Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow "I was told not to ask anything," Dr Vasantha

"I was told not to ask anything," Dr Vasantha PDF Print
Friday, 18 July 2008 09:04

THE CORRIDORS OF POWER REPORT ON THE ROYAL COMMISSION OF INQUIRY INTO ANWAR’S BEATING

Part 4 

"On 24 September 1998, at the request of the police, I examined Dato Seri Anwar at that place (the ISA Remand Centre)." said Dr Vasantha Ponnniah in her testimony during the Royal Commission of Inquiry hearing to establish the truth behind Anwar Ibrahim’s beating. (This was four days after he was beaten up).

"When I first examined him he did not complain about any injuries that were caused to him."

"I did not ask him about other injuries because I was told not to ask," added Dr Vasantha.

"The exact statement told to me by the police was, "Jangan tanya apa-apa." I could ask questions within the limits of the basic format."

"Obviously, they did not want me to know about the background of the case, or the detention, and the very fact that the photograph was produced to me first, indicates that they did not want me to ask anything about the injuries."

"But I did ask him when it happened. Notwithstanding what the police had told me, I did ask him about the bruises."

"I asked Dato Seri Anwar how he explained the bruises. He was not forthcoming. He just replied, "Oh, it’s one of those things"."

"Then I examined him. I used the normal format which we use for all ISA detainees. I performed a general and systematic examination of all areas pertaining to his complaints."

"The examination was conducted in the presence of six or seven officers who were present throughout."

"When I first examined Dato Seri Anwar on the 24th, the visible injuries were on the left forehead, the left orbital area, the left periorbital area, the left malar area, the right malar area, and the finger marks on the left arm."

"Dato Seri Anwar did not complain about the injuries on the head, so I did not examine the skull. The patient did not complain of any injury to the lips."

"When I saw him that day, the injury on the left forehead was certainly more than two days old. All the injuries found were certainly more than two days old."

"Collectively, I could say that the injuries were due to blunt trauma. It could be caused by a fist or a blunt object getting in contact with that part of the face."

"From the amount of ecchymosis that was present over the left forehead and the left orbital area which extended up to the left cheek, I would say that the force used was considerable."

To be continued tomorrow.

written by Ken Liew, July 18, 2008 09:20:49
An expert was ordered by a noob...... so Doctor, have you work in a pressured condition???

I bet all of us know who bad can the Police can be, and we wont dare wanna know who bad is the ONE who cab order the police around......

Wonders of Malaysia, where stupid control the experties.
agree 131
written by cwy, July 18, 2008 09:22:34
The police professionally instructed the trained practitioner to carry out her job unprofessionally!
It is time to revamp the whole police system!
agree 223
written by purpleshoppe, July 18, 2008 09:26:44
Karpal Singh spoke: live bullet went to his house

RPK spoke: life threatened

Bala spoke: absconded in lieu of life threats

Bandar Mahkota chinese boy: beaten into coma, now prosecuted by law

Dr Vasan: hope your courage faileth not.........
agree 233
written by loosecannon, July 18, 2008 09:27:05
RPK, thanks for the reprint of these articles. It's good to revisit the past episode of Anwar's incarceration and comparing it with the latest one. Apart from the back eye, everything seems to be a repeat of the past. The same actors, the same storyline, the same over-hyped drama. One would think that they can come out with something more orginal. People will not fall for the same rubbish again. The more they deny their involment, the more people tend to disbelieve them.
agree 127
written by Frankfurtguy, July 18, 2008 09:29:25
How could the police order a doctor what to do and what not to do. It is better then the police also become the doctor
Crazy crabs crazy cops

The doctor is under DURESS, as like in Bala's case It is time to put these useless police top management into DURESS from rakyat!
agree 172
written by krising1, July 18, 2008 09:35:21
Come Rahim Noor. Why the silence? Speak up man! Help cleanse the shit that walk amongst us.

I am distressed by the fact that the professionals - judges, lawyers, doctors and top civil servants get so intimidated by the authority. It is people like them that allow the Mad mamak have his way for 22 long years. If they do not stand up, what chance does an average man have?

