Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Koh: Gerakan will safeguard it's own principles, ideology

Koh: Gerakan will safeguard it's own principles, ideology PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 19 August 2008 17:24

ACTING Gerakan president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon says Gerakan will not blindly commit to Barisan Nasional (BN) without safeguarding its own principles and ideology.

He said two or three other parties within the BN had also been discussing the same issue. He said the Gerakan will not merely be "Yes men" in the BN.

Regarding Gerakan central committee member Datuk Dr Toh Kin Woon's resignation, Koh said it will have some impact on BN's campaign in the Permatang Pauh by-election.

- nst

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by non conformist, August 19, 2008 17:39:21
What is there left to safeguard? All have been plundered, and cowed. Gerakan has been 'yes men' for UMNO for far too long, so long that Gerakan has lost its soul, and has morphed into a dog under the lordship of UMNO.

What does Gerakan have in common with UMNO? Better close shop and retire before Aug 26.
written by Zym Zym, August 19, 2008 17:40:46
Hei Mr. Koh, when are you crossing over to PKR? I heard that you told your good buddy that you're considering it as well. Don't wait. Time and tide wait for no man!
written by budakindia, August 19, 2008 17:44:36
ACTING Gerakan president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon says Gerakan will not blindly commit to Barisan Nasional (BN) without safeguarding its own principles and ideology.
======================================================= =================================
Since when you guys have any principals to begin with? You're just another UMNO doormat ever since you joined BN.

p/s I will not celebrate Merdeka day until Anwar is the PM. He represented the new Malaysia. The old one is dead already.
written by chc, August 19, 2008 17:44:59
MR KOH, this is a golden opportunity for you to be a real man.follow your heart , join PR. stop being UMNO's punching bag
written by SamYap, August 19, 2008 17:51:35
As your ex-president Dr KY Lim had noted quite candidly, Gerakan was and still is a "beggar" in the BN coalition. So what else is there is lose or what pride does your party have left?

Gerakan had lost their raison de'tre long time ago when you did nothing to stop your friend UMNO from playing the divide the races and rule game. You lost your self esteem while standing at the sidelines watching Tun Dr M attack and dismantle our judiciary system, once considered one of the best.

The list is long, but the above would suffice to show that Gerakan had long lost their bearing and lost their "ball bearings" as well!!!
written by PAKRAK, August 19, 2008 17:52:22
Now you are talking sense. Crossover now. Bring the whole lot with you. The rest of BN component parties will follow suit and UMNOputra goons will start booking their flights to Zimbabwe.
written by Taikohtai, August 19, 2008 17:54:07
Totally agree with his statement of safeguarding GERAKAN's own principles and ideology or whatever's left of it. Only thing he needs to change urgently is the party's name to a more appropriate one:

I suggest BELAKANG
written by lone ranger, August 19, 2008 17:54:25
Hello Tan Sri Dr Koh, I still have a high respect with your goodself, but not Gerakan, so please wake up, have you carefully considered the actual cause of 0308 ? it is so simple, that is you and the party lead by your goodself is not more than a YES PARTY.

the rakyat want partnership in BN, not ketuanan umnoship or yesmanship, so we voted you out, if the trend still continue, come the next GE, what happen ? you know the answer right ?

so please sir, with due respect, please do something RIGHT !

thank you !
written by Agahdemo, August 19, 2008 17:55:51
We want a Malaysia that is progressive, one that is not governed based on racial lines.....

We want to be able to see unity comes alive again and all malaysian regardless of our racial background and religion, we can walk hand in hand like the old days......

Dr. Koh, you still think that is possible with UMNO-led government?!!??
written by densemy, August 19, 2008 18:18:31
Principles???... What principles???

Methinks Dr Koh is out to protect his own ego...

Oh Dear, its the old Saving Face routine again
written by salsabarney, August 19, 2008 18:21:12
"Gerakan will not blindly commit to Barisan Nasional (BN) without safeguarding its own principles and ideology."
Ideology and principles? What ideology? What principles? Koh Tsu Koon trying to sound to like a strong leader.Nice try Cakap tak serupa bikin. Say this in front of your UMNO masters. I bet he will whimper and whine softly and kow tow every 1 sentence.
Even your Wanita chief speaks her mind unlike you.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 19, 2008 18:26:32
The message is "We are going to leave BN for good"
written by Msian 2, August 19, 2008 18:26:46
Tai Koh -- not that PR need you but take Gerakan to a different level join PR. Why debate? Waste time debating over improper undertakings. Can't U see the trend to change & what is happening to the country under UMNO direction. I sincerely hope U have more morals & guts, if not write to Uncle Pete. He will help.
written by yy88, August 19, 2008 18:32:11
It is better to be poor and respected than to be rich and humiliated.
It is better to be able to raise your head high than to wave your tail and lower your head.
Mr. Koh, Just Do It, Get out of BN and regain your respects and honour.
Tell BN, particularly UMNO to go fly their kites, and F**K OFF.
written by ahmadneil, August 19, 2008 18:37:04
What can a beggar party do if the BOSS is still pulling the string?The only way for you to grow up is to join PR.There you have your rights and chance to show your capability as a party of ,for ,by the people.
written by JJFoo, August 19, 2008 18:40:18
Don’t have the guts to do the right thing. Only try to say the right thing. Time and again, talk trash.
written by varvoom, August 19, 2008 19:22:52
Gerakan only have 2 seat to play with what, don't talk too big lah, you need pakatan more then pakatan need you lah, cross over now before we change our mind or you will end up playing with your self, and you know what that will lead to? going blind lah!
written by Chialat, August 19, 2008 19:24:41
PR should not blindly accept those who want to cross over. KTK is one of those. If he is not a 'yes man', who is?? After 18 years of being CM of Penang, there is no single project that is beneficial to penangites can be attributed to his contribution. We need better transportation in penang but until now we still need to fight for that. I hope that gerakan can just stay put and sink with umno.
written by omarkhayyam, August 19, 2008 19:30:54
Ah Koh,

