Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Foolish to be extravagant now

Foolish to be extravagant now PDF Print
Thursday, 24 July 2008 10:29
CERTAINLY it cannot be good sense that made the Terengganu state government buy 14 new Mercedes Benzes for its executive council members and senior government officials instead of the Proton Perdana V6 issued to all central government ministers, deputy ministers and senior civil servants, and also exco members and senior officials of other states.

It also does not make sense to say that the reason was to save costs when a Mercedes E200 Kompressor is tagged at RM245,000 and a Perdana V6 RM100,000.

No doubt there may be some truth to claims that the maintenance costs of some Perdanas are higher especially after two years when parts have to be replaced. But that cannot be an excuse to have a different car than other state government official cars as not all Perdanas that come off the assembly lines are defective.

If the reason is that as an oil producer, the state government should be allowed some opulence, it should first look at the simple lifestyle of its people in most parts of the state. There are still many hardcore poor. While the rakyat think nothing of their state executive councillors riding in a Perdana and may even be proud of them for using a local car, they may think the councillors are being ostentatious and extravagant when seen driven in a Mercedes, and at their expense. Is it worth being different that way? More so when a recession is almost upon us.

When the rakyat are grappling with higher prices of basic necessities, especially food as a result of huge increases in fuel prices, surely it is most callous and unfeeling of the Terengganu state government to choose to buy the 14 Mercedes cars at a total cost of RM3.43 million. Surely it did not do what it did because, unlike other Barisan Nasional-ruled states, it dared to be different.

Even if the Terengganu government wants to be different, it should have taken cognisance of the country’s economic situation before deciding to spend more money on vehicles for its exco members and senior government servants. It is this complete disregard of sentiments on the ground that makes the rakyat angry.

When everyone is encouraged to embark on an austerity drive, to spend less and make do with cheaper brands, it does seem a little arrogant to dare to be different. It is always wise to remember, especially after the March 8 election, that in the end it is the rakyat who are king.

written by Hakim Abdullah, July 24, 2008 10:36:35
Austerity drive?..Government officials take the public transport then...get closer to the Rakyats!
written by Lostsoul12, July 24, 2008 10:42:50
not all Perdanas that come off the assembly lines are defective

Right, maybe only about 60%. And only about 60% of umno are corrupted. The other 40% not corrupted because they are not in the cronnies list yet!!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by zul4kulim, July 24, 2008 10:44:06
Real money is yet to come, now they spend on the extra election money, left over from winning the state in style...http://1426.********.com/2008/...olice.html
written by Kcc, July 24, 2008 10:49:29
Instead of buying a Mercedes, just just get an extended WAJA but customised to make it look like a LIMO. The Terengganu MB's statement also shows that there's hanky-panky going as a gearbox needs to be replaced, too much is spent on servicing the cars - he's indirectly saying that our national car is LOUSY.

Stupid excuses la.
written by kc respect, July 24, 2008 10:49:47
Now we can see why these people want to fight to death in order to rule, even within "OHNO". Otherwise, where can drive big expensive cars. SHIOK-lah when people see you driving around town in big expensive cars. When their heads become so big, Proton will jatoh standard them. Next, will be ISTANAs ala BN Selangor.
written by joemss, July 24, 2008 10:54:34
First of all, I would like to congratulate the MB of Terengganu and his aides for being able to channel back the oil royalties back to their management. At the same time 14 cars to be used by the state administartion costing approx. RM 3.43 million is a very small amount comparing to RM 500 million as commissions for government purchase of defence equipments. The assets still remained with the state government but RM 500 million is in personal accounts so what is the big ho ha here. Do we expect our leaders to drive in Proton Kancil and then we classify them as good leaders or do we want leaders who can do their jobs properly whilst enjoying the incentives we can afford? I would be one to voice up if at any time do not do their job properly for the rakyat but using a Mercedes E200 is just chicken feet compared to what the other known corrupted officials have robbed. We can see that even many small companies can afford a Mercedes E200 as their company car and can;t a state government afford 14. Try finding out how many luxirious cars are there in a GLC company and are those not rakyat's money too. I think we are wasting our time to harp onb this Mercedes issue and let them do their work for the rakyat.
written by khongja, July 24, 2008 10:59:29
What to do? Even the PM is so so scared of this bugger ! Why ? because he has got the backing of the Sultan!
Now they are in position of power anything goes.Well its always the taxpayers who are suckers ! When a MB can supercedes a PM then this is bolehland la!
written by BORN FREE, July 24, 2008 11:02:02
Hey rakyat ! I think this new Menteri Besar of Trengganu is trying to bring to our attention that the previous admin under Jusoh are blood suckers of rakyat.
And now since Proton Company says that there were no claims from the Jusoh's admin. that means they must have fabricated those repair bills to claim from the State govt. Now, its time ACA looked into this ! Rakyat wants to know !!
written by ez24get, July 24, 2008 11:05:00
It is interesting to note that:

