend freedom of speech.

Over 30 civil rights NGOs signed a joint petition condemning the increasing repression and intolerance of dissent calling on ordinary Malaysians to rise and defend freedom and show the authorities their concern.

"We should not tolerate or condone extreme acts aimed at curbing legitimate public discussion," said Ramon Navaratnam, one of the signatories, former senior civil servant and chairman of the Malaysian chapter of Transparency International.

"We must uphold the right of Malaysians to exercise their freedom to dissent and even to engage in peaceful demonstration in defence of their concerns,"he said.

- IPS

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, August 20, 2008 10:52:19
Rule are bended and goal post been shifted.All that had been written down in the constitution are thrown into the shredding machine.Where is this word FAIRNESS?
written by technoboy, August 20, 2008 11:22:06
When all else fails, those clowns will resort to shear force thru PDRM, ISA, OSA or ACA to suppress basic freedom, this has been the trademark of UMNO/BN government over the past 50 years, selective use of force, fear, slander, threat and of late "sodomy" lie.
written by My2Sens, August 20, 2008 11:30:35
For FREEDOM of thought. For FREEDOM of belief.

For FREEDOM to BE a MALAYSIAN without fear.
written by cwy, August 20, 2008 11:32:16
If there is any racial clash like May 13, it will be an explosion of the tension and pressure that have been imposed on the non-Malays and non-Muslims!
written by wood, August 20, 2008 11:38:18
I pity those whose minds are "closed" who cannot agree to disagree ! How is our nation going to progress with all "yes man?" When a person diagree it does not mean the person hate the person, it is just that everyone thinks differently !
written by Tom n Jerry, August 20, 2008 11:50:09
UMNo has been breeding a different species of humans throug their education curriculum;that accounts for the pathetic state of our solidaity & extreme racism;only PR can deliver what Malaysians want;a fair & free society!
written by qwerty, August 20, 2008 12:03:37
"If an important minister of state neglects his duties, works for his own profit or accepts bribes, it will cause a rapid decay of public morals. People will cheat one another, a strong man will attack a weaker one, a noble will mistreat a commoner or a wealthy man will take advantage of the poor and there will be no justice for anyone; mischief will abound and troubles will multiply.

Under such circumstances, faithful ministers will retire from public service, wise men will keep silent from fear of complications, and only flatterers will hold government positions, and they will use their political power to enrich themselves with no thought for the sufferings of the people.

Under such conditions the power of the government becomes ineffective and its righteous policies fall into ruins.

Such unjust officials are the thieves of people's happiness, yet are worse than thieves because they defraud both ruler and people and are the cause of the nation's troubles.The king should root out such ministers and punish them."

Excerpt from:"Practical Guide to True Way of Living." ~Teaching of Buddha~

Buddha's teaching fits Malaysia to a "T"
written by Bandit, August 20, 2008 12:23:15
UMNO future generation >>> UiTM juvenile dilinquents, racist scum anf future mat/minah rempits.
written by PAKRAK, August 20, 2008 12:27:31
Not to worry. Take a break for a month or two and you will be back in business
without any fear anymore. Pointless arguing with these idiots.
written by PAKRAK, August 20, 2008 12:29:28
Incidentally, they are having their revenge on the recent anti-Islam forum.
written by CatV5, August 20, 2008 12:36:13
written by cwy, August 20, 2008 | 11:32:16
If there is any racial clash like May 13, it will be an explosion of the tension and pressure that have been imposed on the non-Malays and non-Muslims!

I doubt a clash like May 13 will happen again... Anwar issues (indirectly) has taught and reveal to us about the corruption and the manipulation of the government... so it won't explode IMHO... everybody (i believe 80% of us) won't choose to participate to this kind of act anymore... we've learned that nothing can be gained by this. Only losses... If a clash would happen it could be between the rakyat and the government/police/FRU/military... as a last resort...
written by ASK4u, August 20, 2008 12:40:36
written by qwerty, August 20, 2008 | 12:03:37
..Buddha's teaching fits Malaysia to a "T"

Buddha taught to human beings and also to those with the power to discern.He was in a different league altogether.He even asked his disciple to challenge his teachings and not to follow anyone or any teachings blindly for fear of being mislead by a Charlatan.Look how sublime a human being Buddha was. He had no interest in having disciples/followers.There was no such things as Buddhism during his time. It was only Dharma(skillful way of life).Buddha never created any religion.He was an all compassionate being who preached for the benefit of suffering souls and not for a personal agenda.Only a genius can understand his teachings(and that to vaguely, you need SQ).So, quoting Buddha is akin to giving a garland to a monkey, they will not know its value.

written by *********, August 20, 2008 12:51:28
The Bible says that when someone is rebuked in Jesus's Name, it is also better for that person too not to be born!!! So, Syed Hamid Albar, this Scribe pleads to you to shut up your mouth and stop blaspheming! Do not mess with God's People less you and your BN/Umno buddies want to suffer the fate of Pharaoh. For your information Syed Hamid Albar, as you read this Blog, EVEN PROSTITUTES & TAX COLLECTORS ARE AHEAD OF YOU IN THE KINGDOM OF HEAVEN!...More http://*********.********.com
written by Tan Tan, August 20, 2008 14:30:51
Wat May 13th? Aiyo...nowadays we better worry about our kids education, the country economy, public safety and our personal right.