One courageous man Bala Subramaniam stood up but only for a day! How sad!

agree 178
written by lamakawan, July 18, 2008 09:54:09
It is indeed sad that we are seeing this abuse of power every day in our lives. Mahathir a/l Kutty is the originator of all these abuse of power. He is the one who ordered the doctor not to ask any questions on his patient. We have to be realistic about all these abuses in our country. we cannot keep quiet forever. Some one higher up with patriotism in his blood need to raise this suffering of our nation to the awareness of the united nation assembly. We might be a developing country but internally the people are suffering under the autocratic rule of the BN. There are many more abuses of power gone undetected throughout the years. People arrested and kept in lock ups and died or disappeared eventually before even brought up to court. this news is not new and had gone by as if it had become the norm of the day
written by malaysianohope, July 18, 2008 10:16:40
As a reward for bashing Anwar to pulp the ex IGP was appointed a director of Genting!
Bravo! Malaysia Memang Bolih!!!!!
written by SeriousLy, July 18, 2008 10:31:04
Is Dr. Vasantha still alive? If not, Ask UTK police force!
written by varvoom, July 18, 2008 10:31:14
Same modus operandi, same intention, same intimidation and harassment, instilling a climate of fear. This bunch of polis from Malaysia came straight out of the 1920’s Al Capone era; all they need now are some Tommy guns.
Camera! Action! Part 2 scene 2! Cut! And Malaysia has its own making of the Untouchables, sambal belacan added.
written by Dominic, July 18, 2008 10:35:04
Unlike electronic data where record can be manipulated, am sure a professional person like Dr Vasantha would telling nothing but the truth . Yes, we need this kind of facts to silence those out to discredit the dignity of DSAI . Those years of languishing in jail was too much to stomach especially when one is innocent of the charge !
written by nesen, July 18, 2008 12:17:47
That was the time even very senior officers apparently were afraid or unwilling to come foreward to testify and were guilty of derelection of duty by followig orders by the then IGP to leave the injured anwar alone

Dr vasantha we salute your honesty and professionalism
written by YMA_kuantan, July 18, 2008 12:57:09
Perbuatan zalim tidak akan dapat bertahan lama..
written by Abdul Haq, July 18, 2008 13:10:00
Mahathir Mohd laid traps for Anwar that have just sprung into action. The traps are to make sure that Anwar does not become PM and dig up all the dirt and evil that he and cronies and corrupt sycophants did to the country and Anwar.

Musa Hassan was given very fast promotion bypassing several others in PDRM,as a reward, with a TanSriship thrown in and is now the IGP. He was prosecuting officer 10 years in Sodomy 1.

Gani Patel tried to get Manjid Singh, Anwar's lawyer and Nallakarupan to play ball to get Anwar convicted by fabricating evidence.

Don't forget Augustine Paul..he is now a senior judge and can use the same inane and infamous phrase taht everything is NOT RELEVANT'..The fact that Tivoli villas, where sodmomy 1 was supposed to have happened, wasn't built yet was not relevant. the fact that the accuser, Azizan was not checked for anal intercourse was also not releanat!!

They are still there and more powerful, plus you have got pliable, corrupt unprincipled government servants that will blindly follow their master's voice is indeed a major problem for Anwar.

The weak PM is not going to do anything..he benefiting from Anwar's problems..he can still be PM longer!

It's really upto the rakyat to say enough is enough of this nonsense and demand that the King steps in and then pray for Divine intervention.
written by born2reign, July 18, 2008 13:15:02
Abdul Haq, I say the Malaysian courts are not relevant!

If the police can tell a doctor HOW he can examine the patient, let alone what he can ask the patient, imagine what the police can do to the blood of Anwar? Maybe the police wants to tell the scientist HOW to analyse the DNA too?

I agree with Anwar not to give any of his hair or blood for DNA before seeing the original police report of Saiful (is there any to begin with?) Perhaps the 2nd or 3rd copy has be edited like Bala's police statement and forcibly changed like Bala's SD.
written by jewels, July 18, 2008 13:22:37
WRITTEN BY KRISING1:

"COME RAHIM NOOR. WHY THE SILENCE? SPEAK UP MAN! HELP CLEANSE THE SHIT THAT WALK AMONGST US."

I’ve been told that Rahim Noor is now sick and poorly.

