Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Penang Govt To Reveal Another Land Scam Soon, Says CM

Penang Govt To Reveal Another Land Scam Soon, Says CM PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 08 August 2008 17:41
PENANG, Aug 8 (Bernama) -- Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said today the state government would reveal another land scam that occurred during the previous administration. "It is not my responsibility to dig out scams as I am tired of it too, but because it involves state finance and public money, I must make it public," he told a news conference at his office.

Last week, Lim said the state government had dug out "probably the largest land scam in Penang history", involving RM124 million.

Lim also said that he had received a letter from Agenda Daily news portal yesterday, inviting him to a public debate with his predecessor Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon but he had not read it yet.

He said he would welcome the debate if it was to discuss the land issue and without any condition.

"I am still wondering whether the news portal is sending the letter on Koh's behalf but I hope the debate will focus only on the land scam issue," he said.

In an immediate response, Koh said in a statement that he was prepared to debate with Lim "even though he dared not accept my two conditions."

Koh had previously said that he was prepared to accept an open debate with Lim on conditions that it must be a truly fair debate, and that it could only take place after the conclusion of an upcoming court hearing.

He also said that

Lim was trying to deny him a level playing field in the debate by not allowing him access to basic information.

The debate, organised by Agenda Daily, is expected to take place on Aug 20 in Shah Alam.

This will be the second debate between Koh and Lim, after the first one 20 years ago at the Penang Town Hall when both were youth leaders of Gerakan and DAP respectively.

-- BERNAMA
written by Sitora, August 08, 2008 17:50:29
This is a typical of BN administration, they robbed lands from the poor to enrich themselves. Look at how many of them had become millionaires from such scams.
written by alberttan, August 08, 2008 17:52:27
The way Johan Jaafar handled himself after the Anwar-Shabery debate shows how partial Johan is to the BN. As far as I am concerned, JJ has lost all credibility as a moderator in any debate and Agenda Daily might as well change its name to Agenda UMNO for all I care.
written by krising1, August 08, 2008 17:52:43
Apa ini debate? Just report it to the ACA and let them take care of it. CMs do not around challenging everyone fora debate. What happenned to the last land scame which was discovered. Did the ACA investigate? What about the funs held by the wives?
written by jjireh99, August 08, 2008 18:40:41
aiyah, it takes time-wat. you think aca is so free-meh. look how many corruption cases they have recently and all dating back to the previous gomen. sick of these buggers in gerakan/bn! CM LGE is my man! don't worry CM LGE, take your time. 4-5 oso never mind!
written by jjireh99, August 08, 2008 18:42:31
sorry, should read as 4-5 years oso can. don't rush. just scrutinise properly. if 4-5 years cannot finish, oso never mind. rakyat can give you another 10 years if need be.
written by ctchoolaw, August 08, 2008 19:26:05
Keep digging up the abuses, Guan Eng. Good job Pakatan! http://ctchoolaw.blogspot.com/
written by ahmadneil, August 08, 2008 19:48:57
Yes, LGE keep on digging,the more the better.Bring in some excavators to dig if you have any problem with manpower.Dig the whole of penang if needs arise.
written by InEffective, August 08, 2008 19:56:19

LGE, you have no choice but to surface all these violations of the people's moneys and assets.

The rakyat demands to know our resident crooks and criminals, so that we can make better choices of politicians and civil servants.
written by loosecannon, August 08, 2008 20:09:29
If I were Lim Guan Eng, I'll keep digging but keep the details under wrap for the moment. Wait till a new government is formed, have the police, judiciary and the ACA revamped with new principled leaders, then start the investigation into these corruption cases. Don't waste time and opportunity now because they will only brush it aside. The usual "no case" response from the BN.
written by thumb, August 08, 2008 20:46:58
LGE just dig up the scams let the rakyaat know, and will know where to send the pig when election comes.Why waste time debating with crooks and criminals. Report them to ACA and hope for the best!
written by Msian 2, August 08, 2008 21:51:39
See how many datuks there are in UMNO/BN parties. Filled with crook datukships unfortunately. How come our beloved Lim Kit Siang don't even have a datukship. Something is wrong somewhere. But fortunately people heart knows the difference. Its time the conferrement of datukship be more meaningful.
written by wood, August 08, 2008 22:35:46
Harapkan pagar , pagar makan padi ! Hope not true ?????
written by cllim123, August 08, 2008 23:01:53
Act now you stupid ACA and stop being the UMNO goons that you are. Catch Koh Tsu Koon and his umno gang who scammed the penang people.
written by Hakim Joe, August 09, 2008 00:45:42
Look here KTK, you sorry ass of a human being, what level playing field are you referring to? The uneven level now being created by your BN running dogs (PDRM Samsengs) against RPK, Penarik Beca and DSAI? Or is it the uneven level playing field created by Gerakan when they were the State Gomen in Penang?

This is politics and PR is only doing unto you what you did to everybody else before. Stop crying like a baby girl. Where's your miniskirt? Or are you scared that you will reveal to all that you do not possess any balls?

A Land Scam is a Land Scam and that means that you Gerakan traitors were directly involved in it. Hold your effing horses, man! You will get to know which Land Scam Guan Eng is going to expose later...or is it a fact that you had so many Land Scam going that you are unable to identify which one is being exposed now?
written by Kopi37, August 09, 2008 00:49:19
We Penangites welcome the move of LGE to dig out all the filthy scandals of the ex-Government led by KTK, put him as the culprit and not only that, take him to tasks with all the evidence gathered enough to shut the mouth of ACA so as not to be evasive of their duties!

Open debate is not necessary and a sheer waste of time and resources for an alleged criminal who is a suspect of abet in the purported land scams! The court is the proper place to debate! Let him argue in court with the prosecutor and the peoples will be the judge on-looking the whole court proceedings! Never mind about the verdict, the expose of the prima facie evidence will be enough to conclude a verdict who he is. Whether he is the self-proclaimed pious and honest learned man or he is one of another liar typical to the UMNO breed?!...............

Isn't it fair for him to pay back all those he had absconded, the assets of all Penangites?!
written by benny loh, August 09, 2008 01:50:43
Land scam again...stop Butt....ing the nation
http://malaysiancartoons.blogs...inder.html
written by mmrokay, August 09, 2008 08:47:47
Go Guan Eng !!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009