The ten-year mood swings PDF Print
Thursday, 10 January 2008 23:00

The opposition is arrogant. The opposition has a large ego. They think we need them so they can do what they like. It is time they learned that we do not need them but it is they who need us.

They say the economy works in ten-year cycles. I can't remember what happened before Merdeka because I was still too young then, but by the time I went out into the world to make my living in 1974 I became conscious of these economic down-turns. Last year, the world struggled to keep its head above water. The expected crash did not happen only because governments took pains to keep banks and countries from collapsing. It is no secret that when America sneezes, the rest of the world, in particular the developing part of the world, catches a cold. So America needed to be saved just so that the rest of the world could save itself.

China and the Middle Eastern countries in particular had invested a lot in the United States Dollar so they could not afford for the Dollar to crash. It is said that between them they hold an estimated three to five trillion Dollars. So, if the Dollar crashes, they have as much to lose as does the United States. It is therefore prudent to keep the Dollar alive just so that they themselves would not crash alongside a crashing Dollar. This is no charity. They do not have the interest of the United States at heart. It is merely a matter of survival, their own survival, so keeping the Dollar going was to keep themselves safe and a way of preventing their investments from getting wiped out.

But what is the real worth of the United States Dollar? Is the Dollar worth a Dollar? No one knows expect maybe those who walk in the corridors of power in Washington, Beijing, Riyadh, and so on. The rest of us lesser mortals can only hope and pray that what we may be trading in or holding onto by way of the Dollar is worth the paper it is printed on. It is clearly understood that the Dollar, as are all paper money, is merely a promissory note. It is a promise by the issuer of the note that they would pay on demand the figure printed on that paper. But what if they don't? What if they dishonour their promise? There is very little you can do, really, except to 'blacklist' their paper from thereon and refuse to accept it any longer in future. But the damage would have already been done. The three or five trillion Dollars that you hold would be worthless scraps of paper and refusing to further accept that paper would not help you recoup your loses but would instead guarantee that the paper you hold would become like the Japanese 'banana' money, if any of you still remember the Malayan currency of the Second World War.

Anyway, for all intents and purposes, 2007 could be said to be a critical year for the world economy. The only thing is the economy was artificially propped-up so many of us did not realise it. What we saw were just the bells and whistles, which was what we were meant to see. Ten years ago, in 1997, we again suffered an economic downturn -- at least our part of the world did -- due to what is now infamously known as the Asian Financial Crisis. In 1987, ten years before that, again, the entire world went through an economic slump that saw some tycoons suffering jail terms when they attempted to prop up their ailing companies through fair or foul means and many chose the easier foul means alternative. And ten years before that, in the 1970s, yet another economic crisis.

Yes, every ten years expect an economic crash and if the ten-year theory is correct then this year, 2008, we are due for yet another economic downturn. Of course, predictions are just that, predictions, but predictions are based on signs and the signs seem to indicate that we may not be too far off the mark. In fact, as I said, it should have happened last year rather than this year if not for the propping-up by the Chinese and Middle Eastern countries which had more to lose than the Americans if the Dollar collapses. But the economy can still be saved, and if the United States attacks Iran, which many think may happen this year, then we may be seeing better days ahead of us -- at least as far as the economy is concerned though I can't say the same for the Iranians. Yes, wars are good for the economy and an American-Iranian war will see the economy strengthen. But people will have to die, many people of course, so that the capitalists can see a healthy return on their investments.

This ten-year cycle theory holds true for politics as well, at least as far as Malaysia is concerned. Every ten years or so we see a shift in voters' sentiments. Sometimes the shift is large enough to make an impact like in 1969 and 1999. Sometimes it is a minor shift but only because the Malays shift one way with the non-Malays going the opposite direction one election, and then the non-Malays reverse direction with the non-Malays again moving in the opposite direction the following election. Now, if only the Malays and non-Malays both shift the same direction then the election results would have been totally different. But the Malays and non-Malays love playing see-saw. When one goes up the other goes down, and vice versa. Maybe they should start playing swings instead so that both can swing up and down at the same time. But such are the mood swings of the Malays and non-Malays. When one is in the mood, the other is not, and then when the other finally gets into the mood, the mood of the first moves the opposite direction. It's like when tonight your wife has a headache and is not in the mood and tomorrow night when she is in the mood you in turn get a headache. If only you can both get your headaches at the same time so that you can synchronise your moods.

I remember in 1968 -- I was 18 then -- when Malaysians went through their first mood swing. Resentment against the government was high and both the Malays and non-Malays voted against the ruling party in the 1969 general election giving the opposition 55% of the votes. No doubt the ruling party still formed the government even though it had just 45% of the votes but it lost many states and ruled without a two-thirds majority. History was almost repeated 30 years later in 1998 but in the 1999 general election the Malays and non-Malays were not as united as in 1969 (though in 1969 the Malays and non-Malays were not really united in that sense but just that both wanted the government out without working in concert to achieve this).

Now, we must remember, 1969 was not long after Merdeka and not long after the ruling party swept almost all the seats in the first parliamentary elections in 1959. Ten years before that the voters gave the ruling party a landslide victory. Ten years later they took it back.

Let us look at the First Parliamentary General Election again. What really happened in that first election in 1959, merely two years after Merdeka? Did the ruling party do that well, only to lose it all again ten years later?

In the First Parliamentary General Election in 1959, the voter turnout was only 73.3% or 1.55 million voters. 600,000 people decided to just stay home and not bother to come out and vote. The Alliance Party, which had won the Municipal Elections four years before that in 1955, managed to garner only 51.8% of the votes. That's right, the Alliance Party won slightly over half the votes in the First Parliamentary General Election. And the Alliance Party was a coalition of three parties -- Umno, MCA and MIC. Therefore Umno, on its own, won less than half the votes.

In terms of seats, though, the Alliance Party won 74 out of the 104 seats or around 71% of the total seats contested. This means they managed to form the government with a comfortable two-thirds majority in spite of winning slightly over half the votes.

Five years on, in the Second Parliamentary General Election in 1964, the voter turnout increased slightly to 78.9%, a 5.6% increase. In this election the Alliance Party garnered 58.5% of the votes, an improvement of 6.7%, more or less corresponding with the increase in voter turnout. The increase in votes which the Alliance Party won can easily be attributed to the increase in the number of registered voters. The number of registered voters had increased by 28% but the Alliance Party saw an increase in votes of 50%. This means the Alliance Party saw a real increase and not just because there were more voters. In short, 500,000 'new' voters came out to vote in the 1964 general election and 80% or 400,000 of these votes went to the Alliance Party -- an impressive performance indeed. The number of seats the Alliance Party won increased to 86%, which more or less gave them a landslide victory.

Five years later, in 1969, the voter turnout dropped back to 73.6%. In this historic election (historic only because of the racial riots that followed) the Alliance Party managed a paltry 44.9% of the votes. Out of the 144 seats contested, the Alliance Party managed only 74 giving them slightly better than half (72 seats is 50%) and FAR SHORT of the two-thirds they needed to form an effective government.

That’s when all hell broke loose -- organised chaos if you wish -- infamously known as the May 13 incident.

