Bar Council is legally right but politically wrong - a reply PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 August 2008 09:01

By TEH TARIK

Folks, thanks for the feedback. It’s interesting how people have responded to my article - Bar Council is legally right but politically wrong.

For instance, Hakim Joe wrote how he had made comments more or less similar to mine. Yet he was voted down until MINUS 33 for it while my article had many people agreeing to it. Why the difference, he asks?

From the very fact that this can happen on Malaysia Today among us “matured and educated” readers shows that the WAY we say and do things sometimes makes all the difference. What more among the so-called "Umno goons" as some commentators call them?

Pakatan Rakyat is supposed to be about GENUINE inter-racial cooperation. Please... for those non-Malays brimming with anger, perhaps you should ask yourself, could you say the same things if you were in a real meeting with Malays from PAS and PKR, the very same people you supported and voted for in the elections?

I don't understand why some commentators jump immediately into a "them versus us" mentality.

That we must "fight" the Muslim morons, bastards, etc., etc. and that kind of language.

Would it have hurt non-Malay rights if the Bar Council had postponed the forum until after Sept 16? (after Anwar is re-elected in Permatang Pauh and after the Pakatan forms the Federal govt?) Would it have hurt non-Malay rights if the Bar Council had said, “OK, it’s too hot now, let’s reconvene three months later with more Muslim representation?”

The moment Umno applied pressure and forced the IKIM and Jabatan Islam fellas to withdraw from the forum, the Bar Council should have smelt trouble. Do you walk into a building when you smell petrol on the floor?

Also, an interesting comment by Stormquest:

The minorities of this country have been appeasing UMNO for 51 years. Where did it get us, playing to UMNO's tune? We are boxed into a corner, with no way out. As Sir Winston Churchill once said, "An appeaser is one who feeds a crocodile hoping it will eat him last”.

To that I will say, sure if you are Great Britain, and have the whole might of America behind you, then you can fight the Nazi “crocodile” oppressors instead of “appeasing” them. But what if you are a weak country like Czechoslovakia or Poland with no support from powerful allies? How do you fight?

As Umno plays it, Might is Right, including using the police for their own ends. So what does Stormquest want the non Malays to do? Use force against force in a face-to-face confrontation? Is that how Sun Tzu would do it?

Of course, we non-Malays have legitimate reasons to be angry at the unfairness of certain things. Of course, the protesters at the forum were uncivilised brutes. Of course, they were denying us our civil rights. Of course, they should have sat down at the Carcosa Seri Negara with us and discussed this issue intellectually over a cup of Earl Grey tea like proper English gentlemen.

But that’s not who they are. They are classic “agent provocateurs” sent to stir up Malay-Muslim feelings. Now please... if you see a raving madman screaming on the road, do you confront him? Or do you move away quietly and let the madman shout all he wants until he looks stupid screaming all by himself?

And also, to those who accuse my article of being a MCA-style “surrender”, please tell me, after this whole fracas, have our non-Malay rights been advanced? Can we move forward on other more important issues like the economy and education? Have we not just given Umno a golden racial-religious card that they can use to counter-attack the non-Malays?

And what better weapon to use than religion! Now that the “ground” has been set that the non-Malays are intent on “attacking Islam”, can the non-Malays demand more places in public universities? Have we not just made it harder for the Pakatan state govt to approve land for churches and temples?

Look at the way Umno has been attacking Pakatan in Perak, calling the PAS MB a “boneka” puppet controlled by the Chinese, and of signing a “second Pangkor Agreement” to sell out Perak’s Malays to the DAP (the first Pangkor Agreement of 1874 saw the British taking control of Perak).

Even worse, how much harder has the Bar Council fracas made it for genuine fair-minded Muslims like Dr Mehrun Siraj to speak up? And when they do now, will the Malays in the kampungs fed on a diet of Utusan Malaysia think of them as “Western-educated” Malays who are “too chummy” with non-Malays?

That’s what Umno has done and has been doing - splitting people up. Why do we want to dance to their tune?

