Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow 2 notorious cases challenge Malaysia's modesty

2 notorious cases challenge Malaysia's modesty PDF Print
Saturday, 02 August 2008 08:46

This is not the first time that sex and politics have publicly collided in Malaysia. The trial of Anwar Ibrahim, a former deputy prime minister, for sodomy in the 1990s featured, among other highlights, a blood-stained mattress being hauled into the courtroom.

Thomas Fuller 

Government censors in this majority Muslim nation uphold an ethos of modesty by snipping sex scenes from films and ordering entertainers to avoid outfits that reveal too much on Malaysian stages - bare belly buttons and figure-hugging outfits are off limits.

But these days Malaysians looking to avoid R-rated content might be advised to read past news reports about their own leaders. Top politicians are embroiled in two scandals involving accusations of sodomy and the gruesome murder of a Mongolian mistress.

Reports on the finer points of a rectal examination and revelations about the sexual preferences of the dead mistress make other sex scandals that once shocked people here - such as Monica Lewinsky and her blue dress - seem almost Victorian.

This is not the first time that sex and politics have publicly collided in Malaysia. The trial of Anwar Ibrahim, a former deputy prime minister, for sodomy in the 1990s featured, among other highlights, a blood-stained mattress being hauled into the courtroom.

This time, wider use of the Internet has helped disseminate documents, facts and rumors that would otherwise have been filtered out of mainstream news media tightly controlled by the government.

The two scandals encompass much more than just sex. They are part of a broader clash between two men vying for power: Anwar is facing new allegations of sodomy at a time when he is vowing to unseat the governing party, while the other scandal involves Anwar's principal political rival, Najib Razak, the deputy prime minister and anointed heir to Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

What is worrying for many Malaysians is that the gloves appear to have come off in the high-stakes fight between Anwar and Najib.

Testimony in the murder trial revealed that immigration records of the Mongolian woman and her friend had been deleted.

Malaysia's political opposition says the case highlights the impunity of the police and high officials in government as well as a lack of independence in the judiciary. A police officer took the stand and said she was tortured by police investigators - her own colleagues.

Witnesses in both cases have dropped from sight, including a private investigator, Balasubramaniam Perumal, who alleged in a sworn statement issued shortly before disappearing that the dead Mongolian woman was Najib's mistress.

The statement by Balasubramaniam, which has been widely circulated online, contradicted Najib's repeated assertions that he never met the Mongolian woman, Altantuya Shaariibuu.

Balasubramaniam spent two months writing and revising a 16-page declaration about the case, based on conversations he had with the murdered woman and Abdul Razak Baginda, an aide to Najib. Balasubramaniam retracted the allegations in a hastily convened press conference and then disappeared.

"It's obvious what has happened here. You don't need to be a rocket scientist," said Americk Sidhu, the private investigator's lawyer. "Somebody needed him to shut up."

Balasubramaniam's wife and three children are also missing. The family's two Rottweilers were left behind in their cages.

"A lot of very dark things are happening now," said Raja Petra Kamarudin, one of the most influential and prolific Malaysian bloggers. Raja Petra was formerly a political associate of Anwar's wife, Azizah Ismail, in her National Justice Party.

Although a number of gruesome facts in the Mongolian case have emerged in court over the past year - Altantuya, for example, was shot and her body obliterated with explosives in the jungle outside Kuala Lumpur - Raja Petra asserts that only a fraction of what happened is being admitted into court.

Citing sources in military intelligence, he issued a sworn declaration in June alleging that Najib's wife, Rosmah Mansor, was present at Altantuya's killing. Government prosecutors say Altantuya was killed by two commandos who also served as bodyguards to Malaysia's top leaders.

"I don't think Malaysia can afford to have a prime minister who has a huge question mark hanging over his head: Is he, or not, involved in the murder of this girl?" Raja Petra said in an interview.

Najib has called the allegation in the declaration "total lies, fabrication and total garbage" and a "desperate and pathetic attempt to discredit and taint my political image."