The ruling party, by then called Barisan Nasional, performed better during the 1974 general election. They managed to garner 60.7% of the votes. But this is only because the old Alliance Party no longer existed and the new coalition called Barisan Nasional comprised all those opposition parties that, in the election before that, had denied the ruling party its two-thirds majority in Parliament.

In terms of seats it was almost a clean sweep for Barisan Nasional as the opposition managed to win only 19 out of the 144 seats contested. Something must be wrong with the system when the opposition won only 13% of the seats though 40% of the rakyat voted for them. In this election the voter turnout was only 75.1%. Again, 600,000 people did not come out to vote just like in the two elections before that.

The 1978 general election was not any better and was almost a repeat of 1974. Only 75.3% of the voters came out to vote. The ruling party won 57.2% of the votes, but this time their number of seats won dropped to 130. The opposition managed to win 24 seats on the now enlarged total of 154 seats -- a slightly better performance for the opposition.

The 1982 general election was, again, a duplicate of the election before that -- 74.39% voter turnout, 60.54% votes to the ruling party giving them 132 seats, and 22 seats to the opposition, which was almost status quo.

From thereon PAS seemed to be going downhill. The following general election in 1986 was a disaster for PAS when it won only one seat and lost Kelantan to UMNO. Ironically, DAP saw its best ever performance by winning 24 Parliament seats. Barisan Nasional, which got 57.28% of the votes, won 148 seats or 84% out of the total of 177 seats. This was the turning point for both PAS and DAP -- PAS its lowest point and DAP its highest.

One interesting point to note is that the voter turnout in 1986 was the worst in the history of our general elections. Only 69.97% of the voters came out to vote. It was said the low voter turnout was one factor that worked against the opposition. More than 2 million people stayed home in that election.

1990 was the most interesting year. In the general election held that year, the ruling party managed only 53.38% of the votes. Voter turnout was only slightly better at 72.7%. A 'record' 2.2 million people stayed home and did not bother to come out and vote. Considering the ruling party managed only around 3 million votes and the opposition obtained 2.6 million votes (giving the ruling party a mere 400,000 vote majority), the 2.2 million voters who stayed home was quite significant indeed. If 8% more people had come out to vote, and if they had voted for the opposition, the results would have been quite different. Of course, if they had voted for the ruling party instead then it would not have mattered much.

Anyway, DAP lost four seats and managed to retain only 20. PAS & Semangat 46 shared 15 seats between them from a mere one seat the election before that. PBS in Sabah got 14 seats and four independent candidates got in. Out of 180 seats contested, the ruling party still managed to win 127 or 70% of the seats on slightly more than HALF the votes they garnered. Again, this showed, in Malaysian elections, it is SEATS AND NOT VOTES THAT MATTER.

During the 1995 general election, PAS and Semangat 46 got one seat less each and, combined, managed to win only 13 seats. DAP did quite badly at nine seats while PBS got only eight seats this time around. There were nine million registered voters that year but, just like in 1990, more than two million people stayed home. The ruling party garnered 65.2% of the votes and won 162 out of the 192 seats contested giving it 85% of the seats.

In the 1999 general election, Barisan Nasional won 102 or 70.8% of the 144 seats it contested in Peninsular Malaysia. This gave it 4.2% more than what it needed to retain its two-thirds majority in Parliament. With the 46 seats it won in East Malaysia, Barisan Nasional sailed in comfortably with 148 seats, 20 more seats than what was required to maintain its two-thirds majority and 52 more seats than what it need to form the government with a simple majority.

Now, it must be noted that while Barisan Nasional won more than the two-thirds of the seats, it failed to win two-thirds of the votes. Out of a total of about 5.8 million voters in Peninsular Malaysia, Barisan Nasional managed to convince only 3.1 million voters to vote for it while 2.6 million voters voted for the opposition. This came to less than 54% of the total voters who cast their votes -- far short of the two-thirds it needed to legitimately claim that the people support the ruling party.

What is most interesting to note is that only 73% of the voters came out to vote. Perak was the lowest at 66% followed by the Federal Capital at 70%. Why this low turnout?

Thousands of complaints were received that voters who had voted in that same area for the last few elections suddenly found their names missing from the electoral list. Others complained that someone else had voted in their place. When they went to vote they found that their names had been 'cut off' from the register, which means they had already voted. Then there were cases where voters’ names had been transferred to another state so they could not vote as there was no way they could make it across the country in time to vote.

It was estimated that around 80% to 82% of the registered voters would have come out to vote this time around, if they had been allowed to. This would have made it one of the highest ever in Malaysian election history. Many did in fact come out but were sent home disappointed.

If these 7% to 9% had not been denied their right to vote, and if the 680,000 voters who had registered earlier but could not vote were included in the voters’ list, an additional one million people would have voted in the 1999 general election.

According to the Elections Commission, 95% of these 680,000 disenfranchised voters were below the age of 30. The Alternative Front or Barisan Alternatif claimed that more than 70% of these people barred from voting were their supporters. If this were true, then Barisan Nasional would have garnered 3.4 million votes while the opposition would have won 3.2 million. This would have changed the results drastically, probably even giving the opposition an additional 30 to 40 Parliamentary seats. Looking at the wafer-thin wins the Barisan Nasional candidates obtained, this assumption is more than possible.

A couple of years later, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad admitted during the Umno General Assembly that if the 680,000 disenfranchised voters had been allowed to vote, Barisan Nasional would have been kicked out of office.

The opposition officially won 42 of the Parliament seats contested. They claim the number should have been between 70 to 80 if the elections had been free and fair. And all they needed was 65 seats to deny Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament.

Then came the 2004 general election, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's first general election, and the tide turned yet again in favour of the ruling party. Even with just roughly two-thirds of the votes, Barisan Nasional managed to win 92% of the seats, never before achieved in 50 years of election history. Now, what is 2008 going to look like? Well, we have eleven previous general elections to look at so take your pick. But whatever it is, take note that:

1) even with 45% of the votes Barisan Nasional will still form the government;

2) they do not need two-thirds of the votes to win two-thirds of the seats;

3) and finally, in 1959 the ruling party garnered 51.8% of the votes, in 1969, 44.9% of the votes, in 1978 (which should have been held in 1979), 57.2% of the votes, in 1990 (they held elections every four years instead of five during this period so that is why there is an 'extra' two years), 53.38% of the votes, and in 1999, 54% of the votes.

Now, what is 2009, the next ten years (which may be 2008 rather than 2009 if they call an early election) going to look like? We have seen a voters' mood swing every ten years, just like we saw an economic downturn. Can we expect a downturn of the ruling party's performance as well?

Most likely. If the Malays and non-Malays unite under a united opposition we can see a 50-50 split in the votes. Of course, Barisan Nasional will still form the government. But it will be without a two-thirds majority and with the loss of a few states.

Kelantan, Terengganu, Kedah and Perlis may fall. Barisan Nasional may lose its majority in Penang, Perak, Selangor and Sabah. And 80 Members of Parliament will sit in the opposition aisle giving Barisan Nasional a mere 64% of the seats, slightly less than the two-thirds it needs to blatantly amend laws such as the recent one that allowed the Prime Minister to extend the tenure of the Chairman of the Elections Commission without seeking the approval of the Agong.

