Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Grandstanding galore against Anwar

Grandstanding galore against Anwar PDF Print
Thursday, 14 August 2008 08:06

PET's 'I promise to be a good, non-hypocritical Muslim' (Aug 8) refers.

Earlier, former Perak MB Tajol Rosli expressed his confidence that the Pakatan state government would fall by Merdeka Day. This crumbling would entail a crossing-over of MPs. Please tell me if Chandra Muzaffar's voice was heard then, condemning the immorality of it all? I'm known not to read MSM, so I might have missed something on Chandra-oh-Chandra of the "back door" double entendre.

Yet Chandra loudly proclaimed that Anwar enticing crossovers is unethical. He claimed switching sides is an act that would "demean and denigrate politics". But wait. Didn't he defect from Keadilan, where he was party vice president, no less? Not hypocritical?

Now the thing about hypocrites – of any religious denomination – is how good they feel about themselves when they galumph on their moral high horse. Chandra, I would suppose, sounds good to himself in his own head, never mind that many of us think his textbook and theoretical polemics is only impressive in a vacuum totally divorced from realpolitik.

Chandra claimed a government formed from crossovers would "lack moral credibility", be "bereft of integrity" and show scant "respect for the dignity of the voter". Chandra deplored this sort of "despicable politics". Waaah … such grand words from an arch grandstander.

'Political scientist' or 'public intellectual' or whatever high-falutin' description MSM see fit to bestow on Chandra, nonetheless his fine sentiments stand shakily in the scenario of Malaysian status quo. The reality, of the beast that BN is, begs the question: What moral credibility lah, what integrity of processes lah, was it that put the ruling coalition where they roosted?

To echo just one morsel of Chandra dialectics, can we ask that the Election Commission show "respect for the dignity of the voter", starting right now in Permatang Pauh on the to-be-gazetted electoral roll? And monitor the abuse of government resources,  the anticipated overspending, and expected bribes?

Now about "going beyond clichés and platitudes" – again, more borrowing from Chandraspeak– do have a look at that towering Malaysian truly deserving of his title 'Father of Hypocrisy'. Dr M says he'll emigrate if ever Anwar comes to power. Since I'm wary of MSM, I'm not sure how far to credit the truth of that report.

However, words from Che Det where there's no risk of my misquoting; Dr M writes: "The probability is that the story [sodomy allegations] is the same because it is genuine", and "There are certain habits which are not easy to be rid off." His son Mukhriz of Jerlun has in Parliament backed Daddy's staunch insistence of Anwar's guilt. The daughter weighs in with her cheap shots at Anwar in her 'Rantings by MM' blog.

She showed her lack of objectivity (and I'm not sure all that much more maturity either) when writing there was not much to what both politicians said during the Petrol debate – "I didn't find either very convincing", "Both debaters smile and neither smile is the sort that warms the cockles of your heart".

Marina noted that Shabery is smooth-skinned and Anwar "used to be smooth-skinned" and sniped, "OKlah, Anwar's been having some troubles lately so very understandable that he looked a bit worse for wear".

She wrote that the audience in the auditorium "clapped when their respective heroes made a point they liked", "The curious thing was that Datuk [sic] Seri Dr Wan Azizah seemed disinclined to applaud her husband at all" and "I wish I knew which one was Shabery's wife. All the women in the audience seemed to be Anwar fans except maybe Halimah Sadique".

The debate on fuel hike had absorbed the country because the rakyat were worried about how the fuel hike would impact inflation, and how this in turn would affect the poor. But Marina talking about Anwar and Shabery's air of natty dressers, on how they looked casual not wearing ties, etc. simply reflected the cluelessness of Mahathirism elitism … well, read more here. http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/07/07/blogger-strike-2/

Isn't it hypocrisy when someone like the former First Daughter whines about petrol prices, juxtaposed against the shallow understanding displayed in her 'review' of the Anwar-Shabery debate?

Hypocrisy is starting a bandwagon in her blog to bash Badawi. Never mind that big blind spot of 22 years and the selective amnesia punctuating Marina's public writing; a writer whose memory refuses to hark back 10 years to the conduct of Sodomy, Episode 1 where Daddy played a pivotal part.

More hypocrisy is whacking American concern over Anwar's sodomy imbroglio. Read the Press statements by Umno Youth International and NGO Relations Bureau chairman accusing the US State Department of "undermining the sovereignty of Malaysia and the integrity of the Royal Malaysian Police". 'Sovereignty'… 'Integrity'... Mukhriz must have taken a leaf from Chandra's vocabulary book.

