Home Ministry issues “show cause” letter to Herald PDF Print
Sunday, 10 August 2008 11:25

This is not a great day for freedom of expression after what happened in KL this morning (9 Aug 2008).

The Home Affairs Ministry has issued a show-cause letter (on 16 July) to the publishers of The Herald, an editorial in tomorrow’s edition of the Catholic weekly newspaper has revealed.

The paper was accused of committing two offences:

• it has not followed the concept of “focusing” on religion
  • it carried an article that purportedly degraded the religion of Islam

In reply to an earlier warning letter from the Ministry, the editorial in The Herald remarked that the Ministry had not defined the concept of “religion” in the application form for a publishing permit.  Neither is there a definition in the Constitution. So, the publishers asked the Ministry to point out where they had gone wrong. No reply.

The editorial also maintained that the article in question “America and Jihad - where do they stand?” in no way degrades any religion; it was the writer’s analysis of the global political situation “for informed and educated people”. (I have not read the article myself so I am unable to comment on it.)

The Home Ministry noted that The Herald also carries articles that have political content.

The editorial responded with one simple question: “Who killed Jesus? If we read the trial of Jesus, we can easily notice how politically charged that scene was….

“If we read the announcement of Jesus’ mission for the people in Luke 4:16-20, there we will see that there isn’t much of an issue with the concept of politics.”

The verses are as follows:

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by sjs, August 10, 2008 11:30:02
To the people at Herald:

Next time be more tolerant and feature articles like:

[b Why Syed Hamid loves sodomy? If you are caught, just change to "sodo mee" and apologize for spelling error!!
written by ahmadneil, August 10, 2008 11:34:03
Freedom of expression is under siege.
written by purpleshoppe, August 10, 2008 11:36:20
Shite Botak AliBaba

same stupid mutt that lied extensively about the proceedings in the soto-mee

same bald liar (hiding behind shaded lens) that manipulates the ISA

same pain in the butt who protects C4 murderers

how will you answer for your acts at 'Day of Kiamat'?
written by densemy, August 10, 2008 11:52:39
HO HUM... another pathetic red herring trotted out in a vague attempt to distract attention from your 'other' fiasco

You gotta admire these guys, what they lack in imagination they more than make up in tenacity

written by clarity, August 10, 2008 11:54:36
To fellow Malaysians of Sabah and Sarawak, now you know why Botak is inundating your rich cultural states with illegal immigrants. What are you going to do about it? Do you still want to support BM?
written by bumiputeri, August 10, 2008 11:59:11
Dear team of The Herald,

Why bother justifying with the Malaysian government officials, the running UMNO DOGS!!!! There is absolutely no intellect or justice in whatever they do!!!!

If you want justice, go the International Court of Justice!!!
written by aris, August 10, 2008 12:35:01
The article in the Herald is the 'effect', the Home Affairs Ministry is the 'cause'. Why isn't Baldy thinking straight these days? Too much free time and he is in the devils workshop, ehh!!!
written by binarytan, August 10, 2008 12:37:30
Great of "Ketuanan Melayu" and "Ketuanan Islam". The rest of religion are just irrelevant in Malaysia.

Hey all Malaysian out there, it is the time for us to plan migrate to other countries if the UMNOP gang is still in power. There is absolutely no hope for Malaysia.

Even if PKR takes over the gomen and if Zul is in power, there is also no hope as law is on his hand rather.
written by binarytan, August 10, 2008 12:38:02
Not forgetting PAS is even more dangerous if they ae in power and turn our country to Islamic State with Hudud Law.
written by revelation, August 10, 2008 13:11:45
the devils is working hard to spin and hide the truth. but fret not, the devil has already lost and he knew it. the devil and his nephilims just want to bring down as many souls he can get to hell.

don't be ignorant anymore christians, do your study, research, go back to our 1 and only "user manual", the bible and if u lost in the process, use the free hotline number, prayer to ask for help.
written by blackgoddess, August 10, 2008 13:19:06
buggers in gomen want to control all religions and must kowtow to theirs.....bastards..
written by IndnChinsMaly, August 10, 2008 14:03:56
written by clarity, August 10, 2008 | 11:54:36

"To fellow Malaysians of Sabah and Sarawak, now you know why Botak is inundating your rich cultural states with illegal immigrants. What are you going to do about it? Do you still want to support BM?"

To fellow West Malaysians especially clarity, now you know why Sabahans voted BN out over 10 years ago. But because of your STUPIDITY, you continued to vote BN and helped them topple the opposition in Sabah.