Yes, let us force the opposition to unite. And if they don't then let us boycott the opposition. Let us show them we mean business. As Lim Kit Siang said, “The people are the boss.” So let us show them that we really are the boss by telling them what we want and by rejecting them if they refuse to listen to the boss. We want 80 opposition members in Parliament. And we will get it even if we have to vote against the opposition or by not coming out to vote just to teach the opposition a lesson and to show them that if we can't have it our way then we do not want it any way.

The opposition is arrogant. The opposition has a large ego. They think we need them so they can do what they like. It is time they learned that we do not need them but it is they who need us. Malaysia Today will soon launch a campaign called ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION. The civil society movements and NGOs will soon launch a PEOPLES' DECLARATION or DEKLARASI RAKYAT. If the ruling party accepts this Declaration we shall support them. Whomsoever accepts it we shall support them, never mind which party they are from. It is time we took back the streets. It is time we took back the ballot box. It is time the Wakil Rakyat learnt the meaning of wakil rakyat. It means we are in charge and they are merely our wakil.

Comments (82)Add Comment
written by Roy, January 10, 2008 23:16:17
As long as Malaysians are still divided by race, I think the political scene is not going to be better. When it is bad, the economy will follow suit, almost automatic. No one country is enjoying good prosperity with bad politicians running the country. It's a factual thing. None.

I profoundly believe Malaysia will be better off with Bangsa Malaysia. No keris. No quota. No discrimination.

Look at Japan. Look at Korea. Look at America. Look at Europe. Look at Australia. Look at China. Are they all homo-racial?

Think now, why are we so lagging behind. What went wrong?
agree 188
written by Mr Smith, January 10, 2008 23:36:11
My mind is set . I will vote Opposition, regardless of who the candidate or party is?
A vote for BN is a vote for UMNO, the party which is plundering the country's wealth and preventing Christians from calling God , Allah.
Any man who stands for Truth, Freedom and Justice will not vote BN.
agree 240
written by Jhimsi, January 10, 2008 23:53:26
Yes RPK, the Opposition needs a kick in the butt. They have to unite and to give the rakyat something concrete. Mere talk and rhetoric is useless.

Let us bloggers and all who want change, challenge and pressure the Opposition to unite.
written by turun padang, January 10, 2008 23:56:17
If only this message can get thru
-the thick skull of the opposition party
-the 25-30% of voter who rather sit at home
-the laymen on the street

then my fellow malaysian, we might (just might)be able to see some changes to the malaysia we all love

till then..lets make it a point to take to at least 2 persons a day, and ask them to come out to vote.,, by just doing that, we all can really make a different.
Sitting infront of the monitor and keep reading Malaysia Today, only make ourself smarter but it is not helping MALAYSIA in any way.

TIME TO TAKE ACTION
written by LKO, January 11, 2008 00:02:03
As a Christian, I am required to pray for our leaders.

"Pray this way for kings and all who are in authority so that we can live peaceful and quiet lives marked by godliness and dignity." 1 Tim 2:2

But lately I'm been puzzled on the choice that God made for Malaysia my country. We've got leaders that are:
A sleepy head
A liar - More than one actually
A big mouth
A man of war
A sex maniac
A thief
A con man - Well, more than one in this category too
A coward
A murderer??
The list goes on

Until a realization came throught today. This is a God-sent opportunity to change this country for the better.

May God (Allah, Yahweh and all other acceptable variants) bless Malaysia!
written by Seng Ngiap, January 11, 2008 00:03:35
Yes for One Opposition movement.
Is there any chance to reverse ill-bill passed by BN?
written by Vineeth Menon, January 11, 2008 00:14:14
The last paragraph said it all..
Very much result oriented approach.
" ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION"
Assure my 100% effort for Malaysia Today for this.
written by Commonsenses, January 11, 2008 00:19:16
rpk, looks like a quickie election is around the corner. For the opposition, the problem is how can PAS works with DAP or vice versa.Their differences is so great as much as religious divide. for PKR I think they will use a candidate as proxy for anwar if election is held earlier. Nevertheless, the prospects for the opposition to grab more seats are much better with the forthcoming election. With AAB government in shits and corruption on autorun, and the poor quality of cabinet ministers and UMNO MP, it could be disasterous if AAB retains the incumbents to represent his government then we can have a repeat of next 4 years of bad government and double our corruption index catching up with our recently crime index record rise.
written by froggy, January 11, 2008 00:23:00
turunpadang, i totally agree.

i email RPK's articles to friends and family. I also make it a point to carry photo-copies of the articles with me... just in case i bump into someone i know. i make it a point to speak to anyone who'd listen.

this is how we all can contribute.
written by malsia1206, January 11, 2008 00:31:31
The Barisan - UMNO, MCA and MIC use their 3 jokers collectively to beat the odds. The Opposition - DAP, PKR and PAS can likewise use their 3 jokers to take the challenge right to the doorstep of the Barisan. The analogy is the same. So what's so difficult for them to align with each other on a common platform? Time is the essence. If they miss the boat this time, they would never have it so good as now to take on the Barisan. So DAP, PKR and PAS, do you all hear our voices loud and clear?
written by Kritz, January 11, 2008 00:46:26
I have never voted BN before and will continue to do so!
written by AsamLaksa, January 11, 2008 01:28:00
It is not enough to say better to have one opposition than no opposition. If this group of opposition parties lack a solid common manifesto, you are only inviting trouble by getting them all voted in because after they have won, they will end up having conflicts and BN will laugh all the way to the bank.

It has been so many years since the conception of BA (i recall S46, DAP and PAS forming a trinity alliance in the past) but there is little advancement in the groundwork and DAP and PAS at least do not appear to be getting closer to symbolise a multi-ethnic alliance. Allying with each other in the past appeared to have resulted in loss of support from their grassroots which saw them as selling them out. 2007 is different where more common issues arise not so much that the opposition themselves are becoming much more competent but rather the large portion of BN incompetence allowing a common cause for the rakyat to support the opposition.

Nevertheless, it is undeniable that one opposition is better than a many small ones but this is something which should have been worked on much earlier, not just wait till elections come a calling that they decide let's stand together. Even the rakyat won't be fooled by such sandiwara on the part of the opposition. Does anyone know of any common manifesto of the BA? Do you know what each opposition party stands for? Are you just going to vote the opposition to show your displeasure with the BN government?

The opposition needs to do their homework. There is lacking united stand on current issues. Even if their stand is the same, they appear as individual stands that came out the same.

The opposition also need rebranding. Calling themselves the Alternative Front means that well... they are simply an alternative to BN. You think rebranding is unimportant? That's where you are wrong. Calling yourself BA will lead others to think that your agenda is simply anti BN and your policies are simply counter to them. What the opposition needs is to create a united front not just an anti BN front but an alliance where they can stand on their own based on solid agendas. Show the people that they stand for the country such as rebranding to Barisan Rakyat (to show they carry the Deklarasi Rakyat if they decide to carry it) or Perikatan Malaysia (to show that they want a united country).

