Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Where is everybody? -- RM50 million is mismanaged by unqualified people

Where is everybody? -- RM50 million is mismanaged by unqualified people PDF Print
Sunday, 27 July 2008 13:21
by Mansor Puteh 

(Come to the full-day film seminar on 7 August 2008, at Balai Seni Lukis Negara, organised in conjunction of the Malaysian Film Festival.)
Hey, Claude, it's not about me! It's about Finas, the bank and the ministry.

I am really surprised with everybody; they like to look at 14 Mercedes Benzes that cost RM3.4 million and the other issues that deal with smaller amounts of money, and cry foul and put it on the front-page of the newspapers. And crowed like a pack of fowl! Is this their level of intelligence?

Maybe I should not be surprised anymore and that is why I decided to take the matters to the police station for them to look at what I have written. It may not be entertaining to many.

Here is RM50 million that the government had given to the ministry of culture, arts and heritage, yet, no one seems to care.

And this is just one issue I have raised in my police report. What the others have raised on my report is nothing. There are many more.

The reason why I had to write a bit on my background so the police know that I am not talking nonesense. I have been to court and the magistrate started to ask about who I am and that took a while to say. It is therefore, better to tell them beforehand, so they do not ask the same questions.

This proves that the social and other critics in Malaysia who say they want to ensure proper government spending by even questioning issues that are petty, have all failed to realize a bigger scandal is looming only if they care to look elsewhere for a while -- at Finas.

And there is a senator of Dewan Negara, Tan Sri Jins Shamsuddin who is also chairman of Finas. Why is he there as chairman and senator? Is it not for Finas and the ministry to ensure that no one questions Finas and them in parliament?

Finas and the ministry are able to do whatever they like by appointing people who are not qualified and especially when everybody is unaware of what they are doing.

Why talk about me? I am raising issues of national importance and these are the things that all those commentators ought to talk about, if they know what to say in the first place.

I am lucky because my personal dealing with Finas, the bank and ministry has allowed me access into their system. The Public Ali can only get to as far as the main entrance, while I can get into their boardrooms and their attention. And from this I had got information which I would otherwise not have got now.

Look at what RM50 million can do to the industry if only it is managed well. And Finas has been spending so much money since they are not an income-generating agency but one that exists by full government funding.

It is your money. And I do not have to direct films. Do you care?

They constructed studio which are very expensive, yet the human capital and activity in the film industry does not demand it. Who did they consult before they agreed to spend RM90 on their new studio which is being constructed at the Finas headquarters in Hulu Kelang?

Couldn't they have sent some of their staff abroad to study film so it will be easy for anyone to relate to them?

Every July since Finas was formed in 1980 they had a bash at expensive hotels by spending around RM200,000. But this July there nothing of that sort.

I had to write to point them that Finas is just a small agency so why the need to celebrate its formation? They like to organize small shows in expensive hotels to give cerftificates.

Those who criticize me, can do so, but it reflect badly on your own self. I am in the industry and I know. They can guess and sympathize to those who should be challenging me. Why do I have to bother with them and what they say about the industry for they do not have a real vision for it.

My reviews of Yasmin Ahmad's film reflect my integrity. She knows what I have said and had acted accordingly. Damn woman! Can't even say thanks.

She is not showing any more Malay man slipping his kain and showing him underwear or Malay couples sleeping in bed. Why chose this location to show the romantic couple engaged in a conversation when they can be doing something else that is more pleasant?

Have you met and heard Yasmin speak in public forums? I have.

Have you studied Finas and the ministry and know their officers?

Malaysia deserves a better cinema, that can bring joy and jobs to many; and I am not mentioning how it can also be used to showcase of unusual character.

Anyone dares to have a public forum so we can discuss all these openly, in a civilized and intelligent manner?

What is America and the West without Hollywood? The whole country would be in chaos as there is no sponge to absorb their excessive emotions.

