The chameleon PDF Print
Saturday, 02 August 2008 09:25

Many of us who know the internal problem Ezam created within the party heaved a sigh of relief when he submitted his Umno form and it was a joke among us that his application was accepted but as a second-class member.

By Khalid Jaafar, The Malaysian Insider

"If you ask me what kind of image I want" he once told me at my office in Jalan Telawi, Bangsar, Kuala Lumpur, "I want an image of a liberal."

He does not want to be a true liberal as the notions of spontaneous order, the virtue of the market and limited government are too strange for him. He just wanted a public perception that he wasn't an Islamic fundamentalist or a Malay ultra.

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was still languishing in prison when I had this conversation with Ezam Mohd Nor and our party was dogged with an identity problem. I had yet to know then that he was already a mole, a Reformasi Lai Teck.

But today, as he turns away with vengeance against his former mentor, hurling vituperative against Anwar's cosmopolitanism and inclusive social and political philosophy, Ezam has re-embraced Umno's most decadent form of racial ideology. His return to his old party will only help plunge Umno into a deeper ideological crisis, alienating its power-sharing partners, and his strident Malay rhetoric will drive away idealistic youths in search for an integrated Malaysia in disgust.

He must be suffering from a lapse of memory that we are now living in the 21st century. There are the unstoppable and irreversible forces of globalisation affecting everybody and Umno’s exclusivist philosophy of Ketuanan Melayu is grossly out of key with time.

There is market still for Ezam's venom but a rapidly shrinking market. If Umno is really for the Malays there is still a political base to be consolidated. But the implementation of the NEP has been so corrupt in the last two decades only the naive would swallow government propaganda without being squeamish.

Many of us who know the internal problem he created within the party heaved a sigh of relief when he submitted his Umno form and it was a joke among us that his application was accepted but as a second-class member.

Still, I am often asked: "Why? What really happened?" Many find it difficult to comprehend why those who have found themselves estranged with the party for various reasons returned to the fold after Anwar was released but Ezam was at odds with everyone and finally left us.

The popular explanation was that it was the bitter personal rivalry between the two former secretaries for their boss's attention. As a person who has worked as Anwar’s press secretary for 10 years I found the explanation rather silly.

"The party has no discipline," he blurted out on the only occasion we had a heated argument. He wanted the party to take stern measures against his rivals who deliberately skipped party meetings. But in the years when I was a member of the supreme council he was known for his sparse attendance, and while present he was in the habit of being the last to come and the first to leave.

In the media he made innuendos on a particular person who is rich and comfortable while other Reformasi activists were slogging to make ends meet. But very few know that he received salaries from at least three companies, pocketing a salary equivalent to a CEO of a listed company. He was always being chauffeur-driven in fancy cars, and moved around with unproductive auxiliaries, reminiscent of the habits of Umno politicians.

His attacks have always been personal, spewing venom at Azmin Ali, and me on much lesser scale. Now he has upped the ante by mounting personal attacks against Anwar himself. A corporate person whose company provided Ezam with a fancy car told me recently: "All the time he tried to poison my mind on Anwar's character. He claimed to know Anwar inside out."

He created the impression that as political secretary he has opened Anwar's closet and found piles of stinking skeletons in there. The next prime minister has met his nemesis. I was more amused than alarmed at his threat.

Of the three of us — Azmin, Ezam and I — Ezam knows Anwar the least simply because he joined the office of the deputy prime ministry — regrettably on my strongest recommendation — barely two years of the DPM's tragic sacking. I served as Anwar's press secretary for 10 years, and Azmin preceded me by a few months.

During the two years Ezam could not have seen much of Anwar Ibrahim. He only met him during weekly staff meetings of which he was mainly silent perhaps for being too young and too much in awe of the future prime minister or when he accompanied him in public political functions.

Azmin, being the private secretary, saw the boss the most in private. He was the gate keeper, arranging meetings and communicating messages to the corporate and political movers and shakers of Malaysia.