My Bible tells me, “for what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and loses his own soul?”

So DSAI, may God be with you to bring these low-life good for nothing crooks and lawbreakers to their days of their own calamity where their foot shall slip in due time and things to come hasten upon them.

For all the pains and hurts caused to you and your family, my heart grief for your family too ‘cos I’m also a mother with children. Rest assured that “Vengeance is for God to recompense!”

I stand unity with you and your family throughout this time of persecution and of RPK's too!

God bless and be with you all!
written by Free Malaysia, July 18, 2008 13:39:48
Rahim Noor is a pondan.
And our PDRM is a disgrace.
written by Mik, July 18, 2008 14:05:33
I bet badawi happy now. His two enemies gonna fight till both of them burn themselves out and who will be the last man standing? AAb la who else. No one to challenge him. While everyone bickering about everything, he maintains his elegant silence. Hey, this man is not stupid.He is very smart, smarter than we all so we end up thinking he is stupid. He is the man who stand against Tun's wrath n survived. U just see how he outmanoeuvred Tun by just keeping silent and let others fight for him. That is aab. Others will die n he will stand. Last man standing, like RPK put it.
written by ekt tan, July 18, 2008 21:53:58
It is not surprising that Malaysia is often called a 'Police'state by foreign media. Bolehland will always be Bolehland. The police does not uphold the law they uphold UMNO's law and law of their political masters. The police is Malaysia's 'Gestpo'
written by JohnQ, July 19, 2008 00:15:25
Surprised. lawless society was not a result of criminals and petty thieves , but the .......... need not tell lah, everybody knows !
written by ramlisdar, July 19, 2008 07:18:48
written by krising1, July 18, 2008 | 09:35:21

Come Rahim Noor. Why the silence? Speak up man! Help cleanse the shit that walk amongst us.

I am distressed by the fact that the professionals - judges, lawyers, doctors and top civil servants get so intimidated by the authority. It is people like them that allow the Mad mamak have his way for 22 long years. If they do not stand up, what chance does an average man have?

One courageous man Bala Subramaniam stood up but only for a day! How sad!

At least he stood up for a day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by ramlisdar, July 19, 2008 07:19:27
The rests got no balls even for a day
written by Tom n Jerry, July 19, 2008 10:44:16
Malaysia almost 45 years old come September 2008;but its political scenario seems like only about one year old;current PM & former TDM only knows corruption and nothing more;TDM wanted Anwar to bail out his son*s ailing companies in 1998 but Anwar refused;thats whuy he punished him by trumping up the sodomy issue;TDM dont know but the whole world knows;incidently my best friend was a retired accountant with Petronas in KL;he told me everything! smilies/grin.gif
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 19, 2008 11:28:29
"Obviously, they did not want me to know about the background of the case, or the detention, and the very fact that the photograph was produced to me first, indicates that they did not want me to ask anything about the injuries.""But I did ask him when it happened. Notwithstanding what the police had told me, I did ask him about the bruises."
"I asked Dato Seri Anwar how he explained the bruises. He was not forthcoming He just replied, "Oh, it’s one of those things"."
"Then I examined him. I used the normal format which we use for all ISA detainees. I performed a general and systematic examination of all areas pertaining to his complaints."
"The examination was conducted in the presence of six or seven officers who were present throughout."

AND BODOWI, MUSANG, CID BAKERO, SHIT ALBAR AND THE WHOLE PACK WANTS THE PUBLIC THAT THE POLICE WILL BE FAIR AND PROFESSIONAL AND WE ARE ALL NOT ABV THE LAW????? U MEAN AMENO LAW OF SELECTIVE PROSECUTION???
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 19, 2008 11:29:39
missed out:

AND BODOWI, MUSANG, CID BAKERO, SHIT ALBAR AND THE WHOLE PACK WANTS THE PUBLIC TO BELIEVE THAT THE POLICE WILL BE FAIR AND PROFESSIONAL AND WE ARE ALL NOT ABV THE LAW????? U MEAN AMENO LAW OF SELECTIVE PROSECUTION???
written by jchew, July 19, 2008 21:00:47
When a foreign journalist asked mamak about the black eye; mamak replied "I don't know"