Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Hadi in firm control of Pas

Hadi in firm control of Pas PDF Print
Saturday, 16 August 2008 17:52

IPOH, Aug 16 – Wrapping Pas around his finger and bending to his will, the party faithful today gave their full support to president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang's vision of putting the Islamist party on track as the nation's leading political movement.

Delegates debating Hadi's keynote address declared their allegiance to the top leadership, promising to carry out whatever decisions made despite expected recriminations about the secret meetings with Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi over Malay unity and Islamic issues.

Not only did they dispense with the criticisms, which was the highlight in the youth assembly on Thursday,  the delegates also approved of future meetings with their dreaded political enemy Umno ­- as long as the aim is to bring the Malay party to agree with Pas's struggle.

Johor delegate Mohd Rozali Jamil said while Umno was a political enemy, its members should be perceived as those who had yet to receive the "good news"of Islam.

"Communicate with them, no problem. As long as our intention is to bring them to join us," Mohd Rozali told the general assembly here.

Other delegates expressed worry that their enthusiasm for the nascent Pakatan Rakyat coalition could tear them away from Islam as politics seemed more tempting and exciting than missionary work.

Terengganu delegate Mohd Noor Hamzah took up this theme, reminding Pakatan allies that their relationship was just as "friends", and Pas would always insist on Islam being respected in whatever circumstances.

Penang representative Mohd Fahmi Wahab agreed with Mohd Noor, comparing the coalition of Pas, DAP and Parti Keadilan Rakyat as a marriage with some problems.

"Imagine if we're married, surely it is a problem for us if the kampung people start to ask, how come you are still sleeping at the verandah instead of in the bedroom," he said eliciting mirth in the hall packed with delegates in full Islamic-inspired garb complete with beards and turbans.

Before the audience could stop laughing, he deadpanned, "after four months of being together, surely people will also ask us, how come we don't see the wife having morning sickness."

Mohd Fahmi had earlier complained that the DAP-led state government  has yet to invite Penang Pas leaders to discuss the future of the state. Pas has one assemblyman in the state.

Malacca delegate Kamaruddin Sidek sided with the leadership by asking them to ignore "unreasonable" demands from the grassroots, saying criticisms against the meetings with Umno were unfair and cautioned Pas members from helping PKR form branches in some states as they should focus on strengthening their own party.

The delegates, most of them religious scholars chosen by the respective state liaison committees, obediently followed the tone Hadi set in his presidential speech. Only Negri Sembilan representative Zakaria Salleh struck a discordant note in the choir by reminding the leaders not to fall into Umno's trap.

While the delegates gave him the mandate to push Pas towards a bigger if not senior role in the Pakatan Rakyat, Hadi showed his political acumen by being gracious to show support for Anwar when he directed the party to help the former deputy prime minister's campaign in the Permatang Pauh by-election that begins today.

The party will use its network on the ground to ensure voters come out and cast their ballots for Anwar on polling day Aug 26 - a show of strength and a reminder to its allies that it has unrivalled grassroots support to help form the next federal government with possibly Hadi in the driver's seat.

And that will just underline the fact that by tomorrow, after Pas leaders wind up the debate, the nation will see a more united Islamist party under Hadi's stewardship.

- The Malaysian Insider

written by binarytan, August 16, 2008 17:58:53
PAS, the UMNO in making.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Godflesh, August 16, 2008 18:06:01
So MI - this your 2nd spin for Today eh?

The MI have got links with the 4th floor execs via a VIP from the MSM. I would take all their comments with a sizeable pinch of salt.! They are not bloggers or independent as you and I may like to think.
written by asguard, August 16, 2008 19:20:56
Well, let us wait and watch for further development after Anwar election to the Parliament as MPs...
written by chipon, August 16, 2008 19:50:44

I'm greatfull that PAS has declared full allegiance with KeADILan and DAP!

PAS is indeed a very strong party with strong grassroot networking. We have to admit that. The way PAS supporter works in any election is far superior than any other party in the country including KeADILan and DAP or even BN. And they do that willingly for free, as responsibility to God and to the nation. This we have to admit.
written by cruzeiro, August 16, 2008 20:09:40
he deadpanned, "after four months of being together, surely people will also ask us, how come we don't see the wife having morning sickness."