I had the singular honour of dealing with the most uncelebrated visitors, people whom other secretaries prefer to make themselves scarce when they knocked at the door of the DPM's office. They are intellectuals, genuine and occasionally pseudo, great scholars as well as deep thinkers. It was a real pleasure to open the door for Seyyed Hossein Nasr and Ali Mazrui, and it was a real treat to sit in and to listen to Anwar’s conversations with Nobel laureate V.S. Naipaul and futurist Alvin Toffler.

Ezam, I suppose, must be the Special Branch's biggest success story in turning over. If he wasn't turned over how he could have written a letter to Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi while serving his prison term in Kajang. He was the most celebrated of the ISA detainees but upon his released he refused to be present with them at a press conference. He also avoided being on the same platform at any rally.

When Anwar was released and regained his health, leaders fought tooth and nail to have him speak at their constituency. But Ezam evaded offers by Anwar to speak in Shah Alam, his division, and asked Shamsul Iskandar to sit in for him as Anwar toured of the country.

Why Ezam failed the test while the rest continue to walk tall as Reformasi heroes? I think he suffered from a disease I call Alcibiades syndrome. Alcibiades was the most controversial Athenian politician during the Peloponnesian War and one of the disciples of Socrates. He was immortalised in Plato's dialogue called "The Symposium". Instead of trying to understand Socrates' philosophy he was enthralled with the personality of the philosopher.

His speech in the symposium was all encomia to his teacher. In his politics he betrayed Athens by joining the city's mortal enemy, Sparta, then rejoined Athens to fight against Sparta and later betrayed Athens to join the Persians.

I saw Ezam giving a similar speech in Jakarta, when we were in a short exile, at the launching of the Indonesian version of Anwar’s Asian Renaissance. He didn't say a sentence on the book, or about Tagore, or Iqbal, or Rizal and Okakura. He was saying "Anwar this, Anwar that" and I at the time was praying that lightning and thunder would strike so that he could end his dumb speech.

I saw him in Ipoh where I heard him say: "I joined Umno because of Anwar Ibrahim, and left Umno because of Anwar Ibrahim." Of which he received a standing ovation among the youth delegates.

I saw his character in the Romance of Three Kingdoms, in the personality of Lu Bu whose politics is marked with a series of betrayals. But both Lu Bu and Alcibiades ended in ignominious deaths.

Khalid Jaafar is a Parti Keadilan Rakyat supreme council member and a close confidante of Anwar.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by ctchoolaw, August 02, 2008 09:30:46
Truly an attempt to describe the political soul of Ezam the prodigal son turned traitor and enemy of DSAI. Is his political death imminent? http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by fireduck, August 02, 2008 09:39:14
The latest sodomy scandal against Anwar may have been orchestrated, planned, designed, coordinated, or whatever you called it, by Ezam. Somehow I feel his hand is involved. Notice how soon after he rejoined UMNO and this scandal came about? Maybe Saiful was recruited by Ezam even. Maybe Ezam was already planning revenge against DSAI, Azmin, and the PKR even before March 8th -- that would account why he did not even accept any offer to contest on a then Barisan Rakyat ticket. He needed to put all his moles and plans in place first. And maybe all these while he was already firmly reconnected with Abdullah, Najib and the whole gang bang. The GERAK organization was only a front for his sinister activities.

We must watch out for this morally despicable character.
written by KELADIHUTAN, August 02, 2008 09:41:02
Thnx for the exposure. I'm clarified now. It's good that he's joined UMNO. That's where he truly belongs.

written by Engineer, August 02, 2008 09:44:29
I would like to summarize all that you have said in one sentence.

Ezam is a heartless mole is a heartless mole is a heartless mole
written by arazak, August 02, 2008 09:46:08
But Ezam is unfazed with the fanfare. "If I contest I'm going to be the underdog. I know it's difficult to unseat Anwar in his former constituency."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ezam, you are not an “underdog”, you are an UMNO’s “lapdog” and a “chameleon”;

This was what told to you by Anwar;
“Lagikan Naga sudah ku lawan,
Ini kan pula cicak-mengkarung!”

