Home arrow No Holds Barred arrow Fruit from a poisonous tree will be poisonous

Fruit from a poisonous tree will be poisonous PDF Print
Wednesday, 19 December 2007 13:59

They say only Islam is good, all other religions are bad. And those with no religion whatsoever or atheists are even worse. But these people from the good religion want the government to do bad things. That is what troubles me to no end. How can a good religion make people want to be bad?

Malaysia can pride itself in knowing that regardless of what religious celebration it may be, its ethnic groups will come together as one to honour the event, the mainstream newspapers reported Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi as saying. Abdullah said religious festivals celebrated in Malaysia serve to bridge gaps and foster better ties among the multi-religious and multi-racial makeup of the country.

Malaysia, he said, was blessed, as the people not only had great respect for each other's religion, but also for the religious occasions that the different segments of society celebrated. Abdullah also said Malaysians never failed to display respect towards each other and it was customary for most to offer help and lend a hand during religious festivities, even to those outside their own race.

A religious occasion, including Hari Raya, is a day when we seize the opportunity to visit our friends and strengthen our ties as true Malaysians. In our everyday lives, we prioritise aspects of goodwill and understanding towards each other, including on religious matters, which are deemed sensitive,” Abdullah said.

Have you noticed how politicians and religious people -- especially if they are politicians masquerading as religious people -- always say one thing to the non-Muslims and another to the Muslims? When the Indians and Chinese start showing signs of restlessness, they will talk about multi-racial, multi-cultural tolerance and all such crap. But to an all-Malay or all-Muslim audience, when they think that the non-Malays or non-Muslims are not within earshot, they will talk about the ‘enemies’ of the Malays and warn us that the kafir can’t be trusted and can’t be taken as our friend because they are the millennium-old enemies of Islam.

Thess public displays of keris-waving are small potatoes. The non-Malays were meant to see that. They knew the TV cameras were on and that what they said and did was being beamed live, straight into the living rooms of Malaysians. But what they talk behind closed doors would make even our First Prime Minister and Bapa Merdeka, Tunku Abdul Rahman, who in his days was accused of being a Chinese running dog who sold out the Malays, turn in his grave. Yes, the Tunku was ousted because he ‘gave in’ too much to the Chinese. But it was in the Tunku’s days that Malaysia was most peaceful, until someone came out with the ‘bright’ idea of how to unite the Malays under a common cause.

Can I be so bold as to say that in the Tunku’s days, the Malays were less religious? Not a single Malay senior government officer’s home did not have a bar, well-stocked with beer, brandy, whisky and wine that would make any pub turn green with envy. That was during the Merdeka era when you could admire the lovely legs of Malay women and when bare-back knee-length skirts were the ‘in’ thing. Miss Malaysia would be a sweet, young, Malay, lass in a bikini who would give the Chinese and Indian girls a run for their money -- until Pan-Asian girls appeared on the scene of course. Then we mixed-breed Eurasians beat the panties off the thoroughbreds. Hidup Pan-Asian!

Fifty years on and we celebrate our fiftieth anniversary of Merdeka. By now the Malays have become more religious. No longer will you find any bar in Malay homes. The army no longer toasts with wine but with syrup. And even then toasting, a western custom, is frowned upon. No longer can you get drunk with NAFI beer at fifty cents a can. You have to pay RM15 a glass at a pub and a crate of two dozen cans would be unaffordable for most Malaysians today.

But that is good. Malays have discarded their jahiliyah days or era of ignorance. Malays are now more Islamic. And Malays are told that we must not celebrate Christmas or wish the Chinese or Indians Kong Hee Fatt Choy or Happy Deepavali as this goes against Islamic teachings. Why, therefore, is Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi saying what he said, as reported by the mainstream media? Does he not know what he is saying goes against what Islam stands for, at least according to what the religious people tell us? Or is this a case of saying one thing to the non-Muslims and another to the Muslims? I suppose this is what politics is all about. You have to tailor your statements to suit the audience. And what Abdullah said was meant for the non-Malay ears, not for the Malays.

They say everyone goes through various stages of changes in their life and I suppose I am no exception. If I was asked to sum up my different stages of change, I would probably divide my life into three parts. The first part, the first 27 years of my life, would be what Malays (and Muslims as well) would call the jahil (ignorant) stage. That was when I did not pray, never for one minute stopped to think about God, drank beer, played Gin Rummy, and indulged in all form and manner of ‘sin’ that you can think of. Somehow, the consumption of pork was never one of those ‘sins’ though, for whatever reason I still can’t figure out until today.

When I touched 27 or 28, I suddenly ‘saw the light’ and became a ‘born-again’ Muslim. I used to jokingly tell my friends I was never born a Muslim but masuk Islam (converted to Islam) at the age of 27. From then on, I ‘fast-forward’ to catch up on all that I had missed the first 27 years of my life. I went to Mekah ten times or so, twice for the Haj and the rest for my Umrah (small Haj). I sat down and started reading the Quran and within a few weeks was able to rattle away like one who had learnt to read the Quran at the age of five. Even my Tok Guru was surprised. He said it normally take months or maybe even years for ‘old’ people whose brain had already beku (frozen) to read the Quran. I was able to do it in a matter of weeks. I bought the entire nine volumes of Hamka’s Quran translation and nine volumes of Hadith Bukhari plus Imam Ghazali’s kitab which I read over and over again until I was able to quote from memory.

That was all just before the Iranian Islamic Revolution and I was smitten. During my first trip to Mekah to perform the Haj, I joined an Iranian anti-Saudi demonstration and proudly carried a giant poster of Imam Khomeni high above my head. I wanted the Saudi government to be toppled and the two Holy cities of Mekah and Medina to be governed by an international Islamic coalition a la the Vatican City. I was slightly over 30 then and an Islamic revolutionary to the core.

I became the Chairman of our local mosque and set about ‘freeing’ all the mosques from government control. I helped raise funds to develop as many independent mosques as possible so that we could keep the Religious Department out of these mosques. Some of you probably remember the dua imam (two imams) episodes rampant in the State of Terengganu in those days. Datuk Yusof, the Terengganu head of the Special Branch (KCK), picked me up and brought me to meet the Terengganu Menteri Besar so that they could ‘rehabilitate’ me. They actually wanted to detain me under the Internal Security Act but there was this small complication concerning my father’s cousin (Emak Sepupu) who was the then Tengku Ampuan Terengganu. The Tengku Ampuan Terengganu was sister to the late Agong, the Sultan of Selangor, so they had to handle me with kid gloves.

Yes, I was a problem for Umno Terengganu and they would have liked to lock me away but my palace ‘immunity’ made this impossible. Anyway, eventually I left Terengganu and that sort of solved the whole thing. Five years later, Terengganu fell to the PAS-led opposition, so it really did not matter anymore, anyway.

That, in a nutshell, would be how I would describe the second 27 years of my life, phase two, and now I am in phase three, the third 27 years of my life. Of course, I really do not think I will live another 27 years or else I will live to a ripe old age of 81. No doubt Tun Dr Mahathir is still very much alive and kicking way past 81. But then Tun does not smoke, does not sleep at 3.00am, does not survive with a mere five hours sleep every night, is very careful with his diet, and much more. In short, I do everything opposite of what Tun does, so I do not hold the fallacy that I can live as long as he has thus far.

But that is not the issue. Whether phase three will be another 27 years like phases one and two is not what I want to talk about. What I do want to discuss is what I am going through in this phase three.

As I said, my first 27 years of phase one was the jahil period, and the second 27 years of what I call phase two, the Iranian Islamic Revolution period, my ‘enlightenment’ period. Phase three, however, appears to be my questioning and doubting period, which is giving rise to my disillusionment period.

I accept that I was like one of those lost sheep during phase one. Then I thought I had discovered the truth and saw the light in phase two. But now, in phase three, I am beginning to question this co-called truth. I am beginning to doubt that this was really the truth as I originally thought it was. I am beginning to become disillusioned with what I originally perceived as the truth.

Religion is supposed to be good, not only Islam, but any religion for that matter. And that is what I went through during phase two, discovering religion. But if religion is good, then why are religious people bad? Why is it when I meet unreligious people or atheists, I see good people? And why when I meet orthodox religious people, I see bad people? Yes, that is what has been nagging me in this phase three of my life. If religion is good, then religious people should be good and unreligious people or atheists should be bad. But why is it the other way around? And this does not apply to only Muslims.

