Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Why Anwar is faltering

Why Anwar is faltering PDF Print
Saturday, 19 July 2008 12:36

By continuing to play this game, Mr Anwar risks losing credibility not only among the man on the street, but perhaps more crucially, he risks losing the trust of BN lawmakers who are considering the option of crossing over.  

TODAYonline 

OPPOSITION leader Anwar Ibrahim has had strong political momentum on his side since the general elections in March.

Mr Anwar, the de facto leader of Parti Keadilan Rakyat, has been a one-man wrecking crew for the opposition and has been responsible for putting the Barisan Nasional on the defensive for the past four months.

He captures more headlines — domestically and internationally — than Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. And when the Barisan Nasional captures headlines, it's often been for all the wrong reasons.

On Tuesday — a day before he was arrested and detained overnight by the police — Mr Anwar, despite not being an MP or even having a formal leadership position within the Pakatan Rakyat opposition coalition, appeared on a nationally-broadcast debate against Information Minister Shabery Cheek.

As anticipated, given his oratorical skills and a well-rehearsed message that has been perfected in many stump speeches across the country, Mr Anwar performed with gusto and conviction.

But amidst this seeming surge in momentum, is it possible that Mr Anwar — who is now out on police bail after being arrested in relation to a sodomy allegation made by a former aide — has gone too far in his dogged pursuit of toppling the government? That he has neglected some of his other, arguably more important duties, to the detriment of himself and Pakatan?

Where are the numbers?

The first thing that comes to mind is Mr Anwar's incessant proclamations that he has enough MPs to cross over to Pakatan's side without being able to produce a single BN MP who has actually crossed over, not withstanding the two Sabah Progressive Party (Sapp) MPs who have signalled their willingness to support a motion of no-confidence in Mr Abdullah.

Political fatigue has already set in on this particular issue. Most people think that Mr Anwar is engaging in political brinksmanship and is playing a high-stake poker game when it comes to the issue of crossovers. Very few people we've spoken to actually think he has the numbers.

By continuing to play this game, Mr Anwar risks losing credibility not only among the man on the street, but perhaps more crucially, he risks losing the trust of BN lawmakers who are considering the option of crossing over. Why do so when you may be just one of a few who will actually do it?

Where's the shadow cabinet?

The second thing that comes to mind is Anwar's neglect of his responsibilities within Pakatan. He has neglected to build up the institutional capacity of Pakatan as an alternative governing coalition.

Where is the shadow cabinet, which is the least a "government-in-waiting" is expected to have?

As the "PM in waiting", it is Mr Anwar's responsibility to form a shadow cabinet. Indeed, only he has the political credibility and capital to make this happen within Pakatan. But with his limited time and political capital, he has decided to go after BN rather than to consolidate the strength of Pakatan and its ability to govern.

As a newly-formed (or some would say re-formed) coalition, it's almost inevitable that Pakatan would have its share of growing pains and teething problems. Even BN — arguably the longest-ruling coalition party in contemporary world history — needs, and has, institutionalised mechanisms to handle disputes amongst its different component parties. Pakatan has nothing resembling that, with grouses being aired regularly in the media.

Pakatan does not have the equivalent of a BN Supreme Council or even regular meetings amongst its top leaders. Problems, such as the logging of the water catchment area in Kedah, which might affect water supply to Penang, have been left to the Mentris Besar of the respective states to resolve.

There have also been niggling rumours surrounding the inability of the Selangor state government to function cohesively.

AND WHAT ABOUT PAS?

Mr Anwar has been perhaps most negligent in his responsibility of assuaging the fears of Parti Islam SeMalaysia (PAS) leaders that they are equal partners within Pakatan. Rumours of talks between PAS and Umno leaders on Malay unity issues have been recently confirmed by both sides.

What Mr Anwar has perhaps chosen to ignore is that since 1999, when Keadilan was established, PAS considered it to be a "mosquito party".

One has to remember that PAS was the leader of the opposition after the 1999 general election and was in control of two states. Keadilan, as it was known then, won five parliamentary seats, four of which were in PAS' base of Kelantan and Terengganu. Even when PAS experienced an electoral downturn in 2004, they still fared better than the one parliamentary seat which Keadilan won. Even today, with Keadilan having the most number of parliamentary seats, its grassroots network and strength still pales in comparison with that of PAS.

