Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Why we can’t get our experts to return

Why we can’t get our experts to return PDF Print
Wednesday, 13 August 2008 14:48

We have a serious problem and the problem is brain drain. Why are Malaysians overseas not coming back to work? Well, pay may be part of the reasons but it is not the main reason.

The Star 

THE most important asset of a country is not its natural resources but its human resources. This is especially true in a knowledge-based economy, which will be the trend in future if it is not already the trend in most Western countries.

My daughter, who is in her final year studying medicine in Auckland, told me that a team of Singapore recruitment officers just visited Auckland and talked to the Malaysian students there, offering jobs and training prospects for the final year students.

My daughter also said that over the last few years, quite a number of her Malaysian seniors, after graduating from medical courses in New Zealand, have gone to Singapore to work as house officers and subsequently stayed back for their postgraduate training. Similar teams have gone to Australia and UK to recruit Malaysians to work in Singapore.

Our government unveiled plans last March to spend US$553.3mil over five years to boost research, attract foreign investment and build new facilities. But such efforts are going to waste unless it can retain more talented people.

Iskandar Mizal, head of the state-run Malaysian Biotech Corporation which oversees the Government’s strategy, was quoted as saying that by the time we have the research environment in place, every other country would have taken a slice of the biotech investment pie.

We have a serious problem and the problem is brain drain. Why are Malaysians overseas not coming back to work? Well, pay may be part of the reasons but it is not the main reason.

The Singapore recruitment team offers Malaysian students a salary several times more than what they would expect to get in Malaysia. For example, Singapore pays S$40,000 a year for houseman after tax (equivalent to RM86,000), which is about five times the pay of a houseman in Malaysia.

But, as I say, pay is not the main problem. Living expenses overseas are higher and for a person working overseas, the loneliness and the stress level are also much higher. So not everyone opts to work overseas because of pay; many would not mind working for lower pay if they can stay near their loved ones.

Why do people choose to work overseas away from their loved ones? Malaysia has many state-of-the-art hospitals and research centres, which may even be the envy of many overseas countries. But hardware alone will not attract these experts to come home.

In the medical fields, I have so many friends and classmates working overseas, many in world-renowned medical centres. Some of my classmates and friends did come back as specialists but after working a few years – many lasted only a few months - most got disillusioned and went off.

There is really not much prospect of career advancement here. How many can hope to become a professor even when they are acknowledged experts in their field? On the other hand, others are promoted to professorship for doing much less.

How many of them can have any say about how things are to be run? How many of them can blend into the local team where the work attitude is vastly different from overseas? There is an unwritten rule that the head of the team has to be someone from a certain ethnic group who may not even be half as good as you.

In everyday life, some become disillusioned with the corruption, red tape and tidak apa attitude of the officialdom. For an overseas doctor applying to come home to work, the application for approval can take up to six months whereas Singapore sends teams to recruit them on the spot, giving them the forms to fill and offering them jobs immediately as long as they pass their final examination. See the difference?

It is the sense of being wanted and being appreciated that make these people stay overseas. Back here, they are often made to feel they are of a lower class. They do not feel wanted and they do not feel appreciated and that is the main reason.

It is really sad. Parents spend huge amounts of money educating their children, but the ones who stand to benefit are the Singaporeans, Americans, Australians and the British. For as long as race politics is not done away with, the problem of brain drain will continue and Malaysia will always fall behind advanced countries, no matter how many twin towers and Putrajayas we build.

ANOTHER MIGRANT, Paris.

Comments (62)Add Comment
written by binarytan, August 13, 2008 15:00:22
we have many experts in overseas especially singapore. however, our gomen does not give a damn to bring them back. those untalented people are staying high up in politics.

ask the PM, what type of degree he got? degree in SIL may be he could qualify. he does not have economy, social, mathematics, science, education background and yet he is our PM. What the worst mistake TDM has made over his life! I believe a stupid fellow is still better than an idiot.
written by Birdbrain, August 13, 2008 15:07:30
Why we can’t get our experts to return

All great men have their mentors and knowing you'll end up working under HP6 superiors, would you like to come back?

"UMNO semua mahu tapi jangan suruh saya pakai otak!"
written by slash n burn, August 13, 2008 15:18:05
ANOTHER MIGRANT, you are so wrong. We have plenty of Indons, Moros, Pakistanis, Burmese here..
written by chin, August 13, 2008 15:21:53
Its not just race politics, its outright race discrimination.

Its is not only brain drain but investment outflow that has not return.

Malaysia will never be competitive in a knowledge based economy as long as it practices Apartheid. Spoon-feeding certain races and marginalized others, the government rewards the weak and punishes the strong.

Malaysia's brain death strategy of supporting low cost manufacturing with foreign labour and splurging with oil money while sprouting bullshit about knowledge economy is a joke.

I don't want to be here when the oil runs out.
written by hiro, August 13, 2008 15:26:12
It's not pay per se, but what pay could do to improve the personal quality of life. And then it's about being treated equally and with respect and dignity, which I think is the main push factor. Why would anyone who has 1/2 a chance of leaving want to stay back when people crawl over their heads just on the basis of race alone, and to make matters worse, some of these folks come out as half past six graduates who can't string a proper English sentence, or show poor behaviour going into the working landscape, yet they earn the same if not more than the other non-bumis? The crap simply has to end and you will get your reverse brain drain that you've been looking for in your wet dream.
written by JulieT, August 13, 2008 15:27:57
I really would not encourage talented brainy Malaysians to come back here. Sooner or later they will be told "Babi! Balik Cina!"
They are well appreciated overseas and wanted. At the very least there is meritocracy and justice for all regardless of colour or creed. Here in Malaysia, we are always made to feel 2nd class so that one dominant race can feel good and superior. To those who are already out and successful, for the sake of your future generations, stay away.
written by ctchoolaw, August 13, 2008 15:28:10
When will we have genuine meritocracy? It is ironic that the politicians who impose these ethnic quotas in schools and hospitals send their children to private schools and go to overseas hospitals for treatment. This is the greatest con of UMNO-BN. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by FFT, August 13, 2008 15:29:21

Here's one main reason.

agree 168
written by FFT, August 13, 2008 15:36:32
Here's another reason.

