Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Stage set for battle as Anwar makes formal bid to return to Parliament

Stage set for battle as Anwar makes formal bid to return to Parliament PDF Print
Saturday, 02 August 2008 09:17

Ruling BN yet to announce candidate but there is no shortage of willing applicants to challenge ex-DPM for Penang seat vacated by his wife

By Hazlin Hassan, The Straits Times

PHOTO: AFP

THE battle lines, as expected, were clearly drawn yesterday, judging from the reaction to Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim's decision to return to Parliament after 10 years on the sidelines.

Government leaders denounced it as an attempt to distract the public from the sodomy allegation made against him, while Datuk Seri Anwar's colleagues in the opposition hailed the move.

Yesterday, the Election Commission (EC) was notified by the Speaker of Parliament of the vacancy in Permatang Pauh, Mr Anwar's old ward in Penang that has been held by his wife Wan Azizah Wan Ismail since his 1998 arrest.

The former deputy prime minister, who was MP for Permatang Pauh from 1982, was later convicted of corruption and hence disqualified from entering Parliament for five years, a period which lapsed in April.

Under the law, a by-election must be called 60 days from the notification.

EC secretary Kamaruzaman Mohd Noor said it would hold a meeting next Wednesday to determine the dates for nomination and polling, adding that there was no provision that disallowed campaigning or election to be held during the fasting month, which starts on Sept 1.

Reacting to Mr Anwar's announcement, Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi said nobody would stop him from contesting, but added that the government would try hard to wrest the seat back.

Deputy Premier Najib Razak, echoing the Prime Minister's stand, acknowledged that the seat was a safe one for Mr Anwar.

'We have to be realistic. It will be tough. We will do our best,' he told reporters. 'We accept his decision. We will face him.'

Many Barisan Nasional (BN) politicians also described Mr Anwar's move as a tactic to deflect attention from the allegation of sodomy lodged against him by a former aide, and some accused Dr Wan Azizah of being irresponsible.

'Wan Azizah's action greatly disappoint the voters. It is as if the position is hers and can be handed over to her husband,' said Mr Liow Tiong Lai, Malaysian Chinese Association youth chief.

Umno Youth chief Hishammuddin Hussein asked: 'Is this a ploy to distract public attention from the sodomy report lodged by his former aide?'

He was quoted as saying by Utusan Malaysia: 'He (Anwar) may well tell the foreign media after this that he was punished for announcing he will contest in the by-election.'

Police have completed their investigations in the sodomy allegation, and it is now up to the Attorney-General's Chambers to decide whether to prosecute Mr Anwar.

Nevertheless, the opposition leader clearly has the upper hand - at least in the eyes of the public.

In a survey of more than 1,000 Malaysians conducted by independent poll firm Merdeka Centre, only 11 per cent believed in the sodomy allegation, while 66 per cent thought it was 'politically motivated'.

Mr Anwar may even have gained more ground since his arrest on July 16, as the survey was conducted from July 4 to 14, noted pollster Ibrahim Suffian.

'His arrest could have earned him more sympathy points,' Mr Ibrahim told The Straits Times.

The ruling Barisan Nasional coalition has not formally announced any candidate for the seat as yet but there is no shortage of willing applicants.

One-time blue-eyed boy of Mr Anwar and former youth chief of his Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), Mr Ezam Nor, who made headlines when he joined Umno this year, said he was ready to be pitted against the 61-year old opposition leader.

Former national mosque imam Pirdaus Ismail, who was Permatang Pauh's defeated Umno candidate in the last two elections, has also put himself forward as a candidate, while pouring scorn on Dr Wan Azizah.

'She was only a sympathy icon because Anwar was behind her all along. It was okay for her not to do her job as she was not judged by her political capacity,' he was quoted as saying by the Malaysiakini online news portal.

PKR's opposition partner, Parti Islam SeMalaysia, said it would mobilise its election machinery to support Mr Anwar during the campaigning period.

Democratic Action Party adviser Lim Kit Siang said: 'We will support Anwar all the way.'

Meanwhile, the candidate himself is not wasting any time. Mr Anwar will kick off his campaign tomorrow in Permatang Pauh.

'We will mobilise all our support to show unity among all the (opposition) coalition members,' said Mr Tian Chua, PKR's information chief.

'It's quite an important, decisive battle,' he told Reuters.