Malaysians are not bodoh. In the past they voted DAP into the parliament because they know that they need opposition voice in the parliament. But they refrain from letting the opposition take full reign in most states. The states under opposition control tend to have a large majority from a single party thus no problem with a one party agenda, not a coalition because the rakyat do not think too highly of opposition coalitions that doesn't have a solid common agenda.

So still not too late for the opposition or BN for that matter to get their acts together. Enough of this divide and rule nonsense. Get a government accountable to the voters.
written by temanmu, January 11, 2008 02:06:39
The BN will accept anything to win. After they have won, they will forget it and probably put the sponsors of the declaration under detention if they make too much noise. Example, "Corruption / nepotism must be stamped out" ... Oh yes, but what has happened? Zilch! or worse!

The Opposition has nothing to lose, they will accept whatever declaration.

The Opposition has one hand tied behind their backs already by the gerrymandering and one-sided Election Commission. I will vote Opposition just to balance it up!
written by charcoy feng, January 11, 2008 05:05:24
Glory glory Oppposition United.....
written by shamadz72, January 11, 2008 08:27:18
With Rashid around, I can safely bet my last cents what the outcome of the next election
written by cmoon, January 11, 2008 09:51:11
There would be more voters if EC is refined ...

In other countries people do register like in Malaysia!(not all)
but in Malaysia we Id ...with Chip! Why can we use it as means to vote!
Easy verification !No need registration reduce phantom voters!

"Its like you have laptop but you use it as a paper weight"
Probably the government and EC is aware but might be scared of the outcome!

No way m gonna support BN this time around!( used to , not anymore)
written by raven1958, January 11, 2008 10:08:46
Of the 40 to 50% of votes gained by BN....what persentage was gained by rigging, phantom voters and ostal votes....
written by kksam, January 11, 2008 10:19:16
ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION is a great idea. and it sounds very much like the Bangsa Malaysia concept by DAP, no race and religion bound, all is Malaysian. and yes we really need the opposition to work together not only to bring down BN but also for a better future.
written by JJays, January 11, 2008 11:02:52
I am with opposition for GE12, even if the candidate is "Donkey" against BN. BN Prai state will gone, and Batu Kawan Parlimentary is 50/50 against BN. Kick out BN is both area. "BUT" THE OPPOSITION MUST BE UNITED" Work as team. Stop giving press statement against one another. This is what always used to happen. However, a good start for PKR and DAP in penang. Both have compromised in their seat allocation.
All the Best PKR and DAP in Penang.
written by MalaysianIAm, January 11, 2008 11:14:00
I was talking to a MCA supporter the other day and her reason for supporting MCA is that it takes care of the Chinese. My argument was that a vote for MCA is a vote for UMNO, so no matter what, I will not vote for MCA. My dilemma, however, was that the opposition is a mess. Even if they unite for an election, they can't unite their ideology.

Go for the lesser of the two evils, or stay at home and watch TV?

But when I look at BN, I know I don't really have a choice. If the opposition can unite and form a coalition, whose leadership is based on meritocracy instead of race, whose philosophy is to serve rather than to steal, whose members and supporters are tolerant and united citizens rather than insecure, defensive, and selfish beings, then I will know what to do.

We need someone to take the first step to unite everyone. And I'm glad RPK and MT is making the move.
written by EricPayne, January 11, 2008 11:57:25
For me I'll just vote opposition, plain and simple. Been there, seen that. No way I'll let people like Zakaria (no more tours of his 'house' for the orphans ... ya right @%$*$@!) and others a change to do more damage. Pete, I'll be voting in Kg. Jawa, eventhough I'm overseas now.
written by Jay Krish, January 11, 2008 11:57:29
Even if BN backs the People's Declaration... i still wouldn't vote for them!
written by Bukit Chandan, January 11, 2008 12:24:35
Let's target a 45:55 (Opposition:BN) seats composition this time round. This will give us sufficient checks and balances in the Government to effect the necessary changes for improvements.

Best Regards.........
bukit-chandan.********.com
written by lokenpal, January 11, 2008 12:52:41
I think the coming election would depend how well DSAI does in his tour around the country; without worry of the ISA!!
written by cruzeiro, January 11, 2008 13:41:20
The opposition is arrogant. The opposition has a large ego. They think we need them so they can do what they like. It is time they learned that we do not need them but it is they who need us.

You can say that again, Pete Sir.
About time they wake up to this fact!
==================================

Malaysia Today will soon launch a campaign called ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION.

Sounds good to me.
=============================

Malaysia Today will soon launch a campaign called ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION. The civil society movements and NGOs will soon launch a PEOPLES' DECLARATION or DEKLARASI RAKYAT.

Can't wait to see it ....
========================
If the ruling party accepts this Declaration we shall support them. Whomsoever accepts it we shall support them, never mind which party they are from. It is time we took back the streets. It is time we took back the ballot box. It is time the Wakil Rakyat learnt the meaning of wakil rakyat. It means we are in charge and they are merely our wakil.

It is about time, indeed!
written by sickofitall, January 11, 2008 13:50:27
The opposition needs to come up with an their manifesto immediately, stating what they plan to do/implement and how they plan to govern, should they come into power. It is not enough for them to expect us to vote opposition simply because we don't like the present government. So, for the good of the country, the opposition need to get this done a.s.a.p!
written by joeawk, January 11, 2008 13:55:53
Yes, yes,yes, it is better late than never. If they don't cooperate, give the opposition ZERO.

Sometimes, I wonder if our opposition parties were formed by Barisan Nasional as puppets. Over the years, they have always chosen not to cooperate and ended up benefitting the BN and at our expense, our frustration.

written by densemy, January 11, 2008 14:02:02
At last!!!!

The only reason I could think for the opposition parties not uniting was that their personal egos were greater than their caring for Malaysia

Hopefully this move will jolt some sense into them. I hope it hasnt come too late
written by Malaysiaku, January 11, 2008 14:39:05
Well said RPK! I am with you "ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION." It is time to kick BN out and we will have to deny them even the 45%. So, everyone who loves the country and the future of your kids should come out and vote....against BN. It is time to change.

But, first, we need to have "ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION." . The oppositions should not be selfish but form its one party which is akin to being the "Barisan Alternative" under one flag and fight head-to-head, one-on-one with BN. This is the only way to ensure a change in Govt that will honestly fight corruption, a clean govt which is truly dedicated, committed and transparent.

OK. RPK, we are awaiting your lead to the campaign on "ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION." One last word. Can the opposition if you win under one flag, share power? You should definitely be able to.
written by mountainking, January 11, 2008 15:14:53
in fact, i am quite tired of hearing different opposition parties giving different speeches. why can't all the "Opposition" parties forget about their own identity and form one single opposition party? if the opposition's intention is for the citizens and not their own party, then they should not be holding on to their own party's idealogy and manifesto. these opposition party appears to me similar to those gangster party such as 18, 21 , 07, 24 .....don't know what other numbers that might be mushrooming just to fight for territory. is the same, now we have PKR, DAP and PAS and later on with some power struggle, then each of their leaders will come out and formed another equivalent.
why not think big and have visionary enough to form a single party ie; "Malaysia Citizens" or a party name and manifesto that best describes the longing and struggle of malaysians?
written by teo siew chin, January 11, 2008 15:31:25
yes yes yes! launch the campaigns, take to the streets again! no more Mr Nice Guys, no more play nice - the rakyat is now all grown-up, fed-up, charged-up! the opposition better get their act together or else ...
written by delCapo, January 11, 2008 15:45:56
"ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION"
well... i don't doubt that the opposition leader know this.
The tough job is geting it done.