even the an intelligent man like Dato Toh Kin Woon has left not to mention all the other supporters .....

like a sinking ship and being the captain i guess u will be the last to leave or sink with UMNO

written by 1st2stay, August 19, 2008 19:32:16
He said the Gerakan will not merely be "Yes men" in the BN.

Hmm. Can anyone remember when he said "No" the last time, to Badawi or BN? Serious, I wonder. Help me out.
written by truthbespoken, August 19, 2008 19:42:43
Dr Koh,

You have already put in enough spices. We smell it good and know what you are getting at. Just do it! Decide and decide fast! Decide before 25th Aug 08 for your action to have full impact!

With the wind of change, most Malaysians, will fully support your party's decision not to be UMNO's doormat anymore! It's for the good of the country! Go for it, Dr!
written by Check, August 19, 2008 19:46:22
I salute Datuk Dr Toh Kin Woon. As far as I know of him, he is a man of principle.

I don't see how Gerakan can maintain its principle and in fact I suspect that Tan Sri Dr Koh had been a victim of the hanky panky perpetrated by people he had no control of. Now he has to answer for it. Why continue to protect the arse of these morons?

Actually I wouldn't mind liking you too if you had not allowed yourself to be dragged through the muck over the years. If Penang, the heartbeat of Gerakan, had been so terribly beaten as not to retain a single seat, what representation of the people is there? And even worse, ignoring the people's call for Gerakan to quit BN is a terrible misjudgement. It is because, if you heed history, all governments that closed its eyes and ears to public opinion is doomed to be toppled or become irrelevant.

Sometimes it is not worth to emulate a ship's captain having to go down with the ship, especially if you can save all the lives of the passengers, crew and ... yourself. Let the bloody ship sink if it must.
written by ASK4u, August 19, 2008 19:47:04
Hey Gerakan, everyone knows you were a parasite oh leech, sucking from UMNO whatever 'leftover' there is.Have some self respect laa. People call you names and still you want to carry just like what MIC is doing.I think, MCA has more honor than any one of you sly species. Leave BN for good. This is the right time.
written by mikewang, August 19, 2008 19:51:32
This is the man who first contested in Penang on a platform to transform BN.

Boy, isn't he thoroughly transformed instead ?
written by Good News, August 19, 2008 20:06:19
Respect for GERAKAN can only be redeemed after it dumps BN. From now until 26-Aug would be crucial a time for the party to reflect on its blind commitment with BN.
written by zhugeliang, August 19, 2008 20:23:22
Koh, talk is one thing but action speaks a thousand words. Malaysians judge by what you do not what you say only. Talk is cheap la, don't your brain know? I thought you got a Ph.D. Whatever happen to you??? What the hell have you done for Penang for past 16 years??? Become a puppet for devils UMNO!!! So, what you have done totally contradicted with what you have said. Don't insult our Penangnites intelligence! You are a goddamn f***ing LIAR!!!
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 19, 2008 20:47:51
Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon says Gerakan will not blindly commit to Barisan Nasional (BN) without safeguarding its own principles and ideology.

YOU SAY ONE THING, NAJIS SAY ANOTHER. TIME TO GO MAN. YOUR SHELF LIFE HAS ALREADY EXPIRED. YOU MIGHT SAVE SOME FACE IF U CAMPAIGN FOR DSAI. BUT THATS NOT GONNA HAPPEN RIGHT? PLS DONT PLAY WITH WORDS TO SAVE YR SKIN. WE ARE NO LONGER DUMB
written by InEffective, August 19, 2008 20:53:27
KTK,

It takes much more than academic and technical talents to be a true leader for a peoples. Leadership is an attribute that not all have regardless of their position (look at our premiers) and it can't be bought.

Leadership entails empathy of the peoples, courage and conviction to do the right thing, inspires peoples to want to follow your way to reach higher objectives - on all these accounts you have let the nation down.

