Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar 'has over 40 govt MPs'

Anwar 'has over 40 govt MPs' PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 20 August 2008 08:47

By Reme Ahmad, THE STRAITS TIMES

ONCE Anwar Ibrahim wins the Penang by-election on Aug 26, he is expected to reel more than 40 government MPs into the opposition coalition within weeks, sources close to the three-party alliance suggest.

The Straits Times learnt that the 40-plus ruling Barisan Nasional (BN) MPs who are ready to jump ship include 'several federal ministers'.

They also include MPs from Umno, the Malaysian Chinese Association and Parti Gerakan, a source said.

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, August 20, 2008 08:51:43
Latest from reliable source....some sarawak MPs are ready to jump.
written by Ken Liew, August 20, 2008 08:52:55
Hey, i thought one of the UNMOral said: "they can say what ever they want......"

But seems without "good flow" of "rakyat's money" OR should i say the rakyat's money that they raped/sodomied.. UNMOral are braking up fast!!!

written by Malaysiaku, August 20, 2008 08:55:22
And the MIC?
written by hckit, August 20, 2008 09:01:30
TO BN MPs, Please jump to PR now to start a New Malaysia. Your name will be remembered in the History of Malaysia. All our children and grandchildren will be able to read your name in their school history book, especially the first one who jumps, will be remembered the most alongside with Malaysia heroes Anwar Ibrahim ,Awang Hadi, Lim Kit Siang...
written by sjs, August 20, 2008 09:06:22
The end result of this by-election will be the death/mergers of race-based smaller parties like MIC and Gerakan and MCA. The end of UMNO however will occur in the form of disintegration.
written by Rundukon, August 20, 2008 09:08:05
MPs that are ready to jump ship complained that Abdullah is now panicking as the country's economy is going down the drain AND he hasnt got a clue on how to tackle the problem. He was also at odd with the 2nd Finance Minister on the next budget.

Itu lah kenapalah Abdullah terlalu percaya kepada penasihatnya Hairy SILLYLA.
written by A MI, August 20, 2008 09:09:57
What I am really hoping for is component parties joining Pakatan en bloc. I would be very careful with individuals jumping. And please watch out for people like SetanEzam and Nalla-pambhu
written by indianputra, August 20, 2008 09:10:29
written by Malaysiaku, August 20, 2008 | 08:55:22

And the MIC?
----------------------------------------

WHAT MIC? Who are in MIC who has the calibre to join PR? The few remaining MIC MP's are goons of Samy who do not have ethics and principles. PR, please reject any MIC who wants to cross over!
written by alpha100, August 20, 2008 09:16:40
Pray that we have a righteous leader with righteous subordinates in the making!
written by cwy, August 20, 2008 09:18:31
All the other beggar components parties will finally leave BN to arrogant and racist UMNO alone! Leave UMNO alone to save our country!
written by PAKRAK, August 20, 2008 09:21:20
It's nice to know that there are positive signs for Pakatan Rakyat to be the new government of Malaysia VERY SOON! This is what DSAI has promised the rakyat.
A million thanks.
MAKKAL SAKTI!!!
written by tokioRain, August 20, 2008 09:32:43
I wouldnt put much stock in any Umno goon who jumps over. These people must declare their assets from grandparents to grandchildren and must be watched like a hawk at all times.
written by Raja Gasper, August 20, 2008 09:38:57
BN/Umno days are numbered as foretold by the Prophets of the Dry Bones Valley.
written by Bigdawg, August 20, 2008 09:44:10
My brethren, some Lun Bawangs, Kenyahs , kelabits and Penans in the interior of Sarawak are wandering the hills and forests without birthright papers and no identity cards to prove citizenship.

They had no money to travel down rivers to main towns to register their children's births. And so this remote dwellers though born in this country, have no citizen rights and not entitled to education.

The federal gomen does not make a willing effort to look help these poor brethren of ours.

So having not much money and no birth certs, my brethren there are condemned to etching out a poor living from generation to next generation. Uneducated and un-assisted by the government of this land.

On top of these problems, the gomen kronies are encroaching on their forest habitats and endangering their very livelihood and sources of life-giving water.