DISTRACTION TACTIC

'Is this a ploy to distract public attention from the sodomy report lodged by his former aide? He (Anwar) may well tell the foreign media after this that he was punished for announcing he will contest in the by-election.'

UMNO YOUTH CHIEF HISHAMMUDDIN HUSSEIN

FULL OPPOSITION BACKING

'We will mobilise all our support to show unity among all the (opposition) coalition member. It's quite an important, decisive battle.'

PKR INFORMATION CHIEF TIEN CHUA

written by ctchoolaw, August 02, 2008 09:43:20
DSAI's formal reentry into Malaysian politics will step up the inevitable end of UMNO-BN dominance. After 50 years, it is high time for some changes. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by chiongguo, August 02, 2008 09:48:14
'Wan Azizah's action greatly disappoint the voters. It is as if the position is hers and can be handed over to her husband,' said Mr Liow Tiong Lai, Malaysian Chinese Association youth chief.

If it is hers to hand over to her husband she didn't have to go for election. Perhaps Liow should do well to understand the meaning of mandate in a democratic process. His failure to understand something as simple as this meant that he doesn't have the necessary mindset to carry out the responsibilities that came with this mandate. Or is he following the dictates and mandate of UMNO ?

It is right for her to hand back the mandate to the people of Permatang Pauh for them to fulfill a higher responsiblity for the country.

Umno Youth chief Hishammuddin Hussein asked: 'Is this a ploy to distract public attention from the sodomy report lodged by his former aide?'

This idiot of a education minister is showing His-shame. The sodomy accusation was actually the ploy that tried to distract public attention from Rosmah's and Najib poo-poo. Who was idiotic enough to chose him as the education minister ?

written by asiana888, August 02, 2008 10:31:36
Very well done, Datuk Dr Wan Azizah! You are a true loyal wife .... holding fort for your husband while he was in Sg Buloh (on trump up charges). You are an inspiration for women all over the world to "stand by your man".

We, rakyat Malaysia, wait with eager anticipation for DSAI to enter Parliament to expose all the corruptions in BN and give BN hell! Maybe, take over to form the next government.

May I suggest that DSAI takes a re-conciliatory move when he becomes PM to not completely remove all UMNO MPs from government - he should show himself a magnanimous person and statesman. He make the following appointments:-

a. Najib - Ambassador to Mongolia
b. Hishammuddin - Ambassador to Papua New Guinea

I wonder what will happen to Rosmah if ever Najib gets into jail? smilies/cry.gif
written by Tok Din, August 02, 2008 11:11:14
let us get the process started. MCA youth Chief and UMNO youth chief are just idiots out to please their masters. Think hard and talk logically. Who was holding the seat since 1982 and why was the seat held by his wife in the first place? Study history and know your facts, bodoh!
written by Kingsley, August 02, 2008 11:14:22
I just love to listen to those UMNO and MCA folks. They are soooo out of synch with the people. It is really entertaining to listen to them rambling away. Just look at the stats: ONLY 11% of the people believe that the sodomy case is true. So Liow, do u seriouly want to ATTACK Wan Azizah?
written by prsupporter, August 02, 2008 11:38:19
BN idiots can say what they like but our support will remain strong for DSAI.

Welcome back DSAI. As a penangite, you got my fullest support and i will surely feel proud if you can become our next PM representing all malaysians. Hidup PR!!!
written by Engineer, August 02, 2008 11:47:38
Reacting to Mr Anwar's announcement, LAH said body would stop him from contesting, added that the government would try hard to arrest back.

Many BN politicians also described Mr Anwar's move as a good tactic, and some Dr Wan Azizah of being responsible.

Wan Azizah's action is great' said Mr LTL, AMCEE AIR youth chief.

ARM NO Youth chief His Ham U Think said: 'There a ploy to the sodomy report lodged by his former aide?

He was quoted as saying by Utusan: 'He tell the foreign media that he was punished for announcing he will contest in the by-election.

