Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Anwar’s arrest had been planned earlier

Anwar’s arrest had been planned earlier PDF Print
Saturday, 26 July 2008 10:01

THE CORRIDORS OF POWER REPORT ON THE ROYAL COMMISSION OF INQUIRY INTO ANWAR’S BEATING

Part 12

On 20 September 1998, Anwar Ibrahim was arrested under Malaysia’s infamous and dreaded Internal Security Act (ISA) after leading the biggest demonstration in the nation’s history.

The official reason? Because he was a threat to national security, say the authority - so they had to arrest him.

That same night, Anwar was beaten up in what doctors who testified at the Royal Commission of Inquiry from 22 February to 4 March 1999 say could have resulted in death.

However, the Director of the Criminal Investigation Department (CID), Dato Yaacob Md Amin, testified at the Inquiry that the decision to arrest Anwar was made one week before the actual arrest, and, according to Dato Yaacob, Anwar was arrested under Section 377 of the Penal Code - not under the ISA.

Yesterday, we revealed that Dato Yaacob testified that, after they had beaten up Anwar, they went up to the 30th floor of the Police Headquarters at Bukit Aman for a meeting.

“At that meeting, it was decided that Dato Seri Anwar is to be arrested under the Internal Security Act,” said Dato Yaacob. “There was no discussion regarding what happened to Dato Seri Anwar in the cell.”

“The decision was made based on the circumstances that had happened in the area of Masjid Negara, Dataran Merdeka, PWTC and at Seri Perdana.”

“There were demonstrations at this area.”

“I was informed that Dato Seri Anwar has played an important role in starting this situation.”

If Anwar was arrested under the ISA because he had led the largest demonstration in Malaysia’s history, how could the decision to arrest him have been made one week before that, when even Anwar himself did not know yet, at that time, that there was going to be a demonstration?

Clearly, the demonstration was just the convenient excuse to arrest Anwar. Without or without the demonstration, Anwar would have been arrested anyway, as Dato Yaacob’s testimony revealed.

written by Tom n Jerry, July 26, 2008 10:18:09
BN certainly flouted the Laws of Human Rights when they arrested Anwar that firsttime;very clear sign of opression;democracy has gone to the dogs;thats why whole world is watching now;very erotic &exotic drama unfolding every moment;even Hollywood*s box office cannot compare with our political conspiracy & drama!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, July 26, 2008 10:28:58
TDM is the sole creator of the entire game.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, July 26, 2008 10:33:21
The whole movie was cooked up by Mahashit. He was solely behind every damn move, and has yet to repent and to ask for God to forgive him before he dies. And he must NOT forget to apologise to DSAI and family too, if he wants his soul to rest in peace.
written by khongja, July 26, 2008 11:11:35
When that Mahashit stands before God on Judgement day , he will wangle his way and tells God he can t remember! cant recall !
written by Frankfurtguy, July 26, 2008 12:19:51
Past few articles had given us the better insight into what had really happened back in 1998
To us, the younger generation, are better informed in this IT era
The BN, however, conveniently, forgot about this and is trying to use the same dirty trick
they thought we are stupid
they thought we are like Mamakthir's era, blinded by the media
let them go to hell!!
written by FFT, July 26, 2008 13:58:57
written by binarytan, July 26, 2008 16:25:46
FFT, like son like father lah.

Same gang of highly corrupted behavior will be from the AMENO club. Typical racist and also racist against Malay.

Everyone outside the world knows DSAI is not guilty, now including RICE from US and Japan. Let the whole world to know how idiot and dirty our gomen is now.
written by bakas, July 26, 2008 21:05:49
Bapa kencing berdiri, anak kencing berlari. Kencing habis kena bapa dengan anak
written by Sitora, July 26, 2008 22:48:03
A true Muslim will never hurt another Muslim. I wonder what kind of a Muslims espescially those who plan and create fitnah as the events unfold towards DSAI. He had been jailed before for crimes that he did not commit. Now another fitnah has been created, yet those who are supposed to uphold justice seems to be blind.
written by Sylvia, July 26, 2008 23:17:17
Sitora, yes fully agreed with you, why are muslims figting against each other like that and worst of all another fitnah is created just when the planner's position is shaking and threatened by another who seems to be on the way to succeed as the next PM of the country! As for the former PM, ALLAH refused to take his life to give him more time to repent but instead he created more sins! May ALLAH make him realise and enjoy his old age and death peacefully!
written by talk2stop, July 27, 2008 10:47:59
I think the UMNO/BN are in twilight zone. They either plan to fail or fail to plan. The things they do, does not ***** into places (almost everytime). The beauty is that they can get away with it without hassle. UMNO/BN you guys and gals are one of a kind it this world. Happy politicing....
written by arnab76, July 29, 2008 05:08:41
Guess what, Mahathir losses all his credit and he is not even worth the dirt on my shoes. Same goes to the BN leader/deputy and all the stupid moron that has no brains but sitting in the high position. Do they really qualify for it? If the do, MY is truly no 1 in asia and SG and Taiwan is behind us, Thats the fact. I cant immagine our PM now allows all this to happen and then what a "Tun" title. He better decline it as its a shame and it will be SHAME SHAME SHAME on all his generations. I cant immagine when the time, his great grandchildren or grandchildren were told your grandpa is a useless PM. Same goes to Najis

While Mahathir still can safe himself if he would to apologize and come clean on his misused of authority but I doubt he will do it. He is a good liar as well as impromptu actions. So he will have to deal with God when the time comes.

Malaysians are not stupid and let me tell you, there are many Malaysians that has heavier brains than you all. Pack your bags and leave if you cant land yourself in this responsibility as it will bring disgrace to you and your younger generations.....Just think of that in hitory book.....and your younger generations will have a serious psychological impact that they will not stand in public. I urge you to do the right move and be proud while you pay for your sins now rather than your loved ones pay for you in the future of this country.
written by Nick Chong, August 04, 2008 13:38:13
Joke - When Mahathir was Prime Minister of Malaysia

One lousy day in the middle of the economic crisis, PM Mahathir was feeling
extremely frustrated and wondering how a neighboring country can be doing
better than Malaysia.

One of his aides said, I heard that the leaders consult Feng Shui masters to ensure prosperity for the country.

Mahathir thought if that was the case, Malaysia Bomoh also can, and went to seek the top bomoh's advice in the country.

After reviewing the case, the bomoh told M that there were 2 things that he must do:

Bomoh : Step 1. You must blame the crisis on SOROS for everything.
M : But Why ?

Bomoh : Because SOROS stands for 'Speculate On Ringgit Or Stocks'.
You must blame him, and look at ways to control the ringgit and stock market.

Bomoh : Step 2 - You must get rid of ANWAR.
M : What! why him ?

Bomoh : Because ANWAR stands for 'A Nation Without Any Ringgit'.

M : But how ? This is most difficult to do, he is popular with the people.

Bomoh : Aiyoh, you bodoh lah! Look at your name, MAHATHIR.
Make Anwar Homosexual And Then Highlight It Repeatedly.