Now you have the nerve to ask Sabahans to vote for Opposition. Why didnt YOU stupid West Malaysian vote the opposition along with the REAL Sabahans over 10 years ago??? Why did it take another 10 years for you to realize how STUPID you were to vote BN???

The REAL Sabahans voted for opposition but the FAKE Sabahans (immigrants) that YOU stupid west Malaysians helped BN bring into sabah voted for BN. Thanks to you west malaysians for voting BN for 10 years, it is too late now. Immigrants already are bumiputera. Many are now in west malaysia and are all YOUR TUAN as well.
written by chaiksyn, August 10, 2008 14:14:28
Mi$ter baldy should mine his own Bizs! Fat arse!
written by latihanQ, August 10, 2008 15:56:00
This BN government is hopeless and beyond redemption.
They refuse to treat their fellow citizens with respect and dignity. They refuse to be honest and accountable; they refuse to acknowledge their citizens right to an opinion and to respect those opinions without chasing them down with threats of incarceration and punishment.
We call this form of government a cruel and authoritarian government. They are selfish and shameless and should be booted out in the next GE. We have no need of these conceited leaders.
written by latihanQ, August 10, 2008 16:02:40
"Not forgetting PAS is even more dangerous if they ae in power and turn our country to Islamic State with Hudud Law."

Why should we fear the hudud laws? It may even turn out to be a blessing to have hudud. However, it is extremely unlikely the UMNO crooks will allow for hudud, and don't we all know why!!!
written by alpha100, August 10, 2008 16:52:12
Pray that righteousness and justice will prevail! Fear not the persecution of this world!
written by Tom n Jerry, August 10, 2008 17:20:01
Home ministry sholud aptly be described as *Ape home ministry*suitable only for the orang utans,gibbons& the like!They are not quite human or humane;no conscience;more like animals! smilies/angry.gif
written by budakindia, August 10, 2008 17:31:31
I just don't understand when will these dirt bastards will stop mingling with other religions! Getting the permission from religious department to build churces and temples?
written by bunian, August 10, 2008 19:33:19
Given the quality of English in the gomen, the letter would be like this:
Deer Harold,

Show cawse.
written by Lothar, August 10, 2008 20:26:37
The Herald editorial should not have come up with the bible verses to reply their letter. they have taboo for that.Anything from the bible verses will disorientate them and trigger them to translate that you instigate religious tensions....when in fact they were the ones who fuel-up any amber that sounded anti islamic. Yes...until now they're still talking about religious tolerance...but it have to be others who must tolerate them.This is Malay...sia, the Tuans. So never belittle them...have to always bow down and kow-tow to them....yes Tuan. Remember..this is Malay-sia.
written by alberttan, August 10, 2008 21:25:51
Fascism
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
(Redirected from Facist)
Jump to: navigation, search
Fascism v • d • e

Fascism is a term used to describe authoritarian nationalist political ideologies or mass movements that are concerned with notions of cultural decline or decadence and seek to achieve a millenarian national rebirth by exalting the nation or race, and promoting cults of unity, strength and purity.....
written by *********, August 10, 2008 21:34:18
The Catholic Asian News has also been given a similar show cause letter. Is this what Islam Hadhari is all about...intolerence? I wonder what the BN MP's and Assemblymen who are Christians especially from Sabah and Sarawak have to say about this...More http://*********.********.com
written by deemah, August 10, 2008 21:56:30
show cause letter? Bloody waste of time. Typical Malaysian gvt' way of facing with any problem. SAPP kena show cause letter jugak. Tak ada apa-apa pun.