Do this a nation a favor, and just fade away - we are tired of being your victims as you are directly accountable for perpetrating and promoting a racist oppressive and suppressive regime.
written by Ahjamal, August 19, 2008 21:20:13
Dr KTK,

I see that you are going to have vessel without much crew left. Your captain
suit has turned into g string, very soon you will be naked. Before that think
wisely and save yourself from the ugly sight. Those that has left have smell and sense the UMNO mother vessel is about to dive deep and disappear
written by mrbean, August 19, 2008 22:18:48
Shut down , Mr. Koh Tsu Koon.
When will you explain about all the land scam which occured during your tenure...As far as we are concerned, Gerakan is a goner.
written by ganbing, August 19, 2008 22:53:38
Dr. Koh, you have not shown us by your words or action that you can stand up to Umno to defend your party's ideology. On the contrary, you have been a faithful BN yes man. You were the first to dismiss the notion that Gerakan will leave BN to please your political masters in Umno.

Not that whatever you say in Gerakan matters. It is completely disregarded by your Umno masters.
written by harryo, August 19, 2008 23:00:11
Can you spell out your party's priciples and indeology? When you said that there was no eligible Indians to contest GE12, it seems to me that you are marginalising Indians. Is this your principle too?
written by onnetline, August 20, 2008 00:15:00
Dr Koh,

Don't understand why Gerakan is still clinging onto Barisan Najis to remain ' yes men ?

You can be vocal but only for brief moments, that's all !

We've seen that drill before.

Should consider Pakatan Rakyat for a better change !
written by Heaven8402, August 20, 2008 00:29:55
Dr.Toh has made a right and sane choice of leaving Gerakan. Maybe he's already fed-up of being a "yes-man" in a "yes-men-party"..!!!
And as for you KSK are a big loser and a BIG shame to a Chinese community in Penang.
written by Semut Jantan, August 20, 2008 05:03:41
"He said two or three other parties within the BN had also been discussing the same issue. He said the Gerakan will not merely be "Yes men" in the BN."

Mr. Koh, are you kidding, "only two or three other parties within BN had also been discussing..." Where have you been? Are you sleeping or what? Maybe you have been spending too much time with the sleepy head ehh? NOT two or three, you think first before you talk next time ok, Ah Koon? Mai Koon la, wake up and follow Ah Toh, ok?
written by miwaki, August 20, 2008 05:06:53
Tsu Koon,
In politic,you don't talk about principles,you only write about it during examination.In real life situation,we talk about sale of lands and how to make money without using own capital.
written by Bigjoe99, August 20, 2008 08:39:29
When they joined BN, they gave up their ideology already. Its the facade that took time to take away which is left barren by KTK.
written by michaelT, August 20, 2008 09:40:05
Dr. Toh has my respect for getting out of Gerakan. He has the wisdom to Quit which was not an easy decision. His Principle is so profound. Likewise Gerakan must quit enblock to be saved from the sinking UMNO ship.So you guys quit and dont wait for Koh and drown with him. The era is different now and the Nation has to be save from BAD Administration of BN. The Glory is not in the falling but the ability to rise. MCA should alsso quit for the same reason.
written by asguard, August 20, 2008 10:16:17
Once a servant always remained yours faithfully servant to UMNO (untuk monyet nakal tiada otak)
written by CitizenBodohland, August 20, 2008 10:25:51

I am an Acting President for a political party, I guess. Actually I am not sure if I still have any supporters in the party. We suffered much beating during the last GE. We were almost wiped out and now the party is dying in a slow death. Many people asked us to leave BN, but knowing my BN boss knew every detail of my extra baggages, I am so afraid to leave. He is still holding my balls and squeezing it occasionally.

Everytime when we disagree on certain matters, he will give my balls some tight squeeze until I uttered the word "YE..YE..YES BOSS". I am seriously considering of jumping over to PR, but I am also afraid if my party ended up becoming a junior member in the new coalition. All my projects will be going down the drain and my former boss will publish all my wrongdoings during our partnership.

Sometimes I just want to bury my head into the sand and forget about the whole thing. My wife woke me up several times in the middle of the night and she said I kept on saying "YES BOSS, BAIK TUAN, TOLONG TUAN and WOOFF! WOOFF!". I am puzzled by the "WOOFF WOOFF" part. I will normally deny it and said that our dog is having nightmares.

Maybe LKS is right during the my first time challenging him when he said that I will become a CM WITHOUT POWER. I am helpless now. I wonder if it will be a right move if I go for an operation to remove my balls so that nobody can squeeze them anymore. Please help, Pete.

HATE MY BALLS
written by Semut Jantan, August 20, 2008 10:31:45
I think I know why many would wait to cross over. If they move now, ACA would move in...I think many have skeletons in their closets. I hope PKR will decide carefully which to take and which to reject. I think the brave ones will act before August 26. After that, many refuge seekers will beg to cross over; it maybe a bit too late. Best to move now.
written by Fairminded, August 20, 2008 15:06:10
We have enough of this BS. Gerakan had been a Yes Sir Man for the whole of 30 years (it was formed in 1970's). Is it that it finally woke up or is it opportunism?
We will not believe you. The only way for your party to go is to disband and join PKR or DAP, and if PAS allows, join them.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009