Home arrow Special Reports arrow Can Malaysia's PM become a modern-day Hang Tuah?

Can Malaysia's PM become a modern-day Hang Tuah? PDF Print
Monday, 14 January 2008 10:56

MACHO MAN IN THE MAKING

(TodayOnline) - IT could be a universal truth that the Malaysian general election is likely to be held in the next two months, but Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi - the resident "Mr Nice Guy" of politics up north - may still surprise many by calling for an election not before April 15 after the political ban on opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim is lifted.

But why take such a risk?

Foremost, Mr Abdullah desperately needs an image overhaul: No more "Mr Nice Guy", and no more getting bullied.

Simply put, Pak Lah - as he is affectionately known - must become a modern-day Hang Tuah, the legendary Malay hero from Malacca whose gung-ho image made him local folklore's most famous name.

Detractors would cite Hang Tuah's betrayal of his loyal friend Hang Jebat but that aside, Malaysians love a strong-headed leader, even one who does not mince words.

They are a far cry from New Hampshire voters whom analysts said had cast their votes for Ms Hillary Clinton after she shed tears on television.

An informal reading of public sentiment on Dr Mahathir Mohamad's reign as Prime Minister would lend credence to this.

While in Kuala Lumpur last November covering a string of protests, a local journalist friend said that some Malaysians hanker after the long-gone days of Dr Mahathir. Despite his many flaws, he added, Malaysians were proud Dr Mahathir could hold his own against world superpower America and still ensure economic growth.

My journalist friend is not the only one who feels so; another Malaysian professional I know voiced the same sentiments.

It is to counter such perceptions, and perhaps save his political office, that Pak Lah must up the machismo factor.

Already, he has shown signs of a tougher streak. In one of his strongest assertions two months back, Mr Abdullah publicly declared - just a day after lawyers took to the streets to uphold freedom of assembly - that he would "not feel guilty or sad" in signing detention orders for illegal protesters.

Slightly more than a week later, he did exactly that - detaining five Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) leaders under the Internal Security Act.

And, what better way for Mr Abdullah to become more like Hang Tuah than to confront Mr Anwar in an open election? This courageous act in itself could win Mr Abdullah some votes.

Besides, Mr Abdullah had already beaten his political nemesis in the small Selangor town of Ijok last April when Malaysians last took to the polls.

That by-election, seen as a preview to the upcoming general election, saw Barisan Nasional's (BN) candidate K Parthiban beat Keadilan's Khalid Ibrahim by a 1,850-vote margin, after more than 90 per cent of Indians voted for BN.

Mr Yang Razali Kassim of the S Rajaratnam School of International Studies said some key leaders of the United Malays National Organisation believe Mr Anwar can be finished off politically. By that reckoning, an election after April 15 is likely.

Mr Anwar said last week his back-up plan would be to contest a by-election if polls are called before his ban is lifted. A showdown will occur eventually, so Mr Abdullah may decide to meet Mr Anwar head-on in the general election.

Even party insider S Sothinathan of the Malaysian Indian Congress said he would not be surprised by a later date.

Without explaining his reasons, he told Today: "Everyone is saying it's in March but it could be from April to June."

Punters for an earlier date said the government may reduce fuel subsidies now that the price of oil has hit US$100 a barrel. Last November, Mr Abdullah said the government might cut oil and gas subsidies totalling RM35 billion ($15.2 billion) per year.

More than oil, Mr Steven Gan of political news website Malaysiakini believed that a number of crises - the unhappiness of ethnic Indians, allegations of a corrupt judiciary and even contention against its election process - have caused the ruling coalition to rethink an early election date.

The decision now lies with one man.

written by budakindia, January 14, 2008 11:10:53
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif i guess he needs a brand spanking new keris with the new image! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif or maybe a hang kebun or hang buah as p. ramlee putd it! hehehe!
written by Kaboda, January 14, 2008 11:26:22
I doubt this arrogant, sleepy, and ignorant PM can ever change his ways !
Look at how he talks about crime and how hes taken smiling with this grandson, when crime has gotten so bad another child is missing. Whats the solution "parents be more careful Malaysia is not safe".

Kids arent even safe enough to play in playgrounds. And we got an article here about how he should aspire to be Hang Tuah?
written by Bigjoe99, January 14, 2008 11:37:17
People talk like Anwar is a factor or not a factor as a standalone. If you talk of Anwar as a factor on its own, yes he is unimportant. No one is that important in Malaysia but Anwar can be a factor on issues. His platform is broadbase enough to be the leader in any opposition issue.

So the question is if there whether its better to postphone the election because of issues or delay it and its not worth it to delay it. It will only get worst if they delay it. Can they delay oil price hike? Can they solve crime? Judicial corruption? Indian jobs and opportunities? When you look at the balance of it, none of these things can be solved by delaying the election and its better to take the hit now than later.

The other day, I was at at a market and there was a bunch of Chinese houswifes complaining about the high price of some thing or other. Suddenly, this small Malay women, no more than 30ish, obviously after someone spoke to her, started talking the loudest about how everything, cooking oil, school fees, etc is expensive and yet she still have no choice but to buy them. She went on and on and how the government is lying about inflation and how things are still cheap and her income is not rising.

Abdullah can try and be a Hang Tuah to distract the right-wing of his party from the real issues but chances are he will lose the same amount of urban voters at the same time. If this is an idea, its a mediocre one like everything else he has proposed in the last 4 years.