Do we expect qualified filmmakers to finance their own films all the time, especially for their first two one?

Do we expect our qualified doctors, scientists, astronauts to find money to build their own hospitals, laboratories and space stations so that they can practise what they had studied?

What's the point for the government to set up film schools at the many universities and academies if Finas chooses to ignore those who have studied there and graduated?

No wonder many of them become minor staff of some companies dealing with IT and other related activities, when they should be producing and directing films.

Lecturers are lucky, they can find employment at many of the universities. Newspaper editors, are also lucky that there are papers where they can apply to work at.

Qualified filmmakers are not so lucky that there is no government agency which is sympathetatic and supportive of them.

Those who criticize me do not have any clue of what they are saying and of what is happening in the industry.

Now Finas is trying to show six Malaysian films and bring along their actors and directors to London. I organize the mini-film festival in London in November 1988 and in Manila in September 1989.

Finas is definitely so far backwards.

To my critics, I say, you grow up. Film criticism is a legitimate profession and there are degrees that one can take on this. But there is no degree on criticism of film critics. You say whatever you want on any film and the cinema, and let the others decide whether they agree with you.

written by omarkhayyam, July 27, 2008 13:52:26
Mansor .... this is Malaysia for u and me.

The shame stinks higher than where the roti-canai-eating-taxi passenger astranout went

god bless us

written by binarytan, July 27, 2008 13:55:04
Mansor Puteh, this is just a small case for the gomen. ACA will sleep onto it. Only PR takes over there is a chance for us to fight against corruption, cronyism, racist & criminal.
written by The dragonheart, July 27, 2008 13:55:45
50 million just to FINAS?
might as well give it to organizations like Bulan Sabit Merah or the Boy scouts who really need the money...
written by sarawakian, July 27, 2008 14:01:18
and look at what RTM and TV3 is dishing out now after so many years of spending on FINAS?

reruns and series from Indonesia. the local film industry can barely produce anything useful. not to say our producers are lousy. maybe the good ones just go elsewhere since everything here is controlled.
written by ahmadneil, July 27, 2008 14:08:43
This is only the tip of the iceberg.this is what umno is good at,create cronies,stealing rakyat's money.
written by omarkhayyam, July 27, 2008 14:17:02
by the way where is that young-turkey from PAS Youth, who damanded my favourite Inul's concert be cancelled ?

Why not demo against the present Malay actresses who dun wear tudong and rape the nations money?

food for thought gentlemans ... they demo for their own agenda at times

written by Richy, July 27, 2008 14:34:48
Mansor, this is what we mean by NEP. You and others are not in their VIP status or the privileged class. The 50million is for those VIPs who need relaxation after their hardwork for Rakyat. Jins SHamsuddin could be the CSM for them.
written by teohpg, July 27, 2008 14:41:45
1-2 Jus is very 'nice' mah...no meh??? With those cheapo ideas and cheapossss host... I wonder malaysia is it really short of talents??? dammmmmm, blame it on their stupid management, substandard CEOs and most importantly, bunch of incompetenece idiots working there.

If not for goverment help to monopoly, fundings and support, they were already in the secondary buku sejarah by now.
written by Bentoh, July 27, 2008 14:46:16
Oh... what has it got to do with Yasmin Ahmad huh???

you mean your critics agains Yasmin's movie show your integrity? Come on... Mr Mansor Puteh... You make me so tempted to call you a dumb... (Or I'm sure you already are...)

What has "showing any more Malay man slipping his kain and showing him underwear or Malay couples sleeping in bed" got to do with you, as a filmmaker? Unfortunately... to me you are just a shallow-minded, who don't even know how to appreciate a film... I'm sorry to tell you I'm Yasmin Ahmad's fans...