What the Malays need is a good and proper crash of the economy. It will put the whole "ketuanan" business into perspective. And you will see the rural Malays storm the Bastille and eat the UMNOputera alive.

And this crash is coming. It's only a matter of when, not if.
agree 138
written by Zapper, August 13, 2008 15:37:20
I do not see any reasons that my kids should come back after their graduation; unless of course if they are taking over the family business. No matter how the non-malays are trying to make this country a better place to live, it is never enough. Any failures on the part of the malays, the non-malays get the blame.

The playing field is not only uneven but they change the rules half way in the game.
written by densemy, August 13, 2008 15:43:59
You could spend $US553 squintillion to boost research over the next five years and as long as the research institutions are run by Malays nobody of any calibre would come to work under such a regime

The problem is not one of money, but of attitude
written by crayon, August 13, 2008 15:44:53
as shown in FFT's comment, that "picture" alone can give an overall picture of how malaysia in run. i'm not proud to admit this, but i'm also one of the professionals who have decided to leave my home country and work overseas. people often think i left for money, but the main reason is, malaysia did NOT give me a chance to grow, unlike foreign countries who operates in foreign lands. the double-standards set upon non-bumiputra is another huge factor on why i have decided to leave malaysia.
written by tanwi, August 13, 2008 15:45:24
well i am a 'migrant' and heres the various MAIN reasons why coming back will be hard...

1) weak currency.... if u use USD as a benchmark, a finance manager in Malaysia will be earning less than a fresh graduate in USA... nuff said
2) medical... most companies here offer comprehensive medical coverage
3) tax rate.... high since you dont see anything in return... UK,Aus and US charge higher taxes but people dont complain when they pay cos they see benefits in return ie childcare, medical etc.
4) CRIME.... nuff said.. now looking at recent events, even ppl are scared of the police
5) public transport.. nuff said
6) equal opportunity employer.. well.. there are companies in Malaysia who are EOE, but Malaysia as a country is not.
7) existence of idiots causing disturbance in the country eg bar council protesters who have no IQ whatsoever (this goes to the PKR/UMNO/PAS idiots who does not even know what the agenda of discussion is really about. Their stupid speeches heard on YouTube is completely fabricating what the forum is actually discussing). Oh ya, did i mention the march by UiTM students by the CADANGAN of the Selangor MB? HELLO... its an idea... go scold him if its a lousy idea.. but to go around protesting when its just a CADANGAN???

OK better get back to work... i was suppose to stop at point 5).Anyway whatever it is, i love Malaysia and am hoping for a radical improvement to come back.
written by crayon, August 13, 2008 15:47:01
the government rewards the weak and punishes the strong.

i second this. racial discrimination is so bad, and is being practised in the open by the ruling government. shameful...
written by FFT, August 13, 2008 16:02:21
Yet one more reason....

written by SaveUsFromBN, August 13, 2008 16:04:32
Well i came back to Malaysia about 20yrs ago. The only reason I did it was because of family. Now I regret my decision. I have decided that all my kids will leave for further studies and definitely not return to this racist hell hole.

3 of my nephews are already out of the country, now we have another 6 more grand children to go and then the family will move over to join them. I am looking foward to my retirement in a foreign land away from this so called home.
written by FFT, August 13, 2008 16:06:59
Oh, and let's not give all the credit to UMNO.

written by albertan98, August 13, 2008 16:07:56
With globalisation and the opening up of the world to competition, it makes sense that people will go to the places where they will be valued and where they make more money . . . unless they have very strong patriotic feelings for their own homeland.
Malaysia has failed to inculcate that feeling of patriotism simply because she has failed to embrace the other races to its bosom as one of its own unlike US and Australia. Undoubtedly there is still racism in these two countries but generally the Government of the day in these two countries attempt, as best as it can, to be fair to all races that they have welcomed to their shores.
I think if Anwar is given the chance to lead the Government, we may yet see such a day! I have hope Malaysia when we have people of the majority race willing to make room for others who have now chosen to call Malaysia their home.
written by born2reign, August 13, 2008 16:08:34
From an insider on this Malaysian Biotech grants...the key success factor to research is to hire the top research scientist in the world to boost our biotech sector.

Malaysian Biotech is only interested in spending billions in building research labs and facilities. Inside is empty (kong-kong) of any top researcher brains.

Like the UiTM grads who gets a degree, but their job applications in the rubbish bins of many many HR depts.

And the malays still can't figure out why the Indians/Chinese/Europeans are more economically superior. Kong-kong!
written by ahmadneil, August 13, 2008 16:24:56
Who want to work in racist country?Discrimination,corruption and abusing of power are a daily menace.
written by expat70, August 13, 2008 16:27:34
I left the Malaysia in 1970 to study overseas straight after the May 13 incident. I was awarded a British scholarship to study Architecture and then Law. Worked for the Crown Service and was recommended for the appointment as a Magistrate in the city in which I lived, years later. I was invited to join the British territorial army with the rank of a captain.