Given this history, it is not that surprising that PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang recently emphasised that there was no clear leader with Pakatan, an unmistakable signal that he was not willing to allow PAS to be undermined within Pakatan or to play second fiddle to Anwar.

Mr Abdul Hadi also emphasised that PAS currently holds the most number of state seats, downplaying the fact that it is the third largest among opposition parties in the federal parliament.

While it might be challenging for Mr Anwar to share the spotlight with Mr Abdul Hadi, what he could have done was to institutionalise regular meetings between the top Pakatan leaders which could have given some air-time to the PAS president and would give the impression that the three Pakatan parties were equals.

Obviously Mr Anwar — who is not a political novice — feels he has no choice but to pursue the route he's taking.

Ong Kian Ming is a PhD candidatein political science at Duke University and Oon Yeoh is a writer and new media analyst. The article first appeared in the news portal malaysiakini.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by shan, July 19, 2008 12:49:18
disagree 21
agree 118
written by rajaphillips, July 19, 2008 12:55:40
Right. Malaysia is in deep shit because of Umno Baru created by Tun Dr Mamak so lets join hands together as Malaysians and throw this big shit out of our lives.
agree 122
written by varvoom, July 19, 2008 12:57:44
ong kian ming! you are talking COCK!
disagree 34
written by Zapper, July 19, 2008 13:11:54
No matter how much I would like to disagree with the writer, I feel strongly that he has the point. Running a country is not easy especially with the various factions and races trying to out do each other. For Pakatan, they should not lose sight of the mandate given by the rakyat.
Enough of talking and get down to work.
disagree 17
written by The dragonheart, July 19, 2008 13:20:37
Zapper said
"Running a country is not easy especially with the various factions and races trying to out do each other."

Do u mean UMNO is good because they managed to hold on power for over 50 years?
written by temenggong, July 19, 2008 13:22:09
I too fear that Anwar and the Pakatan is taking too long to form the new govt and the people are losing patience. Time is not on their side and he has not yet obtained the neutrality of the armed forces and the royalty in malaysian politics.
disagree 16
written by SUV, July 19, 2008 13:33:25
shan n temenggong,as usual talkin frm his arese. u thinks its dat easy aah man, dsai, pakatan rakyat, reformits, rpk r taking the risks of their lifetime to correct the situation of this country n u like a typical impatient m0ron know only how 2 bla bla bla.
written by Mr Smith, July 19, 2008 13:44:28
First the writers say that they don't believe Anwar has got the numbers to form the government but then they go on to say "but perhaps more crucially, he risks losing the trust of BN lawmakers who are considering the option of crossing over."
If they don't exist then what risk is there. Contradiction?

Of course, it is easy to sit in front of a computer and type their opinions but try being in Anwar's shoes - one man versus a mighty government, the unprofessional police, a biased AG and the hostile media.

Nobody is loosing patience. I have the patience, even till the next GE in 2012.
agree 155
written by bunian, July 19, 2008 13:48:41
I'm surprised it took so long for someone to write about this. Awhile back, when scuttlebutt came out about the BN defectors from Sabah and Sarawak, I made the comment that DSAI shouldn't talk so much -- just do! After all, why advertise to the enemy that you're going to strike? Just go ahead and whack them when they least expect it. Of course, advertising an attack well in advance also has it's purpose, i.e., to feint in one direction while hitting from another. But, in this case, I think the Rakyat has heard more than enough. I get tired listening to we-have-10-people-ready-to-defect and we-have-20-people-there-ready-to-defact and we-30-people-ready and ... ad nauseum. Enough of playing games. Just shut up and do it!!! Or just shut up!
disagree 31
written by Arum, July 19, 2008 14:02:33
Have patience brother.He is been side tracked to slow down the process of forming the goverment.The other PR MP must do their part too.But no one can do it other than DSAI.

written by Vince, July 19, 2008 14:04:58
To the writer of this article,

Pls crawl back to the hole you came out from and shut up. Whatever the issues or problems you think exists with DSAI or PR is negliable compare to the issues and problems caused and is causing by the current government.

If you are happy with the current situation in Malaysia and with the current government, go back to where you came from and shut up.

I think the rest of the Malaysians prefer to move on and is willing to give PR a try. It is better that watching BN destroy Malaysia...

