Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Nation Without a Common Philosophy

Nation Without a Common Philosophy PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 17 July 2008 19:22

The country has lost its direction and gone bonkers - long time ago. Judging from news reports in Malaysiakini and Malaysia Today concerning the arrest of both Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Raja Petra, I am now totally confused as to what the government’s priorities are.

Is alleged sodomy (which if it is true, is most likely to be consensual) a greater crime than abusing captives in police custody and then denying it? Is alleged defamation a more lethal crime than alleged involvement in the murder of a foreign national, that the former has to be arrested and brought to court, while the latter is still scott free?

We are a nation without a common philosophy. That’s what we are. And that is why for the last 50 years, Malaysia’s progress lacked direction due to the absence of a single common set of philosophical belief and guidance. We are a nation heading everywhere and nowhere at the same time.

In other words, we are LOST.   
Read More Here 

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by ctchoolaw, July 17, 2008 19:26:35
Is there any strategic thinking in Malaysia ?
http://ctchoolaw.blogspot.com/...ng-in.html
written by Mark C, July 17, 2008 19:31:33
fact remains that the government is desperate and will stop at nothing to cling on to power.
written by sarawakian, July 17, 2008 19:33:42
in the last 50 years, the government drove out all the brains to foreign countries. they nurtured and spoon-fed the lazy. suddenly, they are faced with a band of intellects (who were not supposed to voice out) questioning every government move and they are at a loss on how to face this.

politicians should be focussing our efforts on facing the challenges of international trade and information technology instead of struggling to take control of the nation's resources.
written by Hello Keithy, July 17, 2008 19:36:12
What else when all the ruling party's tactics failed ? Enough is enough. Only way to save us from all these is to have PR as the new government. 50 years of damages done by BN and they keep on harping about PR's 100 days in the five states. Let me come and mess up your life and see if you can get things back in shape in 100 days?
written by msiaman, July 17, 2008 19:39:47
Very typical of government and enforcement. They like to impress upon the 'not connected' that they are nothing and the all powerful UMNU goons can do no wrong.
To emphasize the point, they will just do whatever they can do to show that they can mobilize such great forces such as the arrest of Anwar. However, my question is why we don't see the major criminal and murderers being treated such? Even if you want to go for sex crime involving consenting adults, why not go after the retired MCA fellow?
Selective enforcement is so rampant, why others get fairer treatment than others? Talked about professional policing? Nothing they do now will be able to gain the rakyat's confidence.
written by Dominic, July 17, 2008 19:43:24
With no other way to stop the onslaught and the very imminent chance of loosing out to PR taking over, BN groons will go to any extend to fix DSAI. Thats the only Ace they have in hand. I am sure more tricks are coming from them. It is important to tread cautiously and stay alert !
written by wawasan2020, July 17, 2008 19:43:31
written by rzkb, July 17, 2008 | 19:32:32
if anwar is dead, everything would be normal again

written by rzkb, July 17, 2008 | 19:34:38
stop being a pessimist, we have our wawasan 2020..only the rakyat is too lazy too work for it and a few politicians are just plain shitand misuse their power..but not all of them are shit. dont take anwar's word for everything, he is a major hypocrite too

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Mr rzzkb

Either u r the one who can change those jerj idiot morins BN poloticians or u r the BN dog?
written by Power5492, July 17, 2008 19:50:18

Hey Dick Head rzkb,
It is because of ass holes like you and your f#$@%^&g mentality Malaysia is in this state.
By that statement we know you have shit for brain so please stop commenting in Malaysian Today *******eeeeeee

People Power
Power

written by Lim Lim, July 17, 2008 19:50:21
what do u expect when the nation n rakyat hav been n still being sodomised by the umno/Bn bandits....still partying in their 'orgy of looting'????
written by nanakassim, July 17, 2008 19:53:16

.....meaning that Umno will continue to screw you, rzkb?????
written by PAKRAK, July 17, 2008 19:55:59
The leadership is too weak and is not intellectually equipped with the laws and priorities. They are a confused lot and are ill-advised by certain quarters. They are more interested in siphoning more $$$$$$ from the coffers.
written by rzkb, July 17, 2008 20:08:56
NOTE: Comment deleted. Not relevant
disagree 101
written by Mark C, July 17, 2008 20:19:27
obviously commenter like rzkb are here to distract people from the issues at hand, someone who is narrow to even think that everything will be bright and sunny if DSAI is dead. Fact is, even with DSAI gone, the growing resentment with the current government will still be present.

the issues is the economy and the hard life the rakyat is feeling.
written by rzkb, July 17, 2008 20:42:56
disagree 70
written by Eskay Lim, July 17, 2008 21:15:18
What common philosophy?

