Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Press Statement by Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (31.7.08)

Press Statement by Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (31.7.08) PDF Print
Thursday, 31 July 2008 17:02

After deliberating with my family, the Keadilan party leadership and our partners in the Pakatan Rakyat, I have officially submitted my resignation as Member of Parliament of Permatang Pauh to the Speaker of Parliament YB Tan Sri Datuk Pandikar Amin Bin Hj. Mulia today to make way for my husband, Anwar Ibrahim, to contest as a candidate for Pakatan Rakyat in a by-election as soon as possible.

This is consistent with our goals towards securing a Parliamentary majority and forming a new government within this year.

This decision is the right decision for Malaysia.

The nation now faces some of the greatest challenges it has encountered since gaining independence. The UMNO-led Barisan Nasional government has mismanaged the economy and steered the nation towards a catastrophe. It has allowed the integrity of the justice system to fall into deeper infamy. It has stroked the flames of racism and driven a wedge of mistrust between Malays, Chinese and Indians, while thoroughly neglecting the needs of the indigenous peoples of
Sabah and Sarawak.

Anwar Ibrahim has articulated a vision for Malaysia that has brought hope to the people. He has the experience and intelligence to reinvigorate our economy, and the charisma and integrity to unite the Malaysian people and restore credibility to our institutions of governance.

I will continue to serve as president of Parti Keadilan Rakyat and as chairperson of the Yayasan Aman (Peace Foundation).

I whole-heartedly thank my supporters in Permatang Pauh who have stood by me in the most difficult of times since September 1998 and have shared in the joy of victory we all experienced on March 8th. The future of our nation lies in the dedication and commitment to justice and freedom that I have experienced as your representative in Parliament and I look forward to many more years of serving you with sincerity and with humility.

DATUK SERI WAN AZIZAH WAN ISMAIL
President Parti Keadilan Rakyat

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by Dominic, July 31, 2008 17:22:58
I called upon all those supporters who had given their undivided support to Datuk Seri Wan Azizah to do same for DSAI. Please bear in mind this is a do or die mission to restore TRUE democracy in Malaysia. For those who had sidelined before, please, rakyat need your undivided support this time round ! In you,we trust. Good luck.
agree 153
written by krepot, July 31, 2008 17:23:33
Anwar for PM!
Reformasi!
written by expat70, July 31, 2008 17:23:55
BEST OF LUCK & GOD BLESS
written by cwy, July 31, 2008 17:25:12
Anwar is the best choice for PM of Malysia!
written by Counterpointer, July 31, 2008 17:34:42
IT'S NOW OR NEVER
written by aryn, July 31, 2008 17:34:53
Go for it DSAI.
Give Umno hell!
Don't back out even if the goons arrested you.

Lepas ini, BN pon announce harga minyak turun to pancing undi.

Gue tak caya you lagi BN!
written by eeyaw, July 31, 2008 17:41:35
Anwar is the Man!

May the force be with you!
written by Rumah Bersih, July 31, 2008 17:41:39
YB Permatang Pauh, thank you for giving your husband DSAI to contest in the by election. You have made the excellent choice and DSAI will make great impact.

VOTERS OF PERMATANG PAUH, please give a resounding message to BODOWI and NAJIS that their scheming politics is coming to an end NOW. GIVE FULL SUPPORT TO DSAI

SAIFUL...... the name in all Hokkein speaking people in Permatang Pauh mean SHIT FULL OR SHIT FOOL... The only way to describe this is that you been buggered by NAJIS,BODOWI And Company.... ...

LONG LIVE DSAI LONG LIVE RPK< LONG LIVE PKR
written by bumiputeri, July 31, 2008 17:43:22
Please U guys in Permatang Pauh, the gifted and selected ones in Malaysia.
Please do your part, all your names will go down in Malaysian history!

Please...please....please

Hidup Malaysia!
written by justice4all, July 31, 2008 17:53:47
DSAI, you have all our support. Throw those UMNO idiots and their cronies out and save this beloved country of ours. Please God give us all strength in the coming few months so that we may see justice for all. Long live Malaysia and its Rakyat.
written by Motherchell, July 31, 2008 18:09:38
MY dearest DSAI, you have my support , aAND BLESSINGS , YOUR FAMILY HAS BEEN PERSECUTED IN MANY FORMS , nothing is in vain , you have my prayers and blessings always , The road is set by GOD , and he will protect you all the way ----be strong for we are with you all the way .