The government charged Raja Petra with criminal libel, a law that lawyers say has not been used in recent memory in Malaysia and which, unlike civil defamation, can carry a two-year prison term. Separately, Raja Petra has been charged with sedition and his house raided several  times.

Raja Petra was also responsible for leaking a medical report last week relating to the sodomy case. Anwar's accuser, Mohamed Saiful Bukhari Azlan, a 23-year-old former campaign volunteer, went to a hospital in Kuala Lumpur hours before lodging a police report charging that Anwar had sodomized him. But the medical report, which also circulated widely on the Internet, says he complained of a piece of plastic being inserted into his anus. The doctor who wrote the report, Mohamed Osman, said he found "no active bleeding, no pus, tear or scar."

Since then, Osman also has disappeared, although the hospital says he will be back Monday.

Anwar, who on Thursday announced that he would run for Parliament in his quest to unseat the government and become prime minister, said in an interview that he expected to be arrested soon. He has refused to give a DNA sample because he believes it will be used against him. "There's nothing stopping them from fabricating evidence again," Anwar  said.

Although Malaysians enthusiastically share the latest developments in both cases, some have grown tired of the graphic details.

"A good word is disgust - whether it's sodomy or blowing up the Mongolian lady," said the Reverend Wong Kim Kong, executive adviser of the National Evangelical Christian Fellowship, an umbrella organization of protestant churches. A narrow majority of Malaysians are Muslim but the country has sizeable Christian, Hindu, Buddhist and Sikh minorities.

Wong said the constant barrage of allegations made by bloggers, paired with the government's steady denials, have left Malaysians pining for  clarity.

"People just cannot trust the word of any of these people," Wong said. "They cannot distinguish who is telling the truth."

The scandals come at a time of great political uncertainty in Malaysia. The governing party of Abdullah and Najib and the ethnic-based system of politics that it represents is in disarray. There is simmering resentment between the majority Malays and the minority Chinese and Indians, and corruption within government is rampant, despite promises by Abdullah to clean up the system.

Anwar has vowed to remake the country's politics and revoke the authoritarian laws that, among other things, ban students from protesting, keep the media controlled and allow the government to lock up dissidents without trial. But Anwar remains a polarizing figure who is not trusted by many in the elite.

"I think there will at some point be a crisis of legitimacy," said Ibrahim Suffian, the head of the Merdeka Center, a polling agency. "'The leaders seem to feel that they can get away with a lot of things so long as the masses are satisfied with the economic opportunities given to them.

"But the economy is so bad that people are losing faith. There is a feeling that maybe it's time for major changes."

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by arazak, August 02, 2008 09:10:04
Najib has called the allegation in the declaration "total lies, fabrication and total garbage" and a "desperate and pathetic attempt to discredit and taint my political image."
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yo Najis Mongolia. . .! Ever wonder why the recent polls indicate you will not be a good PM? Whatever you said come to no effect. Majority believe you are involved in the murder. Period. smilies/sad.gif
agree 312
written by oct, August 02, 2008 09:12:09
In Malaysia you will never find any BN top guns being prosecuted. Even if you are an ex Minister, you will be protected. However if you are in the opposition party, any small mistake, the whole law book will be thrown at you.

In the latest case of RPK leaking the hospital report, we don't see any police raiding his home and hunt for his computer. Perhaps the Polis knows that he has no computer since they didn't return the one confiscated earlier.

In Malaysia, either you are with us or against us. If you are with us, you can do what you like and get away with it. If you are against us, may God protect you. There is no impartiality of justice in Malaysia. Always there are two sets of laws.

On the surface, it seems all BN ministers are very clean. No corruption, idealistic, no sex scandal, example of exemplar behavior. However, if you ask the man on the street, everyone knows it is otherwise

BN can't afford to lose now since all their wealth and honor is at stake. If PR comes into power, all contracts and documents that have classified under OSA will be read by PR and all approvals will be reviewed. They can't afford this to happen. They will get prosecuted. They will malu. That's why they will go all out to prevent a take-over. BN doesn't care about the country. They only care about their own wealth fare. The rakyat suffers is non of their concern.
agree 396
written by Concerned_Citizen, August 02, 2008 09:20:10
The governm even censored the truth, not only sex scences from film.
agree 125
written by chiongguo, August 02, 2008 09:28:42
The way in which the prime minister is elected in Malaysia means that the majority of the country has no say on the matter.