Hypocrisy of grandstanders will not impact much if they perch alone on their soapboxes. It will only have an influence when the herd with wool pulled over their eyes perpetuates the grandstanding gospel that keeps the racket going.

Permatang Pauh will be our watershed for democracy, or it could be our Waterloo. The soapboxers of the 'ancien regime' and their apple polishers who have platforms in MSM, and who have staked or recently bought cyber real estate will try to shape public perception of Anwar negatively. It's for their survival that they do. Don't let 'em. Enough of condoning hypocrisy, please!

Helen Ang

written by rockli, August 14, 2008 08:51:02
Chandra should voice out against Tajol's statement on Pakatan state government would fall by Merdeka Day - crumbling would entail a crossing-over of their MPs.
Hypocritical turncoat, hired-political assassin has nothing to say about that.

Well about Mahathir and his family - like birds of the same feather flock together so the family sticks even more together irregardless whether the member has done wrong or not.
His son Mukhriz cannot go against his father and defend Anwar even though a blind person can see that the whole thing is a set-up.`
Daughter Marina as well.
Anyway we have a lot of Hypocritical politicians esp. in Umno/BN who when their own commit wrong they keep quiet
ISA, OSA, ACA, arrest n prosecute him/her.
written by ahmadneil, August 14, 2008 08:57:42
That racist and his family should get out of the way.They are nothing if not for the racist father,plundering the country fund to help his children, otherwise they are the same as those garbage scavenger.
written by alpha100, August 14, 2008 08:58:00
I believe that not all BN's MP and Assembly men have only self interest in their mind. Some of them I believe have joined BN with view that they have better resources and opportunity to serve rakyat. And this are the ones who should choose to cross over to PR since BN has failed in their expectation as more of their misdeed is exposed in opposition rule states as well as by the ACA!
written by Tom n Jerry, August 14, 2008 09:04:24
Syabas !Pintu Neraka dibuka ini hari(malam Jumaat)-All HELL breaks loose;billions of beings coming for the big netting of the BN corruption officials & also the sensational murderers!this time there is no way they can run;they are trapped by the *spider*s cobweb;its very difficult to wriggle out of it;Alhamdulilah Allah has been watching & passing judgement soon! smilies/smiley.gif
written by oknyua, August 14, 2008 09:14:57
You join UMNO, MCA and MIC because you want to make plenty and millions of money. You join PR because you want to donate a few cents, a few dollars (ringgit) for a cause. Now, what is the account number where I can bank in my few ringgit, please.
written by *********, August 14, 2008 09:21:29
At a time when the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) has the corrupt BN/Umno regime on the ropes, lo and behold we have so called concerned NGO’s and ‘citizens’ taking pot shots at PR for every single mistake they make. No government is perfect, let alone one that has been ruling for a little more than 100 days, yet these NGO’s and individuals such as BK Ong and Chandra Muzaffar won’t pull back punches to discredit PR...More http://*********.********.com
written by alan cheong, August 14, 2008 09:35:14
helen, you need not mince your words or be kind.
say it like it IS.

fork-tongued xenophobic mass-murdering narcissistic megalomanical maha-hypocrite ... and brood.

I speak Psalm 109 against them.
written by SocratesI, August 14, 2008 10:03:18
Chandra is full of hot air at that ! Crossovers would be unethical and bereft of integrity - so he is condemning himself now is he ?? He has finally woken up from his drunken stupor and realized by his own words !!

What a obvious designated Barisan Najis mouthpiece !! But he is absolutely qualified for the job,

written by FFT, August 14, 2008 11:37:44
The entire Mahathir clan should be locked up under the ISA.
written by Sam W, August 14, 2008 13:18:35
Chandra is better off selling lottery tickets in coffee shops. He's a has-been intellectual light weight punching out of his division.
written by Sam W, August 14, 2008 13:23:22
As for Marina Mahatir, she's Mahatir's daughter, that shows her love for her father. My daughter would do the same. Sounds familiar? smilies/wink.gif
written by renoir, August 14, 2008 13:43:22
>More hypocrisy is whacking American concern over Anwar's sodomy imbroglio. Read the Press statements by Umno Youth International and NGO Relations Bureau chairman accusing the US State Department of "undermining the sovereignty of Malaysia and the integrity of the Royal Malaysian Police". 'Sovereignty'… 'Integrity'... Mukhriz must have taken a leaf from Chandra's vocabulary book.]]

Helen needs to support the above statement. A sentence or two, if not a paragraph, should suffice.

FFT wrote:
>The entire Mahathir clan should be locked up under the ISA.]]

