Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Catholic lawyers want show-cause letters withdrawn

Catholic lawyers want show-cause letters withdrawn PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 20 August 2008 08:34

(The Star) - The Catholic Lawyers’ Society (CLS) of Kuala Lumpur has joined in the chorus of calls to the Home Ministry to withdraw its warning and show-cause letters unconditionally as well as maintain The Herald's publishing permit.

The reporting in The Herald was in line with the teachings of the Catholic Church in social and political charity, said its president Mabel Sabastian yesterday.

“Ultimately, the interpretation of what constitutes religious matters should be left to the leaders and adherents of the faith.

“The Home Ministry is not in a position to dictate to the Catholics (or for that mater, the proponents of any other faith) the scope o f their religion,” Sabastian said in a statement.

“In seeking to control the contents of The Herald, the Home Ministry’s warning and show-cause letters go against Article 3 (1), Article 10(1)(a) and Article 11(3)(a) of the Federal Constitution, that is, the right to freely practise one’s religion, the general freedom of speech and expression and the right of a religious group to manage its own affairs.

“Such controls will deprive the Catholic community of current information and education in relation to their faith. Such an act by the authorities is tantamount to curtailment of religious freedom.”

The Herald is a weekly publication printed by the Catholic Church that is sold in churches and not by newsvendors. It has a circulation of 13,000 copies per week and a readership estimated at 50,000.

On Saturday, the Christian Federation of Malaysia had called on the ministry to unconditionally withdraw the three show cause letters it issued to the publishers of The Herald.

written by LILIN, August 20, 2008 08:37:14
USA Lost to Russia...new world power
http://www.worldfutures.info/Analysis/Analysis/Ossetia-US-failed-to-botch-Russian-peace-mission.html
written by ahmadneil, August 20, 2008 08:46:22
All the pillars of democracy is now completely been dismantled and we are fast moving into dictatorship.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 20, 2008 08:51:27
I am neither a Catholic nor a Muslim but I think both sides got to be more tolerant of each other;we are livng in mylti-racial Malaysia;dont take religion to extremes;freedom of religious worship is guaranteed under the Constitution!
written by magen, August 20, 2008 09:06:32
Learn from History you goons, Book of Esther chapter 3 verse 8 Then Haman said to King Xerxes, "There is a certain people dispersed and scattered among the peoples in all the provinces of your kingdom whose customs are different from those of all other people and who do not obey the king's laws; it is not in the king's best interest to tolerate them. 9 If it pleases the king, let a decree be issued to destroy them, and I will put ten thousand talents [a] of silver into the royal treasury for the men who carry out this business." Do you know what happen then take a bible read whole Book of Esther.
written by krising1, August 20, 2008 09:30:53
Oh God, we have a catholics lawyers's society?! Do we have one for Hindus and Buddhists as well? I know there isw one for Shria lawyers. Is this reason why our parents educated us? To polarise our societies forever?

Grow up guys. Let us mend. Fight the issues based on the issue not on race and religion.
written by thumb, August 20, 2008 09:39:38
Well said krising1, "Fight the issues based on the issue not on race and religion".When will we ever learn!
written by Tompios, August 20, 2008 09:44:39
Dear Friends,

Roman Catholic church is the oldest active organization in this world. This organization is very competent and sophisticated in many field. You can name it one by one! This church has her people working in it.

Just imagine how much money and wealth this church has collecting all gifts and offerings for more than 1900 years as an active organization. If you have 100 years to collect money from your rubber field, you can be millionaire. Imagine, this church collecting money for almost 800 years in Europe countries. Vatican get money from England, Italy, France, German, Spain and other countries for many years! Well, eventhough this church once faced war with Moslem, reformation movement in Europe but still at least half of their wealthiness still exist until today. Half wealthiness from more then 1800 years collecting offerings from her pious countries and members. Imagine!! Don't be too stupid touching Roman Catholic businesses.
written by PAKRAK, August 20, 2008 09:50:59
Now you know what this stupid, ignorant and power crazy BN government is like.
Relax. Be patient. They are running out of time. Their expiry date is September 16. They can then frame and display all the letters in UMNO museum.
written by Raja Gasper, August 20, 2008 09:52:09
The word "catholics" means being a universal standard in latin language and it
has nothing to do with religions.So the Catholic Christianity just to means a
universal standard christians who praticse the same teaching held by the Christ
the Saviour and Lord of Christianity.

Religion become corrupted during the Age of Enlightments in Europe as today the
word 'catholic' is used to express as the religions of the 'Roman Empire' by
the Protestant group who later challeged the authority of the "Church" as made
themself the rulers of the "New World Church Orders".
written by readmylips, August 20, 2008 11:14:01
Why don't people who write comments here stick to commenting on the article at hand. Of the nine comments prior to mine here, only two relate to the article. Stop wasting your time writing nonsense. Look beyond your little box of thought and try to see the big picture. Maybe hard for some but you learn as you broaden your mind. The rights of all Malaysians are at risk here nevermind what religion you are. SEE THE BIG PICTURE.
written by miwaki, August 20, 2008 12:37:43
Yes,ask our Home Ministry whether they understand what is written the "Herald" in the first place.How many of them understand English ?
written by ASK4u, August 20, 2008 13:07:27
Kudos to the The Catholic Lawyers’ Society (CLS). It would be better if you can get MCCBCHST involved to, more weightage. Internationalize the issue. Can you also engage a QC. Your breaktrough would pave the way for true religious freedom.

smilies/cool.gif
written by PASOK, August 20, 2008 15:46:42

Since when does the government not have the authority to limit the practice of religeon?
The Catholic lawyers say that it should be left to the religions themselves.
That is crap.
If you leave it to religeous people to decide they will quickly turn Malaysia into a battleground.
The Catholics should have more respect to the government.

Anyway the Roman Catholic church is one the most corrupted organisations in the world so all should beware of their recent rumblings.
written by Malaysiaputra, August 21, 2008 11:33:23
written by PASOK, August 20, 2008 | 15:46:42

Since when does the government not have the authority to limit the practice of religeon?

====

Since when can the govt guarantee a person a ticket to Syurga ?
------

The Catholics should have more respect to the government.
=======
Are you talking in your sleep ?

-------

Anyway the Roman Catholic church is one the most corrupted organisations in the world so all should beware of their recent rumblings.
=====

Who are you to pass judgement with your puny half educated mind ?

Go back to sleep lah !
written by PASOK, August 23, 2008 05:52:09

Hei, it is the malaysian puta again. Another chinaman is it talk big about holy roman catholic with their yellow communist mind. You tink Chairman Mao in syurga ka? Haha - bloody fool.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009