To every Rakyat out there in Paermatang Puah , I humbly urge you to decide for the future of your children--- lets give DSAI all the support and take back the Country that rightfully belongs to us Rakyat. God bless all of you and i thank you in advance my brothers and sisters .

We have had enough destruction to our society with UMNO! God bless DSAI as our redeemer .
written by Tan Tan, July 31, 2008 18:23:07
Seriously BEH TAHAN (tak boleh TAHAN).
At first, I dun know whether Mr Anwar should ever become our PM. But after months since the last election, current government is so busy doing nonsenses, I seriously cannot think of any better reason why I shouldn't vote MR Anwar for PM. We Malaysians, we need change and Mr Anwar promised change. I give my vote to u!

About this Islam - Malay Unity craps. I cannot stand it but to said....since when non-Muslim or non- Malays ever threat the position of Islam and Malays in this country!!! We always give in all these 50 years but enough is enough ok. The disunity of Islam and Malays is not our fault but your fault not able to make it happen. So don;t make it as if we r the villain when we re the actual victim in this system (NEP or social contract).

In today, globalisation, goverment still talks about race unity. EXCUSES...this is not the time....We need to show the world we are a stable country that good to invest in....WE NEED TO SHOW UNITY among all races and a proud nation which is MALAYSIAN.

PAS ...enough of ur Islamic law. Really, Islam got the UPMOST priority in Malaysia, we all respect it. Don't make this beautiful religion to be a fearful religion and a religion that perceived as threat to other ppls. That is the beauty of this religion. After 50 years, PAS cannot even make all Malaysians fully accept your Islamic agenda because PAS had failed to show us the real beauty of the religion. ONLY THE RITUAL which is not applicable to everyone.
written by harryo, July 31, 2008 18:43:06
DSAI, the decision is a bold, tough and strong decision for your family and the country. You have with you all the Malaysians and their future. Let come whatever comes, surge ahead and archtect the future of the country. We have had enough. You look at human as human, citizens as beneficiaries of the policies, processes and procedures of the Federal and State Governments. Go ahead and we will give you the support.
written by Engineer, July 31, 2008 19:08:57
The Lion's Den is set for Izzam.

written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, July 31, 2008 19:10:27
Long Live Anwar the savior of true democracy. Long Live PKR, PR, DAP, PAS.
written by yapsir, July 31, 2008 19:14:47
Go!Go!Go!
Put them out!
Pull them down!
For the generation to come,Thank You for your sacrifices,Datuk Seri Wan Aziza.
To the Malaysian,Makka Sakti.Refoormasi,Just Change foe for Malaysia!
written by beijing, July 31, 2008 19:16:44
we'll se how many baby UMNO will jump ship
written by Taikohtai, July 31, 2008 19:22:44
DSAI has once again preempted BN and evil backers. How so?
By vacating her seat and naming DSAI straight away, his wife has now propelled him into the forefront of the most important by-election in Malaysian history.
Seriously, if DSAI were to be charged with sodomy today, he will receive full sympathy from voters. If not, he still walks tall and PM in-waiting.
STUPID BN has been checked once again.
written by shamadz72, July 31, 2008 19:35:54
Those Permatang Pauh voters surely gonna get lots of durian runtuh. Thanks to Anwar
written by OilMan, July 31, 2008 19:55:48
Can only say that there is unity in PR. Anyone from PKR will vacant their seat for DSAI. Salute Dr. Wan Azizah. Btw, where is our PM? Only statement made is to warn DSAI to not buyout BN members. Scared and lacking of ideas?
written by Motherchell, July 31, 2008 19:56:44
Kak Wan ! you and DSAI are one of the greatest daughters and sons Malaysia ever had . The future of this Nation depends on both of you . We owe this Country both your convictions.
We the Rakyat are close behind you all the way ,for the better tomorrows are for our future generations!
God bless you both and your family . We are able to read you faster and keep strong against evil , because we have a blessed soul called RPK!
written by power2u, July 31, 2008 20:49:54
Now lets see whether Ezam will dare contest in Permatang Pauh against Anwar.If he does,I think he should bring Saiful,Uncle Pet,Rodwan,Najis n Rosmati in his campaign trail!!!!!
written by uxzee, July 31, 2008 20:53:56
I am amazed by all the strategies of PR to catch the BN off guard. The timing of this by election is just perfect.

