Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Do they want Anwar as PM?

Do they want Anwar as PM? PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 19 August 2008 10:06

Privately, leaders from both parties remain sceptical that Anwar would be able to muster sufficient support from defectors to effect the change.

TODAYonline 

The stage has been set for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s return to national politics.

Few would bet against him winning in the Permatang Pauh by-election scheduled for Aug 26. In fact, the more pertinent question is: how large will the margin be?

Even the ruling party Umno has thrown in the towel, with senior Umno leaders noting that any erosion of Anwar’s wife Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Ismail’s 13,398-vote majority, secured at the March general election, would in itself be a major feat.

This concession is telling, for Umno very rarely starts an election campaign by making public admissions of impending defeat.

Indeed, even in Kelantan, a Pas stronghold for as long as anyone can remember, Umno has always been upbeat about its chances during elections.

The fact that the yardstick is set at merely cutting the existing majority indicates a realisation within Umno circles, that even though this by-election might well prove critical for them in their attempt to stop Anwar’s march to the pinnacle, his victory will very likely be a massive landslide.

While the results of the by-election may be a foregone conclusion, what could follow has everyone sitting on the edge of their seats — Will Anwar eventually be convicted of the sodomy charges against him, and find himself back in prison? Will he be able to deliver on his word that on Sept 16 he would be able to form a new government with himself as the new prime minister? Will the opposition Pakatan Rakyat alliance remain intact?

To be sure, the immediate obstacle for Anwar is the sodomy charge hanging over his head. With regards to this, he has no lack of popular sympathy. If anything, the man-on-the-street laments the “lack of imagination” displayed by elements intent on blocking the former deputy prime minister’s return to politics (similar charges were levelled against Anwar 10 years ago).

Despite that, the accuser, Mohd Saiful Bakhari Azlan’s latest move to escalate the situation, by swearing on the Quran at the national mosque, has turned all eyes on the self-proclaimed prime minister-in-waiting.

Though Pas clerics such as Datuk Nik Aziz Nik Mat, Harun Din and Datuk Abdul Hadi Awang made moves to dismiss Saiful’s act as one that did not accord with Islamic teaching, at the grassroots level, people are looking for Anwar to follow suit to dispel any suspicions.

Chief among those calling for Anwar to make his own oath is none other than his former boss, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

If Anwar survives these charges, the path to the premiership looks clearer — or does it?

Notwithstanding his confident proclamations, his success or failure will turn on the extent to which his ambitions enjoy full support from his Pakatan allies.

The leaders of Pas and the DAP have made clear that their respective parties intend to do what they can to ensure. Anwar wins in Permatang Pauh and becomes the leader of the opposition.

Given the strength of the Pas and DAP election campaign machinery, particularly in Penang, this is likely to cause much concern for Umno and Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah, the candidate of the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition, who may well be swept away by the winds of change that have been blowing since March 8.

Whether the DAP and Pas are willing to back Anwar as prime minister in the event of a change of government however, is a different matter altogether.

Privately, leaders from both parties remain sceptical that Anwar would be able to muster sufficient support from defectors to effect the change.

Even if he did, Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng has warned that the DAP will not recognise crossovers if they were enticed by material rewards.

The message from Pas is even clearer. At the Islamic party’s recently-concluded general assembly, the Dewan Ulama (Ulama Council) suggested that party president Abdul Hadi could be Pas’s preferred prime minister should the Pakatan come to power.

Abdul Hadi was non-committal when asked if he supported Anwar’s quest for the top job. While both parties are committed to the Pakatan for now, certain quarters in both parties are concerned about the implications should Anwar become prime minister.

While Pas fears a possible dilution of the Malay-Muslim agenda under Anwar, some in the DAP fear the opposite, namely, that Anwar might return to the Malay agenda that he pushed so strongly in his days with Abim (the Islamic Youth Movement of Malaysia) and, later, Umno.

For these DAP and Pas members, this unease is rooted in their respective experiences with Anwar, particularly given his role in events such as Ops Lallang in 1987. (Some argue that it was he who ignited the controversal debate over Chinese education that culminated in the arrest of more than 100 opposition politicians and activists in the internal security operation termed Ops Lallang.)

Clearly, for some in the DAP and Pas, historical memory plays a part in their assessment of Anwar, and they will not be easily assuaged.