There has never been any the last 3 decades of Umno rule.
It's like the Umnoputras believe that they must be the masters.... while others are slaves.
All Umnoputras treat the nations's treasury as their own ATMs .... while others take the crumbs.
This nation is "going to the dogs"..... the same path as Zimbabwe where Robert Mugabe believes that only his political-party can rule the coutry.
Umno is singing the same song.
written by Braino, July 17, 2008 21:16:01
Well, they is no silver bullet to this mess that has been accumulated thru the years...just pray hard that Malaysians can still survive when the world economic bubble burst!...we are looking inward too much! While we forget that there is a storm brewing in the world outside...take heed, we may be faced with something more drastic than our own home-grown "dramas" taking place now!
written by mara koman, July 17, 2008 22:07:17

rzkb,,

Its people like you,, dumm ass.

You must be another umno scum ass,,

By looking at it you must,, an uneducted shit.
written by clarity, July 17, 2008 22:16:42
rzbk, maybe better you die instead so we don't have to look at stupid remarks from you. Obviously you are an UMNO spy dog so please give your remarks to UMNO website where it is appreciated. When they inspected Anwar's private parts he missed a golden opportunity. He should have pissed on them and save some for you.
written by Sabahfan, July 17, 2008 23:10:07
OF COURSE, Malazutland lost all sense of direction since Tunku abdul rahman died..

all the rest of UMNO leaders only wants to hang on to power hoping to perpetuate their power and money down their own generations of a few previleged so called Malays....

AND the police are their enforcing agents...

Who cares about NURIN? who cares if Sharlinie ever gonna be found?
No they are insignificant...

the only important things are money and power to the UMNOPUTRAS...

why should they care about ordinary malaysians, even ordinary malays, though they keep fooling them by their "MASA depan orang orang Melayu" Kempen..
written by Daryl, July 17, 2008 23:22:46
Is pretty sad isn't it that they just allow the coountry to go to rot. While they are trying to divide and how to scam the rakyat's money. THe 51% that vote them in must feel pretty stupid by now but I am pretty sure they like being sodomized as well because they vote Bee End probably all their life.
written by MalaysiaBaru, July 17, 2008 23:27:26

and UMNO can continue to screw the rakyat. rzkb, u really enjoy being sodomised by UMNO huh!

UMNO U!!!
written by hiro, July 18, 2008 00:08:09
Philosophy - sure Malaysians do. Almost half of us (or perhaps more, depending on how serious you thought vote rigging was) want rule of law and a visionary, competent and inspirational government that leads people by the best of examples. The other half (or less, depending on how light you thought vote rigging was) are simply too blind or afraid to see that any change is better than staying the current course. The ruling coalition too has a philosophy, that is to deny all that is fair and just and to implement all that enriches themselves. We're really a treasure trove, a cauldron of gargantuan proportions of philosophies. It is not possible to have a common philosophy until the angel banishes the demon from the driver's seat.
written by Msian 2, July 18, 2008 00:50:23
We need leaders who can act & not just talk the good talk & is not able to get any thing done right for the interest of the country & people. We have a major issue with putting the right people for the right job. Also, my believe is simply we have leaders who are corrupt & only interested in their bank account. Look at the wastages & lack of accountabilities. Qualitiy citizens are leaving the country in droves, especially to Singapore & the govt just don't care. They are interested in racial politics which in the long term hurts every community & apply the law to nail those who speaks up. This is M'sia nightmare.
written by Umno Slayer, July 18, 2008 01:08:12
Malaysian has been put in the same cateory as other 7 nations including a few African nation that requires VISA to be applied first - to visit UNITED KINGDOM
we cant just pop in to London anymore....welcome to Mugabe and Junta of burma club! smilies/shocked.gif
written by zackzeni, July 18, 2008 01:09:50
rzkb ko ni mmg anak haram jadah, anjing umno....
written by zandi, July 18, 2008 01:16:54
rzkb, you stupid baboon!!! you go die yourself!

rzkb, if you drop dead, and the faggot saifool, najib, musa hasan, gani patail are dead, Malaysia will be a very peaceful country!
written by Fernz, July 18, 2008 01:34:10
Mahathir says that the government is not "so stupid or unimaginative" as to trump up sodomy allegations against Anwar Ibrahim all over again.