I gave a talk to a group of pro-Abdullah Ahmad Badawi Umno people a few weeks ago. In that crowd was one whom I would classify as an ultra-religious person. When I pointed out that corruption is bad and that we must oppose it, he replied that corruption is okay. I then argued that Islam says that corruption is Riba’ (usury) and that there are 80 levels of Riba’ and that the sin for the lowest level is equivalent to the sin of sexual intercourse with one’s own parent. He agreed and said that this is actually one of the sayings (hadith) of the Prophet Muhammad.

I was flabbergasted. There I had before me a religious man. He was preaching to me and saying that the present secular system of government has to be rejected in favour of an Islamic system. He blames the ills facing this nation on the fact that we have turned our backs on Islam and chose instead a western secular system over the Islamic system as prescribed by the Prophet Muhammad. But corruption is okay, he argued.

If even just one Muslim were to leave Islam and become a Hindu, Christian or Buddhist, then it is the duty of all Muslims to violently oppose this. Apostasy is forbidden and the prescribed punishment is death. And Muslims must run riot on the streets and burn buildings and kill people if anyone tries to leave Islam. No Muslim worth his salt will disagree with this. This is not violence, this is not extremism, this is not a threat to national security; this is defending the dignity of Islam. But if you march peacefully to the Agong’s palace or to Parliament to hand over a Memorandum, this is not allowed. The police must arrest you, beat you up, and the leaders or organisers must be detained without trial under the Internal Security Act. This is what Islam asks us to do and is mandatory.

Ask any Malay-Muslim leader. Ask any imam in the mosque. Ask any Mufti. Ask any Religious Department official. Ask anyone from Pusat Islam. None will disagree that the peaceful marchers need to be dealt with harshly and detained without trial under the Internal Security Act. And none of these same people will disagree that apostates need to be dealt with harshly and rioting, and burning buildings, and killing people are necessary in defending the dignity of Islam.

Most of the police are Muslims, but they act violently towards peaceful marchers. Most of the government leaders are Muslims, but they act harshly towards peaceful marchers. And they say that they do this to preserve the peace, which is required by Islam. But if you ‘insult’ Islam or try to become an apostate, then you must accept the violent punishment. And this is not violence or harsh or a threat to national security. This is defending the dignity of Islam. And corruption is okay. Cheating in the elections is okay. Abuse of power and authority is okay. Wastage of public funds is okay. Denying you your fundamental rights is okay. Using the mainstream media to lie is okay. Threatening the non-Malays is okay. Persecution is okay. Detention without trial is okay. Assaulting detainees under police custody is okay. Just do not insult Islam or try to leave Islam. That is not okay and the use of violence to oppose this is also okay.

I see religious people and I see bad people. I see unreligious people and atheists and I see good people. How can religion be good if religious people are bad? How can religion be from God if the product of religion is bad people? Yes, that is what troubles me this third phase of the 27 years of my life.

The more people pray, the worse they become. People who never pray are wonderful people. How can this be? Police officers pray. Government leaders pray. But they are terrible people. There must be something terribly wrong with praying. Is religion merely a scam? How can religion be right when those who profess religion are so wrong?

Sure, I have heard the old argument time and time again. There is nothing wrong with religion. It is the people who are wrong for not following what the religion really teaches us. But why? That still does not explain it. Why is it people who are religious become so bad? Is religion not supposed to guide us to become good? If religion has failed to turn us into good people then surely religion and not people is what is wrong. There is another old saying: there is no such thing as bad students, only bad teachers. If students turn out bad then the teacher has to be blamed. In that case, would not this same argument apply? If religion has failed to educate us then the teacher and not the student has to be blamed.

Sigh….the third phase of my life, the third 27 years, is going to be very traumatic indeed. The first 27 years were easy. I just enjoyed my life. I lived for today and to hell with tomorrow. The second 27 years were also very satisfying. I lived for my religion. Everything I did I did for Islam. But this third 27 years is going to be an endless journey for me. And I may never reach my destination because I am not confident I will live another 27 years. I need to find out whether religions really exist or whether they are mere human inventions and old wives tales. Fruit from a poisonous tree will always be poisonous. It can never be any other way. And the fruit from a good religion must certainly be goodness. It can never be any other way. But that does not seem to be what is happening here.

Today, we are told that Muslims support detention without trial. Today, we are told that 1.5 million Malays from 395 Malay NGOs support the government in its use of the Internal Security Act against peaceful marchers. Many are angry that those 31 from HINDRAF are not going to be tried for attempted murder after all. They want blood. They want the blood of the BERSIH and HINDRAF marchers. They want the blood of those who merely exercised their God-given right of free expression. These 1.5 million Malays are followers of a good religion. They say only Islam is good, all other religions are bad. And those with no religion whatsoever or atheists are even worse. But these people from the good religion want the government to do bad things. That is what troubles me to no end. How can a good religion make people want to be bad?

Comments (119)Add Comment
written by Toyolbuster, December 19, 2007 15:37:34
Some months back, my friend's spa was raided by this islamic religious dept. Some muslimin masseuses were taken in by these holymen for "rehabilitation". Upon arriving at the centre, an annexe of the mosque, the girls were immediately made to do a cat-walk for all the holymen to view. One of the girls was brought into a room and got molested by a holyman and almost got raped when she managed to escape. I suppose that is a routine "turning over" part of the rehabilitation procedure.
disagree 20
agree 328
written by teo siew chin, December 19, 2007 15:53:39
Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra

This is just about the most depressing article you've come up with! I totally will not believe that I am surrounded by 1.5 million bad people. I will now wait for the good people to speak up.
disagree 39
written by temenggong, December 19, 2007 16:07:00
The answer is quite simple really. People identify themselves with a religion, put aside their rationale, put up all sorts of arguments to vindicate their 'faith', identify the 'enemy', and thereafter do not like to be told they are wrong.

You made a mistake, as you did not put aside your rationality. See, quite simple. smilies/wink.gif
written by cruzeiro, December 19, 2007 17:10:31
I'm not so sure if you're writing to run down to hypocrites, institutionalized religion or religion itself.

The laws of "Organized Religion", especially the "Abrahamic", is derived from those made to bring about social order among "decadent" peoples who did not have a civilisation or social order to be proud of in its day. Hence the "barbaric" laws prescribed to the early converts, using an "Almighty God" and legends as the only reasons required for a moral code.

Anyway, as you say, religion often does make people do evil things, thus giving God a bad name.
The reason for this is quite simple - it very often instills in the advocate a profound sense of pride, that closes his mind to reason and logic.

Yes, it happens in all religions - especially those that seek converts, in order to prescribe a formula of ignorance and blind faith in leadership - and to "conquer all mankind for the greater glory of 'God'".

This phenomenon is especially prevalent in Christianity and Islam. These days it is more of the chest-thumping, "evangelical" forms of both these institutions that is quite prone to this tendency - ie, to to see things as black & white, good & evil, believer & heretic.

However, when it comes to power and money, anything is fair game - that's the modern man's religion!
Other than that, the rest is plain, low down dirty politics, with plenty of frothy God-talk.

Most turn to religion for excuses, solace, comfort and inspiration - "a shoulder to lean on" - nothing more. And they'll convince themselves of anything that is prescribed, so as to give them reason to do what they want, or to go on living.

If one is serious about "God", I seriously doubt he would give two hoots about the feel-good factor of "organized religion".

God doesn't need human guardians,platitudes or scriptures to prove his might or greatness - man does. And it is more about culture, philosophy and politics, anyway. Not "God".

Anyway these days religion appears to be more about politics than God.
agree 169
written by karyeowl, December 19, 2007 17:13:30
It is really sad to see people are using religion as a cover to do "bad" things smilies/angry.gif

Don't know why we can't learn from history on the matter of religions, be it be Christianity or Muslim, where selfish people always use the God's name in vain.
written by teo siew chin, December 19, 2007 17:41:16
BTW i wonder whether RPK is good becos of his religion or becos he is a good MAN basically?
written by C360, December 19, 2007 17:57:33
What comes out comes out from within ..
written by joeawk, December 19, 2007 18:03:30
Balance, balance,balance, man!
Water attracts fire
salt and sugar=great taste
men and women=oh wow when the 2 energy harmonised and then explode, oooo
what goes up must come down
horizontal and vertical=cross
good and bad
yr 1st 27 and yr 2nd 27 give you the present 27-realization and awakening, lucky you. That is how wisdom comes about.

Absolute truth? Not for man. Truth is sprinkled on everyone. Pieces by pieces, we pick them up. They do not come in a basketful.

