Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Name my 'cronies': Anwar

Name my 'cronies': Anwar PDF Print
Wednesday, 20 August 2008 08:58

MALAYSIAN opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim has challenged his detractors to name the people who allegedly benefitted from his position when he was deputy prime minister and finance minister.

'There was no such thing. If you know of the people who benefited, you should identify them. Do not just make claims,' he said.

The PKR leader, who is contesting the Permatang Pauh by-election, was asked to comment on his involvement in bumiputra policies when he was in the Federal Government and the award of projects without tenders.

Speaking to reporters during a break from his morning campaign on Monday, Datuk Seri Anwar said bumiputra youths did not have any problem embracing a multiracial philosophy.

He said the recent issue with Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim's proposal to allocate a 10 per cent quota for non-bumiputras in UiTM was a ploy by Umno leaders to make PKR look bad and anti-Malay.

'Dr Mahathir Mohamad gave the same proposal in 2002. What Umno is doing is manipulating Khalid's statement,' he said, adding that he did not think Umno could sustain the racial line.

'It is time for the Malays to take the step towards a multiracial philosophy, but it will not be easy initially,' he said, adding that he himself was amazed how well Malay youths had responded to him championing for the interests of other races.

Declaring he is a leader of all races, Mr Anwar said his main objective was to bring prosperity to all Malaysians.

'Yes, I am an agent for the Malays as well as the Indians and Chinese,' he said yesterday, while hitting out at Barisan leaders for allegedly portraying him as anti-Malay.

He stressed that he would never betray the Malays or sacrifice Islam to achieve his plan of leading Pakatan Rakyat to take over the Federal Government.

He claimed that Barisan Nasional leaders had been using the racial line in their campaign rounds to sway Malay voters away from him in the by-election.

'Playing on the racial line is a very dangerous game. The people are not that stupid now compared to years ago. Umno is a sinking ship and its leaders are holding on to it to stay in power,' he said.

On contesting against his former protege Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah, Mr Anwar said he had nothing personal against the man and that he was a good friend. -- THE STAR

written by indianputra, August 20, 2008 09:03:42
That's the way to go Anwar!!! Challenge them, keep challenging them until they simply SHUT UP because they have no answers.
written by ctchoolaw, August 20, 2008 09:11:15
Yes, the UMNO-BN fellas need to revel who the Anwar cronies are. Otherwise just shut up. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by binarytan, August 20, 2008 09:14:20
DSAI cronies are millions of MT supporters and PR supporters, basically all of them are Malaysian without religion and race barrier.

UMNO just the " hari ini dalam sejarah " soon.

written by expat70, August 20, 2008 09:18:13
In politcis there is no long term friends and no long term enemies. It's part of the game.
written by michaelT, August 20, 2008 09:30:45
For the same token why can't Koh tell the voters who are BN Cronies the greatest ones. What has he done for Penang and name his greatest achievements. Koh you should not be ignorant and fall into delusion all that you need right now is jump ship to PR. Even then PR has to vet through the Gerakan members. So dont waste your precious time to impress the people with petty stuff. Why dont you invite Anwar for a debate.
written by PAKRAK, August 20, 2008 09:32:08
Don't have to answer these UMNO blighters. They want to bring up history thinking our future leader of all races, DSAI, cannot remember. UMNO/BN has run out of ideas. They have nothing to say in ceramah except all the sins and wrongdoings they have committed in the last 51 years.
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 20, 2008 09:34:45
On contesting against his former protege Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah, Mr Anwar said he had nothing personal against the man and that he was a good friend. - THE STAR

DSAI AGAIN SHOWED HIS CONSISTENCY AS A PERSON WITH TRUE HONOUR AND DIGNITY BY ACCEPTING THAT HIS OPPONENT IN THE BY ELECTION IS STILL HIS FRIEND JUST AS HE WALKED UP TO SHAKE HANDS WITH THE INFO MINISTER AFTER THE DEBATE. THIS IS THE KIND OF LEADER THIS COUNTRY NEEDS. IF ONLY DSAI CAN EXTEND HIS HAND TO FORMER PM TUN DR M, AS A GESTURE OF RESPECT TO A SENIOR, IT WOULD BE GREAT.
written by SocratesI, August 20, 2008 09:42:54

This is not about good friends or personal attributes, but far far bigger than that. This is about Justice, a Civil Society for Malaysia, the Righteous (PAKATAN RAKYAT) and the Will of the People against a CORRUPT Govt. and Morally Bankrupt political party (Barisan NAJIS) !

I can name DSAI's cronies - The RAKYAT of Malaysia !

A VOTE FOR DSAI IS A VOTE FOR JUSTICE & THE RAKYAT !!

written by Engineer, August 20, 2008 09:45:34
Dear Izzam,

Raja Petra wants to know the 15 cronies.

I can't, the details is in the six boxes I claimed to possess.

written by temenggong, August 20, 2008 10:59:18
The BN govt had ten years to investigate and incarcerate Anwar and his cronies for corruption, as well as the RM 800 million 'war chest'. Well where are they?

Not a single ringgit in corruption has been attributed to Anwar!
written by technoboy, August 20, 2008 11:27:54
Traitor EZAM was one of them, but now he defects to UMNO as being a crony of DSAI does not bring much financial benefits, better join the crooks to plunder before it is too late, this EZAM guy cannot be trusted at all, a shear opportunist and racist.
written by miwaki, August 20, 2008 12:58:09
All Malaysians,malay,chinese,indian,kadazan etc are cronies of DSAI,do you want our names ?
written by michaelT, August 20, 2008 15:08:19
Now that DSAI has challenged BN to Name his Cronies, the ball is at BN's feet. I bet you they have none to name. Dont push DSAI to the corner because his release of BN cronies cannot fill up the virtual space. So dont try to be funny. The BN blabber mouth ministers remain very quiet.... Reason is they are now worried that DSAI will take over Putra Jaya and they will be finished. They may just be doing housekeeping jobs to pass over empty office haha!
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 20, 2008 15:28:22
Name his cronies?..hehehe..I have to smile over this! Remember that saying, "Birds of the same feathers flocked together"? How are your ex-comrade in politics point their fingers at themselves??
DSAI..DSAI.. I think we Malaysians are very aware of ALL our Malaysians politicians’ ethics and, sorry to say, you were no angel too during your time as Edu. Min., Fin. Min. & DPM. BUT…and this is a very very big BUT, yah!...you are now the better choice among the known devils in Malaysian politics. So please, do not let it get into your head that we have forgotten your past political activities, yah! I believe we, your fellow Malaysians, happen to believe that you can do a much2 better job than our present PM and UMNO as a whole. One other thing you have to always2 remember is that we can kick your butt out too if you turn out to be just another version of UMNO.
Anywhere, our prayers are with you and may the good people of Permatang Pauh kick the shit out of UMNO on this 26th Aug 2008.
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 20, 2008 16:15:10
Adely, I am glad you wrote the above as Malaysians must remember DSAI's past and that he is nowhere near being an angel. Perhaps those years away from full politics could have made him stood back and assessed what he had done in his life and that made him a better man. BUt then again, he might have assessed where he went wrong and stratergised his political come back in this form. One way or the other, I hope, for all Malaysians, it's the former.
written by omarkhayyam, August 20, 2008 20:55:06
DSAI,

get them to first see Najib then see a burmese doctor than swear on the Quran ....... maybe we might consider them as ur "cronies"