In 1998 I was seconded to the Ministry of Defence for military projects in the Middle East prior to Gulf War 1 eventhough I was a foreigner. I served as a Project Director for the construction of the Embassy complex in India, for the government of the country in which I am residing now- even as a foreigner.

I hold the British, Hong Kong and a third country Permanent Resident status

All in all, I felt that I have been fairly treated and felt wanted. The countries that I server in has always maintained equal opportunity for its people regardless of race, religion, class or creed. These countries hd the same begining - ie. former Britich Colonies.

I always wonder, how nice if Malaysia were to rid herself of the positive discrimination of her citizens. There are so much talks about democracy, racial harmony and all that. One thing has never changed and that is the communal politics and policies. To compound that, we have increasing crime rates all over the country, insensitive politicials, racial discrimination, official corruption, etc.

In a globalised world in which we live, Malaysians can ill afford to be complacent abd continue to live under the proverbial "Coconut Shell".

Unless the situation change, and fast, in my opinion many more Malaysians will leave the country.

written by malgal, August 13, 2008 16:46:06
One good reason may be the countless times BN-fed officers have been screaming at non Malays to get out of their homeland and perhaps its sinking in. Malaysia of the future will be rid of the pendatangs who had lived, worked and helped built the nation and instead will have new pendatangs from the Philippines, Indon, Myanmar, Bangla Desh. But even these too have to be careful, they could be called to go.
The biggest group of taxpayers are also the biggest group who on their own finances, send their children for overseas education, part of their tax contribution has helped develop malaysian universities and higher education centres.
Perhaps its not enough. Their next generation is not welcome in their own home country for they live under threat of being shooed away.
written by Heaven8402, August 13, 2008 16:48:46
Way to go FFT and Born2Reign, you're my bro!
The non-Muslims priority is about making money (cari makan) and how to improve our lives. We got no time to go out and teriak here, teriak there!
written by bugisman, August 13, 2008 17:18:25
i've planned to move out of malaysia since i was in high school.
i'm giving myself a 5 year plan from now to move out too.
this country has no hope even if PR becomes government, most of the politicians (i.e. most PAS & some PKR dungguns)and gomens are the by-products of the former regime. things would not change in the next 50 years, and my family & i would be too old to enjoy it.
written by takbolehtahan, August 13, 2008 17:23:02
Right now, no sane Malaysian parent would want their children to work in a country that discrimminates its own nationals. The pasture is always greener on the other side, as far as Malaysia is concerned. Brainy Malaysians do not stand to gain ANYTHING right now. They stand to gain much more by working overseas. IN fact, the bigger loser is Malaysia and Malays, in particular, because they lack the interaction with other 'brainy' races to learn and develop. And if they didn't see this in the past 50 years and continue to live under the 'tempurung', then it will be soon that Malaysia will truly be a country without any resources.

A large proportion of children of non-Malay 'baby boomers' have emigrated or will migrate. This also means potential loss in income tax for the government. Soon Malaysia will be left with a small proportion of non-Malay 'baby boomers' who are in their retirement years. By this time, there will be complete brain drain because even brainy Malays would prefer to make a good living overseas.

By that time, I would be dead and gone and my generations would be making a good living overseas. So politicians of Malaysia, if you don't change, you're all heading towards hell, and I don't care!
written by renoir, August 13, 2008 17:23:42
The problems are much more than just racial discrimination, though that's probably the origin of the mess we're in now. The nation's prospects took a dramatic dive when, decades ago, Tun Dr. Ismail said it was necessary to "sacrifice efficiency for the sake of unity." It wouldn't have been so bad had Malaysia been a First World country, but for a Third World country it was, and still is, tragic. Even the US couldn't afford sacrificing efficiency for any other purpose, what more Malaysia.

Nevertheless, it's unlikely that what happened since was something that Dr. Ismail envisioned or wanted. An affirmative action program, for example, is supposed to uplift the poor and destitute, not the rich and powerful, as we're seeing today. Since the national economic pie has limits, disproportionately big slices taken away by the rich and powerful would necessarily mean smaller slices for everyone else.

Further, the attempt to restructure society became irrational when ethnicity, not merit, because the SOLE factor in all social, economic, and political endeavors. In education, the staffing of poorly qualified teachers has resulted in - not surprisingly - poorly educated students, many of whom in turn became even more unqualified teachers. So it's more than a vicious circle as each generation became WORSE than the preceding one. Ironically, a sigificantly large group of non-Malays were able to get out of this trap by opting for overseas education. This enterprise demanded huge sacrifices from their parents, but for many it was the only way to save the future generation. For the Malays, other than the nobility and the UMNOputras, few were able to go overseas. Given a substandard education, many had to take jobs in the civil service or become salespeople in the local hypermarkets.

What happens when poorly educated people are given high positions, whether in private or public sectors? They're usually not only inefficient but, when critiqued on their work or work habits, often become instinctively defensive. In short, out of a sense of inferiority and a fear that they might lose their position or be exposed as know-nothings,. Since my return to this country a few years ago, I've found this to be a prevalent trait . This trait is obvious to many who, after having lived overseas for decades, have returned to this country for a visit or for retirement. One of my friends made three trips to Malaysia to see whether there was a possibility of teaching engineering in the local universities. Despite his Ivy League qualifications - and a full professor in a science-oriented university - he was given the cold shoulder on each occasion. Another friend, someone who had experiences as a visiting professor in Beijing U and several European universities, shared somewhat the same experiences. By the late 1990s, at least 4 or 5 outstanding professors with whom I was acquainted gave up trying to contribute to this country.

