Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Barisan Rakyat’s campaign to send Anwar to Parliament

Barisan Rakyat’s campaign to send Anwar to Parliament PDF Print
Friday, 15 August 2008 13:34

Barisan Rakyat.

That’s us.

You and I and every anak Bangsa Malaysia who gives a damn about what happens to this country.

And who’s prepared to do what he or she can to stop the rot and to take back governance of our country.

Yes, our country.

Negara Malaysia untuk setiap anak-anak Bangsa Malaysia.

I’ve been reading so many comments about how so many of you crave for that nation.

You all want that, right?

Well, you know as well as I that no-one is going to present that to us on a silver platter!

We’re going to have to work for that Bangsa Malaysia.

What am I on about?

Last Friday, there was a fellowship of bloggers, activists and friends in civil society at the Wharf.

Notwithstanding my chronic rhinitis, I made it for the event because there were two important things placed on the agenda for discussion.

First, reviving the Hartal MSM, which had earlier been put on hold to give room to the BENAR initiative.

Second, bloggers going up to Permatang Pauh for the forthcoming by-elections, myself included.

In the course of the discussion, the suggestion was brought up that given the very strong likelihood that the MSM, subservient to their political masters, would slant their reporting to give the impression that Pakatan Rakyat is already fragmenting, or that race / religion is once again becoming a thorny issue in the country and that a vote for Anwar would destabilise the country, should we not embark on a pre-emptive strike to try and neutralise the mischief that MSM will in all likelihood set out to do?

We know all too well what the MSM is capable of, even though they’d like us to believe that they are now pro-rakyat or pro-truth!

A reader whom I met for the first time that night later said to me that she wished that there was something she could do to help with Anwar’s campaign.

To that reader, if she’s reading this now, and to all the anak-anak Bangsa Malaysia out there, you can help, and really big time, without even getting out of the chair that you’re sitting on now.

By being part of the sms campaign that is being launched through this blog now. The text of the sms appears below.

Media massa arus p’dana akn m’perdayakan rkyt & m’cari helah utk gagalkan Dtk Seri Anwar Ibrm di P/Pauh dgn berita palsu - m’jatuhkan nama Dtk Seri & menanam rasa syak wasangka. Jom boikot! Jgn beli s/kabar & jgn p’caya berita radio/TV. Sebar kpd kwn2 di P/Png & P/Pauh.

Send this sms out to everyone you know, especially those in Penang and Permatang Pauh, and get them to send the same out to those they know. And keep sending the sms out again and again in the run-up to polling day on 26th August.

Translate it into Tamil and Chinese and send it out to friends.

Read More Here 

written by ctchoolaw, August 15, 2008 13:38:15
Haris, you're the man! We should all hop onto the Peoples' Parliament bandwagon now! http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by justice, August 15, 2008 13:38:34
BN 1st Election Campaign is out now (more to come!! stay tuned!!):

written by ChrisLim, August 15, 2008 13:52:33
Rakyat needs to vote wisely. Your vote will determine if you want to continuosly live under BN which you will continue to suffer with all the Barang Naik syndrome. See how the BN and families control the wealth of the country. BN and families getting richer and richer but the rakyat are being sucked dry.

You can change your own fate and determine your next generations' fate too. Think for your own family and next generations!!!
written by SocratesI, August 15, 2008 14:04:35

Haris is right, we need to contribute in our own little ways to unsure DSAI's success in Permatang Pauh ! His SMS above is just one such thing we can do to help. We can always do MORE !

As long as we help with ONLY ONE OBJECTIVE in mind ... VOTE IN DSAI, VOTE IN PAKATAN RAKYAT, VOTE IN POSITIVE CHANGE, TOWARDS BANGSA MALAYSIA !!

written by SocratesI, August 15, 2008 14:05:10

typo "ensure" not unsure.
written by Counterpointer, August 15, 2008 14:18:39
Judiciary Reforms
Independence of the ACA
Clean, Transparent and Efficient Government accountable to the rakyat.

For 50 years we have had the low quality counterfeit versions.

From the samples we have been getting since March 8, you would do no wrong to try the Pakatan Rakyat Federal Gomen for the real deal.

Sudah Cuba, Sudah Tahu.

written by teo siew chin, August 15, 2008 14:37:13
Dear bloggers, activists and friends in civil society who were at the Wharf - you kawan-kawan are giving much needed hope to the rakyat and changing the history of this beloved nation of ours.
YOU are directing this nation to one that is going to be BETTER SMARTER STRONGER!
Syabas & Keep Up the Good Work!
written by my oumrie, August 15, 2008 15:21:04
Dear Permatang Pauh voters, I heard BEE END will be throwing money at you. Take it, say thank you and then vote for DSAI. HIDUP ANWAR! - HIDUP PAKATAN RAKYAT!
written by ahmadneil, August 15, 2008 15:24:13
We are all providing our cars for free to carry our supporters to vote for Anwar and voters will be given free drinks also.That is what we are contributing to our Famous son.
written by YSL, August 15, 2008 15:54:44
To all belived Leaders and Readers of Pakatan Rakyat.