Added to this is the fact that certain people are desperate to have a prime minister coming from pahang made the expression of the will of the people very difficult.

I don't quite understand why do Pahang need such infamy. People will always remember Najib, if he ever become the prime minister, as the PM who played with C4.

written by BORN FREE, August 02, 2008 09:36:38
I can tell u that the current Gomen are doing things behind the Nations back now. They will make sure that when Pakatan Rakyat takes over as Gomen, there will be no $$ in the country for PR to rule Malaysia. I guess now also they will be shredding lots of illegal documents so that they will not be caught for corruptions. Thats how rotten the current Gomen are ! All depts under them are corrupted, and the best part of all, when they are caught, they can walk off freely without any serious charge. Stupid excuses will be given and
they think rakyat is so naive and stupid to believe them.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 02, 2008 09:57:47
Can the CM of Sabah become the PM of Malaysia?
written by Commonsenses, August 02, 2008 09:58:31
wrong! Reverend Wong Kim Kong, People just can't trust wat the corrupt government is saying and believe the internet more.
written by alarcarte, August 02, 2008 10:07:34
R rated drama indeed! They ban this, they ban that, you Malaysians cannot do this, cannot do that, very immoral you know! But,But,But, we politicians can act and can do lah, Please watch us, our show is free of charge and guarantee plenty of excitement, Sex, Explosive, Violence, Kidnapped, Corruption and Suspense there all we have it!
written by malsia1206, August 02, 2008 10:10:43
"There is a feeling that maybe it's time for major changes". That feeling shall be displayed at Permatang Pauh in Penang. The date shall be publicly announced by the EC. And the time is when the electorate in that constituency makes the crucial decision. This is going to be the culmination of all 'lawyers' walk, bersih rally and the Hindraf assembly' all put together in one grand single showdown to tell the Government one last final message. The opportunity has come for the rakyat to exercise their strong voice and not to be trampled again for the past 25 years.
written by anak melaka, August 02, 2008 10:12:09
Big thank you to RPK,

RPK always amazed me, not as man who only said what he means, but also as a man who stands by what his faith calls for. You are what we look up to, an example of living muslim, and only by the will of Allah you are safe from being the target of UMNO-muslim-terrorist act.

I cannot believe Malaysia is tainted with UMNO link terrorist act, and now begin to wonder how many has been killed, what’s their name, how many more were abuse by our juridical system and corrupt government, how many more lives denied in ISA detention...

You enlighten us the right way to plant a bomb which of course is different from uncivilized separatist whose faith is as high as their songkok, and as complete as their cover, disguising their evil self in full Islamic clothes, though some can be as naive as showing off their keris wavering skill hoping to awake all our departed pahlawan who have fearlessly defended their beloved country for a good laugh.

True warriors submerge their faith, act and intellect wholeheartedly to Almighty Allah, only corrupt government enslave their greedy soul to power, earthly wealth, and evil deeds while enjoying the full advantage of Allah’s subject. UMNOputra has excelled both in hidden acts and hidden agendas by successfully instill in us the rakyat with politics of fears and ignorance for far too long. Now the new generation of UMNOputra has taken one step further. When come to real life-religions-social-economic-politics-issue, these cowards hide behind police and riot polices in silencing individual who ups against their hypocrisy act and dealt the mass with tear gas and hydraulic guns and now orchestrating militias to bomb whoever that threatens their so called prestige ketuanan melayu.

Thanks to Rakyat mainstream forum. Voices have been made and heard last elections. PR made historic mark, closing one chapter for the beginning of a another new chapter. The milestone ahead is far but we have awaken. 5 PR states have awaken. The momentum is only getting stronger like never before and the spirit of Altantuya will be with us the way Lelawala’s spirit accompany those who dared the Niagara fall.

