Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Apartment at the centre of sex trial

Apartment at the centre of sex trial PDF Print
Saturday, 09 August 2008 09:28
KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 9 — The sodomy trial of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is likely to centre on a condominium apartment where he is alleged to have sexually attacked a male aide.

The Desa Damansara Condominium unit is owned by a businessman and close friend of the opposition leader.

Anwar has not denied going there over the past several months, but only for secret talks with government leaders, businessmen and politicians.

He told The Straits Times that owner Hasanuddin Abdul Hamid, 63, allowed him use of the apartment, one of three the businessman owns there.

Located in the leafy Damansara Heights suburb, Desa Damansara is home to the rich and famous, including a former top banker and an ex-minister.

“Hasanuddin is a very close family friend and he allowed me the use of the apartment for my political meetings,” Anwar said.

He said he met several people, including an ex-banker and an economist there, but refused to identify them, saying he feared they might come under pressure from the government and their private sector employers.

“Several of them have been questioned (by the police), including Hasanuddin, and the police know we can account for our meetings there,” the opposition leader said.

He was charged on Thursday with sodomising former aide Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan, 23, on June 26 at the apartment. He pleaded not guilty and is out on bail.

His aides say that in the cloak-and-dagger world of Malaysian politics, having a secret meeting place is not uncommon.

This was especially so, given Anwar's efforts to woo Members of Parliament from the ruling Barisan Nasional to join his opposition alliance.

“At a time when the government is running scared about crossovers, how can we hold meetings in public?” asked a senior aide.

Anwar said that on the day of the alleged sexual assault he met an economist and a former banker, among others, to discuss economic strategies that his opposition alliance could pursue in the five states it controls.

The former deputy premier was sacked in 1998, and disqualified from running for election after his conviction for sodomy and graft in 2000. The sodomy conviction was later overturned.

He is now seeking re-election to Parliament in his old constituency in Penang.

Apartment owner Hasanuddin could not be reached, but Anwar's lawyers said the businessman was questioned for 25 hours by police over the report made by Saiful. They said Hasanuddin's wife was also questioned.

The low-profile businessman worked in the Finance Ministry in the late 1960s before joining national oil company Petronas as a special assistant to its then managing director.

In 1984 he joined the Fleet Group, the former investment arm of Umno.

Close associates said that he is now a strong supporter of the opposition Pas and spends most of his time at his lakeside home in Taiping.

- Singapore Straits Times

written by ROBERTNGTG, August 09, 2008 09:54:43
His aides say that in the cloak-and-dagger world of Malaysian politics, having a secret meeting place is not uncommon.
Apartment owner Hasanuddin could not be reached, but Anwar's lawyers said the businessman was questioned for 25 hours by police over the report made by Saiful. They said Hasanuddin's wife was also questioned.

WELL RODWAN HAD A SECRET RENDEZVOUS WITH THE SHITFUL BUT CAN GET AWAY WITHOUT
ANY ISSUE? I BET NOW THEY WILL HV GOT AN SD FROM HASANUDDIN AND THE MATTRESS WILL MAKE A GRAND ENTRANCE IN "THE MATTRESS II - THE RETURN"
written by benny loh, August 09, 2008 09:54:49
Stop butt----ing the nation..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...inder.html
written by Engineer, August 09, 2008 10:43:32
Another apartment next door, more things are happening.

Heard Najis and Atanduya used to frequent.

written by Yacob, August 09, 2008 10:46:31
Can Pak Lah be trusted ? How about Musa Hasan ?

Between Pak Lah and Anwar Ibrahim, who is more credible ? How about Saiful and Ezam, are they also like Pak Lah ?

Perhaps, Mahathir got the answer but the question that may arise, can Mahathir give us the answer sincerely because all of them are the most great liars in Malaysia presently.

written by Yacob, August 09, 2008 10:47:49
certainly, Anwar Ibrahim is not one of them.
written by Concerned_Citizen, August 09, 2008 11:12:58
If we could check SHITFUL's a**, I'm sure that he is still an untouced virgin. No one goin' to touch it, it smells Um-NOshit.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 09, 2008 11:17:09
If Malaysians are to live up to the basic worlds expectation of a rational & conscientious human eings ,then it is only natural that we are also humans with animal instinct;sexual istinct to be exact;sex used to be meant for procreation bu in todays world it is more towards sensual gratification;sex between two consenting adults is none of anyone*s business be it vaginal,oral or anal!Its high time to possess an open mind;that will make life more meaningful!
written by The dragonheart, August 09, 2008 12:36:45
Today's senior police officers are dumb... they climb the ladder via UMNO tickets...

Similarly the UMNO members... To be accepted as a grass rood ahli cawangan.. First you must not have greater education above PMR/LCE.. the lower the better...Second you must act like a dumb follower and must accept small pocket money and join tour tips to Medan/Padang or Haadyai and enjoy to the fullest... third must not complaint if they were asked to elect monkeys and donkeys to lead them... fourth stop those smarter from joining... if you can't get enough new followers, mat rempit, minah bohsia, and the sure heboh goers will be ever willing to join as long as you get them together and let them dream and have fun with their life to the fullest...

for the a little bid smarter blokes, get them in the government service and promote them to be leaders...

PDRM's leaderships is one of the UMNO target groups... I feel so sorry for those who are sincerely proud to be in the PDRM's outfit and to show their professionalism ..but the world are laughing at them...the stupidity and the unprofessionalism of their bosses...

The PTD officers are gone... the judges are gone.. The AG and his officers are dead... The BPR are like mice..Now the medical professionals are becoming tok dukun pak belalang...

Sooner..malaysia will be and out law states... the wild wild east... and we willhave the lone ranger, robin hood, kimasabe, jesse james... Chief sitting Bull etc etc...
written by temanmu, August 09, 2008 14:27:35
Singapore Straits Times got better news than propaganda local papers!

written by Sabahfan, August 09, 2008 21:47:19
UMNO cop says the offence occurred on...Jun 26..

when anwar gives a 100% fullproof alibi, the UMNO cops simply change to 27 or 27 jun.... simple, never ending chargews and amendments.

so Anwar needs to have a 24hr, 366 days per year alibi. is that possible>>?
written by freewilly2, August 10, 2008 06:18:05
kudos to u anwar for u have already planned on the economy of the 5 states while the BN was still pondering on why they lost the states. i m sure too u already have great plans ahead for the whole country once u become the PM whereas the BN top brass bastards are busy squandering the nation's wealth oversea. u reminded me of a chinese scholar by the name of Zhu GeLiang in the Warring Period(3 kingdom) in chinese history, who was always steps ahead of his enemy in warfare.