For a start, don't us e the name Barisan Alternatif... the word Alternatif, in my humble opinion, makes one feel like u don't really have your own ground, but just a flip-side to others...
a name like Barisan Rakyat maybe more powerful..

DAP & PKR seems to have started on positive foot... they need to work it out with PAS..
Also... be realistic... for example, Johor & Sarawak are a no-hope for any of the Opposition party.. maybe these states... just concentrate a few seats which have more opposition supporters.

Overall... they really need to concentrate on Kelantan, Terrenganu, Kedah, Perlis, Penang & Sabah... do as much damages as possible to BN.

Parties wise, whack those MIC, MCA strongholds...once again, whack hard in Sabah!

FOr now, forget about who shall be opposition parliament leader first... I can see DSAI & the Lims doing a good job to lead a shadow government, not an actual government... that will be good enough for us, for now.

final thought - what does it take for PKR, DAP to start making deals with the minor BN parties??...
written by Kuku Burung, January 11, 2008 16:21:19
In 1999, I had to cross district to vote because my name was not in my registered district. In 2004, I couldn't even vote as my name was not even there, despite numerous confirmations before the election. So what is there to stop the EC play the same trick as in 1999 where 8-9% were denied voting? My advice is to check and check again your registration before GE; and vote for the oppositions (ie. if they can get their act together, or we boycott them).
written by DanR, January 11, 2008 17:00:07
Response from opposition? or Personal Opinion?
http://jelas.info/2008/01/11/opposition-unity/

Opposition Unity?
Posted on January 11th, 2008 by nat
We get a lot of flak for not being united enough to face BN.

This is a fair comment, but I hope Malaysians who feel this way base their opinion an equally fair and comprehensive appraisal of the situation instead of preconceived notions.

Clearly, we are not at the stage where some (though less than may be popularly believed, according to polling) would like us to be - say, contesting under one banner.

This doesn’t mean that it is impossible or will never happen, just that it hasn’t happened yet. It may not happen tomorrow, but it may happen sooner than you think.

I think that after the initial ‘99 euphoria and subsequent ‘04 crash, the opposition has come a long way in uniting for a better Malaysia.

When was the last time you heard Pas talk about an Islamic state?

Did KeADILan and DAP not come to a hard-won compromise over Penang?

I was close enough to bear witness to some of the difficulties involved in securing the latter. I hope people will come to see just how hard all of us had to work in order to achieve this agreement.

Don’t forget the different historical context each of these parties and the different ways their interests have evolved.

There are some in each party who would go so far as to propose mergers - a view I am sympathetic to. But there are also some to whom the very thought is an anathema and would virulently resist it to the last.

You may not like such people. Heck, I don’t like such people. But they’re up there in positions of power in their parties. So we have to make do the best we can with them until perhaps one day they might be replaced with differently minded individuals.

All this said, I really hope people won’t discount the progress we’ve made. KeADILan always plays a tough balancing and moderating act to play, but we’ve had our successes.

Take for instance, how YB Lim Kit Siang published a letter describing the benefits of being a Chinese living in Kelantan.

It may not have seemed like much, but for those of us in the business, this is a rare, brave and magnanimous gesture by YB Lim.

The opposition is well aware that it always has to do more to win the trust of more. But it’s a challenge we’re not shying away from, despite the stacked decks we’re playing with.

I just hope where unity is concerned, people will take a full view of things without preconceived venom and appreciate our victories (like Penang), no matter how small.
written by malaysianohope, January 11, 2008 17:59:31
Yeh!

Just like the comeback dame, Hillary and comeback oldie, John McCain, in the US election.

Deny them the 2/3 majority!
written by cruzeiro, January 11, 2008 19:28:09
Barisan Rakyat

YES!!!

DAP, PKR unite!
PAS, please come forward and unite - don't split the opposition.
Split the "ALLIANCE" of "social contractors" - one contractor just got "knocked off" in Johor cos he probably was the weakest link (what a pity- may his soul RIP).
MIC is definitely the weakest link, and the cracks are showing in all their members.
It is now that you have to come forward to show your sincerity and solidarity with the people - don't be a stooge to the "masterminds" who work to split you!

Yes, Pete - we definitely need a Deklarasi!!!!

Daulat Tuanku!
written by wolf, January 11, 2008 21:57:47
If the ruling party accepts this Declaration we shall support them. Whomsoever accepts it we shall support them, never mind which party they are from. It is time we took back the streets. It is time we took back the ballot box. It is time the Wakil Rakyat learnt the meaning of wakil rakyat. It means we are in charge and they are merely our wakil.

ummm... rpk, you might need to reconsider this. Those goons will agree to everything and promise you the sky and the earth if you'd vote for them. After the election?.....

Remember SUQIU?
written by Loh, January 11, 2008 22:20:19
BN has fifty years and all the bad records. I agree with wolf. Sack them.
written by Dreamlander, January 11, 2008 23:12:31
RPK, cobbling together the Barisan Bersih (BB) is only one part. Next is to ensure that they do not squabble over the allocation of state Exco memberships (presuming they wrestle control of several state assemblies and not the Parliamnet). In thin majority states just won by BB, some disgruntled BB assembly persons may just "jump ship" and swing the numerical advantage favoring the BN. Money is no issue under such circumstances. In this respect, BN has an edge over BB as its component parties have prior experience handling such sensitive issues as UMNO is the "big brother" and the others have to toe the line. In BB's case, there is no such "big brother" and the 3 component parties are (technically speaking) on EQUAL footing. Therein lies the danger. This issue must be settled before the election.
written by Century Patriot, January 12, 2008 01:47:14
Agreed on the ‘one opposition or no opposition’ concept.

I believed many voters are doubtful as to WHY opposition candidates should be voted when they don’t see the LINE-UP of the opposition and MANIFESTO if they win in state and parliamentary.

Hence, the opposition should display such LINE-UP, not by definite personality rather by ethnicity, and a short Manifesto . Such display has never been done before by any opposition party . Give it a try.

My vote is for opposition but you do it right!

written by tom73my, January 12, 2008 07:38:09
Bravo! One Opposition or No Opposition.
Bravo! People's declaration.

Take back the control, take back our people's power, it is what we want that matters, we are the boss, we call the shots!
written by densemy, January 12, 2008 12:38:45
I read today that the Electoral rolls are only available for a few days before the election

C'mon Malaysia... this is a public document that was paid for by taxpayers... It should be available to everyone 365 days a year

The same man gave the excuse that it wasnt the EC's role to tell NRA how to do their job. Hasn't he heard of the concept of COOPERATION??
written by Commonsenses, January 12, 2008 16:31:22
For the last few days news from many sources, it appears that any time there could be imminent announcement of the desolution of parliament. With the poster war starting to appear in the east coast of peninsular, we could be having an election b4 CNY. I for one would not be surprised if this happened.