The Herald will throw the letter along with other trash into the dusbin. So jagan buang masa.
written by agadam magadam, August 10, 2008 22:20:41
Why not the Herald Editorial team have a version in Jawi, and put them up for sale in the newstands for the Holy Muslims of Malaysia?.. I think that's what they are waiting for...
These scums will never learn..
This irrelevant Botak, has nothing better to do.. I heard Botak is going to make his rounds overseas to enlighten the foreign Govt's on Anwar's case and other suspicious ongoing cases in Malaysia..
If Anwar is not taking over soon, I think this country is going to get farked, Big Time..
So, encourage all our kids studying overseas to complete their studies and apply for PR..Apply for the Govt study loan to the max and don't repay.. Better that than allowing the goons to squander our monies..
The Herald is going to be around for a long, long time.. We Catholics have a very strong team of ferocious lawyers who'll tear these dog's arses, should anymore cases go to the courts...
So Botak-Go to Hell..... Anwar will take care of you... Or get a heart attack and die off.. Save our trouble of putting you to sleep..
written by malgal, August 10, 2008 23:28:01
Fellow Malaysians, please read the petition to our King and put your name on the last few things we are at least allowed to do. We need to get our judiciary right, please sign the petition.
written by Fart Fart Wah, August 11, 2008 01:03:49
KUALA LUMPUR: The Prime Minister’s wife, Datin Seri Jeanne Abdullah who converted to Islam more than 30 years ago, said she is happy with the religion.
Describing Islam as a “beautiful religion,” Jeanne said she had no regrets ever since she converted at the age of 23 for marriage.
“I am proud to be a Muslim. It is about being good and doing good things,” she said yesterday at the inaugural national-level Muslim Convention.
“My most favourite time is when Pak Lah (Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi) reads the Quran with me during subuh (dawn). I read it in English and he reads and explains to me.”
For you: Jeanne Abdullah presenting the Anugerah Saudara Muslim Cemerlangto philanthropist Dr Aishah (right) at the national-level Muslim Convention in Kuala Lumpur yesterday. Looking on are Dr Ahmad Zahid (left) and Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Senator Datuk Dr Mashitah Ibrahim.
Jeanne and Abdullah married in June 2007.
“I enjoy reading the Quran without rushing and relish every word,” she said.
Previously known as Jeanne Danker, she was born in 1953 to a Catholic Portugese-Eurasian family.
Her mother was understanding when she told her she wanted to convert to Islam and advised her that if she wanted to be a Muslim, she should be a good one and talk to someone who could help her.
“I practised being a good Catholic. I went to church, attended catechism classes and read the scriptures,” she said.

Well Jeanne ask ABdullah what all this means???

FREEDOM OF RELIGION IS TOTAL BULLSHIT FOR UMNO'S DOGS..

iSLAM IS BEING PROSTITUTED BY UMNO'S .. tHIS IS NOT THE iSLAM..MUHAMMAD PREACHED.......OR IS IT????

AND THE BLIND WILL FOLLOW THE FLIND.......AND ANOTHER MAMAK SYED ALBAR IS CAUSING MALAYSIA ANOTHER HEADACHE...UMNO'S ALLAH IS NOW A PAWN IN THEIR HAND

AND THE MERCIFUL ALLAH IS WATCHING ....HOW THEY TWIST AND TURN AND MAKE THINGS AN ADVANTAGE FOR THEMSELVES...MONEY..POWER..WOMEN...MURDER..RAPE...

AH.............THE JUSTICE OF ISLAM.........

written by Msian 2, August 11, 2008 01:18:02
No wonder he is Botak - have to think so hard to twist the good teachings of islam. Maybe he only reads & understand the 'word' but not the context of the sentence or paragraph. Whatever it is, our Botak will face God's wrath in due time for all the money he has stolen or help to steal, the injustices etc.
written by inoi, August 12, 2008 17:59:00
Mengikut buku World fact of book,Malaysia mengamal separuh demokrasi,jadi berjaga-jaga setiap percakapan kita,ISA ada OSA pun ada.
written by omarkhayyam, August 12, 2008 20:13:39
dear Herald publishers,

can u just print frontpage on your paper n ask likewise that Albar "show cause" to rakyat malaysia why we need him around ?

written by roadbarra, August 13, 2008 03:45:03
Wow, ministers themselves are displaying intolerance to our society now. what a shame and disgrace this bald headed minister.
written by wargasetia, August 13, 2008 17:36:12
Politic is very hot in Malaysia. It makes you sound tension, felt dumb, insulted and all sort of bad words can easily come out from your mouth…

Unwind yourself guys… check this out…
sibuk sepanjang hari, kerja kuat, ke sana sini... jgn lupa hiburkan dan lapangkan diri sendiri.

kalau anda ingin tahu tarikh kelahiran dalam Kalendar Hijrah (Islamic Calendar) atau Kalendar Lunar (Chinese Calendar)... . senang saja... guna handphone.

utk tarikh kelahiran hijrah : taip Hijrah ddmmyyyy (tarikh lahir anda) dan hantar ke 32300.

contoh : Hijrah 01021979 dan hantar ke 32300

utk tarikh kelahiran lunar : taip Lunar ddmmyyyy (tarikh lahir anda) dan hantar ke 32300.

contoh : Lunar 01121979 dan hantar ke 32300 (useful for your feng shui)

sungguh mudah dan pantas.

caj cuma 50sen. sekali sahaja. anda cuma akan menerima satu sms sahaja.
p/s: jgn terperangkap dgn servis lain yg mana anda akan menerima lebih dari satu mesej utk satu pertanyaan. ini bermakna ada mungkin akan di caj 50sen dua kali atau lebih... selamat mencuba...