In other words, even as Anwar labours to secure the necessary crossovers, there may well be jockeying taking place within the Pakatan itself.

We have already witnessed the muzakarah (dialogue) between Umno and the Pas. No doubt these talks have not amounted to anything. Yet, they are still indicative of a degree of restlessness in the Islamic party in response to Anwar’s ambitions.

As Anwar manoeuvres closer to his dream, it would not be beyond the imagination to see Pas or DAP respond by recalibrating their commitment to the Pakatan accordingly.

There is little doubt that as the leader of the opposition, DAP and Pas need Anwar. Without him, it is arguable if DAP would have won Penang at the March general election, or if Pas could secure three menteri besar positions.

He has single-handedly united an erstwhile disparate opposition in a manner never before seen in the country, and in so doing has fundamentally transformed Malaysian politics.

Yet, the question that the leaders and members of DAP and PAS will be asking themselves, nonetheless, is whether they want Anwar as Prime Minister.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by indianputra, August 19, 2008 10:12:20
Do they want Anwar as PM? The answer is YES! A Million Times.

We can go for a change to the incompetent, greedy, egoistic and unfair BN Government! What have we to loose? Malaysia has hit the rock bottom and can only go UP from where we are.

Give Anwar a chance and I am sure Malaysia is for better times ahead.
agree 175
written by gx27, August 19, 2008 10:16:27
The whole nation wants!!!
the country is moving backwards now. DSAI has to put a stop to this nonsense!
written by Rundukon, August 19, 2008 10:28:17
UMNO/BN people were saying that Anwar will bring Malaysia down. How down can it be when Malaysia is already down in the drain caused by the rampant corruptions and crynoism within UMNO/BN ranks.

Give Anwar 5 years to prove his worth.
written by cwy, August 19, 2008 10:30:37
Among the three presidents from PKR,DAP and PAS, viz Anwar, Karpal and Hadi,
it is obvious that majority of all the PR members prefer Anwar to be the PM if PR forms the federal government.
written by educationist, August 19, 2008 10:30:41
Oh! Come on - Dr M has no moral authority to ask Anwar to swear on anything.
And, for that matter, the current PM!!
He'll do more credit to his job of running the country if he is seen to be more hands on the job rather than mouthing stupidities over the matter.
Well, time will tell - Sept. 16th is drawing close and we'll know one way or the other if Anwar can be PM.
Of, course I hope he'll succeed. He symbolises change for the better for our nation, one where all citizens are Malaysians , where we live in a more fair, just civil and democractic society.
written by hckit, August 19, 2008 10:30:49
Those who has taken our money don't want
written by Flex65, August 19, 2008 10:37:53
Frankly I am not worried about the Malay agenda as long as the country is peaceful. The Chinese had survive for so long on the Malay agenda and I am sure we can survive another 50 years. As a race the Chinese is known for their survival skill, you can find Chinese everywhere in this world. The Malaysian Chinese 'evolved' to suit the environment, that is how we continue to survive. The going gets tough, the tough gets going. We are not pampered and we grow to be more independent, I cannot say the same to those more pampered as they seems to grow attached to the easy environment.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, August 19, 2008 10:39:19
Whether PAS and DAP want Anwar as Prime Minister is secondary. The primary isu - without Anwar, PAS and DAP can never b together.

Both aim to set for Federal gov., so they need Anwar for that.

http://www.kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by Engineer, August 19, 2008 10:40:13
Yes, we will give Anwar a chance to be PM.

The more slanders thrown in against Anwar, the more chances the Rakyat will give Anwar to be PM.

The Rakyat will support until we see CHANGES and REFORMASI.

written by chiongguo, August 19, 2008 10:41:33
To be sure, the immediate obstacle for Anwar is the sodomy charge hanging over his head. With regards to this, he has no lack of popular sympathy. If anything, the man-on-the-street laments the “lack of imagination” displayed by elements intent on blocking the former deputy prime minister’s return to politics (similar charges were levelled against Anwar 10 years ago).

It was not the lack of imagination that had made these fools repeat the same play. They had believed that if you repeat a stupidity long enough people will believe in its truth. They had foolishly believed and followed Goebbler's advice to their own detriment. If these fools can be so easily fooled can you imagine the negotiation that they carried out with foreign governments ?
written by Ken Liew, August 19, 2008 10:44:47
That is no the right question...... The right question is, Do we need another UNMOral personal to be PM???

