Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Olympic Games and overcrowded goals

Olympic Games and overcrowded goals PDF Print
Wednesday, 20 August 2008 09:06

Peter's Pithy Pointers 

Millions of people are watching the Olympic Games and the 302 events that are being held.

There will also be thousands of men and women suffering in gaols throughout China because of their faith, political beliefs or social activism.

In the excitement and drama of the Olympic Games we must not forget to pray for such prisoners, for the prison staff and those responsible for their imprisonment.

BECOMING A PREY

P. Balasubramaniam and Dr. Mohamed Osman Abdul Hamid both made Statutory Declarations, each of which concerned a different senior politician.  Now both these two men, who declared what they believed to be the truth, have gone missing.  The words of the prophet Isaiah (c. 730 B.C.) are being fulfilled – 'Whoever shuns evil becomes a prey.'  Isaiah 59:15

written by binarytan, August 20, 2008 09:12:50
I suppose Malaysia already got her first gold medal for Olympics.

Event : Sodomy
Winner : Malaysian SaiFool
Record Holder : Forever

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by indianputra, August 20, 2008 09:13:48
WHERE ARE BALASUBRAMANIAM AND Dr.MOHAMED OSMAN???

People of Permatang Pauh.. ASK this question when you see Najib. Pester him for an answer. Keep asking until you get an answer that is satisfactory.
written by SocratesI, August 20, 2008 09:29:26

What makes the Olympics so special when there are hundreds more sports events worldwide, is the tradition that goes with it. The Games is supposed to be held to test Human Endeavour, Endurance, Skill and to pit one human being against another in a peaceful and structured manner in which the Human Race can strive to improve their physical performances and mental toughness WITHOUT ANY POLITICAL connotations !

While we should strive also for a Civil Society with Justice and Fairness to all, this has no place in the Olympics. There should be no discrimination in the Games be it political inclination, race, colour, creed, culture, etc.

So stop bringing up political issues and trying to tie them up with the Games. The Olympics must remain true to form and remain NEUTRAL. That is why the Olympics medals are the most coveted amongst the athletes of the world. Keep it that way !

written by Engineer, August 20, 2008 10:12:51
Don't mean to be personal with this guy who brought back the silver olympic medal.

Two other reasons he lost the gold:
1) A million ringgit and RM5000/month retirement benefit gave him sleepless nights dreaming.
2) His arrogant stares at the other player when he won his first point is absolutely uncalled for.

A friendly advise to our friend, we the Rakyat send you there to promote malaysian good image and not to promote your unfriendly sportman. So behave and show some decent ethics if you are still give a chance in future.

Remember we send in sport competition to represent Malaysia and not yourself.
You are nobody without Malaysia.

written by ahmadneil, August 20, 2008 11:14:09
Malaysia's saiful broke the olympic record by getting 8 gold medals for sodomy and another gold for lying.Altogether he got 9 gold medals surpassing Michael P. of the United States.
written by Ken Liew, August 20, 2008 11:33:47
Every medal that our athletes WON, is not UMNO's glory. It is Malaysia's glory. Dont you dare rob the glory, UNMOral goons...!!!
written by raven1958, August 20, 2008 12:54:39
UMNO strongly rebutts all the above criticism....

The only reason why UMNO has not been able to support the games fully is because the IOC refused to bow to UMNO's demands.....that in the giving out of gold medals ....there should be a quota system....if they had agreed ....UMNO would have sent a much larger contingent with the bulk of them coming from UITM and would even have sent Ibrahim Shah, the Malay wannabe vice chancellor of UITM as their flag bearer...
written by miwaki, August 20, 2008 13:13:53
By the way,the american swimmer who won 8 gold medals is Michael Phelp and not Michael Pep.Can our RTM commentator please learn to pronounce name,and all chinese names were pronounce wrongly.Please ask the chinese sweepers if you don't know how to pronounce a chinese name.
written by PAKRAK, August 20, 2008 14:16:14
Malaysia's silver medallist should have received more for his achievement.
Escalating rewards for medals:
Gold - (RM1,000,000 and RM5,000 pension for life)
Silver - (RM500,000 and RM3,000 pension for life)
Bronze - (Rm300,000 and RM1,000 oension for life)
Alhamdullilah, he received RM300,000 and RM3,000 pension for life.
(Something's better than nothing)

