Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow A Call For Greater Tolerance

A Call For Greater Tolerance PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 August 2008 08:50

Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon's call for the convening of the joint committee of the syariah and civil lawyers on family-related issues of by affected Muslims and non-Muslims merits attention and expediency by the Government.

That these issues have NOT been resolved to-date resulted in the 'Forum' - a PLATFORM TO INVITE VIEWS FROM ALL QUARTERS on how to "solve" the many issues in a rational manner with experts from the syariah and family lawyers and members of the public (saw some bloggers, university professors and NGOs amongst the participants).

To me and probably others among the 220 interested people, the early end to this forum is an opportunity missed - I had wanted to propose for a "joint syariah/civil court" comprising both a syariah judge and a civil judge (preferably a Muslim at the initial stages) to jointly hear these cases and then make a joint 'decision', binding on all parties. The next move is then to propose an 'amendment' to be tabled in Parliament in its next sitting to reflect this change. This will defuse any further controversy on this matter and the Rakyat can move on from there.

The fact remains that any debate on this issue, no matter how controlled and guided will always invoke fears and concerns by Muslims and non-Muslims alike - thus the demonstrations by the aggrieved parties, real or otherwise, plus the 'discontentment' of those unable to receive/see that justice is 'done'.

Let us not let 400 or so demonstrators be the bane that cause Malaysians to disunite! They are NOT the voice of the majority of Malaysians! Hence they should NOT be allowed to provoke some 'disgruntled' people to make unsavoury and unwarranted comments that can further aggravate the 'situation'. Negative comments by some 'politiking' Ministers and politicians on a sensitive issue are also uncalled for. They should instead try to allay the fears of the Rakyat.

After all, Malaysia is the host of the Global Peace Festival 2008 (17-19th October) - "Let's Make Malaysia the World Capital Of Peace" - A Celebration that promotes goodwill and understanding among all races and religions in the world.

Francis Yeoh, member of PEMALIK and others.

written by Tom n Jerry, August 12, 2008 09:03:10
Buddha said*Hatred can never be appeased with hatred;only by loving -kindness*Avera hontu;abypaja hontu;aniga hontu;sukiatanang pariharangtu!(Literally it means may you all be well & happy)
written by alberttan, August 12, 2008 09:03:27
Dear Francis;

Unfortunately your best friend and patron, TDM(ugabe) Bapa Hypocrisi, Korupsi dan Sodomi Melayu has infused the Malays with a "Tuan Melayu Boleh" mindset so racist and fascist that the 400 Melayu Islamofascists can LEGALLY demonstrate and spew hatred like "Babi/Indians go to hell". No need to hold this and that PEACE FESTIVAL, such good deeds are a joke worldwide coming from Malaysia.

Want a simple solution? Charge the 400 Melayu Islamofascists with ISA and throw them into jail like they should be for inciting hatred, fear and unrest AMONG MALAYSIANS. But then you know that UMNO style sodomite politics prevent that from ever happening.
written by ahmadneil, August 12, 2008 09:04:00
I sincerely hope there is a amicable solution to this serious problem.Those fanatics must not hold the nation to ransom.The views of just a few must not be forced down the throat of the majority.
written by Tompios, August 12, 2008 09:08:03
See!! People file a petition for protection dear Moslem. Please, don't just simply say 'NO' without telling them in detail and clear why! They don't even challenge Islam as a official religion in this country but to ask your mercy for understanding and national integrity.

Please, we cannot live here in Malaysia without Non Moslem community. We need each other for sure. The bar council only want solutions for 'conversion' problems. Is it hard for us to understanding this?
written by Thian, August 12, 2008 09:11:45
Will the bigots and racists, please try to keep up if you can, we would like to more forward and have no time to entertain your two dimensional world of hate and fear. The majority of us who are already in the higher dimension condemns you few barbarians who tarnish yourself and for the rest of us MALAYSIANS.

We will not follow your road to the abyss. We recognize you FEW with your EVILNESS festering in your fractured delusional careless exclusive MIND; and for manipulating and hijacking this issues. Let all the righteous aware MAJORITY speaks to drown the voices of the FEW pseudo religious racist fanatics who is more interested to politicize this.

Those that keep silence condones these hooligans are either bigots and/or imbeciles. Definitely is not yet fit to hold any governmental post and resign immediately.
written by *********, August 12, 2008 09:15:26
Koh Tsu koon is trying to revive his political career after he and his party were booted out of Penang. It is too little too late dear former YAB. When you were in power you gave so much room for the Umno racists and religious fanatics to do their stuff. Now, you want to talk about non Muslim rights? Go to sleeplah...More http://*********.********.com
written by chiongguo, August 12, 2008 09:52:40
"joint syariah/civil court" comprising both a syariah judge and a civil judge (preferably a Muslim at the initial stages)

This will not work as the basis of the law remain divided. I think all those converting to islam for specific purposes should he given a choice as to which set of law they will follow at the time of conversion. They must declare their choice in a legal document. When the "specific purpose" was no longer valid such as during a divorce the appropriate court system would be used to arbitrate issues such as property, children etc.

written by Wisdom above, August 12, 2008 12:24:10
A good write up.
written by InEffective, August 12, 2008 12:25:04

KTK will soon learn that avoidance of issues or appeasement as a strategy does not make a leader that can inspire anyone to follow his messages. (in fact KTK has to take accountability for allowing this racist pressure to develop)

Those who trade off their rights for safety and security, will eventually land up with neither (plato).
written by Democrats, August 12, 2008 14:18:45
Hope you truly mean what you say, Francis, and not just to kiss ass to the future PM who wants to renegotiate the existing IPP deals with YTL power.

Word around is that you are a poius adn true Christian, so we'll give you the benefit of the doubt. Bless you....

Also, your firm should stop spoonfeeding those corrupt politicians and grant them favors.(market talk you even lend your helicopter to BN to campaign in the rural areas....just market talk though....).

But if its true, as a business leader, it setting bad examples especially when YTL is an international company with a big reputation to maintain...
written by Fairminded, August 12, 2008 15:21:36
If the ISA is not applied fairly to all, there will be no tolerance. Sedition should not be only about non Malays but also about Malays inciting hatred. Dont forget that the non Malays who are born and bred in Malaysia are Malaysians by birth right and not immigrants whose citizenships are given by the Malays. That generation had past. I fear the day that Yugoslavia situation will arise in Malaysia if such seditious acts are allowed even though it is by the Malays. In the eyes of the law, all are equal.
written by Frankie,BSD, August 12, 2008 16:10:55
Hey Fellow-bloggers,
I am not the Tan Sri, just a plain social worker, working on family issues especially affecting children of parents of parents facing divorce and custody battles.Also involved in drafting the memo to make changes in the judiciary pertaining to the Family Court, involved in the anti-corruption movement - just a vocal social activist.
Most times the voice of reason is drowned by the 'empty noises' of emotion but the rational amongst us must prevail in our belief and convictions.
Today we are beset by a host of 'problems' that seem insurmountable, but if we continue to 'adjust' to each other, we will succeed - We must make ALLOWANCES that different people adjust at different paces and we should not expect everyone to behave and think like us! Make a few concessions,it does not hurt.
The Writer