So the problems we're facing now are almost intractable. It certainly isn't only a matter of better pay, or better work conditions. It has to do also with the existing attitude of people within the country's workforce, both public and private. Certainly there're exceptions to what has been described, but such exceptions are rare and mostly to be found in private sectors.

written by Kathy, August 13, 2008 17:49:32
I don't blame these graduates for not wanting to go back to Malaysia bearing in mind the protectionist policy the govt. has when it comes to education and jobs. In fact I applaud them. Why go back and be treated as 2nd class citizens when you are treated better in foreign countries? Malaysia does not owe them any favours! Don't believe all that bullshit in the Malaysian Tourist board advert: "Malaysia truly Asia", a country where all and sundry live in a hunky-dory atmosphere. smilies/wink.gif
written by crayon, August 13, 2008 17:58:01
seriously, i'm beginning to find the suggestion to "balik cina/india" very good. maybe instead of punishing the person who said that, we should thank them for the GOOD advise smilies/smiley.gif
written by lawa88, August 13, 2008 17:59:02
Over the past 30 years many Malay military personnel were sent overseas to be trained and subsequently cam home to work in the military. Even these Malays are smart enough to cabut after having seen the rot, rot rot in Malaysia. Many Malay doctors were also sent bu JPA overseas to be trained. Many were well connected. Many have not returned to Malaysia - in spite spending our tax money!!! Indians and Chinese professionals? Apa lagi? tahu tahu lah
written by bumiputeri, August 13, 2008 18:26:24
Dear Malaysians,

UMNO knows what were are saying here is true 100%. And yet, they couldn't be bothered. All that they think is that they are now 65% of this country and if the 65% can swell to be 95% or 100%, they wuill more than happy, you see now why they are so willingly giving out MyCards to pariah Indons, Pakis, Banglas, Afrikans and Phillipinos??? Because they all come under "bumis and Muslims".

So, UMNO is happy that their discrimination strategy is flushing away all the smart brainy Indians and Chinese to other countries because, according to them, these are the trouble makers who are questioning and blocking their further ethnic cleansing strategy!!!!

Believe me my brothers and sisters, UMNO want us out of this country, they want this country to be back like before the British rule!

Perhaps, DSAI and MB KHALID have already realised that and are trying to make some changes that would benefit not only non-Malays, but mainly MALAYS,
written by tzarina, August 13, 2008 18:46:58
I am one of those experts, hesitating to come back to my home country, Malaysia.

My reason is simple: RACISM.

People back home think that those who leave Malaysia have an easy life overseas. NOT TRUE.

Yes, you have a comfortable life. But you can live like a king back in Malaysia, with the lower cost of living, and the pittance cost for employing maids and childcare.

The biggest problem living overseas is loneliness. My GOD. The loneliness simply overcomes you sometimes. You yearn for your friends and families, those who grew up with you. You cannot make such bonds by suddenly moving into a new country, and expect the locals to treat you like a buddy! It takes years to establish close friendships. And the sadder part is, everyone in Malaysia simply move on with their lives, and when you come back for visits, you find so many changes in your parents and siblings, that you sometimes feel like an outsider there too.

So think again if you think those who live abroad are living a dream. But we still do it, because the cost of RACISM in Malaysia for our children simply supersedes every other concern.

An unwanted Indian Malaysian.
http://orangewaves.********.com
written by Evol, August 13, 2008 19:07:04
My friend are geeting Pound 7,000 a month nett, can any corporate or govt offer her the same pay in conversion?

Another one she is asking, did she stand for equal chance in terms of promotions?
written by shan, August 13, 2008 19:29:40
Why should they,when every non malay here wants to leave.,.We are second class citizens and you only want our money to fill your pockets.,.The brains abroad are reconnized on merits and not color of skin as in Malaysia.Every dg in the gomen is a malay and the the dog who does all the running about is a non malay.,.So keep up the good work BN and soon,when I seen anyone of you goons in the States,I will personally pelt you with rotten eggs and words.,.You will then have to run and hide under your mothers bajus.
written by ohuat, August 13, 2008 19:39:32
sadly, we need a great depression and great suffering to bring people, especially bumi, to realise that all the wealth this nation has, been siffon out by those umnoputra. We non-bumi have been on our own a long long time.
written by ganbing, August 13, 2008 19:45:11
Racism with everything decided by ethnicity and not meritocracy has taken a heavy toll on Malaysia. Just compare ourselves with another country which was on the same level as Malaysia at independence - South Korea

Today the South Koreans are way ahead of us. Their per capita income is more than twice ours. S. Korea now produces many industrial products and consumer products such as generators, LCD TVs and handphones which we are not capable of. Even my son's archery set is produced in Korea. Their cars are competing on the world stage while Proton will collapse without a protected domestic market.

Meanwhile, Malaysia is still stuck in low-tech labour intensive manufacturing. The little high tech manufacturing we have are wholly owned by foreigners who can relocated their factories anytime they like.

S. Korean has overtaken Malaysia despite having no oil and little mineral resources. It's human capital which makes a difference in a country's progress. Even abundant natural resources can be wasted by bad management and racial policies which hold back a country from achieving its full potential.

Do they Umnoputras realize this? They know the country's potential is being held back but they couldn't care less as long as as they are emjoying the wealth of the country without having to work hard for it.