Sleep well at night for all seems like illusion yet it is absolutely not.

written by Equal, December 19, 2007 18:06:25
It is not the religion that is bad. It is the people, there are bad muslims, bad christians, bad Buddhists, bad Hindus etc. I strongly believe it has something to do with our bringing up. If you were told from young, not to tell lies, not to hurt other people, not to cheat, not to steal, not to be lazy etc. and were told to respect others, to be caring, to be loving, to be understanding, to help people who need help irrespective of race etc. then he or she will become a good person and his religion is not important.
written by prizewinner74, December 19, 2007 18:07:52
All religions have the so called 'pious' ones...who pray 5 times a day, go to church or temples religiously, etc. However, I find that those who don't make a show out of being religious are always better people compared to the ones who profess to be 'religious'. I suppose they are just making up for being 'bad' people & therefore have the need to go all out & prove themselves 'religious' by being seen praying regularly at mosques, churches & temples smilies/grin.gif
written by panca, December 19, 2007 18:11:00
Nobody is anti-god (religion..relates to god), a non-believer(atheist) per se but religion of god teaches good yet many believes in god and do(action) of the unwholesome. Hiding behind the belief, goes around in disguise of being holier than thou. Non believer does good, believer of god does harm, is it not dissimilar to that non believer merits the goodness or godliness good. So it is the action of people that carries himself well, really matters. It is really no point shouting God when the mind is so far away and the heart filled with dark pathces.

YM RPK, when I read the article, tears well in my eyes, not because I despise those fake people but because I am sad why many failed to see the things you see and I really hope people can think rightfully.

You are respected and loved by many who share similar factor, of those who want to see the change in the people for the good of this country.

smilies/cool.gif
written by cruzeiro, December 19, 2007 18:25:28
written by joeawk:
They do not come in a basketful.

===============================

NEP & Ketuanan Melayu says that you're wrong buddy!
That's where RPK has problems - a wise man like you says one thing, and UMNOBaru- Putra says otherwise!

(BTW, Pete - I think you should start a campaign to stop everyone from using the "UMNO" name for UMNO Baru - these guys are living on the legacy of the Old UMNO which they raped and got banned. It isn't even the same thing, and they have now launched a book by Onn Jaafar's nephew, to grab some credit and the limelight. They are so shameless, they even wanna steal from history!)
written by cruzeiro, December 19, 2007 18:27:57
They even claim that they are 50 yrs old lah - when they're only 20!!!
written by stormcloud, December 19, 2007 18:57:17
I remember talking amongst friends, touching on how much Malaysia had turned towards a more religiously themed society for the past 20-30 years. Many of them conclude it was the opposite(!) and said that society is getting less religious instead, I was flabbergasted.

Bearing in mind that these friends were born circa 1980s or late 1970s, it was not an unexpected response. They had never experienced and seen this change themselves. Youngsters nowadays ... smilies/sad.gif
written by Vineeth Menon, December 19, 2007 19:04:48
Religion..Its well explained here

ADDRESSES AT THE PARLIAMENT OF RELIGIONS,Swami Vivekananda in Chicago,15th September, 1893
WHY WE DISAGREE ?
I will tell you a little story. You have heard the eloquent speaker who has just finished say, "Let us cease from abusing each other," and he was very sorry that there should be always so much variance.

But I think I should tell you a story which would illustrate the cause of this variance. A frog lived in a well. It had lived there for a long time. It was born there and brought up there, and yet was a little, small frog. Of course the evolutionists were not there then to tell us whether the frog lost its eyes or not, but, for our story's sake, we must take it for granted that it had its eyes, and that it every day cleansed the water of all the worms and bacilli that lived in it with an energy that would do credit to our modern bacteriologists. In this way it went on and became a little sleek and fat. Well, one day another frog that lived in the sea came and fell into the well.

"Where are you from?"

"I am from the sea."

"The sea! How big is that? Is it as big as my well?" and he took a leap from one side of the well to the other.

"My friend," said the frog of the sea, "how do you compare the sea with your little well?"

Then the frog took another leap and asked, "Is your sea so big?"

"What nonsense you speak, to compare the sea with your well!"

"Well, then," said the frog of the well, "nothing can be bigger than my well; there can be nothing bigger than this; this fellow is a liar, so turn him out."

That has been the difficulty all the while.

I am a Hindu. I am sitting in my own little well and thinking that the whole world is my little well. The Christian sits in his little well and thinks the whole world is his well. The Mohammedan sits in his little well and thinks that is the whole world. I have to thank you of America for the great attempt you are making to break down the barriers of this little world of ours, and hope that, in the future, the Lord will help you to accomplish your purpose.
http://www.vivekananda.net/BooksBySwami/CompleteWorks/2_WhyWeDisagree.html
written by cruzeiro, December 19, 2007 21:38:02
"HERALD the weekly paper of the Catholic Church facing problem in renewing permit. Told not to have Bahasa section as condition for approval. All these years they had four sections – languages. BM to reach East Malaysians and youths educated in BM."
==================

This is what you call bad fruit!!
These guys just wanna create communication problems for "others" - so much for national integration!!
written by cruzeiro, December 19, 2007 21:42:06
These guys sit in tempurungs - not even wells!!
I just pray to God that the above Message from LKS isn't true - it's like telling us not to speak to our young ones and our Sabah & Sarawak brothers!
written by Nautilus, December 19, 2007 22:31:53

Another excellent piece RPK.
I'm not good giving constructive feedback or comment like many.
But, have a question instead:

How do you call those supposedly "Good People" who impose ISA to strike fear and terror?

written by billykbk, December 19, 2007 22:34:53
smilies/cool.gifThere's no need for any religion. Just do good and relax!
written by justice6, December 19, 2007 23:57:35
Religion was created by our acestor to control a group of ppl. The fundemental of religion is hope and fear. If you want to control a group of ppl, give them hope...and if you can convince them to jump into a hole for a better tomorrow, then you have given them HOPE.
To control thru fear is like what our govt is trying to do now.. cos the rakyat have lost HOPE in them as they know.. so they have no choice but to use FEAR. There is always a positive and negative effect of one choice... so now the govt HOPE by using FEAR, it will able to control the rakyat..
written by ckc, December 20, 2007 01:16:43
Appreciate and proud of you to speak up to give more understanding to those of us who are still blind and allow ourselves to be led by the blind.Preaching different ungodly sermon to 2 different groups of people in order to win the hearts of the people and for personal gain is not God's way of teaching.
As believers of God we are supposed to be a walking testimony for him in order for others to follow.But somehow in our country we have many who act and behave like very religious and holy but from the way they live their lives it shows otherwise.This people who speak different things to different groups of people to suit their taste are actually people who fear people more than their God.Before they accumulated their wealth and power they were more obedience and abidding to God but somehow along the way they exchanged God for materialism that they hold so dearly.Now they love things more than human beings
and that could be the reason that many people are being make used of and being treated unfairly.We are supposed to love people and make use of things but somehow it goes the other way.This could one of the reasons today why people find it hard to trust one another.Pete,I can understand now why so many masuk Islam,Christian,Buddhist,Hindu and many others religions and yet not what you called the Born-Again.This could be due the issue of leadership not lead by example.Leadership is actually servanthood,meaning they are here to serve their people but not to boss around and hurt their people.
Somehow in our country when we have so called freedom of worship and religion in our constitution but I think leaders will need to carry out a stock check to see what has gone wrong.Especially our biggest religion in this country need to do even more because they spend so much tax money in building structures of worhip but somehow the end result is no so encouraging.We need to reflect on the amount of corruption,social problems,dysfuntional families,polygamy and many others issues that are tearing our nation from bad to worse.When religious teaching is being taught and abidded well it will make families to be a good unit and many good units will make a better nation.I believe the education system in our country also need a post mortem and overhaul the system.We must not protect those inefficient and also those not capable or else our country will take much longer time to be on par with some of our neighbours.In order for the good for every malaysian we need to stop the rod or else we are digging our
mass and preparing for our funerals,the only difference is some will go earlier and some later,all will suffer at the end.It's never too late and is good to change our mindset and join hands to strike for a better future for all malaysian and let us relate to one another like we belong to one colour and let.s not allow the word race to divide us,after all every part in our body is the same and the colour of our blood is also the same.Example is testified from the recent many organ transplant cases to show that we need each other.
Look like we have many trees that are not bearing good fruits in our government system and these trees need to be chopped down in order for good new trees to be planted for the sake of our future children.
Generousity,love and care will bring peace.harmony and progress to our nation but greediness,selfishness,hatred and unforgiveness will bring our nation down,at the end everyone will suffer.May peace be with us.
written by Lady, December 20, 2007 10:33:53
I'm within the first phase of my 27 year cycle and I have questioned the need for established religion since childhood, much to my mother's horror. A Greek saying says that the Gods will do nothing that man would no do for himself. Does that not suggest that humankind are the ones who created the concept to find a purpose that is larger than himself so that humans would find joy in living it, for the sake of selflessness?

