Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Police warn against gathering at conversion forum

Police warn against gathering at conversion forum PDF Print
Saturday, 09 August 2008 08:48

KUALA LUMPUR: Police will not hesitate to take action if anyone gathered at or near the Bar Council because of its forum on conversion to Islam.

Dang Wangi OCPD Asst Comm Zulkarnain Abdul Rahman said police would be on full alert and advised people not to hold gatherings there.

He said this was meant for those who were against the forum and those who supported it.

ACP Zulkarnain said police will not close any roads leading into the area but police personnel will be stationed in the areas where the gathering is expected to take place.

Several non-government organisations and a political party have called for demonstrations to be held to protest against the council’s public forum.

“As normal procedure, we will have our light strike force (LSF) and the Federal Reserve Unit (FRU) personnel on standby in the area,” he said.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said the council would have to face the consequences as it had been warned against holding the forum.

“The police will be prepared to face any outcome in the interest of maintaining public order,” he said of the demonstrations by groups who were against the forum.

Leaders meanwhile continued to criticise the council for going ahead with the forum.

Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam said the Internal Security Act (ISA) ought to be used if the continued questioning of Article 121 of the Federal Constitution resulted in racial tension.

Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin said the council should test the patience of the Malays and Muslims.

“Do not fan racial and religious issues to create tension and friction among the groups,” he said.

Women’s Development and Social Affairs Adviser to the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil said the forum might do more harm than the benefits which were intended.

She said Wanita Umno disagreed with the forum, adding that sensitive issues should not be made the subject of any public forum especially when the perimeters were not properly defined.

“The Bar Council, as a responsible professional body, should have the maturity to deal with such issues in a more responsible, sensitive and tactful manner so as to preserve the peace and harmony enjoyed by all,” she said.

PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said the forum on conversion to Islam should be held in closed-doors to allay fears given its sensitivities.

He said a closed-door forum would still allow people to express themselves without the discussion being seen as too provocative.

“I will personally advise that if they are to proceed, they should have a closed forum and then have engagement with those who have expressed concern,” he said at a press conference here yesterday.

- The Star

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by Tompios, August 09, 2008 09:10:42
This is real issue in Malaysian's home. Dear Malaysians, go and live in Sabah for a while and you can see how 'conversion to Islam' is something poking your head. We need to refine and make correction including re-institute those Mualaf (saudara baru) in the right light.

Many local non-Moslem Sabahn convert to Islam simply because they get marriage with a Moslem/Muslimah. Go and see how the Pakistani in Sabah marriage with local non-Moslem women and then going back to Pakistan forgetting all his responsibility to his wives and children. Most of them marriage for sex and converting non-Moslem to Islam. Talking about responsibilities, damn it! Nothing!
written by Daryl, August 09, 2008 09:33:52
PDRM issue a warning to all violator of the law, criminals ot those that thinks they want to commit crimes. Oh never mind that was in my dream...... Come on all we here your warning to the opposition parties and supporters about this and that. You have to know the past PRU-12 have almost 50% supports PR. If there were no cheating that might be a differnet story. SO BUZZ OF PDRM... This is a free country not a police state .... yet
written by cruzeiro, August 09, 2008 09:34:04
Today, we have politicians who would deny us all rights, for all the wrong reasons - apparently out of fear of this or that, when it is they who tend to provoke these imagined fears, so as to benefit from it.

* ...Do not speak of the "social contract" - it may provoke racial tensions, and it's seditious.

* ...Do not throw away the NEP crutch- you should fear being dispossessed, and that you cannot compete with the "pendatang" industry.

* ...Do not question cronyism - it is in the interest of enriching not just the poor and the middle-class, but also the rich and connected (of a certain "politically defined race" only, though). It is to achieve "equitable distribution of wealth among races" through preferential licencing and opportunities for plunder in failed/mega projects. Only then can the rempits and makcik shout for joy that "their people" are "successful.

* ...Do not question when you are denied opportunities - it is part of "the social contract", and you're a "pendatang". You have to be eternally grateful that you're given the opportunity to serve "god's gift to mankind", who happens to have a fetish for the anally inclined.

* ...Do not speak of the legal implications of conversions (that's the latest)- you should fear the "sensitive" nature of the topic, lest it "provokes tension".

* ...Do not challenge the "authority" of the Government - we're "pantang dicabar"(and it isn't our culture)!