Abdullah would be better off to try and split the Indian and Chinese votes which is his real problem. If the Indians and Chinese votes are split, only the fringe liberal Malay votes will not come with him AND Anwar would be finished off. Whether you want to believe it or not Samy Vellu is doing the right thing for UMNO/BN although he is the wrong messenger. If Abdullah can get someone else to do what Samy Vellu does and the same equivalent for the Chinese, he has got it made.
written by Sword of Justice, January 14, 2008 11:49:35
But Alas is Hang Tuah a Malay in the first place. Recent comments and postings have cast a shadow over this believe...some say Hang Tuah is chinese. Just an opinion.
written by rayfire, January 14, 2008 11:52:34
smilies/wink.gif
Hang Tuah, maybe NOT!
Mat Jenin, definitely CAN!
In fact he is so good at being Mat Jenin Already!
written by Century Patriot, January 14, 2008 12:12:35
Gungho Pak Lah? Why, hasn’t he been all this while? His type of gung-ho is being sanguine and depict that everything is alright!! Other PM would have reacted with jittery with all these negative going-on, but not gung-ho AAB!

Unfortunately, AAB turned out to be gung-ho or Hang Tuah by accident bcos he has been sleeping and depended on SIL to manipulate.!!

Head-on collision with DSAI would turn AAB into a roti canai!!
written by Semuaok, January 14, 2008 13:13:57
If Hang Tuah is a live he will be calling Bodowi his master. Bodowi "take" from the rich and poor and keep it to himself in his sleep.
written by geddemtata, January 14, 2008 13:20:25
HANG TUAH,HANG JEBAT AND OTHERS ....
WHY THERE NAME HAVE HANG LIKE HANG LI POH .....ARE THERE CONNECTED IN HANG FAMILY
written by ibabonma, January 14, 2008 13:36:41
Mana ada Hang Tuah? Ini semua cerita palsu dan penuh penipuan yang dilakukan oleh tukang karut Istana - macam UMNO buat cerita mengarut didalam Utusan, Berita dan TV#.
written by asguard, January 14, 2008 13:58:24
Totally unfit to be a PM if you most malaysians they say he would be fit to jaga unta in Arabia Peninsula there he could be the leader of camels (unta) for life! Don't be have relected forever! Don't nobody will say anything about this and that... i htat would the best place for him...
written by rastafarianz, January 14, 2008 14:08:57
Hang Uuaaaaaghhhhhh (yawning), Hang Tidur, Hang Monyet, Hang Bodo or Hang Up can lah... smilies/grin.gif
written by Sutha, January 14, 2008 14:41:03
Marrying a non-malay does not entitile him to Masuk-Cina like masuk-melayu. So what Hang 2 he is talking about?

But.... hold your horses.... Killing Justice Jebat (a minority) to protect the Elite (Arm-no Gulayus) could make him the real Tuah, Hang him (together with his notorious gang) in the next election.

Nice guy, my foot, even if he believes so.
written by rocky, January 14, 2008 14:58:22
Hang Tidur adalah!!! Please do not show disrespect to hang Tuah.Hang Tuah didn't sleep on the job and knew what was going on around him and can make tough decisions like killing Hang jebat. and Hang Tuan was working all the time, not only when the election was around. last but not least Hang Tuah fulfilled his promise(s) unlike Pak Lah who can't deliver and then move the goal post.

Pak Lah is weak and slow and never mind person. Hang Never Mind!!! and he claims he is a good muslims. why the need to make such claims. You are good , you are good. why say I'm a good muslim. your action and your words will show you are a good muslim.
written by doggone, January 14, 2008 15:38:34
Our pm a Hang?
How about SI HANG?
You know... the place we need to detoxify.
written by malaysianohope, January 14, 2008 16:00:14
More like Hang Tu... ah

or Hang Terbang as in frequent flyers!

or Han-gers as in slumberland!
written by AngryTaxpayer, January 14, 2008 16:45:59
No matter how he re-brands himself, he's still never going to be able to catch up with TDM.....being smart is not bought, it's in-born. You either have it or you don't, and Bodowi, doesn't.
He is so dumb that he thinks by signing a couple of ISA papers, he'll impressed the rakyat, not knowing that most of our grouses are about the sinking economy, increasing crime rates and more ministers embarrassing the Malaysians.
written by mikewang, January 14, 2008 18:40:59
"The decision now lies with one man."

Wrong.
According to the Malaysian Constitution, the King can refuse an early dissolution of the parliament at his own discretion.
written by hiro, January 14, 2008 22:00:41
Badawi should issue a challenge to Haji Awang.
written by Yacob, January 15, 2008 00:13:38
Pak Lah, you are better than Anwar ! so don't worry of him. You better kill him once for all in politic by giving him a chance to contest in the GE. If he does not win, he finished. Even if he wins, you will still be in power. People will respect you as a brave leader then because you are gentleman enough to give Anwar a chance. Anwar's supporters will definitely thank you and respect you. They will regard you as a genuine leader and not coward like Mahathir. You will be remembered as Hang Jebat instead of Hang Tuah by the rakyat regardless whether they are from your supporters or the opposition. Be a brave leader and don't listen from those are monkeys like Mamak Maidin, Najib and Nazri.
written by joeawk, January 18, 2008 16:52:57
I am no friend of Pak lah but I will accept him better than mahatir. It is too early to judge the tenure of Pak Lah because the legacy of mahatir is so, so entrenched over 22 years.

Mahatir's time was simply autocratic, we saw no demonstration like we saw recently. If mahatir is still in office, I doubt RPK is still free to roam the city. He wil be behind bars a long time ago.

Mahatir screwed all malaysians. He wasted so much and he still want to screw us by wanting the crooked bridge and to keep Proton.Screw him.

I bet i wouldnot be screwing him up in MT, I will have little of that,likewise many os you.