1. It costs an average of over $90k to maintain a 3 year old car. This amount can buy another new Perdana.

2. According to EON, they never claim warranty. In spite of still being new and under warranty they prefer to send the cars outside to their own "mechanic" for repairs. The only way that the maintenance cost can amount to over $90k for a 3 year car is a screw costing over $1,000!

3. The new MB mentioned that Idris Jusoh incurred $100k to maintain his Perdana. Is these all a red herring to expose the extravagance of the previous administration?

4. The 2nd poorest state in Peninsula Malaysia spending $3.43 million on 14 cars when there are so many poor people in Terrengganu who have not enough for a decent meal? Terrengganu is predominantly over 90% malays. Is this another instance where the UMNO government is "taking care" and "protecting" the malays or are they taking care of themselves? Jusoh or Said, what's the difference as long as they are from the same corrupted stock from UMNO. The only way the citizens of Terrengganu can be free of these corruption and wastage is to change the UMNO government like in the PR states. In these PR states, the administration are using their own cars.
written by onnetline, July 24, 2008 11:10:54
RM 3.43 million is much too extravagant if these MPs fails to show or perform well in their duties !

And if any MP shows to be an ' embarrassment ' like that East Malaysian MP fella' actions in Parliament', then this privilege should be withdrawn.
written by oct, July 24, 2008 11:32:23
If you look more in the future, you will see that these Mercs will be sold to the aduans at book value of RM1. These aduans will get a Merc after every term. Who doesn't want to be aduan in Trengganu. The next thing is if this become a precedent, then other states will do the same. In the end, all BN aduans will have a Merc/BMW for his/her use and own it at the end of their term. On the other hand, we the Rakyat are made to suffer and ask to change style. Yes, BN change style but to the higher grade. They are sensitive to the current country economy. Vote them out!!!
written by InEffective, July 24, 2008 11:57:28

I see no reason why this exco team cannot buy Mercs to satisfy their self-esteem, when the former premier could blow a few billion to build twin-towers to stroke his self-esteem and ego.

the malaysian rakyat take so much pride and satisfaction in sacrificing for the sake of their politicians, even to the extent of compromising the quality of food for the families and children. So OK lah.
written by budakindia, July 24, 2008 11:57:53
If Proton Perdana is costly in maintenance, why choose Merc? Why not other popular models like Toyota Camry or Honda Accord which cost less and a lot less in maintenance? Why it needs to be a Merc? smilies/angry.gif
written by wood, July 24, 2008 13:16:14
If gomen wants to be so patriotic, please stop the practice of allowing each MP to have an AP. Just have a proton will do ????

Perhaps gomen no confidence with Proton and need a backup AP to buy a better imported car with an AP.

Gomen should just stop protecting Proton, and get Proton to collaborate with some other better car manufacturers.

There is perhaps no right or wrong answer to this issue ! What is the fuss ???
There are perhaps bigger things to worry about. Proton issue anybody wants to take up the challenge to improve ?

In the mean time , the talk still continues !!! Talk Talk Talk. NATO !
Looks like indirectly we are also part of "NATO"

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by slash n burn, July 24, 2008 13:40:19
RM3.43 million? Thats nothing. Muhamad son of Muhamad can pay that cash out of his pocket.
written by mgeo, July 24, 2008 15:24:11
Of the RM403 billion total Petronas paid Federal & State govt's. for 4/1974 - 3/2008, 50% was in 4/03-3/08 under Badawi. Assuming Federal Govt. got RM374b (93%) of this (and did not hold back any state funds), what happened to this huge amount. For comparision, earlier, it cost only about 20b to build Putrajaya, 20b for all toll roads, 8b for Twin Towers. smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif

Stop trying to distract us.
written by kl_wong, July 24, 2008 16:10:34
I remember our PM and DPM told us to CHANGE YOUR LIFESTYLE when the petrol price increased. Yeaaaaaaaaap, the Trengganu state goverment Changing more higher better lifestyle.
written by mezan, July 24, 2008 16:52:21
My personal experience... I was having a seminar in KL earlier this month and took an early flight from Kota Bharu to KLIA. To my suprise, I saw a Kelantan state Exco member in the boarding area, wearing just a tuck out shirt with a carry bag sitting on a bench in the public boarding area while waiting to board the plane. I might have not recognize him if not for a policeman who saw him sitting there and greeted him. I thought he must be taking business class seat. When we board, I was suprised that he too sit in the economy class like me.

When I arrive at KLIA, I expect there was a car to fetch him at the airport. To my suprise, he went to ERL counter and purchased a ticket and took the train to KL Sentral. We parted ways at KL Sentral as he went towards the Monorail station and I took a taxi. Upon returning to Kota Bharu that night, I saw him again in the economy class.

That gave me a permanent lasting impression on how leaders should be...
written by smalluncle, July 24, 2008 16:59:35
Buying Merz in 1 of the poorest states in Malaysia, aspecially now with oil price hike, people are angry ALL PRICES ARE GOING UP. INFLATION HIT 7.7%.
Do you believe BN or rather UMNO is a caring government, one for the RAKYAT ????

But the real issue here is there is serious SPLIT IN UMNO. Here why:
- The Sandiwara that get Mad elected MB
- MAD demand oil $$$ to go back to Trengganu ( an wiered attitute from the NORMAL UMNO d..!
- his persistence in going against Chief Whip on the Merz issue.

Ummmmmm, good for Rakyat.
written by feleaz, July 24, 2008 17:12:10
Why don't the MB just say he wants to buy Ferrari because Ferraris travel faster and hence could save the coucillors time which could be used to do other things for the benefits of rakyat.
Why high maintenance cost ?
Answer : do not maintain the car well, inflated cost of repairs.
To save cost, he needs to instruct all concillors to maintain their care well so as to reduce the cost of repairs instead of purchasing Mercedes.
written by SL Chan, July 24, 2008 17:44:26
Boros mentality,selfish and Bn culture....wonder have this brady tengganu government consider the plight of the rakyat in the state instead of thinking of their own comfort spending rm 3.4 million for the damn merz...come to think of it this mb is learning and following the footstep of his umno leaders...bunch of crooks and penyamun...What Tok Guru Nik Aziz say is true ..kasi mereka lenyap from the face of this earth or reduce them to a small parti pembangkang
written by axeltung, July 24, 2008 23:22:19
Trengganu govt is doing the right thing...to offense UMNO federal govt smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif This case is showing that members of UMNO don't buy you PAK LAH!!! We rakyat just watch show lah
written by bn haramjadah, July 25, 2008 07:16:31
How bad is the quality of proton perdanas? if according to the statement made by the mb of pahang saying the maintenance cost of a perdana is RM 57,000 PER YEAR, and these are below 5 years old, and the cost of these vehicles today are rm100,000. what was the cost 4 years ago.?????? WHEN THEY MENTION MAINTENANCE COST DO THE MEAN INCLUSIVE OF PETROL EXPENSES, OR IS IT MAINTENANCE ONLY. if it is maintenance only, for what purpose are these cars used for to have such high maintenance costs, rallying, racing? there is no way in the world where a car which costs rm100,000 has a yearly maintenance cost of rm57,000 yearly. we are all car drivers and personally i find these figures, bodering on the ridiculous,or were the maintenance contracts given to crony workshops? where receipts can be doctored, or is this a typical case of umno expenditure, rm50 ringgit car-jacks being billed for rm3,000. this is a clear cut case of corruption. i have driven many cars and have owned a perdana at one time, the maintenance cast was never this high nor did i need to change my gearbox in all its entriety, I had my perdana for 7 years and i can safely say it gave me good service. I can calculate my total maintenance cost for 7 years up to rm 23,000. and this was serviced in proton. so who is bullshiting whom? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Milo, July 25, 2008 11:49:10
The should get a Rolls Royce and then argue that the Rolls Royce has a superior image of quality as compared to the Perdana. This will lift the image and the quality of the state and the country. Imagine Malaysian state government officials all driving the most prestigeous car in the world. It will immediately life us to higher than developed country status ahead of 2020!

