Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow AMCHAM Calls For More Openness In Tenders & Access To Govt Projects

AMCHAM Calls For More Openness In Tenders & Access To Govt Projects PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 08 August 2008 17:47
KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 8 (Bernama) -- The American Malaysian Chamber of Commerce (AMCHAM) has called for more openness in tenders and access to government projects to enhance investor confidence. In a memorandum to the International Trade and Industry Ministry, AMCHAM recommended the tender process be opened to all qualified suppliers or manufacturers according to the required job and project specifications.

"Openness and transparency will promote Malaysia as an investment destination and reliable trading partner within Asean," it said in the memorandum.

AMCHAM also proposed for the abolition of Approved Permit (AP). Malaysia limits motorcycle imports through the AP system.

Under the government's New Automotive Policy (NAP) enforced this year, no new APs will be issued to any existing or new company.

As for the Information and Communications Technology sector, AMCHAM recommended that the Malaysian government accede as a full member of the Government Procurement Committee (GPA) within a reasonable time.

Such a move would make Malaysia as an even greater destination for inward investment for the global ICT industry, in particular for software and outsourced services, it said.

The GPA is an agreement in the World Trade Organisation (WTO) focusing on government procurements.

It should be noted that China agreed after five years of WTO membership to accede to the GPA in 2007 and is currently negotiating its membership.

On Free Commercial Zone charges, AMCHAM called for a review of the charges to be fair to express carriers and freight forwarders.

The Free Commercial Zone Authority at KL International Airport has been imposing the RM5 charge since July 2000.

The industry feels the charges are unjustifiable.

-- BERNAMA
written by Edward C, August 08, 2008 18:25:10
I was just thinking about this today when I saw in the news paper regarding MPSJ buying notebooks at RM6,400 per piece. Definately there are some things very wrong with the picture.

The government (under BN) has set up so many layers of red tapes and conditions before one individual or company can supply things to the government. Surely people must know, every layer you create, you are actually inflating the cost!! Even at normal profit margins, they are what the word signifies "PROFIT MARGIN"!! Every time there is a layer, there will be profit margin attached to that. GRANTED, the government needs to ensure the suppliers are of credible standings and the items they supply to the government is of the required standards. (or so we wish.. but that is another story).

I would like to see the government "de-regularize" certain items which should be considered commodity. For example, Pencils are going to bo Pencils. Why should you order from XYZ Sdn Bhd pencils will be pencils regardless from who you source them. So long as they meet the specs of the manufacturer, it should be good enough. Why have layers built into the system to inflate the cost of such commodities?

PC and notebooks. Most branded equipment can be found online and their pricing is also displayed. So why buy Dell from XYZ Sdn Bhd when you can buy it direct from DELL????

I strongly believe the PK states should start dismantling these practice for the "de-regularized" list of supplies to the government. It will contribute to better pricing for supplies to the goverment and will cut out all unnecessary "PROFIT MARGINS" artificially created by haveing layers between the manufacturers and the consumer.
written by JaguhKampung, August 08, 2008 18:29:20
This will be a call on deaf ears is the current BN government continue to hold on to power. Things will never change with them. It's just getting worse.
written by ctchoolaw, August 08, 2008 19:25:09
It is terribly embarassing for Malaysia to be told by an American Chamber of Commerce that the system of giving out contracts is not open and, therefore open to abuse. http://ctchoolaw.blogspot.com/
written by mgeo, August 08, 2008 19:43:11
Specifically in dealing with the Great Shaitan US, we can do without openness. Otherwise we end up with obsolete technology, dirty industries, obsolete and exorbitantly priced medicines and food, "aid" for buying their goods and services, and infiltration of our country.
written by ahmadneil, August 08, 2008 19:43:19
What are there to ashame of when the BN gov't don't even know the meaning of this word CORRUPTED .
written by qwerty, August 08, 2008 21:32:41
I've brought in a bunch of UK investors which had dumped in a couple of million ringgits & after six years they had enough with our government's so called open tenders. You could easily go around it with just a letter of recommnedation from the KSU to get you the job if you're of a certain race. Needless to say we as an NRCC(non resident controlled company)loses out everytime! To rub salt into the wound, them bastards that got the job, came back to us to get the job done! Of course my investors had decided to relocate & tell the government to shove it up where the sun doesn't shine!

Been there, done that, got the dammed t-shirt!"

Anybody got a vacancy?
written by lynn, August 08, 2008 21:52:26
Umno govt remains bold & outrageous even though the people know which of its ministers are on the take & definitely guilty of corruption.

This sodomy case against Anwar is one which many people I met, speak about it with anger & outrage. The same outrage people feel when the useless police set up roadblocks all over KL. The same degree of boiling anger & hatred for the umno-led govt when bodowi increased petrol price & announced it on a busy rainy Wednesday evening. The sleeping PM ****ed the rakyat & came out smiling broadly to the press represented by the MSM. Reminds me of Bush that mass murderer from the other side of the globe. No remorse, unaffected by all the pain, death & anguish he caused in Iraq. Same as this no. 1 govt servant, no conscience, no remorse. Wonders whether he sleeps well at night.

Bodowi, still smiling sweetly to the citizens of Bodohland. He is probably stupidly smart; he knows half the rakyat in Bodohland are more stupid than he. At least he is very well-off now while this 50% is going to hell to survive. And I bet you, come August 26, there will be some 15,000 or 20,000 ****ing shit-for-brains idiots, morons voters who will cast their votes for that bn candidate.

We endured a lot of unnecessary red tape when dealing with govt depts. over the years & gritted our teeth. All these is a result of govt servants' attitude & their misplaced perception we are at their mercy. It's time Malaysians stand up & speak up & shout back at these civil servants. A few mths back, I tried to open a bank a/c at a RHB branch in PJ & the woman clerk demanded I prove to her I live in that area otherwise I have to go to another branch. So I boldly asked her, is this bank a government department? A man at the back came out, waived the requirement!!! What the ****? That stupid arrogant attitude. Look, this country is ****-up in every way. Name me one area that it is not & let's have a debate.

In fact, the whole set-up in Bodohland, if you analyse in depth, the end result, is people resorting to greasing, to get in, or get OUT.
written by wood, August 08, 2008 22:34:18
BN and Gomen the world is watching and laughing at us !
How can you all look at yourself in the mirror every morning !!!!!!!

smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by welldone, August 08, 2008 22:47:36
The more red tapes & layers, the money they can make. As lynn pointed out, in bodohland, you don't have to have all the knowledge & expertise, all you need is to be an UMNOPUTERAs and you're a millionaire, maybe even billionaire. You just sit and collect money that's all...........

With the on-going rate, we'll be over taken by 3rd world countries like Vietnam, Cambodia in another 10 - 15 years. At that time, maybe Vietnam & Cambodia has elevated themselves to "developing country" maybe even "developed country", compared to us, we'll be a 3rd world country by then, if not 4th World (if there's any...he he he)
written by partiotic, August 09, 2008 01:15:31
Hello! AMCHAM if you want to tender project please go to state run by Pakatan Rakyat and PAS. They practice open tender system and no hanky panky and no a chi a chor. I am sure you know the meaning of a chi a chor as you are chinese.

If you want to tender project in state run by BN very difficult a lot of red tape. Don't worry very soon Pakatan Rakyat will form the next government then tender will be very smooth so long every thein is in right order.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009