For me, anyone else will do. Since PAS has walk close with UMNO.
written by Lostsoul12, August 19, 2008 10:46:47
Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim - Prime minister-in-waiting
Abdullah Badawi - Opposition leader in-waiting
Najib (more popular known as najis) - Prisoner in-waiting
written by ahmadneil, August 19, 2008 10:49:40
We have no choice becos Anwar is the best candidate for PM now.
written by JJFoo, August 19, 2008 10:59:55
Anwar? Best option at the moment, compared to the a bunch of headless clowns.
written by PAKRAK, August 19, 2008 11:37:52
Without DSAI and PKR there won't be Pakatan Rakyat today! Pakatan Rakyat would not have won five states if not for DSAI. He is a great politician and a mater-mind. DSAI is an obvious choice and deserves to be the next PM of the new Pakatan Rakyat government. Don't grumble and mumble over this matter anymore. In fact we should be happy, grateful and thankful to the Almighty Allah. If DSAI goes back to his word i.e. the Malay agenda we know what to do. This is a multi-racial country. I want my brothers and sisters of all races in Malaysia to be equal. Give him one term to prove himself.
CHANGE... that's what we want!!!
written by rams609, August 19, 2008 11:43:33
For me it's not a question of whether we want Anwar to be the next PM. they can take their Rais, Sharir,Zaid,Albar,Azalina, Shaberry, his sports minister,son in law, together with them. Have I missed anyone?

With them gone, who do we give the chair to?
written by Bigdawg, August 19, 2008 11:49:31
Even if we had a range of choices, Anwar Ibrahim would still be the unmatched choice!

And Malaysians are realistic, looking back at history, do we want another Mahathir?
We will all be cursed for another 50 years should BN types continue premiership.
written by Kunta Kinte, August 19, 2008 11:50:43
50 years and nothing much has been done for the Rakyat. So why not give Anwar the opportunity to 'Walk his talk'? We have nothing much to lose anyway. We have survived 50 years of gaining nothing while the rich government kept on stealing from the poor and the taxpayers.Viva ANWAR!!!!
written by takbolehtahan, August 19, 2008 12:02:03
The answer is obvious. Why would any Malaysian want Abdullah? So far:
- he has proven to be a complete failure as a leader
- he has brought shame and disgrace to our country and the people
- he has dishounoured and disrespected his religion
- he has shamed his own race by showing he has no common sense
- he has no conscience and no morals and discredited the judiciary
- he is, simply, unfit TO BE a Malaysian.

Shouldn’t the Rakyat be voting for a leader with good vision and constructive plans for the country, its people and their children? How could any smart Malaysian vote for a party who uses Sialfool’s bottom as a strategy? This is a first and a shame to the nation. He’s taking the people of PP to be fools. It only goes to show how much Abdullah and his party lack vision and direction.

Any vote for BN is a vote for more corruption and a denial for your children’s future. For a better future, we must vote in Anwar Ibrahim.
written by ASK4u, August 19, 2008 12:05:18
..erosion of Anwar’s wife Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Ismail’s 13,398-vote majority, secured at the March general election, would in itself be a major feat.

Ya lah, you will try to taichi with your phantom voters. Just you wait. Once DSAI makes it to Parlimen. Mark my word. People can clearly differentiate a leader from a scumbag. The present PM, DPM and the whole bunch of OMNO goons are no where close to DSAI. You can't compare a Bunga ros (DSAI) with bunga tahi ayam(OMNO). OMNO days are numbered. It's already written in the invicible akasic record (hystory book).
written by tuankujuki, August 19, 2008 13:34:39
YES I WANT ANWAR AS THE NEXT PM OF MALAYSIA. ABSOLUTELY A YES!!!.
I WANT HIM NOT JUST FOR MYSELF BUT FOR MY CHILDREN, GRANDCHILDREN AND MY GENERATIONS TO COME.
written by magickriver, August 19, 2008 14:10:05
Just another mediocre personality pretending "objectivity" and offering us another anaesthetic (read NSThetic) dose of energy-depleting banality disguised as political ANALysis. Write from your HEART instead of your dysfunctional, backward-looking head. Waste of ink, paper, bandwidth, and your readers' time - if you have nothing interesting to say about these exciting times as Malaysians vote for real change and transformation, go watch the Olympics instead.
written by Bigdawg, August 19, 2008 14:11:51
My brethren in the interior of Sarawak are wandering the hills and forests without birthright papers and no identity cards to prove citizenship. They had no money to travel down rivers to main towns to register their children's births.