Pls wake up and smell the air around you....
written by Umno Slayer, July 19, 2008 14:12:04
hey writer you must be an ******* and idiot,This is not westminter!is it the same class as uk!you must be trying hard to discredit pkr and anwar.you should choose to comment about how low the bn regime is !how outdated our foreign policy!...why dont you elaborate on the breakdown of justice and proper governance in malaysia...as far as im concern malaysia is stuck in mud now crab country nothingdifferent than Burma or mugabe s country
written by Umno Slayer, July 19, 2008 14:18:49
people can say this and that about pakatan rakyat forming the govt but at the end of the day, its the people who hold the power...this Badohwi shit PM is ignoring the voice ofRakyat axist the those rakyat that supported PKR is not important Rakyat of Malaysia after all....so its up to the Rakyat now
written by shangrilapeace, July 19, 2008 14:37:08
The PM in waiting Anwar is still on track and are increasingly popular with most of us. The only leader in our 50 yrs history able to lead the opposition & denied the BN a 2/3 majority. It's impossible to him to forget the people voice calling for a change of govt as his first goal. Hadi & Lim Kit Siang, on excellant terms with Anwar are capable of taking care of other important duties in their respective parties.

BN lawmakers who are considering the option of crossing over was derailed temporarily due to recent attacks on Anwar is justified as he has reminded us many times that this hoppings must happen at the right time. Legally and with
smooth transition. He still has the joker card close to his chest ready to start the migration and convinced the hoppers without doubts it's time. If he can't do it, no one else can, so a good chance & a little time should be given to him.

If the hoppers list is not ready, the shadow cabinet will have to wait too.

As long as PKR's goal is for the people, its grassroots network and strength will be at par in comparison with that of PAS given time.

Anwar is not faltering it seems but bulldozing in Kedah, Malacca and Pahang right now ie. today and tomorrow.

Anwar promised a better tomorrow for all of us and am willing to wait a little
longer for a Malaysia truly Asia....
written by lynn, July 19, 2008 14:59:56
Anwar cannot draw-up a shadow cabinet until he have the 30 confirmed cross-overs in his hands. All these flers, they would insist on a ministerial post, at the very least.

From your seat, ong kian ming, it is very easy for you to talk cock & comment. This takeover bid by Pakatan Rakyat is not going to be smooth sailing - umno will do everything possible, illegal, unethical & dirtiest methods to remain in power. I foresee bloodshed & prolonged unrest before Anwar can be installed as PM. Anwar is pitted against a bunch of the worst bastards politicians in Malaysian history - Polis, ACA, AG, sleeping but crafty PM, the prime suspects of Altantuya's killing, the likes of syed hamid albar, etc... and the bad govt is holding the water cannons, guns & bullets. Anwar has nothing to fight back with except the people's support.

So it will be a very difficult time ahead: if Anwar gets one step forward, the corrupt govt will make two steps to stop him. The fake sodomy charge was the first step of the corrupt govt to derail Anwar.
written by bc5853, July 19, 2008 15:14:16
Ong Kian Ming :

I am surprised with the many reasonable analysis that you have made, you have now made a surprisingly blind analysis here.
1st. issue remains very important which you fail to see is for Anwar to get into Parliament for which you and the entire Rakyat is fully aware that the gomen is trying everything to stop him by raising up issues of Sodomy.
2nd. To ensure the crossover is successful it has first got to be tested by one or two MPs , therafter the final crossover and then the Proposed Shadown Cabinet that can be formulated. For there requires much adjustment and agreement from all component parties.
Ong Kian Ming. Please do your analysis properly. Do not simply analyse with a political inclination without a sensible thought of it, for that will only bring your writings to nought in the days to come. Keep it and analyse with your sense, then you will be respected
written by miwaki, July 19, 2008 15:38:31
The writers do not understand the working of our cabinet and that's why they were worried that PR couldn't produce its shadow cabinet to Malaysians atlarge.Just look at our current cabinet ministers and you would know that any Tom,Dick and Harry can do a better job that most of them.People like Nazri,Hamid,Shaberry Cheek,Rais Yatim and wht have you,they are all mediocre and without integrity.If BN is competent,do you think our country could be like that;our ringgit is no value vis-a-vis major currencies,per capital income is low vis-a-vis our southern neighbor,our universities are ranked lower than Thailand,our salaries are low,most malaysians do not own a house of their own and etc.