Anyway, as to the FINAS issue... I always find FINAS not working up to its standard... well, especially under the hand of these blue nazis...
written by shan, July 27, 2008 14:51:37
MAnsor,why waste time barking at the tree?Correct me if I am wrong,but are you trying to be a sour grape just because your loan was withdrawn?Where were you all this while?what have you done?.,.There are many professionals like lawyers and doctors who had to fund their own bussinesses.,.I know doctors who built their own hospitals with they own funds or from funders from abroad,..,i.e. after paying the necessary corruption money to the BN cows.
So my friend,why don't you be like anyone of us and look for your own fund instead or crowing over our money the gomen refused you.You sya you know the inside story
written by krising1, July 27, 2008 15:07:51
Pardon me if my English and grammar is bad. I come from our messed up education system. Father no money to send me overseas and not being bumi did not help.

Now back to the issue. Since you have access to where we can only see from outside, you must be walking along the corridors of power. So let us see what happens to your police report. I will buy you teh tarik if action is taken. My stndard-lah - teh tarik.

Why talk about Hollywood or Bollywood? They do not get any gomen money. Just like we do not need a car industry, we do not need a film industry. Watch Indon movies. They are better.

written by my oumrie, July 27, 2008 15:13:36
Although I mostly agree with you, Mansor, please be careful what you say about Yasmin Ahmad. She's a wonderful person and her award winning films are true to life. Bee End backed Finas are just envious of her successes abroad. I bet if Pakatan Rakyat runs the Gomen now, she would be a Tan Sri!
written by temenggong, July 27, 2008 15:28:03
Why are you acting so surprised? Don't you know the 'system' back home?

Finas was set up to channel money into the malay movie industry to finance these extra activities without which the industry would be doomed! But the money goes to cronies and selected actresses and producers.
written by Umno Slayer, July 27, 2008 16:28:26
Good Luck Mansor, this sort things do exist. every govt department in Malaysia.its the missmanagement of the allocated funds approved by parliament for it to be distribited to the Malaysian bussiness but has been abused by the agency like the bank....NOt just Finas but ministry of sports and others too.the best solution is nothing less than getting rid of this very Bad BN govt. we had enough!cant afford to even wait another year!
written by kenny, July 27, 2008 18:04:00
Mansor, Temenggong has put it clear enough in an indirect manner. Yes, you're barking at the wrong tree.

3.4 or 50 million is small change for today's Umnoputra's standard of living. Even 500 million won't bring much surprise to MT readers anymore, given the gobbling appetite of the high-end Umnoputras nowadays, which is in the billions.

No one has the intention of brushing off your profession. With the plenty corruption, top level crimes and mismanagement all round, we should think of the difficulties and sustenance of the masses and future generations before much else, more so, our almost non-existent film industry.

Point is, gather your mates to help put in a new gomen to achieve a new dimension for all, yes, including your industry. Join the masses, Mansor. Power belongs to the people.
written by onnetline, July 27, 2008 18:19:42
Mansur Puteh,

Welcome to the realm of Barisan Najis governing !!!
written by kenny, July 27, 2008 18:40:17
Admin,

I think your self-censorship is a little overdone.

Why must Temenggong's last sentence which was just something like 'What makes you think it's for you!' be deleted? Isn't that a statement which is consistent with what is happening around us, in Umnoputra's world? And what is so sensitive about that?
written by Jos, July 27, 2008 18:57:21
Mansor,

You have to leave this country ASAP and go to USA or Indonesia ...
I believe that they will say "Welcome" to you ...

You know that many artist from Malaysian such as Odie Agam, MIller, Winnie K etc have succeed to develop their talent and are "treated" respectfully in Indonesia ...

