Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Anwar begs for medical attention but is ignored

Anwar begs for medical attention but is ignored PDF Print
Thursday, 17 July 2008 09:58

THE CORRIDORS OF POWER REPORT ON THE ROYAL COMMISSION OF INQUIRY INTO ANWAR’S BEATING

Part 3

"One of the police personnel in uniform removed the blindfold and the handcuffs," said Anwar Ibrahim in his testimony during the Royal Commission of Inquiry hearing to establish what really happened on the night of 20 September 1998. 

"One of them took the handkerchief, the same handkerchief they used to blindfold me and wipe my blood oozing from my nose and upper lips," added Anwar. "Then they left me in that condition until late that night."

"I was in a state of semi-consciousness, very weak, and certainly a bit disoriented because the strike on my head was a bit severe."

"At about late or early morning, ACP Koh then came up to me, woke me up and served me with certain documents indicating that he is arresting me under the ISA (Internal Security Act)."

"I just laid flat, copped up in bed, lost any sense of time or whatever happened until the following morning."

"My left eye was swollen, so I was worried about my eyesight. I have a history of cervical spondylosis…the karate chops had aggravated the spondylosis. I could sense the nerve and pain on my left hand and sometimes, even on my right."

"There were officers coming in during routine checks and I said to them, "Look, I am not asking for anything, but I need medical attention, serious medical attention". Most of them just ignored it."

"The first person who entered the cell after the 21st (second day of arrest) was the Camp Commandant, Halim Siraj. And I appealed for medical attention."

"The Camp Commandant said he would refer the matter to the higher authorities. He came back later to me to say, "Dato Seri, I’m sorry, I did my best, there is nothing more I can do". He was sympathetic."

"I repeatedly asked to be examined by the doctor but I was first examined by the doctor on 24 September 1998 (four days later)."

"The meeting with Dr Vasantha was not at Bukit Aman (Police Headquarters) but it was at the Special Branch hideout solitary confinement. I was moved there at about midnight on 23 September, blindfolded and handcuffed again."

"Travel time took about one hour. I felt really miserable that time and I was brought to this hideout stripped naked. My condition at that time, I could hardly walk."

"I was examined by Dr Vasantha in the afternoon. And I slept there for a few more days, for three days. Then, on 27th, I was brought back to Bukit Aman lockup."

That same day Anwar made a police report on the assault at the Tun HS Lee Police Station.

To be continued tomorrow.

written by Rashid, July 17, 2008 10:09:42
You are talking about 10 years ago, yesterday night, he SLEPT on the bare floor and his back's pain which he sustained from the 1998 assassination was aggravated. We are dealing with the most nefarious and evil people that have ever trampled on earth.
agree 176
written by cwy, July 17, 2008 10:20:44
What a shame to our police force!
How come they treat Anwar as 'cative for ransom' as done by gangsters who blackmail?
Why did they need to make Anwar naked to look at his private part?
The police must be sadist, pervert and sex maniac!
written by mpkapar, July 17, 2008 10:21:59
ANWAR RELEASED ON POLICE BAIL, Press at 2pm today
www.mpkapar.com
written by Tom n Jerry, July 17, 2008 10:25:17
Politics in Malaysia can be amusing cum baffling when you scrutinize the present scenario;just an act of alleged sodomy and ther you are ending up in the cell on the cement floor;how pathetic;where is democracy,human rights?Arent we supposed to be in the 21century!Therea re so many ways of overthrowing the government;PR must learn from USNO & Berjaya how they sabotage the their former regimes in Sabah!Mustapha is dead ;but Harris is alive & kicking;perhaps he is the ideal mentor in todays scenario! smilies/grin.gif
written by zul4kulim, July 17, 2008 10:32:30
Great Men Think alike - hitler, Mugabe, Mahathir and new conspirator Read http://1426.********.com/2008/...hamed.html
written by onnetline, July 17, 2008 10:53:14
We'll wait and see the outcome before further actions !
written by Engineer, July 17, 2008 11:06:56
And the b**t*rd who did this is now a director of genting makan gaji buta banyak banyak.

Really shame put in there on insistence of old Mamak Dude TDM who begets a pariah son in from Jerlun; this is the biggest packet sodoh mee.

Should relook the case and charge this f**ker for attempted murder.

written by jjireh99, July 17, 2008 12:24:17
don't praise albar about him being a no nonsense guy and all that rubbish! You only do that to "real" criminals for goodness sake!!! Sheesh..... syed albar syed hamid, just go, please.....
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 17, 2008 17:45:45
Travel time took about one hour. I felt really miserable that time and I was brought to this hideout stripped naked. My condition at that time, I could hardly walk."
"I was examined by Dr Vasantha in the afternoon. And I slept there for a few more days, for three days. Then, on 27th, I was brought back to Bukit Aman lockup."

SHIT ALBAR, MUSANG, BAKERO, U B**STARDS DID IT AGAIN AND EVEN MEASURED????
YR TURN WILL COME.
written by Rozlan, July 17, 2008 18:19:48
Actually I believe Tan Sri Rahim Noor intention was to kill DSAI...However AlMIghty Allah saved him and live another day to to tell the story..You see everybody know that karate chops on the necks are dangerous and fatal...Anyway thanks to RPK for retelling back the inciddent
written by bc5853, July 17, 2008 18:33:48
MAY OUR ALMIGHTY GOD CONTINUE TO HARDEN THE HEARTS OF THESE SILLY POLICE MEN AND EXPOSE THEM. EXPOSE THEM. EXPOSE THEM. SO THAT, EVEN FOR THE FIRST TIME, WE ARE NOT SURE, THE SECOND TIME, WE QUESTION. THE THIRD TIME, WE CONDEMN THEM AND DEMAND FOR A CHANGE , A CHANGE OF ALL THE LEADERSHIP IN THE GOMEN AND THE POLICE !
written by sarawakian, July 17, 2008 18:49:00
"One of them took the handkerchief, the same handkerchief they used to blindfold me and wipe my blood oozing from my nose and upper lips," added Anwar

and what happened to this handkerchief? was it used to smear some mattresses stored in the next room??

written by talk2stop, July 17, 2008 22:52:18
I'm sure whoever involve such an act to deprive a person liberty are happy now. Like anything, Anwar you are a man of all good men must forgive them for they know nothing what they were doing.
written by AntiBN, July 18, 2008 01:02:52
I pray that DSAI will take over the government and then put all these bastards in jail.

My sympathy goes to DSAI's family too.

Lawan tetap lawan. It's payback time.
written by kitakamek, July 18, 2008 08:54:43
CAN YDP AGONG SULTAN MIZAN INTERFERE AND STOP THIS FROM HAPPENING AGAIN? LET'S MARCH AGAIN TO ISTANA NEGARA AND SEND A MEMORANDUM TO SET UP A ROYAL COMMISSION TO INVESTIGATE THESE NEW ALLEGATIONS AGAINST DSAI AND RPK!!! THIS TIME RAKYAT WILL TURUN BY MILLIONS!

PLEASE TUANKU!!! SAVE UR RAKYAT AND MALAYSIA!!!

DAULAT TUANKU!!!
written by Tom n Jerry, July 19, 2008 10:55:41
Our royalty too engrossed in the luxuries of life & living!There is no time for them to involve in such petty issues;I mean this matter of sodomy or murder is quite petty to them because it happens all the time;in Petaling Street sodomy happpens every minute;PDRM are the biggest group of clients who frequent the transvestites;they get free service only;perhaps get repaid by aids;whereas the sodomized just cry out in pain & helpless;wonder whether our Najib will help smilies/cry.gif