We are rank high in corruption and incompetency,what is our BN government do to rectify this situation ? They can't do anything except blaming on opposition for their own incompetency.They are only good in creating traffic jams and putting up tolls all over the places.This is what our current cabinet ministers are good at.Who actually can't outperform them huh ?
written by Peterloh, July 19, 2008 15:40:08
DSAI, it is imperative that you get into the cabinet. You MUST
written by Ben, July 19, 2008 15:51:18
"All truth passes through three stages: First, it is ridiculed; Second, it is violently opposed; and Third, it is accepted as self-evident." Arthur Schopenhauer(1788-1860)

Likewise, DSAI journey to Parliament is not a walk in the park. Instead, it is akin to a warrior running through a gauntlet of opposition armed with every weapon conceivable to deny him his ultimate prize. He has no choice and must meet the expectations of the Rakyat, if he is indeed the chosen one to deliver Malaysia out of the doldrums. If he falters, it is by no means for the lack of trying. His courage for trying to change should be reciprocated by our support. May we suggest the writer reserve their judgement until such a time, God willing, DSAI is in Parliament.
written by DezMalaysia, July 19, 2008 15:54:57
Ong Kian Ming is a PhD candidatein political science at Duke University and Oon Yeoh is a writer and new media analyst

Very very often people who think they have a high qualification to practice as a political analyst think he's very accurate, a fine expert & pin-pointing others' flaws, and talk like he knows very well about what's happening. Also at the same time raised doubts & questions. Some points that you'd raised were true. Some matters do need to be repair and fine tune. It takes time... Do you understand this ? Why you didnt raise problems & mistakes of BN all these 50 years ?

Mr. Ong, have you ever met DSAI to learn more about his moves before you wrote all these shits to weaken people's confident in DSAI ? Why dont you write another article or something about how BN can stay on power and strenghten itself ? Why must you include DSAI in your shit topic ? Will your article helps ? Or are you just another Mah Chai Association (MCA) paid lackey or Ong Ka Ting / Ong Kar Chan's distance cousin ?

Rakyat will show how patient & how angry we are in the next 13th GE. No more BN !
written by GOLDLUV, July 19, 2008 16:11:24
The writer seems oblivious with the fact that current excessive politics showdown played by BN Goverment have shadowed the PR's strength which is part of their plan to short live PR.

PR don't need shadow cabinets as they have competent members and already under stand-by mode to take over the government.The main issue here is to get the power through democracy processed which is being denied by the present BN Government..last option, we have to wait for PRU in 2012. Love can wait,right? In the meantime, PR has to win Rakyat with their competency and walk the talk. BN is already a loser in the eyes of majorities. So,PR supporters don't lose your patience
written by orgmsia, July 19, 2008 16:15:14
PR u r caught by BN games ...
PR u should move fast, organise, focus on essential ground work needed to move forward achieving ur goal.
Though BN has all d machineries, u have all the support from ur people, the RAKYAT.
Focus on ur work, and just tell ur people openly what help u need, I'm sure the RAKYAT will lend a hand, to them helping PR is helping themselves, helping their beloved country, steering it to the right direction, correcting current injustice, building more properous dwelling place for themselves.
written by Umno Slayer, July 19, 2008 16:33:10
i must say this most rakyat malaysia are coward !!sorry to say but its a fact ! its looks like malaysian will be ****ed for a long time...i hope rakyat will prove me wrong....third workd forever....especially when there s amany cunts out there who were already have demented mind ....product of BN
written by cruzeiro, July 19, 2008 16:37:42
I agree to a certain extent on the above analysis.

PR is losing focus - mainly PKR.
Achilles Heel here is PAS - they seem to fall for every trick of the BN guys, especially Race & religion, and they wish to assert themselves when they are clueless.

DAP will work with anybody who's willing to abide by the spirit of the Constitution.
written by SocratesI, July 19, 2008 17:59:25

There were 2 strategies open to Pakatan RAKYAT and DSAI at the beginning and DSAI chose the blitzkrieg attack, which must result in a victory within a short period of time, like say, 5 - 6 months. Otherwise, attrition sets in and the second option needs to be pursued and the change in Govt. will have to wait till the 13th GE.

The second option is what the writer here opines - build up Pakatan RAKYAT so that the processes and procedures and the shadow Govt. is in place for a takeover to happen smoothly at the 13th GE.

If DSAI is going to miss the Sept 16th 2008 target, he and his colleagues better get down to the second strategy and make it work well for the RAKYAT !!

written by Bigdawg, July 19, 2008 18:21:13
Very likely the writer owes his scholarship to Bee End/MCA therefore singing BN song.