Mahathir is putting his foot in his mouth again. Is he implying that the government, which he headed for 22 years, was stupid the last time?

On the latest charge, “yes, this government is as stupid or even more stupid than the previous government to try and pull off the same trick all over again” thinking that no one would actually suspect them of being that stupid. Nothing is beyond these desperate morons in dolled-up suits as they try to cling on to power. These people and their hangers-on are fighting with their backs to the wall and are capable of doing anything including fabrication, stage-management, murder, disappearance and torture. It has been proven in the past.

The last institutions we should trust on Earth are the AG’s Chambers, the police and the Judiciary. Perhaps things are getting a bit better at the ACA, otherwise I would have included them as well. In fact, I even suspect that the ACA views both the AG’s Chambers and the police with utter contempt. It’s a good thing the ACA can now initiate criminal prosecutions without going through the AG’s Chambers.

Both the AG and IGP stand accused of fabricating evidence in the last Anwar Ibrahim trial and instead of packing them off on leave, the government has allowed them to carry on as usual and even issue statements brazenly on the latest case and how “professional” they would be and how everything would be done strictly according to the law and procedures. Professional, my foot! Who are these people kidding? Have they no sense of shame? In Japan, they would have committed hara kiri, as Mahathir observed not so long ago when mercilessly running down Badawi in public and pushing for his resignation to ensure his family’s dynastic stake in the politics of the land and the lion’s share in the continued plunder of public money under one form or another.

The sad part of all this is that no one is minding the economy which continues to go to the dogs. Meanwhile, the heat is off Badawi for a while at least as the focus shifts to the new sodomy allegations against Anwar. It was not so long ago that Badawi was under constant daily pressure to throw in the towel and make way for a new team favoured by sore loser Mahathir and his people. Mahathir, in fact, even wanted Badawi to simply run away and not come back, as if Malaysia is his grandfather’s property. Since he’s so unhappy, why doesn’t he go back for good to his ancestral Kakaland in Kerala, southwest India and leave us alone in peace? He should not keep up this self-serving public pretence of being more Malay than the Malays themselves. That’s really stretching the Islamic link too far. He’s kidding no one.

The lesson that we can draw from the latest Anwar Ibrahim episode is that we badly need some American style oversight committees on, for a start, the AG’s Chambers, the Special Branch, the IGP’s Office, Bank Negara and Petronas. The oversight committees should be composed of members of Parliament, both government and opposition, and senators. The oversight committees, in their terms of reference, should also have the power to recommend Grand Jury investigations against wrong-doers rather than wait for the cases to lumber their way through the AG’s Chambers and the Judiciary.

Anwar himself, at his first press conference after a day in detention, has labeled the government as totally and unbelievably incompetent for the way they went about bringing him in and his shabby treatment thereafter. “Why should they treat me in this manner and lock me up with hardcore criminals for the night?” asked Anwar. “No Malaysian should be treated in this manner.”
written by AntiBN, July 18, 2008 01:34:58

--------------------------------------------------------

DSAI is our only hope now, or else we all would be dead!
written by Umno Slayer, July 18, 2008 02:30:57
rzkb go sucks umno s mp's dick dude ...you must be the product of umno lol smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by johanssm, July 18, 2008 03:21:56

Thats not a solution.
There will be more anwar.
Or you are implying the same to RPK?If RPK is dead , everything back to normal?
If you cant comment, pls dont.
As you are part of the problem .
written by Bigdawg, July 18, 2008 03:27:24
written by zandi, July 18, 2008 | 01:16:54
rzkb, you stupid baboon!!! you go die yourself!

rzkb, if you drop dead, and the faggot saifool, najib, musa hasan, gani patail are dead, Malaysia will be a very peaceful country!