Sometimes I wonder if those commentators on Malaysia Today who make such inflammatory remarks are not walking the path taken (or set up) by MCA people like Ong Ka Chuan to stir up Chinese feelings?

Why are they playing the agent provocateur role? So that Umno can use it as a weapon to rally the Malays back to their side and then the Barisan can retain power - with MCA getting their share of the spoils?

That IS the classic Barisan “divide and conquer” game isn’t it?

I mean, come on people, after all the years of “education” from Raja Petra about the crafty way Umno operates its “wayang kulit” style of Malay politics, for example in the sodomy and Altantuya sagas, we SHOULD KNOW BETTER. Or have all of Raja Petra’s revelations fallen on deaf years? Have we non-Malays not learnt anything from him?

If we believe that the Pakatan is the best hope for a better Malaysia (at least for a two party system if nothing else), then we non-Malays should be thinking strategically to achieve that objective.

As it stands, the majority of non-Malays support Pakatan cos it seems to be fairer, not corrupt (yet) and more balanced. So if we are thinking like Sun Tzu, the question is how to bring in the majority of Malays to support Pakatan.

Do we do that by walking into Umno’s trap set up around the Bar Council forum? Think about it.

written by CitizenBodohland, August 12, 2008 09:11:12
Everyone...

I believe BN is to stir religion issue. This is a very, very desperate attempt by BN to hold on to power. They know they will be buried by the RAKYAT's POWER soon.
written by tokioRain, August 12, 2008 09:11:21
Agree with you 100%. Ambiga's timing is suspect. Either she's too dense to think things thru or she already knew how it will ultimately end.
written by budakindia, August 12, 2008 09:12:04
But still that didn't make the wrong into right! Well take a look at the present:
1) More body snatching
2) More temple demolition
3) More animal cruelty thanks to DBKL
4) Forbade the use of God? Even the Arabs don't do that.

It's the extremisms which we are fighting against. We are not here to humilate and belittle other people's religion. smilies/angry.gif
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 12, 2008 09:13:25
UMNO = Immatured and Uneducated with bad culture and no discipline.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 12, 2008 09:16:06
orrect me if I am wrong;but I personally think that only those with IQ of average 100 would be able to analyse the Bar council forum and think rationally or logically;the whole episode stinks not so much about the forum but the way the PDRM handles it;prejudiced extremism is how I put it;this is basically another UMNO fatal blow to Anwar*s Pakatan but I sincerely hope PR supporters can read between the lines and think for themselves what the main agenda of this forum was!
written by born2reign, August 12, 2008 09:20:01
In these times, it is David vs. Goliath.
written by Thian, August 12, 2008 09:25:21
By letting a few hooligans to hijack the road for all to follow is even more STUPID.

The matured awaken Majority will SPEAK to drown the voices of the few. To see through their childish fractured delusional exclusive mind trying to hijack and manipulates to serve their ends, is no longer tolerated or operable in open society today.

If anything good comes from this is recognizing that those who are governing or holding the office who condoles this should resigned immediately for dereliction of their duties and lack the basic aptitude to govern in a multiracial society.

written by mikewang, August 12, 2008 09:36:52
A fanatic is one who can't change his mind and won't change the subject. - Winston Churchill.

Let's not be fanatical if we can't change our mind.
Let's change the topic !
written by c53k, August 12, 2008 09:41:05
There r bloggers tryinfg to subtly involved the royalties to raise the current political temperature.

They r now playing the OLD TUNES of the feudal malay - wrt religions, royalty, after the race issue has been successfully shot-down by PAS.

They r the bogeyman of Malay Malaysian - where the dominance of the Malay cannot be question!
written by LC Teh, August 12, 2008 09:43:07
Did anyone ask how much Sharizat pay for the house formerly owned by Ambiga?
written by unomalaysia, August 12, 2008 10:06:02
You are right Teh Tarik. I did not comment in your earlier article as most comments were going off tangent. Looks like a lot of MT readers got it hook, line and sinker. The whole thing smell like a classic Amno setup with Ambiga and the Bar Council being a willing (or clueless) batu loncatan. As LC Teh rightly asked: How much did Sharizat paid for Ambiga's bangalow?? Hmmmm...