Engineer: I do not know the Olympic silver medallist neither am I his fan but I have seen him play on TV many times. This is exactly how he stares and looks (his features) especially when under pressure in the finals and had to face millions of viewers.
written by orangmsia, August 20, 2008 14:55:27
And the olympic silver medalist got his datukship!!! smilies/grin.gif
RM300,000 plus RM3,000 pension for life
written by doggone, August 20, 2008 18:33:13

We should have won at least a few Gold in Beijing if we had send that Sai-bugger there for either of these events.

Men's Individual Arse-chery - 1 Gold
Men's 100,200 and 400m Backstroke - 3 Gold
Arsetistic GymAsstics - 3 Gold.

Millions richer and an international reputation to boot.

No need to sell your arse although you get international recognition as well.

written by CPY, August 20, 2008 19:28:31

There will also be thousands of men and women suffering in gaols throughout China because of their faith, political beliefs or social activism.

In the excitement and drama of the Olympic Games we must not forget to pray for such prisoners, for the prison staff and those responsible for their imprisonment.
Oh yeah. They also need to suffer from the US (which want to finish off China) & seccesionism besides Communist rule. On the other hand, we suffered from BN who always 'Balkanise' our country.
written by benny loh, August 20, 2008 21:47:11
Be satisfied, with this..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...-gold.html
written by Jit Dharma, August 20, 2008 22:42:30
My prayers to all those unfortunate souls swept under the rug by the scum
sucking one-party dictatorship in China. One party facists, your time is running out. A great revolution is going to sweep across Asia and the tyranny of feudal/
Asian values/ one party rule by scum decree will be history. Almighty God,
Thy Will is that Thy creation rise above the level of beasts with blood
stained snouts and fangs dripping with the flesh of the innocent.Damn these
heartless traitors to HELL !!!!!!!!!!!
written by MyView, August 21, 2008 02:42:13
What makes the Olympics so special when there are hundreds more sports events worldwide..."

The Olympics is so special that women in bikinis can run allover the city with nobody stopping all watching.
Women with 2 piece, being admire, suppport and awarded...?? mmm everybody seems agree, acknowledge and endorse with this kind or ceremony. And our children are them at home on TV.
The best part is they accuses those who don't follow their ways uncivilised.
Very very funny.
written by Engineer, August 21, 2008 11:42:31
Dear PAKRAK,

I know that this boy got a weird stare, but I have been repeating that portion of replay, that stare is different; it is more of intentional leh.
That kind of look is not good mah; as if we Malaysian Chinese very Lun Si (actsy actsy you know). Hope he is not used by UNMO goons to portray bad image of Malaysian Chinese.

Don't believe watch the replay.
written by The Hammer, August 21, 2008 23:51:49
China hoodwink billions with fake fireworks, lip sync singing etc. Maybe fake gold, fake silver or fake bronze! (most probably painted) Lost interest in Olympics, and other sports events. Why, because most of these sportsmen or sportswomen in these current generation have become self-centric.
written by renoir, August 22, 2008 01:56:36
The Beijing Olympics is a great event, with wonderful opening ceremony and, more important, lots of shattered world records. I'm glad Chong Wei got his silver, and our Indonesian neighbors also made their mark in badminton by winning the doubles gold. In the north, Thailand also won a gold in the highly competitive field of weightlifting. I'm not too crazy over Singapore's pingpong silver, as they're being represented by mostly China-born players.

The only thing I regret, so far as Malaysia is concerned, is that with the amount of money we've put in sports development, we should've done better. For example, about a year or two ago, the Ministry of Sports allocated some 500 million ringgit to focus on 5(?) sports. This comes to about a hundred million a sport - where has all the money gone to?

This is a relatively affluent country, and there's no reason why we should not do well if the sports budget is properly managed and developmental programs are placed in the hands of the truly qualified.