Translation;
“Even with dragons I have battled,
This chameleon is nothing”.

True facts indeed, chameleon changes it's colors all the time . . ., just like Ezam!

smilies/wink.gif
written by alpha1, August 02, 2008 09:50:20
Ezam who?? Ohh.. that ball carrier..This ass is like walking naked in the street with his two balls swinging up and down without feeling embarrass and shameful.. Contest in PP against DSAI? Please go. I sponsor air ticket! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by BORN FREE, August 02, 2008 09:58:18
He is a traitor, only desperate ppl in UMNO wants him back !
Anyway, he is fit for UMNO cos birds of the feather flocks together !
written by Liberace, August 02, 2008 10:26:31
Mr Khalid,

I hope you wrote this article yourself because if this is really you, I congratulate PKR for its depth of quality. It's not a one-man party and although Anwar is its charismatic leader, PKR will not die with him. As with all cream, it will rise to the top. After all these years of mouth-frothing, ridiculous, shallow, and mindless statements from Barisan ministers, I sometimes think that Malaysia is bereft of any leader of substance. Khairy perhaps fancied himself a pedigree, but it took Lim Kit Siang no more than 3 sentences to put him in his place. BN continues to remind us everyday that we are being ruled by imbeciles through the statements made by our top echelon politicians, namely Badawi, Syed Hamid, Hishamuddin, Shabery, and most recently, Liow. PKR, you have the intellectuals, reformers, philosophers, strategists and communicators. It's time to get cracking and get rid of that rubbish called Barisan Nasional.

By the way, the very first line quoting Ezam on how he would like to be seen says everything about him. He's self-promoting and image-conscious and before he's done anything, he was thinking about posterity.
written by Mr Smith, August 02, 2008 10:52:52
How on earth can a nonentity match up to the intelligence, international image, charisma and elan of Anwar Ibrahim?
Rightly Anwar has ignored his histrionics and venon spewing rhetorics.
He is an insignificant political minnow, yet the mighty UMNO has to use him to discredit Anwar. How pathetic?
In any case, what damage can he do to Anwar's image that has not already been done by the media, an ex-PM, the current PM ,the entire police force, the AG chambers and cabinet ministers. And of course Chandra Muzaffar.
Shall we just ignore this scum.
written by Taikohtai, August 02, 2008 11:03:54
Top 5 reasons why EZAM is irrelevant:

5: Same UMNO sh*t, just different attire
4: He was just the pacemaker in the major race
3: When the going gets tough, the MAZE turns lalang
2: Hangat Hangat Tahi Ayam
1: He suffers from STOCKHOLM Syndrome!
written by Ckchew, August 02, 2008 11:11:04
Pak Khalid, mat ezam is not Lu Bu. he is more like Cai He, the so-called deserter sent by the wicked pm to the south but end up being sacrificed.

But Zhou Yu said to Cai He, "What sort of a fellow are you, think you, to come and pretend to desert to my side? I need a small sacrifice for my flag, and your head will serve my purpose. So I am going to use it."
written by glock17, August 02, 2008 11:47:26
Symposium describe Ezam craze and jealosy of his former mentor. Romance of The 3 Kingdom describe his bloody death at the hand of his confused followers and rivals alike.

I think this maniacal Judas wannabees will betray anybody for a sum of 30 silver coins.

He will go down in history...and all people will spit and cursed at the name Ezam now and forever more.