Message: Anyone can act foolishly and than give an excuse to justify the act. This is typical of UMNO mentality over the years.
written by Milo, July 25, 2008 11:53:09
haramjadah: "I had my perdana for 7 years and i can safely say it gave me good service. I can calculate my total maintenance cost for 7 years up to rm 23,000. and this was serviced in proton. so who is bullshiting?"

----------------------

The Trengganu State government is run by Mat Rempits.
written by pokokmangga, July 25, 2008 15:45:45
This is utter rubbish. Mercedes is not a relaible car. Its all about prestige and friggig ego. My God these shiter must be thinking that we Rakyat are stupid. I thought the new MB of Trengganu was a better replacement. How wrong I am. They are all the same, cut from the same piece of cloth. UMNUputra scumbags all of them.
written by panca, July 25, 2008 17:44:10

The timing might not be right for the purchase when the country is faced with lots of uncertainties because of the Federal gomen's INEPTNESS, ruining the country and misleading the People.

If the country is on the right track as with other country, "a reliable car is definitely a must, no question about it"(lets be truthful). Whether a Merc is not realiable or a Perdana is more patriotic, you are the judge and you have all the reasons and excuses. But certainly a car must be a reliable one and has to be cost saving in the long term especially in its maintenance. Reliability also means better performance, both the person and the car. Unless the person is merely a seat warmer in parliament and in the state assembly, that is a different question altogether, then why elect him there in the first place or you can boot him out next election. He is there to serve like the car, reliable and with performance, Period.

Next is, how reliable is our National car? The brainchild of TDM, so proud of it and the pride of the Nation and Patriotism, that was/is all about. How have we fare in this brand make, for the country itself? TDM had not expected any competition at all from other make and constantly think that every Malaysian must own one, perhaps everyone of did own one once or still, as a second car, just to keep our National car market viable. But if there is to a second car, why the need to keep a second car albeit the problems many would have encountered with. Just how reliable are ours compared the other brand make? No, not condemning our National Pride but realistically we are faced with the dilemma of not owning a better car. Just because it is cheaper than other make, the CKD of other make which are of course have lesser problems. Cheaper because of what? To protect the National car at the expense of the Rakyat's many other costs for owning a lesser, cheaper vehicle. To sum it all, the National car company would serve better to be sold to private(though doubt any taker) to compete through credible management, technical and engineering improvement. That will help to elevate itself, the brand make and competitiveness without anymore government protection. The baby can grow up or the baby will just grow old without growing up attached to TDM's womb.

All cars can be traded in the same level playing field. Reliable and higher end cars are more affordable to the Rakyat, taxes are more reduced. Rakyat will enjoy better with reliable cars, just like the cars, better. New Detroit after Thailand. BTW, manufacture parts is not a car manufacturing country. It is the technology and we are not carved for that, we have tried and have not been at that yet. So what difference does it make when you can choose to just assemble other well known brand, better performance car in the country? Remember it is technology that moves if you want a National car otherwise please get real.

Anyone who thinks that only the rich deserves a better performance car is shortchanged. Why is the Rakyat being made to deprive of better living and rewards at someone ego and decades of experiment!

Wake up.
written by Malaysiaputra, July 25, 2008 19:36:38
written by ez24get, July 24, 2008 | 11:05:00
It is interesting to note that:

1. It costs an average of over $90k to maintain a 3 year old car. This amount can buy another new Perdana.

=====
If it cost almost as much to maintain the Perdana cars as compared to a new one, why didn't the govt buy a new Perdana ?.

Beside, the high maintainance cost of the Trengganu govt for the Perdana should be compared to the maintainance cost of similar Perdana cars owned by other state govt and its agencies. If other states do not have such high maintaince cost then it is time the ACA look into this matter. Hanky panky cannot be rules out.

The bottom line is that the Terengganu MB feels that the Perdana is below his class, he wants to ride in a Mercedes. If the exco gets am E200 . sooner or later the MB will be getting one of a higher stature, maybe a E280 ?.

After all it isn't these individuals who are going to pay for it, its the rakyat's ,money.