Only if PR take over can we see a change in direction of the country. If not, racism will eventually reach its limits. Malay special rights has meaning only against the population of Chinese and Indians but with shrinking demography of non-Malays, it will become soon meaningless. By then, it may be replaced with "Umnoputra special rights".
written by mmrokay, August 13, 2008 19:53:29
I concur. Given the fact of the obvious "unwritten rule" - where the head of the team has to be someone from a certain ethnic group

Migrant, Melbourne
written by Catharsis, August 13, 2008 20:01:55
THE USA IS WHAT SHE IS TODAY, NOT BECAUSE OF THE HARD WORK OF ITS INDIGENIOUS PEOPLE BUT THE HARD WORK AND CONTRIBUTIONS OF THE MIGRANTS FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD

AND AUSTRALIA IS AS YOUNG AS MALAYSIA AND IT HAS BEEN RECOGNISED THAT THE MIGRANTS BUILT AUSTRALIA TO WHAT SHE IS TODAY AND NOT BECAUSE OF THE HARD WORK OF ITS INDIGENOUS PEOPLE-

EVEN THE AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL ANTHEM GIVES CREDENCE TO THE MIGRANTS

...BENEATH OUR RADIANT SOUTHERN CROSS
WE'LL TOIL WITH HEARTS AND HANDS;
TO MAKE THIS COMMONWEALTH OF OURS
RENOWNED OF ALL LANDS
FOR THOSE WHO'VE COME CROSS THE SEAS
WE'VE BOUNDLESS PLAINS TO SHARE
WITH COURAGE LET US ALL COMBINE
TO ADVANCE AUSTRALIA FAIR
IN JOYOUS STRAINS THEN LET US SING
ADVANCE AUSTRALIA FAIR

THIS IS THE WILL TO SHARE AND ADVANCE TOGETHER THAT IS LACKING IN MALAYSIA

LEST WE FORGET OUR FOREBEARS WERE MIGRANTS - BUT MY PARENTS AND I ARE MALAYSIANS BY BIRTH- SO WHY ARE YOU DISCRIMINATING AGAINST ME!!!!!!!
written by DontPlayGod, August 13, 2008 20:05:48
Yes, I read the above article in The Star this morning. I would like to remind all readers of M-T that, as far as UMNO is concerned, there is no brain drain. This term is coined by the non-Malays. In fact, it would please the racists if those who went overseas did not return. Coupled with this, the more non-Malays who leave this country, the happier will the racists be. Don't you all remember that MP for Jerai who asked the non-Malays to leave if we are not happy here?

So please people, don't treat this brain drain as an issue. The racists are delighted. They will be more delighted if all the non-Muslims, non-Malays leave.

written by Food Thought, August 13, 2008 20:29:31
Agree with you 101 percent ANOTHER MIGRANT! smilies/wink.gif That's the reason why I don't want to go home. I failed to get jobs in Malaysia and my CV was turned down so many times because of my ethnic OTHERS or sometimes they put it as NON-BUMI. I'm so unqualified to get a job in Malaysia until my CV was picked up by an IT company in U.S. I'm only a diploma holder and don't ask me about getting a degree in our local public uni as my applications got rejected everytime I applied and financially I couldn't afford to go to a private or overseas uni. But now 10 years on, I got a good job in Colorado, Engineer with big salary. Give me one reason why I should go back and suffer under the hand of those racist UMNO. smilies/angry.gif
written by Lembing, August 13, 2008 20:53:16
WHY AM I NOT RETURNING TO MY MOTHERLAND:-

1. The UMNOPUTRAS Constantly remind the NON-MALAYS that they are THIRD CLASS CITIZENS. The second class citizens are the newly migrated MUSLIMS.
2. I do not fancy myself working under a boss who is less skilled and less experience than me, and who is merely a puppet, and who has been promoted because of his religion and the colour of his skin, and who sits on his backside doing nothing other than his personal matters.
3. I hate the daily traffic jams caused by the corrupt town planners and road authorities.
4. I hate the traffic cops waiting to collect bribes at some obscure traffic road signs...eg. just at he fron the KLCC building where the "NO ENTRY sign for cars only" is displayed...you will see at least 3 to 5 traffic cops standing around collecting bribes.
5. I hate the filthy and stinking drains along shops caused by uncivilised people who threw their rubbish in the drains.
6. I hate the fact that there are numerous number of reckless, impatient, rude, selfish drivers in Malaysian roads where thousands of people get killed each year.
7. I hate the way Malaysians park their cars... which is usually double parking just because they are too lazy to walk a few more metres to their destinations.
8. I hate the high crime rate in Malaysia.
9. I hate the long queues in Government offices waiting for my turn to be serve by some lazy inept rude public servant.
10. I hate the filthy dirty restuarants that are allowed to operate by the corrupt lazy council officers.
11. When Petronas runs out of oil in 15 years time, I can see chaos, a bankrupt government and a steep decline in living standards.
written by HJ Angus, August 13, 2008 21:16:06
The brain drain is real and it is getting worse.
Just speak to any parent and you will find that many Malaysians have children who are working abroad.
Even Malays too are not discouraging their children from working overseas. Those with connections will get super promotions after a few years overseas exposure when they return.
written by Msian 2, August 13, 2008 21:33:50
I for one just gave up & worked almost my entire working life overseas. And guess what, I was even offered PR status before I even left the country. Never even apply. I had a job offered by this govt & PR came along with it. It was the best decision I have to make & mind U I was not even the top student when I was in varsity. You can imagine how many top brains when a medicore like me can get a job offer & PR status. Same applies to so many of friends & relatives who left & are heads of Medical centres in USA, Australia, Canada, Singapore. Yes its not just the pay -- its the quality of life, fairness, respect of human rights, rule of law, opportunities into the future etc.
written by joeawk, August 13, 2008 21:34:37
Non malays, what is this brain drain you all are talking about. If the malays and the govt don't care, yoiu should know what they meant. Leave, leave if you can. But please make it possible for other non malays to follow you away from Malaysia.