By God’s will, long live RPK. We need you alive. Bravo to you Man! May Allah be with you.

United we stand against NAJIS and all his SHITS!!! smilies/angry.gif
agree 114
written by Navigator, August 02, 2008 10:36:10
In this blessed country, sodomy is more important than murder.
written by eeyaw, August 02, 2008 10:38:47
Like many others I'm also pissed with the 2 cases one glaring political blackmail using institutional machinery against an opposition member and the other the inactions of the heinous murder of a foreigner. Both cases point to the dirty hands of the power that in order to stay on to power. Honestly if the rural folks are given the correct information barisan would be history.
written by Kuku Burung, August 02, 2008 11:59:16
When you have the police under the ministry of home affair, what can you do but pray for your well-being. When you have judiciary under the pm department, we better pray for justice even for our cats and dogs. The whole system is stink and irreparable. How could police and justice function when their political masters breath down their necks? Any case that goes against the government will not only put to rest but the informants, people who make reports will be hauled up for sedition. This is a pariah country.
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 02, 2008 12:06:33
"It's obvious what has happened here. You don't need to be a rocket scientist," said Americk Sidhu, the private investigator's lawyer. "Somebody needed him to shut up."
But the economy is so bad that people are losing faith. There is a feeling that maybe it's time for major changes."

AND NOW THE PUSRAWI BLOKES ARE SAYING THAT THE DR WHO EXAMINED SINFUL IS NOT AN ASS SMELLER. ONLY BN BLOKES ARE QUALIFIED.
REST ASSURED THE RAKYAT WANT A TOTAL REVAMP BY KICKING BEEANN OUT COMPLETELY. DONT WORRY, SOME OF THEM WILL BE RETAINED AS OPPOSITION MPS TO HV A CHECK AND BALANCE. SEE WHAT THE RAKYAT WANTS/??
written by Paramjothy, August 02, 2008 12:25:15
Truth and Justice was always manupulated by BN for 50 years. Soon this will come to an end as the Raykat knows more now in view of people like RPK and other bloggers. The internet has made it possible to bring down the corrupted BN government down as Truth is exposed. I can see VICTORY for raykat coming soon. We might have to increase our prison and detention centre's as many current ruling government personal will be going in to spent some time.
written by benny loh, August 02, 2008 12:34:22
BUTTS FEVER RAGES ON!
http://malaysiancartoons.********.com/2008/07/safe-street.html
written by omarkhayyam, August 02, 2008 12:53:38
guys between a sodomizer and a murderer ..... never mind even if its all jus an accusation ..... i'll stand by the sodomizer, that act being a lesser evil

written by omarkhayyam, August 02, 2008 12:57:02
well just like you KJ,...we all love to have a peeing AM as our father in law smilies/smiley.gif

written by salsabarney, August 02, 2008 13:11:56
According to the poll conducted by the Merdeka Centre, popularity of the PM is at the all time low. If this is not an indication of the people's rejection of the PM and BN, I don't know what it is.
Of course, our gangster Minister Nazri would say that it is only a small group of disenfranchised Anwar supporters and this may not be representative of all Malaysians. Please stay in your denial mode, BN.
In no time, you shall face the wrath of the People!! Makkal Sakti

50 years is enough. Time to change the new government.
A government for justice, peace, equality and INTEGRITY!!
written by novrising, August 02, 2008 13:14:52
My childhood days I used to indulge in Tamil or Hindi movies where the hero single handedly fighs corrupted Police, Politicians, Judges, Gangters...etc. Than later teenage/adult part of my life, I started getting with these movies. I sometimes feel nauseatic thinking that people actually pay money to make and watch this movies. I SIMPLY CANNOT COMPREHEND THAT LIFE/CHARACTER POTRAYED IN THIS MOVIES CANNOT EXIST. NOW WATCHING WHATS HAPPENING IN REAL MALAYSIAN LIFE, I HAVE MY DOUBTS.Maybe those scheming villainous do exist.

BTW, for those who belittle tamil/hindi masala movies, take whats happening as a slap on your face. And how come no Malays movies of such material huh?? Maybe high time to make one, "based on true story"???