Amno may be under seige but don't ever underestimate their "dirty tricks department". They had 51 years of practise.

And as you rightly put it that we have not learnt much of what RPK has taught us.. We still see a lot of colors of the skin and as long as we continue to see each like this, we are ripe for AMno's dirty tricks and we can only blame our stupid selves for being such simple minded morons.

Read all RPK postings on Islam again and you will get a better understanding. I am not Muslim but I think Islam is a beautiful religion. Islam is good but many Muslim are bad and they will answer in their afterlifes. Peace and take the middle paths bros and sista.....

written by Liberace, August 12, 2008 10:07:11
The whole basis of this discussion is that we agree to disagree and inviting comments gives everyone a say including some morons and those whom you consider immature. I don't remember having to demonstrate my qualifications to register so it seems you have been presumptious about the maturity and sophistication of MT readers.

There is never a right time to bring up this issue of religion. Fanatics will be fanatics no matter who sits in the PM's office and the possibility of an explosive outcome will always hang over our heads. Besides, it's probably not a bad idea to call PKR's bluff. I'm all for them, but I'd like to see their card in this regard. Politics is always a sticky business and the worst things happen at the most inconvenient times, so I suggest that those who have ambitions in this area rise up and demonstrate your worth because if we become the open society that Anwar promises, everyday will be an unscripted play.

So Teh Tarik, whoever you are, you've had your say. We hear you. Hear us.
written by Bentoh, August 12, 2008 10:48:38
and Bar council is not a political association but a legal organization... smilies/smiley.gif
written by IbnAbdHalim, August 12, 2008 11:24:49
As I have commented in LKS Blog, even our Kulim-Bandar Bahru and Kubang Kerian MPs has fallen into the trap. By the look of it BC forum had a wrong timing and holds suspicion for it smelt something. It was staged to work that way no matter what BC had to say. In simple words, UMNO succeeded.
written by chipon, August 12, 2008 13:57:47

Haiya fellas..what Teh Tarik says is true!

Its simple.

Should we raise this religion issue when the Government is still the racist BN?

Or should we all be smarter, get all people (Malays especially) to vote for PR and then we raise this religion issue when the Government has change to PR?

BN Government = racist and will not open their ears.
PR Government = fair, more open-minded, listens well and ready for reform.

So it's your call. Have patience. Be smart.
written by antiilluminati, August 12, 2008 14:55:30
In politics anything is possible. BC may perhaps be bribed to act on the forum on such timing.
written by mawi, August 12, 2008 15:11:05
My point exactly. Bar Council is ill prepared and giving opportunities to the BN government to regroup and retaliate when the best moment sets in. One for the road would be thr Permatang Pauh by election. With the Bar Council painting a picture of Malays/Muslims versus Non Malays/Non Muslims, these are sumptuos feast for BN election campaign for Permatang Pauh on the short term and Malay/Umno victory for the next GE. So continue bashing the Muslims and called them the most degradable names that you can think of. It'll only hurt yourself at the end of the day especially when you are the minority of this country
written by bradwell_estate, August 12, 2008 16:46:12
wait a minute! you say Ambiga acting for the gomen? smilies/cry.gif
written by bradwell_estate, August 12, 2008 16:48:47
Dear RPK - i agree with LC Teh. can we find out what Sharizat paid for Ambiga's house?
written by Rozlan, August 12, 2008 17:43:58
Maybe Bar Council should explained its attention to hold the forum in the midst of Permatang Pauh by election..Furthermore until now I am in the dark what the forum was all about..All of a sudden Bar Council hold the forum and malay NGOs held demo shouting warning to the forum organizers...It seem the whole inciddent had been preplanned to cause havoc...

Frankly speaking I am disgusted with the immaturity of muslim/maly NGOs..They behaved exactly like Datuk Hishamuddin dangling his kris in UMNO Youth General Meeting.Good to satisfy some people ego but not going to solve any current problem

I had said it before.Fight forum with forum,debate with debate..Malay/muslim NGOs should take such chances to response wisely and maturely.In fact interfaith dialogues should be organized.If we could imitate DSAI/Shabery Chik debate style where the participant debate convey their points maturedly and not emotionally then I dont see it will cause racial tension..