Another BN dog...dogs.
written by Raizzen, July 19, 2008 18:32:44
Faltering ke ? I see the otherwise. The fact that he was arrested for again another alleged sodom-me case, despite being the accusation being despicable and lowly and MOST unlikely to be swallowed by the rakyat BUT STILL USED BY BN, means BN is desperate.

And owh, the infamous unique PAS ties with PR, its an old issue with cliches smeared all over it. But one that BN and its MSMs choose to use again and again when trying to belittle PR's crediblity. This too, shows how desperate these BN dogs are. But oddly enough, an issue that SOME of the PR individuals choose to jump 5o feet high about, despite being fed of it over and over again
written by budakindia, July 19, 2008 19:09:10
No worries, it'll be a domino effect! smilies/wink.gif Once someone in BN started it, it'll be everyone abandon ship. smilies/grin.gif
written by asiaone, July 19, 2008 19:35:25
The writer of this article is the same writer i condemned before when he posted in Malaysiakini title ' Oil price hike-An economically necessary move '
One of his quote...
QUOTE:
" Even with the price hike, petrol in Malaysia is still comparatively cheap. Petrol in the United States, an oil producer, costs between RM3.50 and RM4.00. In Singapore, it's more than RM4 liter and in many European countries it's well above RM5 per liter."

With PhD or whatever bullshit titles he is holding, he forgot compare the income per capita of the countries he mentioned against Malaysia. Since that posting , I never support any of his statements as i find him not credible in dispensing out his thoughts or argumentative comments which is much questionable. My opinion is he represents nobody but himself. His teory and arguments are based on his small perception of thinking on one singular angle.
written by Mark C, July 19, 2008 19:40:30
treating an infection takes time, and healing a disease that has been plaguing the nation for more than 50 years takes even more time. When you have all the odds seemingly piling against you, any lesser man would have shrug his shoulders and buckle under it.

There are some quarters who are out to sabotage the transfer of power, I am patient, and I appeal to like minded people who wants a better Malaysia to be patient as well. Change doesn't come over night, change comes when selfless people, people like RPK, DSAI who sacrifice themselves for the betterment for the whole rakyat. Instead of failing out and second guessing, I reckon we only need to be patient.

A concerted effort is being engaged to prevent PR from taking over. That much everyone knows, from UMNO approaching PAS and trumping up charges against DSAI and RPK. I reckon our best hope for our children is with PR. What has we, the rakyat have to lose anyway?

Being plundered and raped for the last 50 years isn't enough? Why the pessimism? When there's a will, there's a way.
written by mara koman, July 19, 2008 21:15:44

Hello, Mr Ong ba bi,,

Thank for rocket scientist advise and political analysis..

If there is one waiter and media analyst has one tiny drop of good thing to say about the blood sucking BN dogs,,,than your f@@king brain need a overall... U understand.

The rakyat dont need you to come up with your rubbish. Ask a guy sitting in coffee shop having a coffee.!!! He will say, the moment the group of dog, polis, musa, AG, bodowi, Najib and the gang are out. Malaysia is in the save hands. Come what next is what we are looking for..

So Tune your f@'king brains into right perceptive. Or hold on your writing, until turmoil comes to an end
written by Naha, July 19, 2008 21:43:42
1 of 2

I have a serious problem with what I call entrenched hardwired feudalism among Malaysians, regardless of skin colour.

When Pakatan Rakyat was formed, I dared to hope that finally, here is a catalyst towards transforming the feudal mindset towards one of emotionally detached democracy, whose participators among the citizenry are mature and not so insecure as to be averse to self-criticism standing in the way of personal progress, and whose chosen representatives are not plutocratic lesser gods beyond any criticism. I dared to hope for judicial redress of past crimes against the citizenry as a means towards reconciliation and healing, of strict punishment of the highest crimes (in my mind) of abuse of power, and for political debates centering not on character worship or character assassination, but on policy and its implementation. Naively I hoped the readers who comment at M-T are of such intelligence and maturity.