Guess there're many Malaysians who'd share the same sentiments, hahaha! Actually the sons aren't too bad, but the daughter certainly has a big mouth. Perhaps the best thing father and daughter could do for themselves is to shut up.

written by shangrilapeace, August 14, 2008 14:42:23
To 'Power' crazy politicians please resign Crossovers and politicians:

Born in the 1930's 70-78 years old
Thank You to founding 'fathers' and to 'power' crazy ones, please retire for your family and it is game over. Stay put as an audience.

Born in the 1940's 60-68 years old for your grandchildren and to 'People' politicians, right the wrongs as much as you can before retiring.

Born in the 1950's 50-58 years old
You must discard the 'system of corruption' and if you can't, please resign for your wife. For 'People' politicians, please start, set and bulldoze the modern
govt system solely for the people and country.

Born in the 1960's 40-48 years old
Politicians thinking of 'Power' you'll be out and dry in this modern new age transparency govt system.
'People' politicians, go for it, this era will not come again for quite sometime. Crossovers, prove yourself this is the final crossover for the people

Born in the 1970's 30-38 years old
Open your eyes and ears to join or crossover to the party you want to represent a good, healthy and happy life for the people. Politician's sons, visit more orphanges, homeless, old folks, jails, Aids, Leprosy and drugs centre in disguise before you implement any new 'ideas' into law.

Born in the 1980's 20-28 years old
The world is an 'oyster' for 'people' serving politicians and a road to 'hell' for 'power' crazy wannabes.

Anwar and Permatang Pauh voters, if you can, please open the door to a new era of modern democracy for 'people' only.

Chranda can said what he wants.

written by cwy, August 14, 2008 15:27:55
Just ignore Chandra, a frog that can't jump but crawls and drags its body and soul to the fortress of corrupt UMNO.
written by joeawk, August 14, 2008 16:32:15
Ethical or professional writer, which is which, Chandra.
written by jason, August 14, 2008 17:20:06
When your father is filthy rich all your children is very 'filial'. You don't wanna be in his bad book so you have to be careful with what u say. Otherwise when he is dead u wont get a sen.SO U CAN UNDERSTAND HYPOCRISM smilies/grin.gif
written by scorp1on, August 14, 2008 17:41:50
dear helen ang,

....i decided to have a look a Marina Mahathir's blog to see her actual commentaries on the debate ( for 'objectivity' sake).... she starts of by saying that this was not going to be a review of the substance discussed in that debate but a review of the actual debaters themselves....Now im sorry but i think my 12 yr old cousin would have understood exactly what the review was to be about upon reading that. While many would have chosen a more serious and intellectual view point..she decided to look on the lighter side of things..which is her right as a blogger...after all her blog is called 'rantings..'..That gives her the right to rant about an issue anyway she sees fit....

HMMMM.....i say this... its bad enough when one side is filled with idiots...its worse when the other side in an attempt to seem smart act like idiots themselves...
written by Liberace, August 14, 2008 17:47:17
When your father is Mahathir, you have no right to preach no matter how upright you may be. Unless of course, you denounce him just like you denounce others. In the same way, when your brother is Amin Shah, you have no right to tell the people of Permatang Pauh to trust you.
written by Surind Raj, August 14, 2008 23:35:28
The narcissistic Mahathir cult fans - with their warped 3rd world mentality, blind spots / selective memory, hypocrisy & double standards, have already started commenting. Of course, we knows "what lies beneath", for many of these sheep. Some also stand to gain & so, the expected comments.

Omongwaras sums up Marina's Rantings in 3 beautiful lines. The comment was made on the post Blogger strike (2)? @ PP.

Omongwaras Says:
August 11, 2008 at 2:18 pm

What a load of HOT AIR, no substance. Waste of precious time visiting this blog.Highly emotional rantings - no brain food at all.

Unfortunately, this whole 'fake ass' sandiwara Blogger strike, Marina "drama queen" & fan-boys/girls wayang mob (bordering on cult worshipping performance - e.g. how Malaysians worship the White Man), happened on a rather hectic week for me at work. If not, (I assure you that) I would have hit out hard at all the sanctimonious, self-righteous, dependents, hypocrites & intolerant bigots (herd mentality/behaviour) out there! No mercy... for this is what started the whole retaliation, in the spirit of "freedom of speech & logical/rational criticism".

If this had happened during the reign of the tyrant & dictator that many view Mahathir as, many more would be in ISA, jail, sued, etc.

I have an issue with the sanctimonious self-righteous people whom believe that everyone whom thinks badly about Maharit & gang is wrong & needs to be silenced.

& no, my views about Marina's blog & her actions are not linked to her daddy. Unles clear cut "dependency" is seen. Some of you might defend: "Oh, she is just loyal to her father & thinking about the inheritance."