Non Muslims/malays should realised as long you used similar provocative style like Bar Council recently,you will always get caught in UMNO pincer grips..

Sometime I have a feeling that Bar Council had a secret dealing with BN..What do you think???
written by JJFoo, August 13, 2008 10:06:58
Dear Teh Tarik,
Complement to you for a very meaningful piece of article. What you mentioned is politically very correct but I have to disagree with you morally.

The Bar Council’s action is just about a simple discussion about religion, too complicate to comprehend? Only shallow mined person or people of unjust character would deem it as unjust.

Fact is, we are a multi racial, multi religion nation. Religion (among many other issues) need to be addressed and place in its correct prospective for a harmonious future. This can only be done through open discussion, but we all are running away from this moral obligation through pleasantries and appeasement. What you mentioned is nothing new, those are just the old tools of trade for MCA & MIC, which they have use it to the tilt with disastrous consequences.

Not the right time? Yeh, you are right on this one, we haven’t found a right time for the past 50 years anyway.

The issue here is simple,
*Force conversion is wrong.
*The forum stopped by a few thugs with unlawful threats of force is wrong.
*Government’s inaction to such unlawful conduct tantamount to condoning, which is wrong.
* Submission to threats is submission to terrorism, which is wrong.
* Using or hijacking religion to maintain political supremacy is wrong.

Unless these wrongs can be rectified through open discussion or with just action from authorities (which is most unlikely), we are just running around singing pleasantries and appeasement. We Malaysian (apart from a few unscrupulous politicians) are a pleasant bunch of peoples trying very hard to be politically correct but morally we all are very wrong in our inability to rectify the social illnesses plaguing this beautiful nation, which is the core issue here.
written by Lipsung, August 13, 2008 17:25:59
Teh Tarik, you are right. Winning every battle doesnt mean we can win the war.
written by JJFoo, August 14, 2008 08:55:45
The key to rectifying the illnesses plaguing our nation is through open discussion and dialog, only than righteousness and awareness can be brought to the surface, to take the right or wrong path, the people ultimately have to make that choice and bear the consequences but please allow the people to deicide with awareness of the relevant facts and consequences. The people were denied that key “that is just to speak and discuss”. Decision were made for the people through threats, hoodwinking, distorted propagated news and ideas, worst still, made to pay for the consequences while a hand full of politicians profited unjustly from it.

Winning every battle doesn’t mean we can win the war, granted, losing every battle will definitely ensure you’ll lose the war. Loser of his war encompass all Malaysian regardless of race and creeds. I don’t see any clear winner here.

written by JJFoo, August 14, 2008 09:09:45
Lost of this war meant Malaysian as a whole failed to develop this nation.
written by Stormquest, August 15, 2008 18:59:33
Dear Teh Tarik,

I am flattered that you quoted me. I did not think that I'd make such an impression.

That being said, you asked, "So what does Stormquest want the non Malays to do? Use force against force in a face-to-face confrontation? Is that how Sun Tzu would do it?"

I think that you should re-read what I originally wrote, instead of cherry-picking just the first bit, and jumping to your own conclusion.

If you read what I wrote more carefully, it should be understood that the minorities have been caving in to pressure for the last 51 years. We are nowhere today as a consequence. Actually, we are far worse off than ever before.

While I advocate standing firm instead of caving in, I never once advocated using "force against force in a face-to-face confrontation". That is your own vivid imagination.

If you read further down, past the cherry-picked line, you'd see that I also stated "What this country needs is not more appeasers, but more fair-minded Muslims like Dr Mehrun Siraj, who have the backbone to stand up to these goons. One would have thought that PKR and PAS would have played this role, but sadly some of their own members participated in the idiocy, by playing to UMNO's tune".

Translated in simple English. The non-Malays must stand firm with moderate Malays/Muslims in order to overcome extremism.