I got it all wrong. When I criticize UMNO, along comes an UMNO brainwash job accusing me of being an Anwar devotee. When I question Anwar’s actions I get crucified by the doyens of his devotees with fingers poised over keyboards, ever ready to attack anyone who dare criticize their god. The flavour of the language is often adolescent, and pitifully, many indulge in racist name-calling and in the process of cursing their hate figures, expose themselves as hypocrites because the cause they claim to be devoted to is one blind to skin colour and creed. I should not be surprised since the events of 1998 clearly indicate that the current hardcore members of PKR were once UMNO members or supporters, who left after his bid to upstage Mahathir was met with Mahathirite persecution.
written by Naha, July 19, 2008 21:44:23
2 of 2

As much as I distrust Anwar’s past in Malay feudalist politicking, I dare to give him the benefit of the doubt, that perhaps he has truly changed and see the country as a pluralist democracy. I dislike the emphasis on his personal ambition, and agree with many points of the critical essay above. The backlash against the authors, and surely against myself shortly, is evidence that old habits die hard. The racist and feudal indoctrination is deeply rooted, and begs the question whether Pakatan Rakyat will survive very long. If the young coalition fails, it reflects less upon the component party leaders’ failure to present a cohesive and structured front (although that is also contributory) but more upon the mindset of the party faithful, as clearly displayed here at M-T.

The worst revelation are the commentaries here after Anwar was criticized over the non-appearance of a much-hyped Shadow Cabinet – this is Malaysia, not Westminster, shouted one, and another went as far as to say a Shadow Cabinet is pointless as the struggle to attain BN defectors necessitate promises of cabinet minister posts for the jumpers.

Are you saying that Malaysians do not deserve a mature two-party democracy? You are asking us to accept the status quo of feudal patronage and dismiss the hope for a mature democracy, just to defend one imperfect human being whom you idolize – I mean, you expect the rest of us to behave as we have done for the last 50 years – take it all lying down, for the sake of fulfilling the “jalan ke Putra Jaya semakin hampir” ambition of one man. The citizenry’s hopes mean nothing to you – all there is is the ambition of one man? What do you hope to get out of this “struggle”? What, we are duty bound by filial piety to accept a similar government whose members possess the same mindset as the ones deposed, with only faces changed (as reward, similar to cronyist contracts and “commissions”)? We should be grateful and honour the ambition of one man, over and above gratefulness to God, kin and country, because he championed our freedom from BN, and in the process enslave us to new feudal slave-masters all from the BN mould but wearing new political masks?

You are really taking a piss on the people of Malaysia. Go ahead and persist in your ways, and you too will earn the contempt of the rakyat, as UMNO is currently suffering.
written by ma azman, July 19, 2008 21:53:27
I agree with Naha.

Feudalism will not vanish in Malaysia. We know that the members of the current government are corrupt. We know or suspect that many have grown rich playing on their greed. But how certain are we that even now, these people are not trying to cover their bases by cosing up to members of PR?

As shown by previous rumblings in Sgor, some PKR members feels they deserve to be rewarded for taking the blows and suffering the tear gas before. Rewards? Gifts? Hah! Will PKR be just a multi-racial UMNO then?

How many have started making new friends amongst our freshly minted wakil rakyat?

Surprising that most wouldnt mind rewarding the defectors with ministerial posts or giving them other sweetners. Corruption? Bribery? No. Not when it is done for the greater good.
written by InEffective, July 19, 2008 22:13:31

Our nation seriously needs some major rehabilitation.

Regardless of who the next leader is, the nation's safety and well-being going forward is currently at such jeopardy, that it will take major changes to help our nation progress, where we can handover a better future to our children.

The current disease and filth-minded contaminated governing politicians have shortchanged all of us - we are willing to work for and deserve a better quality of life and environment - cannot and must not let our pathetic politicians from undermining our nation and our peoples.

Restore the Joy of being Malaysian....
written by confuseus, July 19, 2008 22:20:03
"As a newly-formed (or some would say re-formed) coalition, it's almost inevitable that Pakatan would have its share of growing pains and teething problems. Even BN — arguably the longest-ruling coalition party in contemporary world history — needs, and has, institutionalised mechanisms to handle disputes amongst its different component parties. Pakatan has nothing resembling that, with grouses being aired regularly in the media."

Well said.... the greed has gotten to Anwar and the PR allies. They should get the priorities right and set up the Ombudsman office as one of their top priorities.
written by mara koman, July 20, 2008 00:05:50

hello confuseus,,

Why confusing has got into you,,,either the scum Umno brain has found the way into your head..

How f@@king greed that you are so confuse of..

-The billions of petronas gone missing,,
-The Billions to redempt perwaja steel
-The million spend to send a gay C@@k to the space
-The useless, proton which literally made most youngest poorer in the country ,,etc

And ,,, many more..