Peace,
NovRising
written by AlwaysFair, August 02, 2008 13:14:54
Corruption has been always rampant since Mamak's time but never in so big amounts running into millions and billions.Looks like the GREED is going out of control that every day new cases are uncovered.

The most shocking thing is the disappearances of witnesses and the abusing of judiciary and law enforcements to carry out unjust practises carrying on unabated. This is really too much for the rakyat to bear!!!!Are we going to be a police state soon?
written by novrising, August 02, 2008 13:21:07
Corrections:
Please ignore the "hangover" induced earlier comment, ha ha ha.

My childhood days I used to indulge in Tamil or Hindi movies where the hero single handedly fighs corrupted Police, Politicians, Judges, Gangsters...etc. Than later teenage/adult part of my life, I started getting irritated with these movies. I sometimes feel nauseatic thinking that people actually pay money to make and watch this movies. I SIMPLY CANNOT COMPREHEND THAT LIFE/CHARACTER POTRAYED IN THIS MOVIES CAN EXIST. NOW WATCHING WHATS HAPPENING IN REAL MALAYSIAN LIFE, I HAVE MY DOUBTS.Maybe those scheming villainous characters do exist.

BTW, for those who belittle tamil/hindi masala movies, take whats happening as a slap on your face. And how come no Malays movies of such material huh?? Maybe high time to make one, "based on true story"??? ha ha ha

Peace,
NovRising
written by pakwen, August 02, 2008 13:22:35
I wonder why the 2 police/army flers charged with the murder continue to appear in court with their face in a mask. Why, I wonder should their identity be kept confidential? Have they actually disappeared? Or are they gong to disappear and someone else (already sentenced to death) take their place on the execution chairs? Can someone knowledgeable clarify this.
written by Kuku Burung, August 02, 2008 13:48:46
written by pakwen, August 02, 2008 | 13:22:35
I wonder why the 2 police/army flers charged with the murder continue to appear in court with their face in a mask. Why, I wonder should their identity be kept confidential? Have they actually disappeared? Or are they gong to disappear and someone else (already sentenced to death) take their place on the execution chairs? Can someone knowledgeable clarify this.

The junior police boys took turns to appear in court, while the actual killers enjoy themselves in hotel rooms.
written by Everbright, August 02, 2008 14:30:54
Rev Wong says: "They cannot distinguish who is telling the truth."

Come on Mr. Wong, unless you have been blinded by the propaganda and untruths coughed up by the Umno/MCA controlled MSM, the people knows who are the liars and who are the truth-sayers. Simply anyone with enough common sense and follow the events post GE12 will know that Anwar's present problem is a conspiracy of the highest order hatched up by the "IGP-AG-botak-uncle pet" gang led by N. After the debate between DSAI and Strawberry, everyone knows who won. A Poll by Malaysiakini shows 95% voted for Anwar. But the NST the next day reported that there are no winners????????????
written by KotaDamansara73, August 02, 2008 14:44:16
Rev Wong, your brain must be up your ass. You can't tell who is lying and who is not.
written by miwaki, August 02, 2008 14:44:32
Our government is a bunch of hypocrites,they know they are corrupted and incompetent but they also know that there is no correlation between good governance and support of the electorates.They have their ways of convincing the electorates to vote in a corrupted and incompetent government.

Lately,these people in the government have included murderers as members of the ruling party,it's ridiculous !
written by macaufan, August 02, 2008 15:55:57
if rejim umno can cheat their own race again this time round & put Anwar in jail for sodomy then m'sia gonna wait for another 50years to find another 2nd Anwar ! rejim will rob & rape d nation for another 50years under their protected jungle-law OSA, PP&P Act, Sedition Act & ISA !
written by BennyG, August 02, 2008 18:02:52
I just read pg3 Star newspaper (sorry, still reading occasionally) about a horrific accident involving a 10 ton lorry and a motorbike plus a lot of collateral damage. The motorcyclist is a bomb specialist. My suspicious mind went into overdrive. Maybe the rest of the bomb specialists in Malaysia have to be extra careful in trying times (before the C4 trial is over) like this.
written by Taiping60, August 03, 2008 00:41:02
It is true that there are some much lies going around so much so that when the truth is out, people would not be able to trust it either.