Ai, zandi...you forgot mahathir!

rzkb, may ala strike you down a thousand times and send you family to hell with you!
written by rzkb, July 18, 2008 04:13:28
written by rzkb, July 18, 2008 04:15:05
written by Daryl, July 18, 2008 06:36:36
Dear rzbk,
I am not sure what you are. People on this blog are most pro-PR or people that are against BN. I am definetly against BN and its policies. Also, the way they handle our country Malaysia and where i is heading. I am for DSAI not because he can talk but he seems to be the only capable leader and have more credibility and a good muslim as well. He also went through a lot from his ABIM, than UMNO and now PR. I believe his policy is in line with Malaysia at its 50 years annivesary for us to make a more drastic change. Instead of eating beef noodle I would like to enjoy some prime rib or ribeye steak.

So, tell us why you are rambling like a incoherent BN lovers.
written by Naha, July 18, 2008 07:08:25
Folks, please educate yourselves on the single most important reason why this country is going to the dogs - go read Tun Salleh Abbas' posting in answer to Mahathir's inane ramblings, kindly posted here at M-T by Socrates under article entitled "Anwar, Pak Lah and Malaysia will be on trial ".
written by cancerian35, July 18, 2008 07:17:30
yes i totally agreed with the writer. we are the Nation Without a Common Philosophy. The whole world is looking as us and laughing at us. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

The joker thinks that sodomy and defamation are more serious that killing an innocent person then ? meaning everyone here can abuse their power and start killing each and other. then no issue. We are a nation without a common philosophy. joker ......That is what we are. That is why we never progress, never improve at all. look at us....now. pls wake up and see the whole reality.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Naha, July 18, 2008 07:29:06
RPK, as we are on the topic of a nation without a common philosophy, may I suggest you post the Proposed US-Malaysia Free Trade Agreement (http://fpc.state.gov/documents.../76913.pdf) for readers to understand how the Malaysian disease of political filial-piety will end not just with the country being a fiefdom of UMNO feudal lords, but a fiefdom to the USA? I know you've raised this issue before, but I'm in the dark as of its current status.

How ironic, the loudest konon-konon anti-Amerika voices in UMNO, still peddling the "Anwar will sell us to the USA" bull to orang kampung, are the very ones who will sell our country to the USA.
written by TwilightYears, July 18, 2008 08:16:01
After obtaining our independence and formed Malaysia, we have lost our direction with each race trying to outdo the other. The Govt led by UMNOputra as well as selected sycophants from MCA and MIC has never had a clear vision. Vision 2010 is but a smoke screen where all things economic are being privatised to cronies of the UMNOputra govt. MCA under Ling Liong Sik only get the fart - even with this, he and his son became billionaires. Samy vello, took the crumbs in building highways to hell, has definitely reserved one for himself when he leaves this place as multi billionair.

Malaysia has never has a vision. 2010, like the Mayan calendar, will see the end of an Malaysian era filled with unmentionable, inhuman act of corruption, cronism and arrogance.
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 18, 2008 08:23:47

HEY DUNGGU RZKB, U MEAN THEN YR AMENO CHIEFTAINS/WARLORD B**STARDS CAN GO
ON REAPING THE NATION'S WEALTH IN PEACE? FYI, DSAI WAS "DEAD" WHILE HE
WAS INCARCERATED BY YR MOTHER OF ALL WARLOADS IN AMENO AND U CAN WRITE
A BOOK ON ALL YR GOONS' CORRUPTIONS/CRIMES AND THAT IS CONSIDERED "NORMAL"??
HOW MUCH STAKE HV U GOT/HV U BEEN PAID FOR POSTING THIS ??
written by Tornado, July 18, 2008 09:18:14
Thank BN....u make as suffer again...
written by OrdinaryMan, July 18, 2008 13:03:44
Perhaps the PM of Australia should read Malaysiakini or Malaysia Today before making his remark about Malaysia. A "vibrant democracy" indeed.
written by partiotic, July 19, 2008 09:04:37
The BN philosophy is to channel tax money into their own pocket.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009