Glock17
written by glock17, August 02, 2008 11:50:11
We would really like to crucify this mole in public if it was the time of the Romans. In the Sultanate time, the simple hukum 'Sula' will be more appropriate for this slimey backstabbing motha.****e...!!!
written by Man In Black, August 02, 2008 12:16:33
Khalid,
A very well articulated piece of article. This is the difference between the UMNO doggs and Pakatan Rakyat champions. Let's not waste our time on Ezam the scummbag...Lets put our soul and energy to make sure DSAI road to PUTRAJAYA!!!!!
written by debids, August 02, 2008 12:51:29
A disgrace to the animal he is likened to!
written by ganbing, August 02, 2008 12:58:38
Ezam is back where he belongs - Umno. He's building a palace for himself, and he doesn't want to work for his money, Umno style. But now he's in a political wasteland, estranged from PKR but not trusted by Umno so he's desperately trying to prove his worth. He will end up being the beating boy of Umno, used, abused, sidelined and then cast out.

written by joeyhuang, August 02, 2008 13:03:28
DEAR EZAM,
I took pity upon you as I see a LOST man, in the jungle of politics.
You tried to cash out and won't mind sacrificing yourself for the "comforts and luxuries" you enjoyed all these years.
You are not able to shred off the pampered elite UMNO Youth mentality, unable to transform like your former boss DSAI.
Unless you change your inner self, the future for you is more sufferings in years to come.
written by rainmanpj, August 02, 2008 13:39:47
Azmin looks like a decent guy and work quietly behind the scene,like a home minister stuff.
written by Kaneeneh, August 02, 2008 13:59:57
Khalid Jaafar - I am impressed with this article. It shows what a well read person, a well informed person, and a fair minded person would say and do in a modern world, inhabited not by one race, and not afraid to read and quote the teachings of history and the various world literatures. I wonder if the menteris in Malaysia even comes close to your intellect.
written by futureman, August 02, 2008 14:34:12
JUST HEARD THIS IN THE STREETS THAT EZAM COME NOMINATION DAY IS GOING TO PULL THE RUG UNDER THE BN'S FEET. THIS IS ANWAR'S INSURANCE POLICY THAT NO MATTER WHAT DIRTY TRICKS BN PULLS , HE WILL GET ELECTED TO PARLIMENT HOOK OR CROOK. EZAM IS PART OF ANWAR'S DPU. THESE HAVE BEEN SEND TO BN'S CAMP TO SOW DISORDER WHEN TIME COME FOR ANWAR TO TAKE POWER. ANWAR IS A MASTER CHESS PLAYER AND HE HAS COVERED ALL THE ANGLES. EZAM WILL BE NOMINATED BY BN AND COME NOMANITION DAY HE WILL SCREW UP THE NOMINATION PAPERS AND GIVE ANWAR THE VICTORY. THIS IS NO FANTASY BUT FACTS. THE DPU UNIT WHICH WERE TOLD NOT TO QUIT UMNO WHEN UMNO BANISHED AND JAILED ANWAR. THIS WAS ANWAR'S SECURITY THAT WHEN TIME TO TAKE POWER THESE ELEMENTS OF THE DPU WHO HAVE BEEN SLEEPER AGENTS FOR THE LAST TEN YEARS WILL NOT COME OUT WHEN ANWAR IS ELECTED AND DEFECT. HE HAS MORE THEN 30 SLEEPER AGENST IN BN. ALL TALK ABOUT SABAH AND SARAWAK MP'S IS JUST A RED HEERING. HE HAS ENOUGH OF UMNO MEMBERS WHO WILL DEFECT AND PR WILL BE A MALAY MAJORITY ALLIANCE JUST LIKE BN. I HAVE SOME NAMES OF UMNO MPS WHO WILL DEFECT. BETTER NOT REVEALED NOW OR ALL THESE MPS WILL BE IN TROUBLE. I TOO AM WAITING FOR ANWAR TO TAKE POWER. JUST WAIT AND SEE AND RPK KNOWS BETTER
written by Henry, August 02, 2008 14:34:17
Khalid I am delighted to read your article. Good work and I hope Anwar will succeed to form a new government soon. Two dyas ago two lorry loads of Bandar Raya workers came to TMN Sri Sinar and destroyed the concrete steps and iron railings facing a restaurant. These items were built by the developer of the shop lots and had been there for the past ten years. Why out of a sudden came and destroyed these fixtures ? Pour their anger because the people voted BN out ? Because the restaurant operator no longer gave out bribes ? The rate the DBKL employees behave, the anger in the people grow stronger to see the demise of UMNO and BN. And Ezam ? An empty vessel clinging to a dying emperor trying to flex his last ounce of energy. Well done Khalid and friends and also well wishes to my great friend the defender of of the poor victims Raja Petra. Keep working and we are with you always.
written by peace brother, August 02, 2008 14:38:42
He is Darth Vader in the episode of star war. smilies/grin.gif
written by Braino, August 02, 2008 14:43:04
Truly great stuff...finally someone with deep thoughts!...the mark of a true Malaysian!...let it out brother!...we want to hear more from you!
written by power2u, August 02, 2008 15:58:26
Now the malays will not want their sons to have these names:
1st -Saiful
2nd -Ezam
3rd -Najib
written by macaufan, August 02, 2008 16:14:11
come lah.... braders! this Ezam pariah-dog is a thing of d pass & not worth talking any further. v should unite our bullets for Anwar & PR fight to Putrajaya ! smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Yacob, August 02, 2008 16:45:45
Sooner or later Ezam would claim that he was also sodomised by Anwar. Pak Lah and Najib would confirm that they witnessed that sodomy.
written by yy88, August 02, 2008 16:54:59
Power2u, I can't agreed more with you that these name will be avoided like plague. They belong to a unique class of its own where the toilet W/C always welcome them with open arms.