SORRY GUYS, I AM ONLY TRYING TO SPIN NEWS LIKE APA NAMA.

written by activepro, August 02, 2008 12:00:22
How STUPID and HOLLOW an answer can you can from a MCA blockhead "Gone Liow".DS Aziza's action in giving way to her husband is most noble,logical n honourable gesture one can get from a sincere,loving n understanding partner,so that he can get re-elected as an MP,only then Pakatan Rakyat can stand a chance to garner more support to boot out BS-Barisan NIAMAH for good.Hisapkudin's statement is another no brainer.His whole clumsy and devious conspiracy to trap DSAI is falling apart and yet he and his screwballs wanting us to focus on the replay of "Sodomee" drama.Can't these DUMBshit get it? A genuine Dr.Mohd's medical report on SHITful ******* has leaked out and the whole bloody world has seen and read it.The only sensible and educated thing to do is for all these pea brain ministers,pariah judges,police and all their ULU related members to SHUT the F***UP,or more people will see them one HUMUNGOUS TUNNELNESS SHITTY *******!
written by non conformist, August 02, 2008 12:02:11

This idiot LTL... the voters were explicitly told by Azizah about the matter during the political campaigns before the last election .

MCA si-liow loh!!!
written by YSL, August 02, 2008 12:11:30
Brother Anwar Ibrahim,
Go all out for it! It is yours! There will be 15 million souls supporting you! It is the fight of the century! The worls is watching closely everyday!!
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 02, 2008 12:39:30
Ruling BN yet to announce candidate but there is no shortage of willing applicants to challenge ex-DPM for Penang seat vacated by his wife
By Hazlin Hassan, The Straits Times

TYPICAL PROPAGANDA SHIT. I BET ALL THE AMENO BIG GUNS ARE PRAYING EXTRA HARD NOT TO BE THE UNLUCKY BLOKE TO BE DRAWN TO FACE DSAI.
KERISMUDDIN, WHY DONT U TAKE DSAI SINCE U TALK C**K! ISNT THE SODOMY CASE A PLOY/RED HERRING TO DRAW INTERNATIONAL/RAKYAT OPINION FROM THE ALTANTUNYA MURDER, C4, IMMIGRATION BLUNDER, AND THE RM 510 MILLION COMMISSION?? WANT TO GET ACA TO INVESTIGATE THIS FIRST?? THEN I WILL AGREE WITH YR BLOODY STMT. WHO ARE U PROTECTING???
MCA LIOW, YOU ARE A LOSER AS YR NAME DEPICTS WHEN U COMMENT LIKE A PARROT. YOU MEAN THIS COUNTRY MUST SUBMIT TO THE MASTER AAB WHO WILL 'HAND' OVER POWER TO WHOEVER HE WANTS, WHENEVER HE WANTS??? IS MCA PRACTICING THIS "CRAB"??
written by CheGUvera, August 02, 2008 13:35:23
Wan Azizah's action greatly disappoint the voters. It is as if the position is hers and can be handed over to her husband,' said Mr Liow Tiong Lai,
------------------------------------------------------
So, I see the BN has let their dog loose for this case.We all know "meowing" dogs has no bite.You are the disappointment and no one else, Liow can u sleep at nites??
Ezam, the other dogs also "Meow,i have lotto of boxes, you know, DSAI". When will they ever learn, the tide is now turning against them. Sad, so many corrupted, desperate & stupid BN %*@-hole.
written by ahmadneil, August 02, 2008 14:33:58
The trap is set.It will be a whitewash.umno will walk into permatang pauh but will crawl out with its tail between its two legs.
written by HHKim, August 02, 2008 15:37:14
Can I tell Liow of MCA to keep your mouth shut!! You are a hopeless animal and shutting your mouth sounds smarter for you. MCA has been a chicken to UMNO and don't try to act like hero but speak nonsense - you only shame the Chinese Malaysian. So, *******, shut-up!!!
written by HHKim, August 02, 2008 15:39:20
Or Liow of MCA, just put the dirty salary in your pocket but seal your stupid mouth. We do not need you or MCA to stupidly represent Chinese Malaysian. We are 200% for Anwar, OK idiot?
written by HHKim, August 02, 2008 15:50:25
Dear fellow Malaysians:

As a honest and loyal Malaysian - as anak Malaysia, we have to ensure that Anwar win in this by-election. And I know for sure he wins without doubt.
Malaysia is definitely going the wrong directions in all aspects under BN.
Corruption, blatant abuse of power, mistreat the raayat, totally no strategy to manage the nation's resources, only engaging in unhealthy activities, grossly ineffective ministers to head the ministries are seriously killing the nation that we love and wish to develop.
We need change of government by all means - and we are watched by international bodies. The sooner we have new PM and cabinet is better as time is fast running out. It was a good thing the BN suffered badly in the last GE and the message was 300% correct driven home.
Look at the country now, full of ugly incidents and shameful reports hurled at the leadership which I tend to think is legitimate even their denials.
I am proud today to see at least the nation is awakening to this episode.
Cheers Malaysians !!!

written by miwaki, August 02, 2008 16:40:47
It is BN which is trying their best to distract their failures and scandals by implicating Dato Seri Anwar in this stupid sodomy case.Hishammudiin and Tiong Lai are two mediocre Education and Health ministers who have no ethical values left inside them,these two idiots would be jobless for a long time when they are bundled out of their respective ministries once Pakatan rakyat form the new government.