Neither does the federal gomen send teams up rivers to look into their plight. So no money and no birth certs, my brethren there are condemned to etching out a poor living from generation to next generation.

%0 years of Malaysia, and the federal gomen is still neglecting it's poorer peoples in rural Sarawak. What a dirty shameful gomen!

Permatang Pauh voters...vote for Anwar Ibrahim!
written by rams609, August 19, 2008 14:31:07
written by rams609, August 19, 2008 | 11:43:33

For me it's not a question of whether we want Anwar to be the next PM. they can take their Rais, Sharir,Zaid,Albar,Azalina, Shaberry, his sports minister,son in law, together with them. Have I missed anyone?

INTERESTING. MY SECOND LINE ( NOW IN ALL CAPS) WAS EDITED OUT. DON'T KNOW BY WHOM.
It should read as:

For me it's not a question of whether we want Anwar to be the next PM. IT'S ABEDOL LAH AND NAJIB THAT WE DO NOT WANT RULING THIS NATION. WHILE WE ARE AT IT they can take their Rais, Sharir,Zaid,Albar,Azalina, Shaberry, his sports minister,son in law, together with them. Have I missed anyone?

written by Steven Tan, August 19, 2008 16:27:09
Selama 50 tahun, kita telah diperintah oleh kerjaan BN dan kita semua telah merasa untung ruginya, kini apa salahnya kita mencuba angin baru dengan memberi jalan kepada PR memerintah untuk 50 tahun akan datang smilies/tongue.gif Mungkin selepas 50 tahun lagi iaitu pada 2058 kalau panjang umur (maksud saya kalau BN panjang umur) mungkin BN boleh ambil balik pucuk pimpinan negara smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif Buat masa ini saya rasa satu-satunya orang yang paling layak menerajui negara ialah Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.... apa pendapat anda semua smilies/grin.gif
written by Hello Keithy, August 19, 2008 19:06:18
We did it on March 8th 2008. We can do it again. We want to do it. Let's do it.
written by The bags, August 19, 2008 19:15:02
Hi all , lupakanlah kes si saiful tu....kes dia tak penting...samaada betul dia kena liwat atau tidak biarkan dia dan DSAI jawap dlm kubur masing2...saiful selamat,dia tak mati tak seperti kawan kita si gadis jelita mongolia yg dah hancur berkecai....yg tak selamat adalah nasib rakyat yg makin hari makin susah...oleh itu RPK saya sarankan you boleh kempen...SEND ANWAR TO PARLIAMENT,SEND ALTANTUYA KILLER TO HELL....kepada pengundi di PP tolonglah undi utk Anwar ,bawa pengundi2 yg tak dapat pergi mengundi dgn sendiri,undilah utk ANWAR walau macam mana susah sekali pun..........
written by The bags, August 19, 2008 19:16:47
Marilah kempen HANTAR ANWAR KE PARLIMENT,HANTAR PEMBUNUH ALTANTUYA KE NERAKA....
written by ANAKSABAHAN, August 19, 2008 19:47:14
It's only 4 years. If DSAI were to be PM after 16/9 , If PR can't perform to the rakyat's expectation then the rakyat has an option to change the government in the next GE. The rakyat have already suffered for 50 years , 4 years is nothing . Once a government ruled a country for too long,the rakyat will suffer because those in power will stay in power with whatever means to keep them in power. It's time to let a new government a chance to rule .
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 19, 2008 20:52:30
Do they want Anwar as PM?