Who wanna fight fight and then everything we having now GONE!

Those who always wanna create another May 13th should be sue under sedition act. Now ppls who care for this country.
written by Tan Tan, August 20, 2008 14:33:27
Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, Hindu, Taoist and so on. All religions taught us to be good person.

But what is happening now, we r not being good person but we enter into sin of jealousy, violence, disrespectful, opression, greedy and so on.

Somemore dare to use for the sake of religion to do this and that.

This is insulting! Dun mix religion with nonsense!
written by cruzeiro, August 20, 2008 14:55:53
Separating Church from State is the mantra of modern democracies , and as usual, our politicians are quick to capitalize on 'the cliche' for cover, when it suits them best - but "beware the cliche", dear sir.....
It is one thing to separate Church and state, or prevent the "politicization" of religion. It is however quite another, to deny that religion encompasses politics or vice versa.

How does one separate Church and politics, when one needs to speak of ethics and morality, dear sir?
When one needs a "point of reference" so as to advise one's flock on morality and ethics/philosophy, does one not need the "divine" or "spiritual"?
Is "religion" not a "way of life" ("deen" as you may call it in Arabic), which encompasses everything in our daily life (including politics)?
How does the a vote for the corrupt not come under "spiritual/ social obligation" or "fardu kifayah" of "amal makruf, nahi mungkar"?
Pardon my ignorance, but where is it in the law/ constitution stated that it is an offence to advice one's own flock?
Or is it only permitted for Muslims in this country, to seek spiritual guidance, in making morally sound political choices?
Or is this freedom valid only when it is to be for political mileage, in giving tin-cans and titles as 'awards' for church leaders?
Why is it that you allow "other races", but not "other religions" in politics?

It is my conviction that, it's necessary for church leaders execute their moral duty in guiding their flock on matters of "spirituality", as opposed to the narrow "religiosity" which Hamid uses to define "divine missions".
He obviously ignorant of the difference between "religiosity" and "spirituality"!
To these wise guys who pretend to be experts on "divine missions", I have only one thing to say,
- "You speak as such, out of your spiritual emptiness & intellectual bankruptcy!
What you speak of is none other than the death of your conscience and the guilt within- as you lie to yourself and the people you represent, dear sir."
======================================================= ==

Bolstering Credentials using 'Samaritans'.
http://cruzinthots.********.co...itans.html
written by Malaysiaputra, August 20, 2008 14:56:10
Why must the govt poke its nose in other people's backside, so to speak ?. When has Christians resort to street protest over any issues ?. There is no history of violence from the Christian community related to politics, so why is the govt finding trouble with commentaries on polities published in the Herald ?.

The people in the Home Ministries are too free I am afraid that they have to show that they are working ?. There are many many other important matters to look into in the country.

So stop harassing the Catholic Herald .

written by Tom n Jerry, August 20, 2008 15:08:26
there are so many different interpretations f Islam as there are so mny interpretations of Christianity,that to somehow fix r dfine a religion base on one particula reading of the text is a mistake!All of us;particularly religious leaders,have to be mindful that there are a lot of sensitivities out there.Now the flip side is that there are those in the Muslim community who are looking to take offense and are constantly on the lookoutfor anything that would indicate that the West is somehow antagonistic toward Islam!
written by densemy, August 20, 2008 18:15:25
Look here you Malaysians... we have told you time and time again that you are not yet ready for democracy, you arent mature enough to discuss sensitive issues in public and you certainly arent yet ready to read anything that does night align with the pack of lies we have been feeding you for the last 50 yrs

If you now think that you are a sophisticated, educated and mature society I'm here to tell you that you are all WRONG!!!!!

So shut up with your radical and heretical, treacherous and seditious comments or BIG BROTHER will come and rip your arms off... or at least arrest you under the ISA
written by WANZAH1, August 20, 2008 18:59:12
EVERY BODY WOULD CLAIM FOR EQUAL RIGHTS BUT WHEN THE RICH ENJOY FIRST CLASS SERVICES THE POOR REMAIN OUT OF BASIC NEEDS. SO THE POOR YOU MUST WORK HARD TO BE RICH SO YOU CAN BE EQUAL WITH THE OTHER RICH. EASILY SAID THAN DONE. THE POOR WOULD REMAIN POOR BECAUSE YOU CANNOT HELP THE POOR FOR THE SAKE OF THEY ARE POOR AND BY TAKING THE RIGHT OF THE RICH.

SORRY I'M CONFUSED BEFORE YOU DO BECAUSE YOU WOULD INTERPRET IN ACCORDANCE WHERE YOU BELONG TOO. IF YOU ARE MALAY YOUR STAND WILL BE SO AND SO, SIMILARLY IF YOU ARE CHINESE OR INDIAN. WE ARE HUMAN AND NOTHING PERFECT.

TQ

WRM
written by Areyaar, August 20, 2008 21:06:46
The thing is, those morons who wield power are still unable to see beyond their arrogant noses; the more they supress, the more the people are going to hate them. Even now, months after the last election, they still have not learnt humility. Instead, they persist in their arrogance and oppression. And they honestly still have not realised that the Malaysian public are far more perceptive, intuitive and assertive than they believe. Well, if all they want to do is to get their asses kicked again and again and again, then have at it and give them hell. They deserve nothing less. Morons!!