Our DPM said he has never met Altantuya. He also said he has never met Saiful. However, when Anwar camp produced a photo where he was seen together with Saiful. Suddenly, he can recalled he has met Saiful in his office. I wonder it will be the same for Altantuya. Mr DPM, as you know, it is not that we do not believe you. It is very difficult to do so especially there are so many occasions you contradict yourself.

Whatever it is, I believe righteous will prevail.
written by Proarte, August 03, 2008 04:35:04
Tengku Razaleigh is not the answer. He is tainted and belongs to the old UMNO guard (Semangat 46) which went running back with its tail between its legs to be poodles of UMNO Baru. He cannot be absolved from blame of the inexorable systemic rot in our institutions of governance. He too has not been averse to playing the Ketuanan Melayu, Islam and Royal card, all of which are inimical to a 'vibrant democracy'.

If UMNO is hellbent on subverting the democratic process to exclude Anwar Ibrahim from his rightful position as the People's representative, then the only choice is a Peoples Uprising. The ball lies in UNNO's court. Does it want to join the democratic league of nations or does it want to continue along the route to an international pariah state ala Zimbabwe, Sudan, Myanmar, Afhghanistan?

Malaysians must ask themselves whether we are prepared to see our beloved country destroyed by UMNO or are willing to put our foot down and stand up against this evil government. Crunch time is near!
written by born2reign, August 06, 2008 06:53:54
We have no doubt of Abdullah’s sincerity when he asked for another two years for him to carry our reforms that he had failed to do previously. And we think the current crisis created by the sodomy allegation is a golden opportunity for him to stamp his mark as a reformer by righteously exercising the immense power vested in his hand as Prime Minister and order that rule of law be strictly observed in the resolution of this crisis.

Abdullah Bodowi is not sincere in carrying out reforms. He merely wants these 2 years to trap Najib. Bacause he has already named Najib as his successor, he's now leaving Najib to fight for his political image and integrity with the oppositions Anwar, PAS and bloggers. Bodowi can sit back and enjoy siphoning more money out, or by default appear to be the "good guy" trapped in between the mud slinggings.

If he is serious over reforms, why did he stand by police not releasing Saiful's initial police report?
Why did Bodowi not reform whistleblower protection policy?
Why did Bodowi not issue a show cause letter to Samy Vellu for his pathetic repairs on the MRR2? Within 7 years he can still action...
Why did Bodowi not scrap subsidies to MAS and other GLCs?
Why did Bodowi not abolish APs for imported cars?
Why did Bodowi not issue a show cause letter to Najib for the alleged murder?
Why did Bodowi not suspend the Inspector-General of Police Musa Hassan and Attorney-General Gani Patail who are currently under ACA investigation on the same suspect (Anwar)?
etc etc

No, Bodowi is not at all sincere at reforms. He just wants his "acting PM" to clear up all his shit while he sits by and continue counting his money, and repair his image to be the good guy. If Najib can't get himself out of his own shithole, Bodowi said it is not his fault, he gave him all the powers to squash his opponents.

Bodowi is still the biggest liar. Just believe the opposite of everything he says.
written by Jit Dharma, August 08, 2008 13:07:25
Anyone who uses fear and violence against the citizens in order to remain
in power is a TRAITOR to the people.
written by Fart Fart Wah, August 11, 2008 11:36:23
wHAT A JOKE??? FUTURE PRIME MINSITERS...

ONE ALLEGED FOR MURDER, ADULTERY AND CORRUPTION

THE OTHER...IS AN ALLEGED DOUBLE SODOMIST...

ANYMORE ROUND THE CORNER???

ONE MAMAK IS MIGRATING ONE MORE MAMAK IS TALKIMG COCK AS A FOREIGN MINISTER..
GEE THE HAVOC THE MAMAKS HAVE CAUSED ...THE MALAY PEOPLE!!!