If you havent see the greed of Scum umno dogs 50 years past,, than you are having a C*ck eye...
written by macakmy, July 20, 2008 00:37:10
Dear Naha, ma azman, InEffective and confuseus.

Maybe it is a lost cause after all.....
written by Kapsiow, July 20, 2008 00:43:23
I am willing to wait for as long as it takes for a CHANGE IN GOMEN. Rome was not built in one day. It will be a miracle to turn around in four months. Let's just be very patient and not lose hope and BELIEVE IN THE CHANGE COMING SOON!!
written by Daryl, July 20, 2008 01:26:11
Naha
This is a blog that encourages response with the title "NO HOLDS BARRED" so it is not for those that are sensitive to responses that mount to personal attack at time. Nothing should be taken personally here but at the same time you should expect some childish with some vulgarity responses with your comments. Also, this is one of the few outlets that people can voice out without the fear of repercussions from the authority.
However, you will find it more informative and balance reporting here when compared to the MSM. MSM have probably about 50% accuracy on their reports and these so call alternative media probably have 75%. This is just my perception about the current MSM in Malaysia.
written by Bigdawg, July 20, 2008 02:12:08
Oh Naha! So you think that in fact your comment is well articulated while the rest of us can only make adolescent comments, ah?

Self glorification kah? Let me say what I think of you. You are more of the hypocrite that you describe us, than you think.

Oh, so we idolise Anwar like a god, do we? Say, why don't you walk your talk and get down onto the political scene and expound all your solutions to our present woes so we can make a more educated choice of whom to follow and clamour after?

If talking from a distance is all you can do, perhaps you'll like to shut your trap now instead of pouring cold water over Anwar and the rest of us.

Go and quietly sit by your BN goons and lick their boots, OK?
written by mara koman, July 20, 2008 05:38:06

Naha,,, and the jokers backing Naha,,

What a amazing discovery that you have done, that no malaysian has thought of doing.

-Yes your finding of fuedalism and shadow cabinet,,all well discovered and said/ with all your clever language, will make more benefit if you can stuff in your ass...

-Thru your article if you hand change one person's perception on PR.,,your a ass shit.

Make no mistakes,,The umno is worst of the scum the modern world is coming to know.

There is no justification,, !!! Thats it.

It will make a world a good, if you can keep your fortune on the street.

We rakyat want to see a better malaysia.

If you want to l*ck the umno ass,, by all means..
written by mara koman, July 20, 2008 05:41:37

On more message for naha,,and crabs..

Yes,, you have seen day in day out the main media is burying the truth..

If you want some fact and figure to light, why you guys go send your finding to the main media.

Get the shit of here than..
written by dmh1871, July 22, 2008 13:15:47
Well, well, well just imagine three component of PR having three conflicting and different ideology and direction. Pas on it's Islamic state agenda, DAP a Chinese based party is fighting for level playing field, meritocracy ala Singapore style (which in fact marginalised their minority) and PKR neither here nor there policy thus I don’t know what they stand for. Luckily all of this squabbling and hypocrisy came out in the open well before 16/9/2008 that is when/if/may/dreaming to be the government of the day, as their differences would translate into a recipe for disaster. Hello if you all really want to be a good government please grow up and act accordingly, this is not a game of monopoly that you can do what you want, you all are dealing with real people on (bread and butter) and (flesh and blood) and (do or die) issue involving millions of people future. If this the sort of people that supposed to be the saviour I might as well stick to the present regime at least I know who are the enemy at the gate.
written by PAKRAK, July 22, 2008 20:40:55
These sub-standard universities, UiTM and ITM that churn out graduates are not qualified at all. They cannot even speak a proper word of English. They are all trained to be fanatics.
The BN component parties are helpless. They just have to keep mum and listen to their propaganda. I wonder how long these component parties are going to tolerate their nonsense - hopefully by September 16. Each time they open their mouth their balls are squeezed by UMNO goons.

To be continued.....
written by PAKRAK, July 22, 2008 20:54:53
.....continued

Anwar is not faltering. The government is trying every unscrupulous way to stop Anwar from achieving his objectives. It's like a time bomb - September 16 is the D-Day.
Ong Kian Ming and Oon Yeoh want to show their writing skills to support the government, coincidentally hoping to be roped in by KJ Monyet as advisers on Level 4!