1st -Saiful (Shit Full)-In Hokkien, sai means shit
2nd -Ezam (Easy as Manure)
3rd -Najib (Najis)
4th -Badawi (Bad are we)
We, Rakyat are really in deep SHIT.
written by Good News, August 02, 2008 16:58:50
Alas, you can find a lot of 'Ezam' kind of people everywhere, who would like to out-shine his superiors, perceiving himself as the smarter one, but forgetting himself having a lesser brain.
written by taufan, August 02, 2008 17:26:52
UMNO have its 'Court Magician' who goes by the conjuring cry, "zam, zam ala kazam!"

This E..zam fella have take over from the previous 'Zam (Zainuddin Maidin)'
written by Motherchell, August 02, 2008 17:42:44
Khalid Jaafer, your piece here is a gem , beautifully portrayed with the rhythms of truths, despondence and inner feelings of a true patriot.
We need so many of you Khalid here in this beloved Country of ours . I'm so very happy we have an alternative path to sow a New dominion to counter, shape and rebuild with the justness. The destruction of the Institutions that is going on for the past 50 years--has to be stopped!
Its better we leave the scums to self destruct on their own. Their God is not our God !

We truly want and need leaders like you Khalid!!
God bless you and your family , I include your family because --- I can sit here miles away and judge the erudition of your parents who gave you this gem. Reading between the lines --- I can see your blessed endeavors for the Rakyat too, clearly. Thank you for being there!!
written by dsahlim, August 02, 2008 20:15:19
Saudara Khalid, you have revealed the true color of Ezam an inconsistent, capricious and notoriously fickle person without a mind of his own. 7 years ago when Ezam was in Kajang jail I wrote an article in the Sydney Morning Herald in support of him for his struggle to uphold Anwar Ibrahim's Reformasi. Ezam though appeared to be a big men on the blower back then talked about anti-corruption but now coward in the caucus trapped in the web of UMNO's rampant corruptions.

Salem Reformasi,
Daniel Lim
Sydney
written by omarkhayyam, August 03, 2008 00:12:57
Ezzam represents UMNO allright, thats the UMNO today for us malaysians the faceless bigots who r there for self fulfiling needs and greeds

written by Anak Desa, August 03, 2008 01:02:50
Ezam is irrelevant to PR and the people who had their say in the recent PRU12th. Ezam is not a political fighter nor a warrior.Yeah, he gives speeches and gone to prison but he expected Keadilan ppl to kow-tow to him.PPL didnt gave a shit or two hoots to him.Suddnely he felt unwanted and left to move with Gerak.From there he send feelers into UMNO ( talks conducted at Taipan )to take him back....he crawled with his tail between his legs....and Brutus Ezam is his name.