===================================================

Can't you see that half of Malaysia is already puking with some power hungry people making side deals and telling lies?
It isn't morning sickness - it's ulcers you've given your partners!
written by alberttan, August 16, 2008 20:12:55
written by asguard, August 16, 2008 | 19:20:56

Well, let us wait and watch for further development after Anwar election to the Parliament as MPs...

Dear Asguard;
Good point, we shall see.
And we shall see whether PAS continues to calls for BAN this and BAN that after Permatang Pauh, it if does, we know that PAS members in its blind-deaf-faith to Hadi (and NOT to Tok Guru Nik Aziz) has decided to be lead by a man and clique who lost Terengganu to UMNO. PAS has decided to lose its place in national politics for the likes of Hadi and his UMNO stooges.

PAS will be rebranded as BAN (Barisan Ayatollah Nasional) and I hope that PAS members reading this will support my principles as much as I have supported Tok Guru Nik Aziz and PAS principles. PAS will no longer be relevant come GE13, enjoy your arrogance while you can, Hadi.
written by omarkhayyam, August 16, 2008 20:56:15
Barisan Rakyat is still new in this game, let us give some room for dissent rather than shut them altogether.

PAS has much to loose than the others so they shud learn their lessons if they make a wrong move

written by ctchoolaw, August 16, 2008 21:01:01
PAS is part of Pakatan. Let's not get caught up with MSM propaganda. http://www.ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Ulu Lengas, August 16, 2008 22:07:50
Hadi look like more stupid than Barisan Najis leader who is born stupid and jerk!Terengganu lost because of Hadi's stupid move . As long as Muslim sees the turban and jubah is the practice of Prophet Muhammad,they will always being fooled by the devil like Barisan Najis . Hadi is obviously show him not to support any agenda of Pakatan Rakyat like what KIt Siang,Karpal shows . Hadi should at least show his support at IPK or at court while Anwar be there instead of asking Husam Musa be there . YOure the leader of PAS,how come u dont show support for Pakatan Rakyat . Your tone now is different,it shows that youre being poison by Barisan Najis . While all Malaysian would agree that DSAI will lead this country,some stupid PAS members suggested that Hadi is a next PM . Hello Hadi,if you contest against Anwar in a poll of who will be next PM,you will only got 10% vote . Those votes surely from PAS UMNO . Tolong sedar diri,dimana kedudukan anda berbanding Anwar . So,stupid PAS members,pls dont raise this issue again bcoz thiw will show how unwise of your organization . Do you think PAS can win election by themselves?

http://tukunnegara.********.com
written by temenggong, August 16, 2008 22:54:46
Dear Pas, I mean friends, let us understand each other.

Hadi is on an "arrogant mode" this last six months, and so is Pas.

Hadi is sick and dying. Let us see how long he lives! Let us see what else have you got! Nothing is forever, friends!
written by alberttan, August 16, 2008 23:34:58
So sorry, a friend just reminded me that the ayatollahs did win Iran but never will these kampungtollahs og Hadi win Malaysia, no insult intended to the ayatollahs.

Barisan Ayatollah-celup Nasional
written by BennyG, August 16, 2008 23:38:59
UMNO PROPAGANDA seemed to be very successful. So many negative comments against PAS.

Very few noticed that MSM & Malaysian Insider had concentrated on PAS and mostly to stir all the negative feelings. Imagine even in MT, so many negative comments. Then out there where many had not read MT and easily influenced by MSM, worse thoughts will be spilling out.

Even if Anwar win Permatang Pauh, with all the negative feelings against PAS, what hope Anwar will have in taking over the federal gov't.

Whatever PAS had said, anything reported in MSM & Malaysian Insider (showing their true colours now), do you want to believe even a word?????!!!!!!
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 17, 2008 00:32:22
"Communicate with them, no problem. As long as our intention is to bring them to join us," Mohd Rozali told the general assembly here.

TOO BAD THE YOUNG TURKS ARE NOT QUALIFIED TO READ THE HEARTS AND MINDS OF THEIR LEADERS' INTENT? IN THE END, THEY WILL BE PAWNS TO BE USED BY THE ELITE. SIGH.
written by Khan, August 17, 2008 01:24:02
I fully agree with BennyG's wise comments. Comrades. dont fall for the spin by MSM and Malaysianinsider. PAS remains with Pakatan and it will continue to do so as the grassroot members of PAS like me will never allow PAS to join the corrupt and materialistic UMNO.

So pls stop the bashing and let's all unite against the evil tyranny