BIG AYE. COUNT ME AND AT LEAST A FEW HUNDRED OF MY FRIENDS IN.
written by WANZAH1, August 19, 2008 22:35:09
if anwar relented to the suggestion to swear under oath, the budak nakal would tell see anwar would do anything for his sake eventhough the ulama has advised it is against the islam. budak nakal atau budak neraka would always there to screw we all if we are allowing them.

only budak najis has sworn but who cares!!!. ALLAH is great, nothing can escape the punishment; see Arile Sharon over 2 years comatized, mohtar dollah 8 months comatized before died, etc.

wrm

written by hanisma, August 19, 2008 23:46:10
Great leaders faced uphill battles before they reach the top - Abraham Lincoln, Mahatma Ghandi, Nelson Mandela and we have our own Anwar Ibrahim to be put in the list of World Great Leaders. Yes, we, peace loving Malaysians need DSAI badly. If not DSAI, who else?
written by Sylvia, August 20, 2008 00:07:35
Every single dirty play BN had created starting from the meetings up with Pas leaders for malay rights and religious issue; the numbskull Saifool's case, and etc, are actually blessings in disguise for DSAI and hold very strong points for voters casting their votes for him. Padan muka to BN, all those efforts actually are backfiring them now... there is a malay saying.. meaning how smart and fast a squirrel is, eventually it can fall too...I have forgotten the actual wordings, sorry!
Let us all pray for a fair and transparent by-election in POermatang Pauh on 26August and also hope that those staying poutstation please take leave,go home to PP and cast yor votes for DSAI...becos if DSAI wins 13MPs (some from Umno too) from Sabah will corss-over to PKR! That will be an historical event for both BN and Pakatan Rakyat becos its openbing a wide road for DSAI to form a new govt...when more BN MPS (who are having a wait n see attitude) will cross-over too! May GOD bless DSAI that everything will run smoothly on, before and after 26Aug!
written by onnetline, August 20, 2008 00:35:58
My office votes : 29 Yes, 2 Abstain , 3 No
written by Equal, August 20, 2008 01:16:40
YES, we want him to be the PM.
Then he MUST do the followings;
1. Closed all the exits, whether by air, land or sea.
2. Frozen all the BN crocks ( malays, chinese , indian .. ) bank account.
3. Put ALL of them under ISA temporary pending investigation
4. Set up a Royal Commission to investigate their passed misdeed
written by miwaki, August 20, 2008 05:25:40
We do not want Abdullah and Najeep,anybody from Pakatn Rakyat will do.
written by born2reign, August 20, 2008 12:11:27
Even if DSAI wins and become the ruling party, I expect each and every MP to have the freedom to vote aye or nay to every bill tabled, without threats to their position as MP and party member. They should not be given a show cause letter by their party president if they vote against what the party president voted. We must allow the democratic process to be fulfilled. And no more absolute power to any one man, otherwise we'll just be jumping from the pan into the fire.

I as a non-bumi am not all that concerned about the Malay rights, having lived here all my life. However, I want the govt to extend privileges and aid to those less privileged regardless of race and religion, the poor, orphaned, widowed, disabled, sr citizens.

In addition, as a private business owner, do away with the bumi majority quota in private companies, for the private sector must survive on our own sweat and blood, hence we must be able to hire and fire based on merit and performance. In fact, I'd rather, through the Corporate Social Responsibility policy, give more aid to those groups mentioned above.

In other words, Bumis who are well equipped with 2 hands and 2 feet and a brain and not insane, must be selected and perform on par with the rest of the employees.

Those who are quadraplygic, blind or deaf, may be given special opportunities to work in the warehouse or administration, according to their capabilities; and may be given special allowances according to their disabilities for instance vehicles for disabled.

I expect from DSAI to do the right thing rather than just be popular. So far he has not sworn on the Quran which is good, for to do so is unIslamic, that's why Bodowi and DrM are pressuring him to do. For Bodowi and DrM are as unIslamic as the devil. For we identify the devil not from his fangs and tail - the devil is ALWAYS dressed in religious attire and expensive suits - we identify the devil from his deeds, his actions, his words and intentions.

I do not believe the grassroots want to see him swear on the Quran. Those are only 2 or 3 that TV managed to get who agree, the rest 99.99% interviewees who disagreed with the swearing were not shown on TV. One who FEARS GOD will not swear on Quran, but one who does not fear God will swear. Same for Christians.

And if Hadi wants to be PM, he should not just sit there and wait to stab or pounce at the opportune time. He should contest, for we do not want the PM to hand down his position to the next PM in waiting. All PM posts must be elected by the people.

Next >

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009