Maybe, RPK, God exists, and maybe not. Maybe for all our praying 5 times a day we prayed to the wrong God and will suffer in the afterlife for it and maybe we're right. Maybe, we are nothing but Darwin's child through and through, by some accident we are created with an akal more sophisticated than the other mammals in this world and we wasted most of our precious short life praying to a non-existing God.

I don't know, but I do know that there is such a thing as supernatural beings, djinns, etc, inheriting the family 'gift'. I know they respond to strong human will, irrespective of what holy book you're chanting from. For this, I question my personal sanity rationally beyond counting, even till now.

I sometimes feel that if there is such a thing as God, we're nothing but a huge version of thesims2 to Him, probably to idle eternity away. Why are there questions with no definitive answers?

We are but humans after all, flawed.
written by MsiaCTzen, December 20, 2007 17:45:11
Why must a country be rule on the laws of a religion?

Malaysia is a country consist of citizen with different religious beleives.
Every religious have their good and bad but Malaysia citizen have freedom of believe enshrine in the consittuion.
Islam might be Malaysia core religion but that doesn't mean that it have to be rule by it's Islamic Law.
Religion believes and practise should be left to individual to decide.

Malaysia should be rule by the people and for the people within the context of the law as enshrine in the consitution.

Religion Business = Governance of a country is a bad mixture.
written by ahmadbadrul40, December 20, 2007 17:57:16
REligion should not be impose onto people. It should be practive privately. What the UMNO or the Malays are doing is that, they are forcing everybody to be in the same boat. So most Malay entreprenuers start up by selling goreng pisang.

written by C360, December 20, 2007 18:49:31
written by cruzeiro, December 19, 2007 | 21:38:02

"HERALD the weekly paper of the Catholic Church facing problem in renewing permit. Told not to have Bahasa section as condition for approval. All these years they had four sections – languages. BM to reach East Malaysians and youths educated in BM."
==================

This is what you call bad fruit!!
These guys just wanna create communication problems for "others" - so much for national integration!!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Such a BIG INFERIORITY COMPLEX and Kampong Politics .. PATHETIC !
written by ckc, December 20, 2007 19:00:03
Religion should be accepted voluntarily by individual,so that the chances of them to study,follow and practice it is more likely.If somebody is automatically or forced to take up a religion,most likely the chances of dropping it or ignore the practice of that religion is very high.If we keep on doing this then the outcome result is producing many hypocrites and play God.An illustration is like a child who like to have a teddy bear for his birthday but the parents bought him something else they like instead of the child,so the outcome is the child is not going to treasure it.I strongly believe Malaysia should allow freedom to choose any religion each one prefer or treasure.Somehow I think it is for political reason some malaysian are forced to accept only one religion and with this religion political unity may be attained but we must also bear in mind the outcome of the fruits from this group of people can cause much social problems to the community as well as our country. I believe this is one of the reasons for so much of social ills in our society today.A time like this is a wake up call to leaders of our country and a religious group to seriously reflect upon in order for the better of the future of our children as Loving Malaysians living together.So I hope the present leadership will change their thinking and not allow greed and selfishness to cause them to make wrong decision.We may not see what the future will be for our children but God will punish even the evil doers of the pass.May peace be with us.
written by Hope4all, December 20, 2007 20:18:16
Dinasours roamed the earth for more than 160 million years before they were extinct. Human beings have been around for about 2 million years but looking at the way things are, if things don't change for the better, how can we even think we can survive even for the next 100 years. We will kill ourselves to extinction, not the meteors, not the tigers, lions and bears, we ourselves!

For the folks who interpret the religious doctrines (or call it fatwa, bible, holy book or what not..) to their own benefits, we can judge you and criticize you but that may not be important to you. Only 2 persons (if I may call God "person", forgive me) will really know if evil in you indeed exists, you and God. Nobody can convict you, not even the court of law in this country. You will be judged properly when the time comes, that I know. If you fear that coming, then, you damn know what to do!

Give back your Merz, donate your bungalow and transfer all your bank balance to charity. And most of all, tell your followers that you made things up for your own sins.

I would do it if I were you, because I fear GOD!
written by penangite, December 20, 2007 20:31:01

What you're experiencing now in the third phase of your life is exactly what I am experiencing now in the 1st phase of my life (probably even my first 27 years as I am already 23 now). I wonder what will be my 2nd and 3rd phase like, if God permits... Thanks for posting up my friend's article, appreciate it smilies/smiley.gif
written by Kuku Burung, December 21, 2007 00:05:32
A person should always remember that the value of his/her religion is not based on his/her good works and excellence, but on the attributes of God which prompts him/her to do these things.
written by panji.seri.alam, December 21, 2007 01:00:17
Dear pete,

Good Stuff u write here.

Malaysian people has been looking for direction and has never been "sesat" this far.
If you go and ask around, all the subject of conversation is about who to trust, where to make money, politics, gossips and so on.
Mainstream telling lies everywhere, everyday publicity of BN politicians, distrust and corroptions. Potraying the one side of BN which is thinning everyday..

After 50 years of MERDEKA ? still sesat? still have no direction?

if UNION JACK instead of JALUR GEMILANG
if whites 'BRITs' instead of 'MALAY PM'
.... i can understand it.

but here we are, in land of our ancestors..
still begging, after 50 years of MERDEKA... from who??
BN?? UMNO?? come on!!!

THIS IS THE TIME TO MAKE CHANGE.....
i am in full support
"REVOLUTION OF MIND"

Thanks PETE.
written by FFT, December 21, 2007 03:24:57
Religion, especially those of the Abrahamic seed, were developed primarily as tools for the ruling elite to control the population. Which is why at their core they are the ones governed by elaborate rules founded upon fear and punishment....with Islam being the most recent kid on the block.

Religion softens you up and primes you to be obedient and submissive to authority...works on most people, though the exceptions have been too few to make a big enough difference. The beauty of this is that many fail to realize that this is exactly what it is doing, and actually assume the opposite.

Religion gives you the perfect foundation for us-vs-them worldview, which can be nicely used for divide and rule tactics.

And religion distracts you enough that you fail to see you're being robbed blind.

The moment humans stop worshiping their sun gods, moons gods, and silly little unshaven, unkempt, desert wandering prophets since Adam's, we'll probably get somewhere as a species.
written by ckc, December 21, 2007 09:37:44
During a conversation I once asked an engineer friend whether can he make something like my nose.A nose that can smell,prevent dust from getting into our bodies and also throw out some of the body fluid.He told me was possible and I asked what about the size of this item,he said perhaps about 3 kilograms in weight.Then I asked him again what about something like our hearts which can function by circulating our blood and oxygen,he also said possible but it will be quite big and heavy which can only function from the outside.I then also asked what about a human body that can sense wrong or right as our spirit tell us so.He said also can but is a robot can do many function except it cannot sense right or wrong for the thing it does and this sensing got to be controlled by a human being.Then he started to ask me back whether animal can sense thing wrong or right and I told him maybe only to a certain extend but it cannot be as much as human.Then he wandered if human body is much more sophiticated than animal in many ways then we are really special and we should really give honour to whoever created us to be human but not animal.Then he pondered again and said,looks like there must be a creator whom we cannot see but if we ever see him I believe he would ask us alot about our pass.Again he throw me a question whether this creator will judge us.My answer to him was,even in this country if we do anything right not many will talk about it but if we do anything wrong then we ended up in court to be judged.What do you think,I asked back and he said we better watch out what we do now because whoever that creator who made us I think we are answerable to him one day.We ended our conversation by him telling me since we will be judged after this life then I believe we should do good and serve our people and nation.This is a story especially dedicated to those who are ruling and making decision for our nation and looking after the welfare of the people.May peace be with this group of people.
written by temenggong, December 21, 2007 11:45:51
Is would not be too farfetched to say most muslims have no idea of islam, or any religion at all. I think they dont want to know it too!
written by teo siew chin, December 21, 2007 12:00:42
'...have no idea of islam, or any religion at all.."
-----------------------------------------------------

No idea is better than 'wrong' idea! It's much harder to undo a 'wrong' than to work on a blank slate.
written by mountain king, December 21, 2007 23:28:47
a bad or good person is not determined by a religion unless he/she wrongly interprets the message to do evil under the pretext is for a better cause.
And from what I observed not only the police, UMNO, ACA and Internal Security, the MCA, Gerakan and MIC do have bad people. God gives choices and these idiots chose to do the wrong things. Is nothing to do with muslim, buddhist, christian or hindu.
They are outright, outrageously doing bad things. The chinese believes in retribution; reap what he sows. if not he himself, it will be their next generation.
Wonder it will come or not? Let's wait and see ......
written by lokenpal, December 22, 2007 03:18:57
That’s precisely the reason why the ‘Separation of State and Religion’ is vital. There is no (or minimal) morality concerns in economic endeavor or capitalism. Your disillusionment is normal as one comes to terms between progress of the State and concerns of the religion.