There is no need to argue that we are all malaysians, it is futile. They are the majority and don't even bother to quote that Islam is about justice. Justice is subject to interpretation, justice for you, non malays, dream on.

Look at the people, the malays as a whole and look at the govt as a whole, all this many years, don't delude yourself, go if you can.

If you have money, Cambodia has small population and need financial and human capital, go for the sake of the next generation. Laos as well. There are many othet copuntries, even Africa wilol do for the sake of the next generation.
written by lynn, August 13, 2008 21:35:49
The ruling govt's extreme racist policies over 3 decades affecting the non-Malays in higher education, jobs, etc. were deliberate & intended to cause brain drain. It's not that Umno doesn't know it, they intended it.

Coupled with religion brain-washing, they achieved their aims beyond their wildest expectations. We are in a dire situation, which is impossible to reverse. This country is doomed for sure. Any effort to make changes will be resisted by the majority.
written by Daryl, August 13, 2008 22:16:43
It is the sense of being wanted and being appreciated that make these people stay overseas. Back here, they are often made to feel they are of a lower class. They do not feel wanted and they do not feel appreciated and that is the main reason.

You are being too politically correct because you miss few important points here. These medical officers are most likely non-Malay or Muslim. Moreover, the law in Malaysia discriminate against my kids with quotas and restirctions on education and business opportunities. I am willing to sacrifice my loneliness and being away from my family because I know it is only one generation and my children will be much better off.
Being politically correct is not my goal here especially when we are not in the same playing field with the BN.
written by Topek, August 13, 2008 22:56:37
I am a Malaysian Consultant Nephrologist practising in a large teaching hospital affiliated with a medical school in UK.

Over the last 15 years there are increasing concerning issues regarding the recognition of medical qualification, medical or surgical specialty training, and revalidation of doctors in Malaysia.

1.There is a huge misconception about the recognition and qualification of Malaysian doctors obtaining the MRCP (UK). In the UK, ST1 and ST2 doctors (previously known as senior house officers) sit for the MRCP prior to their inclusion in medical specialty training programme. Then they have to compete and based on their clinical experience and assessments, number of publications in peer reviewed journals and an intensive interview, will decide whether they enter the formal ST3 onwards (previously known as specialist registrar) specialty training programme. The competition is fierce with estimated applicants of 23,000 for 8,900-9,100 post in 2008. Due to recent changes in the UK medical training also known as the Modernising Medical Career (http://www.mmc.nhs.uk/ ) and the recruitment policy, most Malaysian doctors are at a disadvantage and fail to enter the formal UK medical or surgical training programme. Therefore more Malaysian doctors are returning home with only the MRCP (UK) qualification and without any specialty training due to their failure to enter a formal specialty training programme or to gain any further medical work. There is a misconception that these 'MRCP doctors' are formally trained and ‘recognised’ in their chosen specialty in the UK and are given either senior registrar, senior lecturer or Assistant/Associate Professor post in our local university or hospital when they return home. Some were even able to set up their private practice after three years compulsory service. My concerns grew when the head of department in various local institutions, encouraged by the politicians are accepting these inexperience doctors as senior clinicians in their chosen specialty. Some of these doctors’ inexperience are later discovered but only following detrimental consequences to their patients. In the UK, these doctors may be struck off from the General Medical Council register (http://www.gmc-uk.org/ ) if found to be fraudulent (duty as a doctor, good clinical care and probity). Locally, I believe some of these doctors are compensated financially for being recruited to a post where they are incompetent and asked to leave quietly.

written by sarawakian, August 13, 2008 22:56:55
how to be patriotic when we are always to "Babi! Balik China (India)" ?

how to help our nation if it doesn't want our help?

written by Topek, August 13, 2008 22:57:31
2.The UK medical and surgical specialties training are highly regarded in the world. The finished trainee would have excelled in the robust formal assessment of their competency in the specialty, their ability to work as a team-player and their bedside manners. They would be awarded a Certificate of Competency in Specialty Training (CCST) in their chosen specialty. However, over the last few years there is less consultant jobs available in the UK and fierce competition to obtain one. One has to be wary of those trainees that passed their specialty exit exam but not completed their training i.e. obtaining their CCST.

3.I am aware of many top Malaysian consultants and professors working in the UK. These are the senior clinicians that should be enticed to return home to better our medical services and research front locally. With their experience and knowledge, the Malaysian health system will improve in terms of service delivery, medical training and research. These certified specialists should be offered consultant or professor post locally as incentives. I am in the opinion that there are certain head of department (professor) that feel threaten and object to the appointment of another young and dynamic as their equivalent. Hence this limits the number of top medical doctors returning home, as one would be reluctant to return as a lesser grade than their post in the UK. There are certain set local opinions or mentality that the senior post such as the professorship should be given based on the seniority in the local department rather than one’s credentials based on postgraduate qualifications such as an M.D. or Ph.D, contribution to good quality research and the number of high impact peer reviewed publications. The appointment of this prestigious post should be transparent and externally reviewed. Promotion should never be based on seniority (which is unfortunately the norm in Malaysia) but rather based on meritocracy and that senior academic positions such as vice chancellors and faculty deans are appointed independent of political influence. Until this is changed one can be rest assured that Malaysian universities will continue its downward spiral towards mediocrity.