50 years of Malaysia, and the federal gomen is still neglecting it's poorer peoples in rural Sarawak.

While the feds are busy enriching themselves from Sarawak's oil and timber, the Dayaks are working barefooted in the hills and forests without support for education, clean water or electricity.

The gomen and MPs of this day have failed the poor natives of this once very rich land, Sarawak !

Sarawak MPs...you still have a chance to help these brethren of ours.

Cross-over to PR now while the window for a new dawn for Malaysia is still opened!
written by lamakawan, August 20, 2008 09:44:26
Latest news from selangor, a few branches of gerakan members are contemplating to resign because of the high handedness of UMNO ministers in power.
written by Bigdawg, August 20, 2008 09:49:27
Sarawak MPs...!!!

Cross-over to PR !!!

The window for a new dawn for Malaysia is still opened!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 20, 2008 10:06:27
AAB promise to give out the following awards:
1. The first to join PR will get a Gold Medal plus 1 million plus a pension of 10K per month for life.
2. The second will be rewarded like what Lee Chong Wei got.
3. And all the rest will be handsomely rewarded.
written by Susu08, August 20, 2008 10:19:44
I am wondering how this change over is going to be done...I think they have to do some behind the scenes deals before the change over takes place..perhaps the Speaker has to be convinced to allow a motion of no confidence against Dollah and then after he is removed , then they can announce the change over and a new PM.
Also , how will the army and police be dealt with ? Musang has to be taken out as well and defanged ..I do not know about the Army though , I heard they are loyal to Naji.....
written by temenggong, August 20, 2008 11:13:32
We will now watch in real time right before our eyes how malays sway over to the new establishment. This happened before in 1948 when the British discarded the largest party and very strong malay KMM/Putera-AMCJA and backed the minority Umno.

Malay will never be stay outside the establishement as a minority. Wherever is the establishment, that is where they will go. After the initial hop of 40 MPs, there will be even more Umno MPs crossing over. They will not stay in the opposition and minority Umno/BN.

After the Bersih 'awakening', when Hindraf revolted and changed the status quo with Indians crossing over to the opposition, a critical mass had been breached, a 'turning point' had been reached, and the rakyat saw an opening for a major swing in the politics. Anwar saw it and clinched an alliance. Almost immediately the Chinese and a substantial number of Malays swung over. The stage was set!

BN had six months to reform immediately. They failed.

Today we are in a position to turn away BN MPs.
written by dashuwang, August 20, 2008 12:02:07
ONCE PKR TOOK OVER THE GOVERNMENT, LET US DIG OUT ALL THE CRIMES OF DOLLAH AND NAJIB INCLUDING ALL THEIR CRONIES TO JUSTICE.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 20, 2008 12:05:42
"26 August 2008" will be an important historical date to be remembered for a long time to come.
Vote for Anwar = Vote for FREEDOM, Peace, and Harmony.
written by disgruntled, August 20, 2008 12:28:21
With the resignation of two top gerakan leaders in Dr.Toh and Mr. Lee, many of my colleagues are waiting to quit en masse once the Permatang Pauh results are announced.
written by jjireh99, August 20, 2008 12:48:22
bigdawg, i agree with you. The corrupted sarawak and sabah leaders DON'T CARE AT ALL FOR THE SONS OF THE SOIL. REMEMBER MANSER, THE SWISS GUY WHO WENT MISSING, I THINK? HE WAS DOING A WRITE UP ON THE PENANS AND THEIR PLIGHT AND HE WANTED TO HIGHLIGHT TO THE WORLD. THEN, HE WENT MISSING, I THINK!!!
written by ASK4u, August 20, 2008 12:52:39
written by Malaysiaku, August 20, 2008 | 08:55:22
And the MIC?