Please tell me how i can contribute RM1,000.00 to assist you all in the campaig.

I really mean to do that.

Please tell me also if i contribute RM1,000.00 to Brother Datuk Anwar Ibrahim will i violate the Election Act ?
written by omarkhayyam, August 15, 2008 16:08:24
i'll be there too with ma kaki's n campign for free

written by zandi, August 15, 2008 16:52:05
Super Admin and fellow MT readers,

I feel there are many Malaysians like YSL who can't be in Permatang Pauh but would like to contribute in monetary terms to DSAI Election campaign. Would we be violating any law if we contribute money directly to DSAI's campaign. Pls advise. If we are not in violation, and as I've posted somewhere on MT, I hope Super Admin can let us know how readers can contribute to DSAI's campaign funds. TQ.
written by SUV, August 15, 2008 17:13:05
haha,dengar kabaq,barsian nak belanja rm1 billion utk buy elecsen ni smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif..seoarng dapt rm500,milo 1 tin,beraih 1 kampit,dan mungkin lungi,kain songket ,macm macm..
written by SUV, August 15, 2008 17:13:39
brother labis,hope u r ok..
written by ahmadneil, August 15, 2008 17:14:13
My friends from the taxi federation are all coming from Alor Star to help and campaign for our Famous PM in waiting.When ask why they want to help,they say it's so nice to be able to contribute in a small way.
written by johanssm, August 15, 2008 17:36:27
Many readers asked how to contributes to Dsai.
The proper way to channel funds to DSAI will be to the party HQ account.

Account : 19901000076 (Hong Leong Bank Berhad)
Name : Parti KeADILan Rakyat
Those already or planning to go to PPauh may contributes at the PPauh PKR office.
Or visit >>> http://www.keadilanrakyat.org/
For online contributions >>>http://www.keadilanrakyat.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=536&Itemid=0
written by The dragonheart, August 15, 2008 18:01:38
If the BN uses the federal machinery.. the PR can use the 5 states machinery too... like printing leaflets and counter news and distribute it to all citizen of Permatang pauh...
written by yatchee, August 17, 2008 11:43:03
VOTERS OF PEMATANG PAUH, REMEMBER TO USE YOUR POWER (PEOPLES POWER)TO VOTE DSAI
INTO PALIAMENT AND THERE BY SET UP A NEW GOVERNMENT FOR BETTER MALAYSIA AND NOT
A CORRUPTED AND ARROGANT MALAYSIA UNDER THE BN.REMEMBER VOTE NICELY FOR THE FUTURE OF MALAYSIA.BN STANDS FOR BARANG NAIK-PETROL NAIK .THEY DONT GIVE A DAMN
TO THE PEOPLE BUT ENJOY THEMSELVES WITH PEOPLES HARD EARN MONEY
written by Sylvia, August 17, 2008 18:37:37
I think the best way to controibute to DSAI's struggles in cash is through its HQ to be sure it goes into the right hand rather than simply crediting it into the PKR's bank account as stated by Johanssm (not that I have any doubt in that given acct. No.) to be on the safe side. I hope Johanssm will understand that i meant well for contributors, thanks!
written by Sylvia, August 17, 2008 18:43:42
It has been widely said that btwn BN and a stone, Permatang's wise votyers will vote for the stone if DSAI is not contesting, hahaha! Lets hope BN and that Akim guy wont split the votes and cause injury to DSAI! Let us all pray in our different religions that the by-election will be carried out fairly (as requested bt the Herald)andf also for DSAI to win even if by a smaller majority, he still wins and can sit in parliament, thats the ultimatum!
By the way, if BN has nothing to hide why should anyone comment and suggested to ban Herald when it called for its members to pray for a free and fair by-election in Permatang Pauh. Here is to BN, there's a saying, "If the hat fits wear it"...wonder if you understand what that means, hahaha!
written by faridib, August 18, 2008 15:41:47
Dear folks,

for those who genuinely want a change, read this from DSAI:

"The government will spend tens of millions in their campaign to defame and harass Anwar Ibrahim and his supporters in Penang. UMNO will print hundreds of thousands of posters, flyers and banners. They will send thousands of people on busses from around the country to Penang - some of them may even vote illegally. They will book all the hotels in the state to make it difficult for our volunteers and supporters to assist.

They will do anything they can to stop Anwar Ibrahim.

We don't need hundreds of millions to win. We proved that on March 8th. But we do need your support to keep producing campaign materials and supporting our volunteers on the ground.

Please make a confidential online contribution today.

https://www.fundraisingbynet.net/fbn/contributeINTL.asp?guidRegistration=5E575B5E

Forward this email to everyone you know and ask them to do the same. Every Ringgit produces another 10 campaign flyers. Every 100 Ringgit produces 2 banners. A donation of 1000 means we can add another 12 foot billboard in Penang. Let's work together to bring a new dawn to Malaysia.

Thank you for your support.

Office of Anwar Ibrahim