Keep Religion private and the public State has a balancing act to do; to ensure there is not a complete separation of religion from state. How we balance this is perhaps the critical question.

We can’t expect the priest and politician to have the same moral values.
written by Anak Desa, December 22, 2007 03:57:59
Every Religion tells us to be good and do good. Along the way,some half baked religous bigots hijack in the name of religion to cause havoc in other people's lives through their own interpretations. The biggest joke is when politicians with low morals and uncapable zealots who cant even manage his own home with a lot of skeletons in their cupboard telling us how hyprocrite religious idoits they are.
Politics and religion should never be mixed and should be treated separately... DIRGHAYU Rakyat Msia.
written by ahmadbadrul40, December 22, 2007 17:48:24
Religion is a private thing. Please don't impose it on other people. It is not fair for those who practice religion sincerely.
written by sickofitall, December 22, 2007 21:50:52
YM RPK, Your timing is uncanny. A pious uncle of mine recently asked me how I was and I said 'frustrated'. I told him it is easier to be a good muslim in a non-muslim country than it is to be a good muslim here. In essense, I told him that here in Malaysia, we muslims seem so intent on observing the practical aspects of Islam, that is to say prayers, fasting, closing of aurat, separation of men form women, haj, etc; so much so that to me, many have forgotten about the values aspect of Islam. God as our witness, how do we expect to share the beauty of Islam with non-muslims and to encourage them to embrace Islam, if we cannot show to them how good Islam really is? Islam should be about how we treat muslims and non-muslims alike with respect, fairness and love. To me, malaysia is a perfect opportunity for us to show the world the magnificence of Islam and how well muslims can admininster a country of different faiths. The proof is in the pudding, and sadly, we are doing a lousy job. I fear the judgement that awaits us but then again, thank God, in his wisdom, I will not have to bear the sins of those in power.
written by krish, December 23, 2007 03:23:08
aah Raja Petra sir...the article sounds as if ur..very depressed...lost..

more questions added to life after this article..sig
written by Wassupdoc, December 23, 2007 08:26:22

I'm exactly 27 years of age, and I've started pondering about the issues you mentioned above. I'm currently a doctor (the medical type, not the philosophical type) but in my post-grad study, I did a thesis/research on all the religions in the world. Despite an above average exposure to all types of religion of the world, I still could not refute the truth of religion being spread like meme. I'm not here to say what is right or wrong, but everyone right-thinking adult should be able to make a judgement for themselves.

Below is a brief description of memes.

Among many anthropologists, sociologists and philosophers, it has recently become fashionable to dismiss all religions as memes - parasitic mental processes which propagate in the same manner as chain letters [Dawkins 1989, Dennett 1995]. In this view, religious belief is a self-perpetuating delusion. A meme (rhymes with 'dream') may be defined as any self-referential belief system which contains within itself the instructions for its own propagation. Memes are often described as the cultural equivalents of computer viruses.

A meme carries exactly the same fear-driven psychological motivation as a chain letter - "If you propagate me then something nice will happen, if not then something horrible will happen". In order to justify themselves against attack by reason, memes place absolute reliance on faith, which is seen as being superior to reason. They also contain self-referential or circular claims to the truth such as "This meme says it is the divine truth. Since it is the divine truth whatever its says must be true. Therefore it must be divine truth because it says so and all competing memes must be the work of the Devil".

These two types of self-referential statement "propagate me" and "I am the only truth" provide the driving force for memes to invade the minds of their hosts. In addition, many memes contain the instructions "Help people who believe in this meme, attack people who do not". These commands being the ultimate cause of all religious hatred, wars, pogroms and persecutions throughout the centuries.

The general defining features of all memes can thus be seen to be self-referential 'closed-loop' type of circular statements, and a strong tendency towards hate and intolerance. The science of the study of memes, their internal structures and modes of propagation is known as memetics (by analogy to genetics - how biological entities propagate themselves).

Like a virus or parasitic worm, a successful meme must perform two actions:

- Ensure it takes up long-term residence in its host.
- Bring about the conditions for its spread.

What say you?
written by Wassupdoc, December 23, 2007 08:32:49
I'm sorry but may I emphasize that above is a quote, and I'm not the founder of meme. Open up your eyes and your heart; and you may see things from a different light. I'm not here to force anyone to believe anything, unlike meme...uhh, how ironic.

Best regards.
written by alternatif2007, December 23, 2007 17:18:52
if u pray 5 times a day means ur compassion to others must be 50 times greater than others! but here the more u pray the greater ur hatred towards non muslims why?
written by krepot, December 24, 2007 00:09:31
I am sure, God/Allah is very please now, that Malaysian politicians had made it illegal, for us Malaysians to call Him God/Allah anymore.

Man are now making laws for God!
Malaysian politicians are above God/Allah, as it seems.

Who died and left this idiot Johari in-charge?

Does it get any worst?
written by tcng, December 24, 2007 12:39:43
Unlike you Royal backgroung, I was born in a very poor Chinese-Malaysian family in a small town in Johor 47 years ago. I attended SRJK(C) and then to English-Medium-Catholic school. My parents are more of less Taoist, like most of the lower level Chinese-Malaysian. I was not attracted to Christianity when I was young.. I could not and still can not stomach the idea of 'If you believe in Jesus Christ', you would have eternal life'. In the first 27 years, I was atheist. However, like you, I went thru a similar phase TWO, it lasted for about 10 years... I was searching for purpose of life.. I read Bible, even flip a few pages of Quran (mostly on the Haram and Halal portion), I read evolution and even primates research. When I was in my late 30s, I concluded that I would have nothing to do with any Holy scripture.. I call myself Agnostic. May be you should, if time permits, take a look at these two books :
(1) 2000 Years of Disbelief: Famous People With the Courage to Doubt by James A. Haught

(2) Is Christianity True?: A Critical Re-examination of the Evidence (Hardcover)
by Michael Arnheim

All the best..
TedNg
written by bananachinese, December 24, 2007 13:02:02
Hey jedyoong,

I think you are a very confused girl. Muslims, Jews and Christians know that they are 'people of the book'. That means worshipping the SAME God. Obviously you have overlooked the unmistaking common denominators of these religions. Doctrines/rituals are only different methodologies used to express that particular religion's alliance/connection with God. I guess you must still be a young kid as your lack of life experience shows up clearly.

Go read more books, dear. You can start with Karen Armstrong's 'A History of God'. If you can get your hands on the translated Quran and Torah, read them too.

Then complement your reading by engaging and discussion with people outside your normal circle of friends. I would recommend you to indulge in basic Philosophy also. This will go very far to help expand your personal worldview.
written by tcng, December 24, 2007 13:35:30
Dear ahmadbadrul40,
>
You are right. The problem is the many men/women, in the name of their religion, impose their value system on non-believer or believers of other faith. Just one example : Religious authority in Msia took away of the dead body of a man because he had converted to Islam? Why "authority" fought with the next-of-kin of the dead man and determine how it should be buried? If this guy leaved a will behind, then follow the will, if there is no will, then his nex-of-kin (wife or children) shall determine how her husband/their father should be buried. Why? I don't know whether Islam is a great religion or not, but I sure know that there are many incidents which shows otherwise. Such as rape victim in Saudi being sentenced to jail time and canning for being together with her ex-boyfriend. It is beyond comprehension, to me. The number of belivers the religion has does not prove that it is good/right... look at the Mormon story (read Is Christianity True?: A Critical Re-examination of the Evidence (Hardcover) by Michael Arnheim

written by fellow, December 24, 2007 14:00:45

"How can a good religion make people do bad?"