But I beg to differ. I believe a great parent will want their child to be independent, self empowered, free & to think for themselves.

& no, this is nothing to do with race either, for I know & have seen many Malays from all walks of life whom view Mahathir the same way.

Helen Ang Says:
August 6, 2008 at 11:58 am

What I have issue with is grandstanders who think their high-falutin’ posturing gives them a seat on the moral high horse to go ballistic against people who dare question the norms (or my own beef; popular icons like Marina Mahathir).

ttc: Back to your query on why “such consternation”? Some are genuine and I’m half expecting a Star editor friend (nope, don’t mean WCW or VK) to pen his outrage.

But as to the poseurs, the slip will show because their smug self-righteousness reveal an inherent self-contradiction discernible to the thinking reader.

Helen Ang Says:
July 7, 2008 at 6:10 pm

Paul Warren (July 7 at 5.08pm),

You say the plebs are “totally insane” on expectations of Marina — hey, she’s the one been doing the high-profile posturing as a social reformer under the glare of the widest publicity.

She is one of the Most Admired Women in Malaysia.

She has all those columns to write, meaning she has an influential public voice (multiply by the number of ‘columns’ smilies/wink.gif and she’s listened to.

If she’s been preaching so much to the public, then over all these many years past, surely the public would have formed expectations of her, put her in a mould of her own making, no?

She’s photographed almost as much in M’sia as Princess Di was in her Lady Bountiful roles and functions. She wrote that the waiter recognised her, what.

And it’s the plebs who are “insane”, not the price rises that have been “totally insane”? Why do you think all those people turned up at the Kelana Jaya stadium yesterday?

At least her Forbes one-of-richest-men in M’sia, brother Mokhzani spares us the hypocrisy and sanctimony.

But you hit the nail on the head when you say “Marina’s blog is mostly about her”: like, I have to give my cook more money to buy groceries; I went to this restaurant in that mall, but I gave the boutiques a miss (what a sacrifice) … does the name Marie Antoinette ring a bell, Warren?

And you say, “She has previously not given much attention to politics … ”

Really? What did this woman you described as “being the daughter of Mahathir” do during GE12 when brother Mukhriz ran in Jerlun?

What did she do during the Mahathir years when she was First Daughter, when she played chatelaine, when she engaged in myth-building for Daddy & Mummy?

… “previously not given much attention to politics” -puh-leez lah!
written by carribeanking7, August 25, 2008 15:25:08
The fabulous 4 and the Permatang Pauh by-elections
-------------------------------------------------------
Fellow Citizens, especially voters of Permatang Pauh,

Before you listen to more political spin by the BN machinery, know the facts about DSAI's detractors
dont just listen to me do your own research.

The not so independent detractors :-

Ezam -
----------------
After a 2 year hiatus because Anwar favored Azmin Ali, he sulkingly joins UMNO as an ordinary member , so "ordinary" that Pak Lah was televised receiving his membership, some quoted his act of joining UMNO as " a rooster who crows loudly but its tail is stained with shit"
he once quoted having 6 boxes of evidence against Anwar but until now only has unsubstantiated allegations.

Nallakaruppan -
------------------------
(directly translated from tamil his name means "good blackie")
Nallakaruppan, who now head the Malaysian Indian United Party (MIUP), said his party members would be in the constituency to help the Barisan campaign.
after the MIC got trounced in Mar 08, nalla is trying to make MIUP the relevant party representing the Indians., mant see this a the deal he has made with BN.
An now he proudly proclaims himself a "Sivaji the boss" who will save the Indian community, clearly playing the racial card.
No wonder Anwar pushed him out, who would want another"Samy Velu" within PKR.

Dr Chandra Muzaffar -
-----------------------------------------
He shot the 1st salvo, by saying that DSAI would stop temple bells from ringing, Anwar exposed his half truths
in an interview conducted in the Sun, thet explained how he defused a potentially volatile situation between a temple and mosque,
Chandra was silent after this rebuttal.
Then he expounded on the immorality of DSAI's attempt to rule the government thru defections, but was deafeningly silent when
Tajol Rosli threatened to do the same by toppling the Perak Pakatan govt before merdeka day.
By the it was obvious which side his bread was buttered, some who were disgusted even called him an
a intellectual prostitute who will serve the interest of anybody who gives a little benefits to him.

Khairy
-----------
I won't even waste my time explaining him, if you listen to him and believe what he says-
your IQ must be below 50 and no one can help you.
The mat rempits simply love this guy for rebranding them mat cemerlang.

The Pakatan campaign target should be for the BN canditate to lose his deposit.

Regards