After the election, all essential goods and petrol will rise and the support given to BN will allow them to sanctioned increases. We the rakyaat should vote for those who promised no increased. The rationale is simple, the more the government spend on huge projects only benefited those who managed them. Why let the government enriched those who are already riched.

Subsidies should go on untill the government rid itself of corrupt officers and goons.

Malaysia boleh.
written by Zym Zym, January 12, 2008 20:19:19
All my family members ( 8 of them ) have always voted BN for the past GE. Don't blame us coz we were told by everyone including the main media that BN is the only party that can manage the country well. We were brainwashed into believing that the current system works so well since 1969 and we were constantly being reminded that should we vote for the opposition, another 1969 riot will happen again.

Those are the things of the past. Internet has changed the political landscape and we are well-informed now. Come this GE, all of us will vote for the opposition party regardless of whether the candidate is from DAP, PAS or PKR. For our future sake, please "fight" under one banner, one symbol and one cause!

Is our request so difficult to fulfill?
written by Uncorruptible, January 12, 2008 20:50:07
"If the ruling party accepts this Declaration we shall support them" ?!
Have we not learn our lesson yet? Whatever the ruling party says have mainly been lip service. They don't generally implement the good things they say, otherwise why is there still so much CORRUPTION???
At this juncture, voting for the opposition irrespective of which party is the way to go !
written by educationist, January 12, 2008 20:54:15
Way to Go!! Let's hope your message will get through those opposition fellows.
written by malaysian2008, January 12, 2008 22:50:03

Not just - "Malaysia Today will soon launch a campaign called ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION."
but we also need to launch a campaign called ONE COUNTRY ONE RAKYAT (bangsa MALAYSIA), then the AMNO or BN or opposition guys can no more playing the racial issue to split our rakyat votes.

If we are one bangsa MALAYSIA we will only think of how to make our country MALAYSIA BOLEH. and not which race boleh or kurang and which race need help. Infact all poor MALAYSIAN need help. we should be equally treated as one MALAYSIAN.

Can this be happen in ten year time from now?
written by Mama Juwie, January 13, 2008 03:56:00
The Election is getting when you can see Mat Rempits carrying and hanging BN, UMNO and Malaysia flags on lamp posts, signboards and even vehicles. I heard that they get a lot of hard cash doing these chores, and probably some 'bonus' to tear down non-BN flags.

UMNO is now targeting Mat Rempits as voters, so you won't see these guys getting arrested by the police even if they ride their bikes like monkeys! Putera UMNO has given them a big license to terrorize the Opposition supporters.

Vote for UMNO if you want your family members to be hit or snatched by Mat Rempits one day!
written by mikewang, January 13, 2008 08:37:13
I want to see the institutionally corrupt BN government removed.
Will 60% of the general population agree with me ?

With this happening, we may see fairer elections in future if the present opposition keeps its promise.
written by SUV, January 13, 2008 11:06:08
ala,wat happened in 1999 eh?..opposition were united,malays were awakened..alternative budget prepared by jome was done..but the opposition n the rakyat coundnt defeat the ruling elites machinarylah..hey cruz..comeon lah u..u n your k0k tok regarding PAS is really pissing me off!!!.. smilies/cool.gif..its d f*kin DAPlah bikin taik..forever china centric..haha,even kapai singh n kit siang r not seeing eye to eye regarding HINDRAF..selalu tanjung dis tanjung dat!!(didnt RPK give lecture to DAP last year?)..pulti kacang kiasu briagdes selalu berak kentut kencing dari mulut!!!
written by SUV, January 13, 2008 11:14:56
yes yes yes! launch the campaigns, take to the streets again! no more Mr Nice Guys, no more play nice - the rakyat is now all grown-up, fed-up, charged-up! the opposition better get their act together or else ...
-------------------------------------------

or else we will go to ronnie's pub and have a gala time tickling bimbos frm china... smilies/cheesy.gif
written by delCapo, January 13, 2008 13:07:02
BARISAN RAKYAT! BARISAN RAKYAT!!!
written by RockyG, January 13, 2008 14:47:37
There are two things the opposition seriously lacks, money and a public communication media.

But, there is something we can do with regards to the low voter turnout.

For all you folks who say you will support the opposition, do this. Don't just go and out and vote. For every one of you, make sure you make another friend go out and vote. Find that friend who is not interested to vote, and drill him/her into putting his/her vote to use. If a 1000 people who read this site do this, we may potentially raise another 500 to 1000 more votes from the potential absentees. GO FORTH and MULTIPLY!!!
written by DanR, January 13, 2008 16:25:31
RockyG,
Good suggestion but please ask the friend if they will vote for opposition else drop them to a nearby shopping complex.
written by Fartkor, January 13, 2008 17:13:24
whatever you say BOSS, will be with you, the opposition, this party, that party, ,,,,,aiyooo, I am mixed up, confused,,,,maybe i'll just conteng the paper
written by Henry A, January 13, 2008 20:29:53
Its time the opposition got together and come with guidelines, so that all races are not being left out.
Only then you will get all support. Everyone needs to be assured that their community is being represented and not exploited after getting the support needed. Every layman worries that IF the opposition forms the new goverrnment will it be any better than the existing BN government. Show and give everyone the confidence by not only words but in writing, I believe changes can and will be seen.
The choice is in OUR hands. Lets make a difference. Lets show who really is the BOSS.
written by Semuaok, January 13, 2008 21:45:31
RPK - Do not vote for the opposition if they don't bow to you. Try fix this lope sided scenarios:

Advantage
Malay 60% & growing want Malay rule BN
Businessman want Malay ruleBN
Most businessmen are ChineseBN
BN have Malay Chinese & IndianBN
BN is cash rich & control the economyBN
Malay vote for MalayBN
Chinese vote for Chinese– small numberBN
Indian already being marginizedBN
DAP have Chinese – you can have the ChineseBN
PKR have Malay minimum Chinese & Indian BN
PAS want Muslim rule-Malay & Chinese do notBN
Hindraf have Indian – marginezed BN
All oppositions are poorBN
Malay do not want Muslim rule-only Malay ruleBN
Chinese do not want Muslim rule-only Malay ruleBN
UMNOBN
MCABN
MICBN

RPK who is arrogant???
written by Semuaok, January 13, 2008 21:56:49
Because all human being are different and greedy, let have a Primary/Caucasus among opposition before election on all seat that have more than 1 opposition. This will minimize 3 corner fight & all opposition will have to stand on the same platform and vote for each other.
written by Semuaok, January 13, 2008 22:04:57
What RPK said is let create another group BN DAP KKR PAS and RPK. RPK is the only non political party that is but a bunch of noisy voter/blogger that just demand what they want, in other word the opposition can go fly a kite. If the best advise from you is to force something down someone else throat, then you are doing exactly what the BN want the opposition to do the last 50 years, keep on fighting until one of them surrender. RPK your head is harder than a rock now, maybe because of your small success lately. The last think we need is another group.
written by Kent Tory, January 13, 2008 23:04:34
One of the major factors that is keeping the BN in power is the support it gets from the rural folks. As long as there is Kampungs, and not so advanced communities and ways of life, the information they receive or are interested in is much different than that of the Urban communities.