Hishammudin is just fit to be a peon in Education ministry whereas Tiong Lai could be a HA ( hospital assistant) or a trinee dietician.
written by OrdinaryMan, August 02, 2008 17:57:14
Wan Azizah is the most noble woman I've come across in Malaysia. She is a visionary too. In vacating her seat for her husband she is also doing the rakyat a great service because Anwar needs to be in Parliament first before anything else.
Perhaps people like Tiong Lai and Hishammudin should vacant their seats for more capable people to run the country.
written by No nonsense, August 02, 2008 21:29:17
I totally agree with chiongguo it is the Gorv. who is trying to divert the mongolian woman's case with the Sodomy case of Anwar. Their moves are old and we the people are getting wiser into believing what they say. Whatever they do now makes no different cause Anwar is going to Parliment very very soon. For those who are under oppression by the BN gorv. will be able to see the light at the end of the 50 years tunnel when Anwar step into Parliment. The dark and wicked ages will be over. Malaysia will again be in the light after all these years. Malaysians, unite for this beautiful day to come.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 03, 2008 11:41:51
This is going to be the most sensational by-election of the century;delayed gratification is what I will aptly describe this scenario;a ofrmer DPM now heading back to Parliament,a place where he belonged 10 years ago!Syabas DSAI,Inshah Allah everything will be smooth,however you must be vigilant at all times! smilies/smiley.gif
written by clarity, August 03, 2008 12:20:00
Mr. Tiow Ley Tiong is certainly not correct to try to imply that the seat belongs to Wan Azizah and so she can give. It is a stupid implication since Anwar has to stand for election. A more appropriate implication would be that Badawi thinks the country belong to him and so he can give to Najib. And Tiow Ley being MCA supports that.
written by HHKim, August 03, 2008 12:35:01
Why is Chew Mei Fun is debating with Tian Chua when majority of chinese in Malaysia think MCA is irrelevant? What has MCA done? Hiding behind sarong?
Each time I heard OKT opened his mouth, he said it is sensitive issue and all will be resolved within the BN. What bloody BN,OKT? Do you know that majority of chinese view you as an idiot - therefore it s high time you dissolve your useless MCA. And then apply to join PR government - for all you know, PR may not want you guys also because spineless and brainless.

I was once a supporter of MCA, but after so many failures and inactions by your leadership, MCA is as good as dead.Ever since, I have never look at MCA as a party, more as a social club of some towkeys.
written by HHKim, August 03, 2008 12:42:24
Ong Tee Kiat vying for MCA President? He must be joking too. If a person can't even open his mouth and highlight the injustice to UMNO, then what the hack you are vying for MCA Presidency? I guess you want reputation, big car, big title and the well being of raayat Malaysia is all thrown behind your priorities.

I urge OTK to stop to go for MCA top job as it is only suitable for a person who is courageous, intelligent and command the respect of the community. With your type of performance, I can only tell you iut is a BIG BIG shame even to talk about continuing your current job.

I respect so called leaders who have the guts to talk on issues - not hiding behind the "sensitive issue" and be drowned by it.
written by Areyaar, August 03, 2008 21:59:47
"Government leaders denounced it as an attempt to distract the public from the sodomy allegation made against him"

Yeah, right, and the sodomy allegation itself is a blatant attempt to distract the public from the allegations against Najib and his tempayan wife. They may think the ploy will work, but it obviously is not.

"Former national mosque imam Pirdaus Ismail, who was Permatang Pauh's defeated Umno candidate in the last two elections, has also put himself forward as a candidate, while pouring scorn on Dr Wan Azizah.

"'She was only a sympathy icon because Anwar was behind her all along. It was okay for her not to do her job as she was not judged by her political capacity,' he was quoted as saying by the Malaysiakini online news portal."

Man, this Pirdaus sounds like such a bitterly sore loser. He needs to be put in his place.