4.As in the UK, we should establish a national board in Malaysia like the Postgraduate Medical Education and Training Board (http://www.pmetb.org.uk/) which is an independent regulatory body responsible for postgraduate medical education and training. It will ensure that the postgraduate training for doctors is of the highest standard. The vision is to achieve excellence in postgraduate medical education, training, assessment and accreditation to improve the knowledge, skills and experience of doctors and the health and healthcare of patients and the public. This board should assess doctors' eligibility for inclusion on the Specialist Register. In the last 10 years there have been exponential amount of medical schools established locally and churning out doctors left, right and center. There should be a national body regulating and ensuring the highest quality of medical education and training is delivered to our future doctors.

5.There should be periodic licensing and revalidation of all doctors' registration to ensure ‘Good doctors, Safer patients’. The UK Government has committed to the introduction of a system of revalidation and made proposals which include the setting up of a national steering group on revalidation. I believe the Malaysian Government should lead the way in establishing a system for licensing and revalidation for all practising doctors.

6.We need to reward financially the top doctors that remain in the public sector; otherwise we will lose them to the private sector. This trend is not new as many a Minister of Health in the past are aware of this brain drain in the public sector but no one has come up with a robust retention programme. My recommendation is to reward these top doctors financially equivalent to the average income of the specialty in the private sector! This is hardly rocket science!

7.In conclusion, Malaysia will benefit from the return of many practising Malaysian Consultant Specialist in the UK. However we need to entice the fully certified specialist with CCST to return to senior post in our local academic centres and hospitals. This will propel our top academic centres like University of Malaya and University Kebangsaan Malaysia in the top 50 medical faculties and hospitals in the world!

No conflict of interest declared
written by raverz, August 13, 2008 23:28:28
I was in s'pore for almost a year.....i did not wanna come back....
unfortunately my company was cutting costs so i had to lose my job or relocate to KL....I'm not interested in living in a country with race being on every ****ing form.....if the govt, can say we are equal, then ban the word 'race' on every form and once and for all become a country which lives up to the UN human rights charter....

In the spirit of breaking/setting world records, i challenge the Malaysian PM to become the first to officially enforce every item in the UN human rights charter!

DO NOT LET S'PORE BEAT US!!! MALAYSIA BO LEH!
written by Malaysiaku, August 13, 2008 23:39:38
I can emphatise and understand why they do not want to return to Malaysia. And why should they return to a racist country which did nothing to help them in their higher education? If other countries can take the trouble and initiative to go to woo them at their place of graduation, I can't see why our Malaysian Govt cannot to the same. Ex-education Ministers of the past have concentrated in being racists when it comes to educational support that are not based on merits but rather on skin colour. Teachers in schools even today, are behaving like racists by uttering racial slurs and getting away with it - something that can only be natured, condoned and perhaps even passively encouraged over the years by the Educational Ministry. So, it doesn't come as a surprise with the brain drain. This is not a new phenomenon in Malaysia and the Malaysian Govt should not pretend to be surprise. This happens in the civil and armed forces as well especially when it comes to promotions. Little wonder why many non-Malays shy away from these jobs prefering to even be alongs and drug dealers than working for the Govt. Am I right? Soory if it hurts but thats the truth.
written by Maverick 126, August 14, 2008 01:32:08
FFT put up a nice pictures of morons,guys try to remember the faces maybe we see them in KFC,Macdonalds,Pizza Hut and etc soon.What do you think they can do if they only think about not playing on fair levels or accepting competitions and shouting their stupid rights.Maybe just waiting for hand out......
written by LJN, August 14, 2008 01:50:10
I am a Sarawakian living in the USA. Everyday, I think of my beautiful island home. I really really miss home, the food, the warm comfortable climate,but most of all the beautiful people and of course my family back home.

I attempted to come back once -- got a teaching job at a Malaysian university but I lasted one semester. I am resigned to the fact that I will not live in my beloved Sarawak and I used to think I might come back to retire and now I am doubtful.

As a professional and an active community activist, I believe I have much to contribute but I will not subject my two children to the kind of mediocre schools that Malaysia has. I will not subject us (me, 2 kids and husband) to the kind of outright racism and BS that Malaysian society has even though I believe the situation in Sarawak is not as bad as in Malaya or Sabah when it comes to racism from the Muslim/Malays. I will not subject my family to the oulandish Islamisation of every institution like schools, government agencies, TV programs, etc. I will not put our lives on the line with the kind of crime that Malaysia has with no trust in the remedies from the police and the judiciary. Etc. Etc.

I love my homeland Sarawak but not Malaysia and Malaysian politics. I miss the days when Sarawak was more free, had more freedom of religion and less crime before our oil royalty was stolen and before our jungles were plundered.
written by shiokguy, August 14, 2008 01:52:26
Space Tourist Research Report

We spend a lot of money for a Space Traveling Report, and it is not publish in any medical journal yet. It has to be approved by the cabinet of Malaysia.

How about that? Let see what research did our Datuk Space Tourist did? I hope not the kind which just repeat what other has done!

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...eport.html

We cannot win back those who have left Malaysia, but we can start making effort for those still in the country.

written by Highway16, August 14, 2008 03:03:23
What brain drain?

Malaysian has UITM!!

