Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Puspakom gets additional concession, 15-yr extension

Puspakom gets additional concession, 15-yr extension PDF Print
Tuesday, 22 July 2008 12:55
Puspakom, the entity which inspects vehicles for road-worthiness, has been granted a 15-year extension of its concession by the government.

That’s not all. The government has also agreed to revise the company’s rates and to award it another concession for the mandatory inspection of second-hand vehicles prior to transfer of ownership.

The Edge business weekly has expressed concern about the 15-year extension. The paper said the government should have reviewed Puspakom’s track record in carrying out inspections since 1994 -and considered some of the bad press it has received - before granting the extension.

The government will only review the company’s performance at five-year intervals. Puspakom made a net profit of RM18 million from turnover of RM76 million for its 2007 financial year. By the time the government reviews its performance in five years’ time, the company could have raked in a further RM90 million or so, The Edge noted.

One of the main reasons for the concession extension is that the company had invested in 19 more inspection centres, largely in Sabah and Sarawak. “Awarding a money-spinning concession based on a company’s willingness to set up inspection centres in remote areas at a cost of RM3.1 million is not a move in the direction of good governance,” said the business weekly in its ‘Frankly Speaking’ column. Indeed.

Contrary to widespread perception, Puspakom is not a government entity, but a monopoly business 100% owned by DRB Hicom. The major shareholders of DRB Hicom (as at 24 July 2007) are Etika Strategi Sdn Bhd (Syed Mokhtar Shah Syed Nor deemed to have an indirect interest) (15%), EPF (17%), and Khazanah (10%).

The information about Puspakom being granted an additional concession to inspect second-hand vehicles is contained in DRB Hicom’s Annual Report for 2007. For the year ended 31 March 2007, Puspakom inspected 2.4 million vehicles. The additional concession would enable it to hit around 2.7 million inspections for the 2008 financial year. An instant increase in profits!

Read More Here 

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by penangboi, July 22, 2008 13:52:31
I read with disgust such blatant misgovernance by a government which looks like never going to change its stripes. This is another case of looking after your mates.
And yes, it is a monopoly. In the first place, there should be a independent and third party study of Puspakom's performance to gauge whether their concession should warrant renewal. And if they are up to the mark, there should be an open tender system to ensure that we are getting the best value for our (yes, our) money.
Just because Puspakom promises to build additional inspection stations do not automatically qualify them for extension of the concession, let alone 15 years!
written by Achin, July 22, 2008 14:09:04
Puspakom has not done a good job. We have in the news that polis is detaining vehicles that have passed Puspakom's certification test. What this means is that the polis does not have any respect or faith in Puspakom's certification report. How can you expect the public to pay for such a service. Its time that Puspakom be made accountable for their slip ups. Monopoly for profit orientated business should stop now !! smilies/angry.gif
written by Lostsoul12, July 22, 2008 14:16:08
SATU LAGI PROJEK HARAM/RASUAH BN!!!!!!
written by CitizenBodohland, July 22, 2008 14:20:56
1994 - 2008 = 15 years,

The government has 15 years to create more competition so that the resulting price will benefit consumers in the end. Yet, the BN government FAILED. Instead they continue to approve the monopoly to squeeze the Rakyat and enrich their cronies.
written by onnetline, July 22, 2008 16:34:43
Only idiotic or corrupted authority will approve such matters by such manners.
written by apanama, July 22, 2008 17:14:17
the gomen don't care one bit about you and me.
just give gaji buta to syed mokhtar. then syed mokhtar makes money and give donation to FIRST family. everyone happy.

the sore losers are all you and me. buy new car get screwed. buy used cars get sodomised.

gomen asks: which one you like, front or back screw?
rakyat answer: whichever way lah. screwed all the same.
next time we vote BN again lah. to get more screwings.
written by Ben, July 22, 2008 19:03:20
I am dumbfounded! Renew? They should be penalised for poor service. I sent my car in for inspection due to NGV installation. The inspector pulled out the rubber trimming and did not put it back properly. When I asked why he said it is the procedure; they were checking if it was kereta potong. The I clarified and rephrase the question why he took it out but did not put it back. He just walked off to the office.

I complained but I guess they will emulate the gomen standard procedure, NFA (no further action). I hope I won't have to go for inspection anymore.
written by mykantree, July 23, 2008 22:33:09
Puspakom is one of the most corrupt institution in this country.Any one who has been sending their vehicle/s to them for inspection is aware of that.My opinion is that its contract should be cancelled by the government immediately and look for some other option to handle vehicle inspection.But then again, there is not much hope, as the very government is a most corrupt one.
written by tehewe, July 24, 2008 12:18:39
Syabas, someone is laughing all the way to the bank! Better extent the concession before the new government!!!!!
written by Xrap11, July 24, 2008 23:25:56
In islamic law, charge for stealing/ robbery is to cut off the wrist. This daylight robbery will remain unpunish. With very little time that BN under AAB is in power, lot of resources being wasted, self/ crony/ friend enrichment programme in full scale. 15 years... enough to sustain BN member retirement plan (say hopefully none of them would reach 70)

http://gelamapisang.********.com