* ...Do not question Petronas accounts or the numerous "mega-concessions" - it is under OSA and trust us when we say that it is well managed. They only invest in F1 or send numerous 4WD troupes to god-forsaken deserts to test their oil.

This phenomenon is uniquely Malaysian ......
- do not speak, do not write, do not debate, do not ask, do not think - we just need to "keep the peace".
Is such a peace worth it, even if it strips you of all human dignity?
I'm not so sure myself - maybe it is .....
If so, what was so wrong about being a colony of the Brits? We certainly had plenty of "peace" and wealth was created by them in rubber , tin and trade ..... except for one unavoidable war.
==============================

NEP : Trading Rights for "Peace and Prosperity"
http://cruzinthots.********.co...e-and.html
written by 1eyecls, August 09, 2008 09:37:18
yalah,hisapputin,kami amat takutlah,takut nanti melatu mengamok disebabkan forum BAR ini,tapi,peliklah,seorang yang cintakan keamanan,menteri prlajaran lagi,hulur keris depan mata seluruh rakyat dgn kata-2 kesat,ini tidak melukakan hati orang-2 bukan-melayu?termasuk kroni-2 parti UMNO macam MCA,MIC dsn???i shak u ada tak ada otak!
written by 1eyecls, August 09, 2008 09:39:16
typo eror:melatu=melayu
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 09, 2008 10:01:50
Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam said the Internal Security Act (ISA) ought to be used if the continued questioning of Article 121 of the Federal Constitution resulted in racial tension.
Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin said the council should test the patience of the Malays and Muslims.
“Do not fan racial and religious issues to create tension and friction among the groups,” he said.

YEP, JUST BRING IT ALL OUT - THE ISA, THE KERIS. YOU ARE THE REAL NUTS SUFFERING FROM THE INFERIORITY COMPLEX. BAR COUNCIL, CANCEL THIS FORUM AS IT IS CLEAR THAT IT WOULD BE A WASTE OF TIME HAVING SUCH FORUMS AT SUCH A TIME. JUST SUPPORT DSAI FOR A BETTER TOMORROW.
written by padhma, August 09, 2008 10:29:58
Are Malaysians incapable of having intellectual discussions? Stop making fools of Malaysia and Malaysians. If Malaysians are not allowed to discuss issues just because its sensitive then in cleary paints an image that Malaysians are first class morons.
Malaysians are good at sweeping things under the carpet by labeling them sensitive. Grow up. The politicians are the ones that are blowing the whole issue out of propotion.
Even if Malaysias want to progress, politicians will not allow.
Politicians are painting a negative picture of Malaysians. You can't discuss this, you can't discuss that...are Malaysians barbarians?
written by gordy, August 09, 2008 10:32:09
Demonstartion started @ 0830 with about 100 people. Now there's about 1000 people in front of the Bar Council with posters and chanting slogans. The Police and Fru have been very patient with them.

Pls dont come to town as the roads leading to it have been closed. A lot of onlookers and foreigners are around too. Quite niosy now........
written by bakarsmoke, August 09, 2008 10:41:13
KUALA LUMPUR: About 200 people from various groups and organisations gathered outside the Bar Council building here on Saturday morning to demonstrate against a forum.

The police and FRU were present to maintain the peace.

At about 9.30am the Bar Council was instructed by the police to wrap up the forum by 10am.

The forum on conversion to Islam has attracted some flak as certain parties have said it was inappropriate and should only be held behind closed doors.

from the star latest.
"Bar Council was instructed by the police to wrap up the forum by 10am"

under what section of the law to instructed the bar to stop forum by 1000am.

written by smpadayachi, August 09, 2008 11:02:12
This is really a sad moment for anyone that really wants to see a meaningful discussion to address a very serious issue, but instead they want to take the easy way out to quiet people. It's like Anwar Ibrahim trying to stand up to make his presence known to the evil empire the United Malay National Organisation how to eradicae stupidity and blindness in the political landscape, but here in modern century with some educated folks coupled along with some fanatical people really wants to see non-Muslim voices are never heard in Malaysia.

How can we achieve an equal stance to everyone when a simple and basic questions cannot be achieved? This is what people say one step forward and two step backward. It's crying shame when fanatical and radicalism can silence a simple form of conversation and discussion. Albeit, our heartful thanks to Ms. Ambiga Sreenevasan as well as to Mr. Ragunath Kesavan to start a meaningful event for what is the real purpose to live on this planet earth.
written by PakPandir, August 09, 2008 11:15:51
What ?????? the Keris is talking racial harmony, my asss......