From time to time, a politician will come and buy them a each a bicycle, or a tractor for their fields, or put in a new water line, etc, etc. and this goes a long way for them. They are simple folks who are not so interested in where did he get the money to buy the Mercedes in which he arrived at the Kampung, or how did he send his son to UK to study, etc, etc. They are content living off the fruits of the earth with the sweats off their brows. They listen to RTM & TV3 and read the mainstream news papers. This being their main source of information, the BN government is able to manipulate the simple folks to vote for the BN as there is no other better alternatives for them.

In order to really make a dent on the support for the BN, ways need to be thought on how to reach out to these folks with the truth about the BN. ……… This will be quite a task and will take many years.

What all of you are doing on the Internet like this is only reaching out to the younger generation and to parts of urban communities.

It is an excellent start, but much more needs to be done.

I have made the first political decision in my life today.
I am 37 years of age and have never voted before nor have I registered to vote.
I am a Malaysian working overseas for the past 10 years.
Tomorrow, I’m going to the Malaysian Embassy to be registered.
The first vote in my life will be for the Opposition…… no matter who it is !!

Mr. RPK, it may be beneficial, if you could have this web site with your articles in the Malay Language as well. The Malay speaking community needs more convincing than the non malay speaking communities.
written by warna2008, January 14, 2008 00:06:28
Here we have another flash mob activity from fast0811.********.com, who organise FLASH MOB AGAINST SPIN-DOCTORING on 1/1/2008 and now come with petition for Opposition to work as a team to strike BN!

FLASH MOB PAVILION BUKIT BINTANG or The Colorful Flash Mob

White is terror,
Deep blue is corruption,
Yellow is cleanness,
Red, light blue & green is reformation.

The 3 objectives

1. Petition for red, blue & green work as a team to strike deep blue.

2. Support yellow.

3. Destroy the white.

To do

1/3/08(Saturday), 3:15pm, wear reformation color (red, light blue or green) dressing appear at big staircase near Pavilion main concourse. 3:30pm mobile phone alarm ring, change your dressing color to yellow, take out white tissue paper to clean yourself or your friend, throw the white terror tissue paper into rubbish bin, off the alarm and disperse immediately.

for more info, pls visit warna2008.********.com

Hopefully by this kind of "legal" activities push Opposition win in coming election!
written by Raja Petra, January 14, 2008 08:46:53
Dear Kent Tory, you mean the Chinese middle class that lives in Subang and PJ can't read English? Who cares about the rural Malays? It's the English-speaking middle class which votes BN that I am worried about.
written by Raja Petra, January 14, 2008 08:54:32
Dear Semuaok, what I said was I am the tenderer and the tenderer calls the tender and the tenderer draws up the tender specifications. The bidder may make an offer but if the bidder can't meet the tender specifications then, as the tenderer, I have a right to reject any bidder who fails to meet the specifications. I am not forcing anything down anyone's throats. Those are my specifications and I am the tenderer. You want to bid, bid. You don't want, never mind. But the bidder never tells the tenderer what to accept. The tenderer decides. And the bidder, if he wants to be accepted, must comply to the tender specifications.

What so hard to understand that?
written by teo siew chin, January 14, 2008 09:36:04
simply put - It's MY game, I draw the game-plan, you play by MY rules or get out of the ball-park! smilies/grin.gif

dont lah presume can understand 'tendering' - the only tender I know applies to steak!

Somebody's not a morning person? smilies/wink.gif
written by Kent Tory, January 14, 2008 11:31:57

Yes, you are right that many of the non-malays in the urban communities need to be informed and the internet is doing much to inform the English speaking masses in the Urban communities. And this must continue as there are much more people who still believe and are influenced by the mainstream media. At the same time, the rural folks and the "non-english" speaking communities also need to be informed. Hence your articles in Malay language could reach out to much more.

On the other hand, I do not have the stats on the voters and populations in different constituencies. It was my believe that the BN (be it UMNO / MCA / MIC) have stronger support from the simpler folks in the rural communities as compared to the more informed Urban generations.

This maybe one of the reasons why the BN has not systematically over the past 50 years, put all and every effort to bring higher levels of education and development to many parts of Malaysia (Sarawak & Sabah included). More people living with low education levels and simple minds and low development, means the easier for the BN to win over these minds and votes through the media and hand-outs.

(continued……………..)
written by Kent Tory, January 14, 2008 11:32:45

(Continued from previous…………..)

Let me give you one example,

I grew up very poor. My late father worked with the Malaysian Police and my mother worked with the ministry of defense. They had 4 children and life was tough making ends meet. However, both my parents were hard core supporters of the BN. I remember, that nearing elections, they used to got at nights and volunteer to paste BN posters on walls on the road side. Me and my siblings also naturally became staunch supporters of the BN. My father died young (45yrs) and life was tougher. However, we did well in school but did not get placement in local universities despite having very good results in high school. Applied for financial assistance everywhere, scholarship applications were sent to JPA, MIC, MCA, etc, with no success. So I took a day job at one fast food chain and a night job in another. Thought tuition classes on weekends. After 5 years, saved enough money to go to the cheapest overseas university I could find.

At the university, there were several Malay Malaysians. They were all there on government scholarships (JPA, Mara, etc.). But they were malays who lived in Bangsar and Taman Tun. They had enough money not to stay in the university grounds but rent their own houses outside and drive to work in nice cars. All this, while the BN government was paying for their college fees, air flight, and even pocket money !! One guy even was a son of a Dato, who came with their family once in a while to visit him for holidays.

I was most disillusioned with the BN government from then. All that my parents had thought me and all they said the BN stood for, was now crumbling right in front of me. How could this take place?? I was the oldest person in my class in college because I had to work 5 years after high school to come here, and still take part time jobs at farms during summer holidays to help pay expenses, while the BN is subsidizing the rich people like this?? Oh, and by the way, some of this government scholars have been doing the graduate degree for the past 4 to 5 years (due to failure to secure the required marks), while it takes only 3 years to complete it……. I was so damn pissed off at the Malays for this…. And had nothing good to say about them from then until……….

I returned after graduation and started work with a foreign company in Malaysia. After my first year working with them, my boss requested me to hire an assistant for myself. So I conducted several interviews. Naturally I was biased towards the Malay applicants. However, one malay guy changed my opinion about the Malays for good. During the interview, I had asked him to describe his background to me. To my utmost surprise, he had the exact same story as me. His father was with the police. Mother took care of 7 children. He had got 6 A’s in SPM but could not afford to get into university as he could not secure any scholarships. So, he and his younger brothers had to tap rubber to suppliment the family’s income and assist the other siblings go to school. I found him to a very bright person and with his background, I hired him immediately. Until today, its been 10 years, he still works with me and is more than a colleague, he is my best friend. I ensured that during his carrier with me, that I sponsored him to part time higher education. Today he earns about 4 times what he earns at the start and was even able to sponsor his younger to Medical University in Indonesia.