First of all, correlation does not equal to causality. Religion does not make people do bad. The correct question should be

"Why are people doing bad in the name of religion?"

The answer is simple - because they can, and by their human nature, wants to do so. If there were no religion, people will still do bad in the name of some other abstract concept.

So, why are people doing bad upon other people?

That, I am not sure. What I know is that at least religion teaches people to do good...
written by teo siew chin, December 24, 2007 14:25:59
Dear Fellow

That is an interesting observation and I agree with you. Perhaps doing 'bad' to each other is nature's way for man to wipe out it's own specie, a kind of inherent natural culling.
written by Brandon, December 24, 2007 14:38:37
There is a saying from a wise man.

"If you think that only this is right and everything else is wrong, you are caught in the net of views."

This above all else is the underlying problem with religiosity. If in the holding of your beliefs and practices, you exclude all those who do not share your beliefs and assign them to hell or a fiery existence after death, that in and of itself is extreme vanity and arrogance of the highest order.

How can one decide the fate and destiny of the entire world based on one's personal opinions and beliefs? Even if one were for arguments sake, to rely on some holy text?

The crux of the matter is that religion and politics never mix well. They never have in the past. They never will in the future. For religion allows people to subvert the rule of law with the rule by law, if they take control of any one country.

Human values far outweigh the rank arrogance of those who profess to know the truth and thereby condemn all others who do not agree with them.

I would suggest that what binds us together is far more stronger than what divides us, even in the worst of times.

Above all, fight the good fight. Have a clean heart and never lose hope.
written by densemy, December 24, 2007 16:40:31
Its taken 54 years to learn to think for yourself, and I know other Muslims in the same boat
Two thirds of a lifetime spent unproductively in trying to discover who you are is a real tragedy

Especially as it was so unnecessary
written by miwaki, December 24, 2007 19:45:51
Someone had found the truth,all evil deeds originate from greeds,anger and ignorant.No god can help you to save yourself,you have to do it yourself.Ultimately,you are judged by your god,not your religion.
written by Anak Desa, December 25, 2007 00:08:06
Majority of the politcians nowadays use religion as the trump card and talking with forked tongue. Whatever they promise and say in front of the crowd or the nation, there is no intergrity and principle in them...
written by salakkan, December 25, 2007 00:59:13
"...How can a good religion make people want to be bad?..."

Or is it, "How could bad people ever make religion good?"

But all is not lost. Why don't they create another sect? Then tell everyone if their sect is not palateable, people are free to believe what they want!

But they only want their "sect" for everyone!

That sucks! Because it means then they have to abolish ISA!!!

What has that go to do love or religion??? What has what they've been babbling about got to do with religion and God or Allah?
written by anon, December 25, 2007 01:29:18
How can a good religion make people want to be bad?
=================

A good religion is like a good book written by a good author. It depends on who the reader is. A good reader will understand its contents and a mediocre one will misunderstand its contents. A bad reader will misconstrue it's contents and interpret it to suit his whims and fancies.
written by JaguhKampung, December 25, 2007 01:35:46
RPK says,
Ask any Malay-Muslim leader. Ask any imam in the mosque. Ask any Mufti. Ask any Religious Department official. Ask anyone from Pusat Islam. None will disagree that the peaceful marchers need to be dealt with harshly and detained without trial under the Internal Security Act. And none of these same people will disagree that apostates need to be dealt with harshly and rioting, and burning buildings, and killing people are necessary in defending the dignity of Islam.

Kind of depressing. What made these people think like this? Is it the religion?
written by sampalee, December 25, 2007 13:01:10
When doubts set in,your faith is put to the test.Your second stage is being introduced to god.The third is to know God[reality] and not believing it as a concept God[label].Once you know Tuhan,you have certainty and does not have to rely on believe.Man's law is based on opinions[which is in faqct a believe]God's scripture is based on TRUTH.
written by PakMalau, December 25, 2007 15:09:05
So here i am, spending my holiday thinking of this whole religion things... n my Winamp playlist played a nice song from Iron Maiden - Lord of the Flies... give the book a read n u'll probably thinking more smilies/wink.gif
written by sydput, December 25, 2007 22:00:32
Looks like those whose comments are against organised religion got many votes. Religion is irrlevant if you believe in God. And if you decide to forgo religion, you will be able to see how silly people of religion have become.
written by Wisdom above, December 26, 2007 01:28:51
Yang Mulia Raja Petra,

They say only Islam is good, all other religions are bad. And those with no religion whatsoever or atheists are even worse. But these people from the good religion want the government to do bad things. That is what troubles me to no end. How can a good religion make people want to be bad?

You have acquired & are full of knowledge , prayed earnestly to obey, yet you are nowhere near the " Truth" or "Answer". There is simply no logical answer for all that happened yesterday and today. Telling the truth can often times get one into deeper water. It is very difficult to swallow the Truth.

I have this to say. If I pray, I used "Power Prayer " I refused to rely on worldly knowledge. I let go all that I have in thoughts, and everything earthly that may hinder me. I must come to God with a contrite heart.

When I pray, I earnestly seek to touch the "Throne of God" . Answers will just flow unceasingly.

You are very near the Truth, yet it is also very far away from your reach. Applying all knowledge
will be an exercise in futility.

I hope to shed some light into this confused world . "It is definitely a crazy world".
If many got confused by what I say here. A thousand apology. I do not appeal to logic . I only speak to your compassionate hearts.
written by Wisdom above, December 26, 2007 01:54:47
Yang Mulia Raja Petra ,

written by teo siew chin, December 19, 2007 | 18:18:09
aw geeee Cruzeiro, aint dat sweet, giving credit to the wifey - yup, a good wife brings out the best in a man! wouldn't it be fun to hear from RPK's wife, or is she not allowed to speak hehehehe.

I have this to say. Please listen to what teo siew chin said.

To me, it is a valuable election strategy.Do not laugh at her simple idea.

BN seats can be reduced to a mere 49% .

You may call this a dream . You see, I believe in Miracle. There is no logic for what
is yet to come .

written by teo siew chin, December 26, 2007 09:03:08
Dear Lokenpal - i think the bible...quran...ramasutra....are codes of conduct. Like any rule/law/codes, it can be subjected to varied interpretation depending on time, circumstances, the interpreter, the enforcer. Given extenuating circumstances, mayhaps even RPK can be "bad" becos he emotes intensely ? I believe the wild animal within us is tamed at birth by family virtues, religion, proper schooling, 'good' experiences, society's expectations. But when it comes to the crux - we are still wild!
written by teo siew chin, December 26, 2007 09:05:13
To be honest, there are occasions when I'm tempted to claw out some people's intestines!
written by Malaysiaku, December 26, 2007 09:12:21
All religion are good but in my opinion, there is only one God. It is means that we are all taking different roads to the same God. It is the people that is giving the religion a bad name. Identify these people for they are the true satans. They merely want to use religion to control the people and use the people for their own gains.
written by teo siew chin, December 26, 2007 09:15:13
"...there is only one God."
-------------------------------

errrr perhaps satan will not agree to that. BTW no wars/fighting/quarrels were incited in the name of satan.
written by DontPlayGod, December 26, 2007 09:38:39
Teo Siew Chin wrote:

"BTW no wars/fighting/quarrels were incited in the name of satan."

Yes, that should wake up the fanatics! People kill, maim, burn down churches, blast others to bits, and they do it in the name of God(Allah). Maybe its time the infidels try to bomb and kill in the name of Satan to counter this.
written by DontPlayGod, December 26, 2007 09:45:44
How I miss the good old days of the 50's, and 60's. Then the Malay girls don't go around wearing the tudung. And the young ones dress in mini-skirts, too. And an old Chinese man I met told me that in years gone by, one does not need to convert to Islam to marry a Muslim girl/man. Sigh, those were the days.