But there is nothing to drain (otak kosong), so there is no Brain Drain.

written by Vince, August 14, 2008 17:50:16
Why should these talented Malaysian come back? Don't come back. Honest to god, do not come back if you found the right job overseas. I am an overseas graduate(BS) and I used to have this idea of coming back to contribute, to show the world Malaysia has talents too. When you are a freshy in the "real world", not much affects you as you are at the bottom of the ladder. But as you work your way up and see more of what is happening in the country(the company I worked for is a foreign company, thank god). You began to have a different view and perception of things.
I quit and went on to try my luck on my own. This is when reality really hits me, I am not much of a "bodek" guy so this makes it even harder for me to get on the "good" side of our higher authorities(be it bankers, government dept etc). To me, as long as I go by the books and give the best, it should carry me far but to my disapointment, this is so not true in Malaysia. The skin color factor is the most important!. Not your brains. Unless you are related to YTL, Berjaya, the late Uncle Lim or somebody that is already got it made, it is virtually impossible to make it OR you are Bumi....
Why should we come back to make the government proud when they have policies to segregate us. We are being treated as 2nd class citizens. Why should we put in the effort and not recognized.
Take a good look at the current UiTM incident, they have a lot of graduates every year, how come we are still lack of human resources. The actual problem is not that we are lack of human resources, what we lack of ARE good usable human resources. In other words, high percentage of local graduates do not qualify for the "real world" industries. Why is that? Well, it is not surprising now because these students instead of worrying how to make Malaysia and their future better, they are more concern about losing the edge to non-bumi's. This is a mentality issue, I think these students are taught to think with such narrow vision. All they see is they loose out to non-bumis, now they have to work their asses off to compete. Hey, welcome to the real world, this is globalization era!
Take a look at China, where were they 20 years ago compare to Malaysia. They have nothing, they were nothing but within these 20 years span, they not only caught up with Malaysia, they are now already way ahead of us, miles and miles ahead. In the other hand, Malaysia is moving backwards instead of forward, look at our current state of affairs. Corruptions and Judiciary went from bad to worst. The Police force are no longer trust worthy, crime rates are on the high. Politicians going rampant like warlords. Need I say more.
No, do not come back to work if you have better alternative already but do come back for holidays. Better still, if you can, migrate along with your parents and family. Unless Malaysia government change their racial policy, trust me, work overseas and come back for holidays.
written by DontPlayGod, August 14, 2008 18:21:18
Topek wrote:

"1.There is a huge misconception about the recognition and qualification of Malaysian doctors obtaining the MRCP (UK). In the UK, ST1 and ST2 doctors (previously known as senior house officers) sit for the MRCP prior to their inclusion in medical specialty training programme. Then they have to compete and based on their clinical experience and assessments, number of publications in peer reviewed journals and an intensive interview, will decide whether they enter the formal ST3 onwards (previously known as specialist registrar) specialty training programme. The competition is fierce with estimated applicants of 23,000 for 8,900-9,100 post in 2008. Due to recent changes in the UK medical training also known as the Modernising Medical Career (http://www.mmc.nhs.uk/ ) and the recruitment policy, most Malaysian doctors are at a disadvantage and fail to enter the formal UK medical or surgical training programme. Therefore more Malaysian doctors are returning home with only the MRCP (UK) qualification and without any specialty training due to their failure to enter a formal specialty training programme or to gain any further medical work. There is a misconception that these 'MRCP doctors' are formally trained and ‘recognised’ in their chosen specialty in the UK and are given either senior registrar, senior lecturer or Assistant/Associate Professor post in our local university or hospital when they return home. Some were even able to set up their private practice after three years compulsory service."

This is indeed a revelation!! A layman like me always think that a Dr. with an MRCP is a specialist! And there are many doctors around in our country with a MRCP practising as specialists, some even with their own clinics.
written by Bigdawg, August 16, 2008 01:48:04
It seems like a lot of the more successful non-malays are leaving Malaysia in hordes. Now what is going to happen to the 30% non-malays minority whose numbers are reducing?

They are going to be swamped politically, unless they can take up the idea to produce like the "babi" (if you don't like it here, you can get out!) umnoputras call us!, to ever equalize with the 70% majority that is ever growing.

Please don't you forget to return come voting day! You owe it to yourselves and the ones left behind.
written by zhugeliang, August 16, 2008 11:18:54
I am also planning to migrate to Canada (or Aust) if Anwar is still not made PM this year. Why future do we see in Malaysia for our children and ourselves and for non-Malays, non-bumiputera? Even if I am not able to, I will send my children overseas and ask them to stay put there and don't comeb back to a country that does not want you, does not love you and does not value you. Worse, the country that wants to run you down from time to time, treat you without respect or dignity, country that is governed by a group of mind-less and brainless terrorists! I heard there is a girl who gotten 12As in SPM but was not offered any scholarship from JPA. So, what should she do when other country like S'pore approach here? Off she go la. Stay here for what? Nobody wants you. The BN govt doesn't like smart people, only mediocre, stupid, low-life terrorists, rapists, murderers, bandits and pirates. Malaysia, land of UMNO economic terrorists.
written by Grasshopper, August 16, 2008 17:06:29
Why bother returning, Malaysia has gone to the dogs :

500 million taxpayers' money on sales commission on submarines to a company linked to future PM.

13 billion on Putrajaya "white elephant".

Prosecution and Defense attorneys trying to hide the identity of "government official" in murder trial - again linked to future PM

And nobody protests!

I rather see a return on my taxes like childcare, specialist medical care, decent education, haze free air, toll free roads

The country HAD so much potential but for 50 years of sheer waste & corruption. But still there will be arseholes voting for them.
Good luck and good riddance. Will only limit my returns to visit the beaches and taste the food, if at all, the world is an oyster.

Malaysian Expatriate Norway.
written by kclim2, August 16, 2008 22:10:54
My son and daughter, and their college friends young and intelegience have already made up their mind where to go after their college days if they have the chance. These young people can feel the discrimination already!