MIC will sink with the ship "Titanic" due to vanity. Semi-value will than try to scavange whatever leftover from the sunken ship and chao to Gold-coast.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by lamakawan, August 20, 2008 12:55:04
Hi jireh99, that Swiss guy who went missing? Probably could have been disintegrated by a C4 accomplice. remember we did not hear of C4 last time. Now the events on C4 incidents are slowly being unravelled on the internet. High time that mastermind of C4 is rid of our political scene., the earlier the better. I hope after permatang Pauh he would be behind bars.
written by Canadian in kl, August 20, 2008 13:09:07
While it is very good news that DSAI will likely be able to form a new Government, is having 40 BN component MP's and Ministers a good thing - it is quite obvious that they are hedging their bets by not announcing now and are afraid of losing their perks that they are presently getting from BN. I am not sure that PKR should want BN members whom have, most likely been milking the teet of the Malaysian people...what Malaysia needs is change...fresh blood and people with the balls to stand up to the present Government leadership.....those who are willing to cross over should make a stand now and show the people of Malaysia that they really care for the people and do not believe in the current system of endemic corruption!
written by educationist, August 20, 2008 13:28:12
Hmm.. the source is The Straits Times not our UMNOputra mouthpiece the NST.
I hope it is accurate.
If so, the change many Malaysians are looking forward to will soon materialise.
written by IndnChinsMaly, August 20, 2008 13:51:16
What happened to the stupid Indians??? Why are you not jumping over to PR??? Why no Indian parties jumping over?? The Indians have been STUPID all these years for voting BN. Do you stupid Indians want to continue kissing BN's ass?? Do you like to be discriminated against??

Don't you remember the teacher calling you all black monkeys, thugs, keling? So join the rest of us Malaysians and vote PR!

Come on! Open your eyes to your poverty! Don't be STUPID lah Indians!!!
written by Bigdawg, August 20, 2008 13:51:19
Yes jjireh99. Last seen near the limestone pinnacles in the Bario highlands, at a time it was alleged there were military movements in the area.

Last year, Penan headman Kelesau Naan, defender of his mountain homeland from loggers was found dead with a broken arm like he was attacked.

Penans are a very small tribe of gentle nomadic forest (food) gatherers who love their life in the thick rainforests. They deserve help and support, yet not drastic intervention to introduce them to the harsh realities of urban life.

Loggers are fighting to fell their timber of their homes; where would that leave them?

And there's no MP to champion their cause....last count there's only a few thousand Penans, my brothers.
written by ladasiber, August 20, 2008 14:05:14
Enough Talks, Lets act on it!!!
written by ibabonma, August 20, 2008 15:41:46
Tanda-tanda jelas UMNO akan pupus. Alhamdulillah!
written by alarcarte, August 20, 2008 17:49:10
Wau! End of UMNO/BN coming so soon, sure or not? Must sell any stocks that they own, must secretly send the money out of the country right now, just in case!

Many big businesses are belong to UMNO members' company, any plan by PR on how to deal with these crony companies when you come into power?
written by laksa maner, August 20, 2008 18:29:30
Sarawak MPs who are allied or non-allied to Taib, pls jump over the ship. Perahu saudara sudah penuh dengan tahi Taib yang menyebabkan ramai orang Sarawak kehilangan hak tanah NCR.

If you still hesitate to jump, you'll be thrown by rakyat in the near future.

Sarawakian especially the Bumi's really need a big change. This is the best time.
written by Sylvia, August 20, 2008 22:55:45
Its good news that many will jump ship to PR, but DSAI must be mindful and careful when if he sucessfully forms the new gopvernment, because people like Ezam and Saifool can be in the midst acting as spies ajnd later jump ship back to BN....you will never know things like this can happen time and again for history to repeat itself!
written by YARRACUDA, August 20, 2008 23:05:06
written by IndnChinsMaly, August 20, 2008 | 13:51:16
What happened to the stupid Indians??? Why are you not jumping over to PR??? Why no Indian parties jumping over?? The Indians have been STUPID all these years for voting BN. Do you stupid Indians want to continue kissing BN's ass?? Do you like to be discriminated against??

Don't you remember the teacher calling you all black monkeys, thugs, keling? So join the rest of us Malaysians and vote PR!

Come on! Open your eyes to your poverty! Don't be STUPID lah Indians!!!

who are there to jump over???in this case u r the most stupidest la IndChnsMalay.....no indians in parliament in BN except that stupido saravanan and subramaniam and we do not want them!!!! And stop calling others stupid coz u r the most stupidest in this issue!!!!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009