BTW, I have a school classmate, a Muslim, who is now lecturing in a University in the U.S.A. that he now no longer believes in God. He opines that God is a creation of man. He used to be proud of his religion, and his decision took me by surprise.
written by TWOG, December 26, 2007 09:48:10
/// When I touched 27 or 28, I suddenly ‘saw the light’... ///

RPK, I would think in Phase 1, you thought you saw the light. In Phase 2, instead of enlightened, you probably entered the "dard ages". Now, in Phase 3, you have really began to see the light.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by DontPlayGod, December 26, 2007 09:52:49
For their own good(and ours too), I urge all of us to open up their minds and read other spiritual books, and not confine themselves to just reading the Bible, Koran, and other mainstream religious books. Study religion as a subject and let your minds see things from all angles. I read a lot of spiritual/psychic books written by non-mainstream spiritualists/psychics, e.g. books by Ruth Montgomery, T. Lobsang Rampa, and many others. I would urge my Muslim brothers to do the same too, and open up your minds. In all these "alternative" books, no mention of Islam is ever mentioned!
written by teo siew chin, December 26, 2007 10:23:26
yoo hoo people, dont lah wish for the 'good' ole days. What is happening in our country is actually the fault of our parents cos they voted for the current gomen!!!!

anyways, good ole days no computer, no cellphones, no 9.99 airfares, no super hiways, no 14-As in gomen exams ...

written by teo siew chin, December 26, 2007 10:27:12
Dear DontPlayGod - you complain no miniskirts? alo alo mums&pops nowadays complain no knickers lah!
written by malaysianohope, December 26, 2007 10:54:56

Imagine if we were to follow some of their interpretations, the world will be bland and boring, every women wearing overalls with only the eyes visible. Sure to encourage same sex relationships.

Wouldn't it be worse!
written by patnet, December 26, 2007 12:09:43
I think you have entered the 'contemplative period'. God or religion is not a concept defined by a name or by the authorities. We do not need to go to rituals to be with god. To define anything more would be to venture into philosophy. Lets just say your journey has not ended.
written by indianputra, December 26, 2007 13:16:37
It is a pity that this nation, with rich resources, ample land, friendly population and truly Asian cultures had been brought to this low by the greedy politicians. They all can talk big but when the crunch comes, their words have absolutely no meaning. The corruption of these politicians have made this country into a nation that is looked down by the world community.

The big irony is that, THEY KNOW IT!! But they are in the state of denial. They refuse to accept the truth as seen by the Rakyat and they make decsions that are utterly obnoxious. (Can you imagine their stupidity.. that they decided to change Malaysian constitution for ONE MAN!!! That guy from Election Commission, Rashid!!... How low can they go??)

The weak leadership by Pak Lah is another reason for the downslide of this nation. Pak Lah HAS TO GO for the sake of our Rakyat and the next generation.

Malaysians - please think, please vote wisely in the next GE. Your Vote is important so that we can turn this country into what it should be.. A GOLDEN NATION!!
written by teo siew chin, December 26, 2007 16:14:19
BTW Yang Mulia Raja Petra - that is one magnificent Nazareth cross you got displayed there!
written by alternatif2007, December 26, 2007 19:34:13
few quotations from our diverse religious traditions on the love and care of others (in alphabetical order):

Buddhism: Hurt not others in ways that you yourself would find hurtful.

Christianity: All things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them; for this is the law and the prophets.

Confucianism: Is there one maxim which ought to be acted upon throughout one’s whole life? Surely it is the maxim of loving-kindness: Do not unto others what you would not have them do unto you.

Hinduism: This is the sum of duty. Do nothing unto others which would cause you pain if done to you.

Islam: No one of you is a believer until he desires for others what he desires for himself.

Judaism: What is hateful to you, do not to your fellow men. That is the entire law; all the rest is commentary.

Taoism: Regard your neighbor’s gain as your own gain, and your neighbor’s loss as your own loss.

Zoroastrianism: That nature alone is good which refrains from doing unto others whatever is not good for itself.

written by chesterbone, December 26, 2007 20:10:28

Check out these videos, which was as thought provoking as this article. Worth pondering on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSZYN8UV6yg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4mWiqkGy-Y

written by glock17, December 27, 2007 16:39:49
I do not think its a wise idea for Krjn 3 Beranak AMMNOPUTRA keep on lying the kampung folks to gain support against the invincible enemy (chinese,indians,jews,christians,infidels of all sorts). In the short run, yes coz they can get a few pakcik-pakcik with pahalwan spirits wanabees to shout out against their invincible oppressors like 'em 'old hantuah and jebat days.

In the long run..everyone loose out, our neighbours are fighting for economy expansion and invincibility whilst Amnno is busy potraying themselves as the only Malay saviors once the infidels all run free on the street (jeeez)..plus a few Ketuanan candies to sugar coat their propaganda for much more effective results.

Sad but this is true. In racist corruptive regime with ethno blind nationalist aspirations, things will only get worst.

Come the next GE, vote not for a mere RM20 or free nasi beriani or free tar road or salam-salam with 'em Datuks and Tan Seris ...VOTE for justice, principles, accountability, fairness, humanity, compassion and love.

Its now or never...and if Ammno wins...you and I will pay for a very heavy price for many many years to come!

Glock

written by Terminator, December 28, 2007 08:29:08
Dear all,

No doubt the fruit from the poisonous tree should and will be poisonous !!! But the secret is developing an immunity to the poison .... in the event of being hungry or forced to eat the fruit. That is where education of the mind .... or for that matter the education system comes in ....

That is where the Government must be fought at and 'overhauled' !!! As for me ... I'm working on it ....

On a lighter note, unlike RPK's life transformation ....I will probably go from a Hindu (first 27 years) to an atheist (the next 27 years) and eventually to a DEVIL worshiper (in the probably last 27 years). Now ... I like the extremist to try to take me on !!! I have always said .... while people argue about whose GOD and how many GOD is better and stronger, they have all conceded that there is ONE and ONLY ONE DEVIL .... and he is all EVIL and knows what HE is doing !!!!
written by sampalee, December 29, 2007 09:57:57
Man will aways find a scapegoat to justify all their wrong doings.All religions are teaching on Truth.Truth is perfection and does not lend itself to any error.If a person does not follow the scripture[teaching of the Truth],then it simply mean,that person have NO religion.If a buddhist does not follow the buddhist scripture,he or she is not a buddhist.One cannot be call a muslim,If one does not believe in the Koran and live a life according to the teaching contain in the kitab.If an arsonist use fire to destroy property,why blame and dispise the fire.
written by Kamarudin Awang, December 29, 2007 11:35:49
Although I agree with you on points raised as to the corrupted etc. I have to disagree with you when you relate this to Islam. You mean corruption and all other evils are exclusively practised by Malays in Malaysia who happen to be Muslims? You mean there is no corruption done by other races such as English, American, Chinese, Indian, who prcatise other religions? Or an Atheis has not been corrupted? Pleaselah, just because you have differences in ideology and political belief, you want to put the blame on Islam. Kesian Islam for been bashed by not only the Non-Muslim but also by the Muslim themselves.

If you have doubt about Islam after your 27 years of practising it, you have the right to seek other religion. Study and compare. If you think other religion is correct go ahead and make peace with it. But don't open the door for Islam to be bashed because your political ideology is different from the ruling power. It is not fair for Islam to be bashed because of the people wrong doing. Islam never teaches them to be corrupted etc. It is because of the greed of the people that make them a cheat. Maybe keimanan mereka tak se tanding dengan you. Tanpa keimanan yang chekal, corruption can happen although it may not be initiated by you.

Let me relate an old story, way back in 1979. I was given the task to run a container haulage business. We required a container depot to be built. A China man was given the contract because he quoted the lowest. He came to see me later and offer to thank me for the award and insisted on me taking a bunch of currency notes in a big envelope. I told him that he got the contract because he quoted the lowest. He insisted that I should take it as it was "ong". If my iman is at my present state of crisis, I would have taken it. Fortunately or unfortunately, I refused.

Another incident happened when I ordered 20 primemovers and 140 trailers. Each prime mover came with a commission of RM1000 and each trailer with RM500 offered to me. Maybe due to my stupidity or naivity, I insisted them to give my company the credit notes for a discount of RM20,000 for the primemovers and RM70,000 for the trailers. Mine you these offers again came from China men. I had an arguement with another China man. He said the Malays are corrupted. I insisted that it was due to them that the Malay became corrupted. I told them how many time can a man tahan or resist such lucrative offers? One day, the Malay man may really in need of the money due to unforeseen circumstances. If the offer came at the right time, the Malay could not resist anymore and thus the evil would become a habit.

The temptation were too much, I could not stand it and resigned. I took up a job in JB to be nearer my parent and stay peacefully for 6 years.
written by RasuahMinister, December 29, 2007 12:47:41
Aiyah, Fake Muslims lah.

You see here, whoever muslims that are bad (bomb cheat lie rape rasuah etc), we place them under "Fake Muslims". This way the name of Islam, as a religion, remained clean and good.

Examples:
1. American attack Iraq -- Fake Americans.
2. Muslims bomb everywhere -- Fake Muslims.
3. Malay-Muslims-Goverment cheat lie rape bomb rasuah etc -- Fake Muslims.