So, wake up ..... Terbang dan Taklukan Dunia ...
written by fairnessforall, July 27, 2008 21:04:59
Our films can't even be a quarter of the standard or hollywood or bollywood films. They have both managed to capture the international market. Our local films are so lousy, more often than not the actors/actresses overact and are so unatural they can't even bring out an emotion in the viewers unlike hollywood or bollywood actors who are so good, viewers can actually cry during a sad scene as they are so natural. Finas is just a waste of time and money

I agree with krising1, close the film industry, we dont need it as we have such lousy actors. Better watch indonesian movies, they are so much better. Even the singapore made malay dramas are so much better than our local dramas.
written by apasalahku, July 27, 2008 21:14:50
you guys stop encouraging him!! Just when we injected a little bit of humility into the Great Mansur Puteh, you are now patting on his shoulders again.
Soon he'll tooting his own horn, blowing his own trumpted, lifting his own ass etc...with his Stanfart la, record-breaking books la, first malay with a film degree la, etc..
written by kenny, July 27, 2008 21:45:53
Hahahaha...Apasalahku, dun be so like that la, soooo personal. He's not KJ la. But you rightly brought up the word 'humility', which we know is what the writer needs. Hope he finds that it works better to bin the horns and trumpets always.
written by temenggong, July 27, 2008 21:52:53
Admins,

Go fcuk yourselves!

You have gone over your heads in site administration.

I will speak to rpk tomorrow!
written by summer, July 27, 2008 23:17:06
no surprise that i watch more Indonesian and Filipino movie/drama then our local Malaysian movie/drama.. even the Spanish ones on TV is way better then our local made shows..

this is really saddening.. smilies/sad.gif
written by beyonce, July 28, 2008 00:26:58
ya it's true...our long time dramas always playing in the same tv channel in a few months..we are lack of quality of dramas and that's why they playing dramas from our neighbour country...in fact, only singing competition that every station can bring to us...ACA do you read this article...keep it up Mansor...send more articles that we unaware off.....u get my vote... smilies/wink.gif
written by cruzeiro, July 28, 2008 00:36:18

My reviews of Yasmin Ahmad's film reflect my integrity. She knows what I have said and had acted accordingly. Damn woman! Can't even say thanks.

She is not showing any more Malay man slipping his kain and showing him underwear or Malay couples sleeping in bed. Why chose this location to show the romantic couple engaged in a conversation when they can be doing something else that is more pleasant?

Have you met and heard Yasmin speak in public forums? I have.

Mansur,
We all know about the wastage of funds everywhere, you damned &$@#-Face!

Go get a shower - use that soap that was advertized some time back.
I think it was called "Smelly No More".
When you've sobered up, have a haircut (or at least comb it neat) & shave.

Once you have done that, you can take it to the next level, huh?
(BTW, I still can't ******/ Amazon your numerous books - DBP Publishing has got it all locked up, or have all "artists" bought them up for the furnace?)
written by kenny, July 28, 2008 01:20:17
"I think it was called 'Smelly No More". You guys so humourous tonite.

Oh yea, forgotten all about that druggie pix of his a few days back.

Agree, hope he sobers and cleans up in any case.
written by FFT, July 28, 2008 08:24:37
Relax, temenggong.

Some of the dedicated volunteers of MT sometimes don't understand sarcasm or irony. I've had that problem with them sometime last year when MT started moderation. Don't take it out too hard on them, just repost your original message, shouldn't be too hard.

As for Mansor Puteh, go get a life. Nobody gives two hoots about your 60 books or your MFA. And stop behaving like you're the first person on this planet who discovered and uncovered corruption within the Malaysian government.
written by Oyster, July 28, 2008 11:51:41
A sad rant by this man. No need to be unkind.

"My reviews of Yasmin Ahmad's film reflect my integrity"- are you actually reviewing Yasmin's work or your 'integrity'?

"Have you met and heard Yasmin speak in public forums? I have" - and ...what?
What has this to do with your funding getting pulled?

Calm down Mansor,no neeed to sound off like a bitter 'could have been a film maker'.Why don't you do like the other independant film makers and find private sponsors to make your film? Young Malaysian film makers who have no hope of getting Gomen assistance on the same scale as a Malay filmmaker such as your good self, find a way of making their projects happen.It is not easy for them either. But all you are doing is whingeing and moaning.