Kudos to Wan Azizah for her sacrifice.
written by johanssm, July 31, 2008 21:23:01
I must say its sad we have to let go Wan Azizah .
But then , most of us can't wait forever for DSAI to do a come back.
Each day our country is losing out millions and the more we wait , the more absurd things coming from umno government and their dogs.
Congratulations to Pematang Pauh.You will have an excellent MP and he might be the next PM .
written by peace brother, July 31, 2008 21:56:57
To all Permatang Pauh voters vote for DSAI as the best candidate to be a PM.
To Kak DS Wan Azizah an insperation for us to inspire in many years to come. Thank You Kakak
written by ctchoolaw, July 31, 2008 22:40:32
This will mark Anwar's official return. Sad about Wan Azizah having to withdraw. http://www.ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Daryl, July 31, 2008 22:41:32
Congratulation DSAI and family. Is time to go for the broke and hoepfully this time it will be the BN back that will be broken to pieces forever.

To all Permatang Pauh voters:
Please give the BN a lesson who is in charge and show them who is in power. The power is in your hands and the time is now not 50 years from now where we will not be able to recover. Race and religion shouldn't be a factor here because we need each otehr to be relevent again in SEA and than the world. If you children can be taught by world class educator why do you opts for the lower quality. Think about it. Children is our future and the current leaders only want continue power hold and send their kids to the best school and rakyat's kids to public education if they cannot afford private schools.

God BLess DSAI and Family and Malaysia.
written by jeevy, July 31, 2008 22:42:34
why is DSAI contesting his wifes seat when he could win it hands down?....he shd contest Kulim if at all the seat falls vacant or any other BN seat which becomes vacant.....now wait a min!!!... i get it.....smiles.....hes contesting against Bodohwi by proxy!!!.....obviously whoever is his opponent is going to lose his deposit!!....smiles...hes going to put Bodohwi to shame!!!...
written by tenang, July 31, 2008 23:07:28
Dear Wan Azizah,

Hat off to you!
You and your family have shown to the nation what true leaders look like.

written by temanmu, July 31, 2008 23:31:38
The calculations have been made and the timing scrutinized!

Let's see what cards BN has up their sleeve... I am sure DOUBLE JOKERS!

Everything BN says, they would be so incredulous that we laugh TWICE as hard!
written by Enforcer, July 31, 2008 23:51:31
Millions of the RAKYAT are praying for the safety and well being of the both Datuk Seri and family! Hope in the short time, we will see the fruits of all peace loving MALAYSIANS realised!
written by goman2k3, August 01, 2008 01:10:23

Can you please set up a donation account for DSAI Permatang Pauh election campaign FUND. Pay pal account will be good for overseas donation.

Penang Boleh!!!
written by Loonie, August 01, 2008 02:49:55
To greedy, cruel and brutal Rosmah,
Wake up and learn something about righteousness from Dr. Wan Azizah. She is truly a woman of substance, a pillar of strength not just for her husband and family, but for the women of the entire nation. She is God's chosen one to lead the Malaysian female race - gentle, compassionate, understanding, supportive and yet assertive. And how about you? Big fat Rosmah has nothing to offer except to kill aggressively and then 'dress to kill' with all your plunder of the nation's resources.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 01, 2008 07:22:58
Malaysians can see for themselves there are two types of women;one who who is sweet&sentimental,stands behind her hubby at all times through thick & thin,whereas the other type will be cunning& cruel,nothing short of a murderer or conspiration in one;sure everyone knows who I am comparing!
written by JUST, August 01, 2008 07:42:55
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by ahmadneil, August 01, 2008 08:08:54
Its PARTY time and lets boogie.The hopes and the wishes of all Malaysian will surely be fulfilled to their content.Gook luck Anwar.
written by JUST, August 01, 2008 09:01:19
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qn6kPN753zU
written by deemah, August 01, 2008 10:32:29
Malu lah B., With all the powers you have, police, military, ACA, and all other govt machineries - you all kalah dengan seorang bernama ANWAR. Pak Lah dan Najib - dai mana kejantanan kamu?
written by JUST, August 03, 2008 06:17:09
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related