Now, all problems solved.

America is a good peaceful country
Islam is a good peaceful religion
written by RasuahMinister, December 29, 2007 15:07:10
4.Suicide bombers -- Fake humans
5.Crusaders -- Fake Christians
6.Adolf Hitler -- Fake German
7.Manchester United lost to AC Milan -- Fake Alex Ferguson
8.Malaysian badminton players lost to Indonesia -- Fake Malaysians
written by monstercat, December 30, 2007 03:57:31
Dear Kamarudin Awang,

I really respect that you did not succumb to the "ang-paus" offered. I have to agree that the typical China men's principle is everybody is corruptible. If you rejected their first offer, they will keep it coming thinking that you'd find them favourable and give them more business. To them, they thought that everyone's problems are always money related, eg. inadequate money to send children to university etc. So they feel that they can solve your problems by offering you money. In accepting, both would form a relationship where both would win. This practice has nothing to do with religion or lack of it. It is their up-bringing as they are conditioned at a young age that "money is the most important in life; with money one can do or have nearly everything one wants". But every clap is achieved by two hands; thus we should not only place the guilt on the offerer as the receiver is as guilty.

Everyone has weaknesses no matter how pious they are. Muslims compete amongst themselves on who is more pious and holier. This however is very subjective, how do you know that somebody is very religious? That's where appearance and image emerge to show all that "Oh, we are holier than you. See, we wear the compulsory beard, the hijab, the songkok etc. See, we are more Islamic than you." Who can blame them because the qualities of being religious is intangible and our dear govt knew how to pull the strings with that.

On entering a 4D Magnum outlet, I see many signages that say gambling is forbidden in Islam. There are so many proclamations by the govt that Islam is great, tolerant, peaceful etc, or Muslims cannot do this and that, and Western culture is bad, or it is not our Asian culture to do this and that etc..... Then non-Muslims were asked by the Muslims to buy 4D on their behalf, then went clubbing with them, drank alcohol with them, secretly ate on fasting month, did crimes too as much as non-Muslims. So, please do not think that Muslims are special because they are human too with HUMAN weaknesses. It's the same as someone called Ah Beng eg. who proclaims that he has great morals. But Ah Beng also secretly engage in activities that are immoral. When Ah Beng's viceful activites were known, of course people would question Ah Beng's credibility and bash Ah Beng. But if Ah Beng did not proclaim to the world his goodness, and occasionally buy 4D, plays mah jong once a week, goes clubbing every Friday night, gossip about people etc, would people bash him up???
written by Msia Negarakuku, December 31, 2007 09:56:49
Dear YM RPK,

Wishing you A Happy New year.

It is a very good article and ideology you have written. Consider yourself enlightened since there are not many people in Malaysia who can come up to this state of realisation. I believed religion is a punishment for human race. Religions has been an important discussion by our human race because we wanted to find out more. The more we wanted to find out, the more we get con.

Can you religious guys out there help me with this answer. If Allah is the strongest and powerful, why he cannot kill Satan?

Does god exist in the first place? Perhaps "God" is just human fantasy! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Nochan, December 31, 2007 11:32:08
Recently an old friend invited us for a New Year Party at one club asking me to buy a table. I answered willing to buy 2 seats for me and my wife only as I am not that well off to pay for others. He encouraged me to invite others to come along to make the crowd at my table. I hesitatingly replied that I am not sure any would accept since many are now wearing skull caps and such is not sure they would accept the invitation. He replied that he and his wife had gone for the Haj but still finds time to enjoy themselves now and then and insinuated that I am like him for the reason he invited me.

Dear YM, this is the environment we are now. Therefore your article strike the nail on its head.

I remember another occasion when I was encouraging my relatives and friends to see a film about the era that we used to live in. I was surprised to receive a reply that they had not entered a panggong wayang for decades and would feel shy to be seen entering one of them.

Happy New Year
written by Talisman, December 31, 2007 17:49:38
Msia Negaraku,

if you are a christian, go read the Book of Job ( Jerusalem Bible.) You may discover the answer to your question why Allah cannot destroy Satan. Both the Christian community and the Muslim Ummah knows this: 'faith must remain even when understanding fails.
written by Msia Negarakuku, December 31, 2007 20:25:00
written by Talisman, December 31, 2007 | 17:49:38

Msia Negaraku,

if you are a christian, go read the Book of Job ( Jerusalem Bible.) You may discover the answer to your question why Allah cannot destroy Satan. Both the Christian community and the Muslim Ummah knows this: 'faith must remain even when understanding fails.

Dear Talisman,
since you already read and knew the answer, you can just explain here so it will save my time.
So, do you agree that Allah cannot destroy Satan?
smilies/smiley.gif
written by Xpax, December 31, 2007 22:07:44
Century back, when someone ask me whats my religion, my answer will be "I believe in GOD not the religion".
written by Xpax, December 31, 2007 22:09:01
RasuahMinister,
Adolf Hitler is a swiss no need to Fake the German.
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 02, 2008 02:32:15
I USED TO SIT WITH MY FATHER IN A CHINA MAN COFFEE SHOP WITH MALAYS,INDIANS AND CHINESE AND i WILL HEAR THEM ARGUE ABOUT WHO IS WORSE..THE COMMUNIST, JAPANESE OR THE BRITISH..

THERE WAS NO PROBLEM..WE ALL WENT BACK AND WOULD COME BACK THE NEXT DAY..NO PROBLEMS AND THIS WILL CONTINUE.
THE chinese fellow will eat what he wants, the Malay will keep to his cuppa only and my father will have his tea..while I drink out from a saucer like Lat's cartoons..

Everyone respects everybody and money lending and borrowing will be from the china man..it was ok..

today ..no way...if you see a malay in chinamanshop..Allah forbid...it is haram
this means that my poor father is in hell today too..

And so the muftis and imams have decreed..
you shall not be seen in a chinamans shop
nor shall you eat in the Indian fellow's shop ..if you see his god placed there..he has to bringit down
and you shall not eat in from any utensils served by the infidels for they do not believe in Allah but the DEVIL and therefore they are already condemned...

but you shall recieve their help, their donations for election campaigns and their donatios for disasters like flood relief funds, cancer funds, and any othr funds to help you a Muslim..

but bear in mind that though the infidel helps you he will still go to HELL for he is not a MUSLIM and so my Allah says he his condemned....
written by Anak Desa, January 02, 2008 03:13:46
In any religion, there are half past religious bigots to claims that they know everything when they only know 30% of the religion.A person who knows the religion thorougly usually humble and far-sighted and presents his views in very presentable manners.
written by SUV, January 05, 2008 11:39:45
341. Democracy in Europe is the rule of the Cabinet minister, the corrupt deputy or the self-seeking capitalist masqued by the occasional sovereignty of a wavering populace; Socialism in Europe is likely to be the rule of the official and policeman masqued by the theoretic sovereignty of an abstract State. It is chimerical to enquire which is the better system; it would be difficult to decide which is the worse.
Sri Aurobindo

written by SUV, January 05, 2008 11:40:23
340. Democracy was the protest of the human soul against the allied despotisms of autocrat, priest and noble; Socialism is the protest of the human soul against the despotism of a plutocratic democracy; Anarchism is likely to be the protest of the human soul against the tyranny of a bureaucratic Socialism. A turbulent and eager march from illusion to illusion and from failure to failure is the image of European progress.
Sri Aurobindo
written by antiilluminati, January 10, 2008 15:19:14
Fruit from a poisonous tree will be poisonous

Yupe, no doubt about it becos the fruits as a non living things have not been blessed with a"free-will".

written by jothy, January 16, 2008 17:53:35
Most religion in the world stands alone and operates by itself with the exception of Islam. In Islam there is no real freedom. You cannot go and come out if you are not satisfied. Once a muslim you are one till death. And to make it worst in countries where Islam is the official religion the government makes it difficult for you to leave Islam if you are unhappy. Islam in this countries is alive due to the support of the government. Can you imagine in a country like ours where you can enter and leave a religion without hindrance. I bet my dollar there a many muslim brothers who will leave4 to join other religion. But this is not possible in our country as you will be harassed and victimised if you plan to leave. Then where is the freedom in the religion. A successful religion needs to be dynamic and fit there current era and not the era when it was estabilished. Finally Islam needs to be policed for its existence.
written by Anak Desa, January 19, 2008 14:29:32
Each religion in this world has a purpose in this world...