I often went to stay at his kampong in Alor Gajah on weekends as I am from KL but was working in Melaka. Working with him and understanding and getting to know the poorer malays in his community I realized that it is not the Malays that need to be blamed for what is going on in Malaysia. It is the BN government. They keep the rich continually rich and ensure the poor and simple minded malays do not get far. This way they can continually reign over the country. This is more apparent in places like Sarawak. People are kept in the Kampungs and little effort if any is made to educate and develop. (I worked there for 2 years).

As long as we have the majority of simple minds and the uninformed, BN will reign
written by RakyatMY, January 14, 2008 11:41:45
I like the sound of that - ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION. Instead of focusing on the differences, the opposition parties should work on their common ground like reducing corruption, reducing abuse of power, respecting human rights, etc. Is there hope in the coming election?

Dear MalaysianIAm, your friend is delusional. When / how does MCA takes care of Chinese? How many new Chinese schools were build in the last few decades? All they could manage were moving of schools and the once in a while RM10 million funding from the government. All parents of the Chinese school know that their children are going to 'private' schools. What about the Klang Free Trade Zone? The high voltage cable in Serdang? Has MCA solved any of those?

I hope to see a strong and united opposition. Check and balance is a need.
written by RakyatMY, January 14, 2008 11:43:09
My mistake. The high voltage cables issue is in Rawang, not Serdang.
written by Raja Petra, January 14, 2008 12:38:27
Dear Kent Tory, we will fight them on land, we will fight them on water, we will fight them in the air. But you can't fight them in all places at the same time. Some will have to fight on land, some on water, and some in the air. That's why we have a navy, air force, calvary, infantry, artillery, and much more. You have to decide which fighting unit you want to join. I chose urban warfare and fight in the urban streets of Bangsar, Taman Tun, Damansara, PJ, Subang, Shah Alam, Ipoh, Georgetown, Johor Baru, etc. Someone else will have to fight in the Felda settlements, fishing villages, padi fields, new villages, rubber estates, kampongs, etc. And they are. The different fighting units are attacking the different battle fronts. We must be a full-fledged army, not a one-man army.
written by Kent Tory, January 14, 2008 13:20:39
you can count me in.
written by sampalee, January 14, 2008 15:30:21
Count me into the urban unit.Long live 'ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION'
written by norani63, January 14, 2008 16:11:09
With one parliament and one state seat vacant now without any by-election announce, rest assured that GE is really, really near. Ever since I am eligible to vote, my vote will always go to the opposition. For this year, 'ONE OPPOSITION OR NO OPPOSITION' will determine where it will swing.
written by turun padang, January 14, 2008 17:10:49
dear rpk,

I completely agree with you that we need a full-fledged army in order to win the war,
but don't you think that a well coordinated game/action plan is as equal inportant?

You did a Great job in enlighting the mass (especially those that are online), Now that their eyes is open, & willing. They(including me) will need more guidian on what to do next.

You did the bombing ( the 1st wave ), The Ground are shaken. Now we who are here willing to go in. Send in the tank, calvary, infantry, artillery or what ever you wanna send in...But,You don't just send in a civilian that willing to be involve in the war with stick & stone. All we asking is give us some guns, bullets and training so we can finish the job.

As what Kent tory commented : Mr. RPK, it may be beneficial, if you could have this web site with your articles in the Malay Language as well. The Malay speaking community needs more convincing than the non malay speaking communities.

You should see what sort of quality blogs or comments avaiable online for malay speaking (online or off line) communities. We need more articles of your standard (Those that turn on light bulb in the head) in malay language.

With that, i honestly think those(at least for myself) who willing to go out & help the mass ground people will have better equip weapons than jus sticks and stones.

I am doing my part by talking to 2 persons (strangers or friends)daily to come out & vote. I am telling them everything that i have learn thru your site (especially your personal coloumn).
And i honest think i can reach more people if (at least - article from yourself) avaiable in BM.
written by Semuaok, January 14, 2008 22:57:03
RPK said What so hard to understand that?

Allow me to response to your pathetic answer. Who do you offer the contract? Opposition only, correct me if I'm wrong. The question should not be to vote or not to vote. By abstaining to vote, your action not only affect you or me but also your children. So use your vote wisely, the last thing you want is to advise someone not to vote. If not you lose the right to complaint about the MP that represent you.
written by Jeevan, January 15, 2008 13:51:47
If we want to get this country back, and keep it in the right shape for our children , we must fight every single battle, against any and all that stand in the way of a Malaysian Malaysia. Lets hammer the opposition into unity, and not accept any other outcome.

Hidup Rakyat!!
written by carlitos, January 15, 2008 15:29:40
DAP - Non-bumi Non-muslim
PKR - Neutral
PAS - Bumi Muslim

combined the three of them will cover the whole Malaysia. Each will fight for their own grouping to ensure a balance that everyone can live with.

One opposition or No opposition!!!
smilies/smiley.gif
written by Compadre45, January 16, 2008 23:39:26
Its reasonably true what YM RPK mentioned here, if only all the Opposition parties combine under one coalition, it has greater chances in this coming election to fetch higher votes and more parliment seats, perhaps more than 1/3( we dont know yet).

Since this is a good idea, but how is this going to happen? If Lim Kit Siang, Anwar and Dato' Seri Guru Abdul Hadi Awang ( PAS ) had read this article probably they may want to buy this idea. I totally agree with YM RPK that the opposition is arrogant and has a large ego. If ever they combine, there will still remain a dispute among themselves on " Who is the Boss " . Looks like they will never learn from their past bitter experience, facing BN and its cronies in Parliment.

Probably it might be too late for all these to happen but, speaking for myself i like this idea and hopefully by the next election in 2012 the Opposition parties will combine as one coalition.

written by TWOG, January 21, 2008 14:24:38
Dear Kent Tory, we will fight them on land, we will fight them on water, we will fight them in the air.

Dear Sir Raja Petra Winston Churchill Kamarudin,

You forgot to fight them bitches on the beaches...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/We_shall_fight_on_the_beaches

written by RockyG, January 26, 2008 01:23:17
Dear Kent Tory,

Thanks for your insightful personal experience.
written by ChinKimWah, January 28, 2008 11:56:46
Let us hope that the opposition can UNITE and fight the BN under ONE BANNER for this crucial watershed election. If they can come up with their manifesto and a shadow cabinet so much the better. Let us VOTE for CHANGE .
written by alee, January 29, 2008 03:42:16
Election is imminent. We as Malaysian who love this country must do something to save this country from destruction by the corrupt politicians.

CAllING ALL READERS OF MT,let's use SMS to spread the education. We should take the important points from MT articles, condense them into SMS and send out chain SMS. We should have all all language versions. Encourage everyone to send to everyone else.

We must reach out to all Malaysians, especially the people in the kampongs and new villages !! Let's start today !! Can anyone start posting those SMS in MT so everyone can use ?